$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
117 reviews
completely satisfied

Great service, excellent response to any questions or issues, hospitality was awesome, safe, and... See full review

  • Jenniy
  • Jun 28, 2014
Awesome Friends and Family Fiesta

First time in Cabo traveling with family and friends who go often, and we will definitely be back!... See full review

  • Slim Shamus
  • Jun 13, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Hotel Map

22.8762 -109.9036
Area served
Cabo San Lucas.
Nearby airports
Los Cabos International Airport (SJD).
Area description
Playa Grande Resort is located in Cabo San Lucas close to the beach, tourist attractions, restaurants and entertainment district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ernesto or bust
Long Beach , ca.
Aug 12, 2012

Beautiful location

We loved Playa Grande except no wireless available in the rooms, only pool side and that is difficult in 100 degree heat!! Also, would like to use the fitness room without the $10 charge. Other than that, a fantastic trip :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cabo Wabo is a bust even though many locals told us to go.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishadventures
california
Jul 20, 2012

nice place

very clean nice views from room. courteous staff. was not hassled at all by any timeshare folks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina27
New York, NY, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great Hotel in okay location

I recently stayed at this hotel end of March 2012, and the hotel itself is gorgeous, big, and well-staffed. Comfy big bedrooms with balconies, and 3 big pool with good on-site restaurants. The only drawback was the location. It's a long hike to get anywhere, the marina is the closest, but you have to get by the timshare vultures (in the hotel and right outside of it). Once you walk a good 15-20 mins you're fine. Service was great, and everyone on staff was really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive to to closest food market and stock up on groceries--everything is super expensive on-site. But do splurge on the great retaurants.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DPT Cali
California, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Awesome location and great family environment

Upon check in they did not have my reservation so I had to provide evidence of my confirmation number and they did a good job of getting me into a room in a short amount of time. The location of the resort was perfect, very clean and a great place for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winter get away
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Okay

Resort was clean, staff friendly, but the food was mediocre at best and horribly over priced. If you have "resort credit" make sure you read the fine print very closely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meals down at the bay are reasonable, and all that we had was very good. Just make sure if they tell you "two for one" drinks, that your bill actually reflects that.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cabo
California
Dec 7, 2011

Playa Grande Resorts and Spa

It was a beautiful hotel. We had a wonderful time at this place. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Pete
Tri Cities, WA
Nov 28, 2011

a never ending series of disappointments

What was billed as An Ocean View room was the farthest thing from it. Room 2021 is just steps away from the laundry room, if that gives you any idea. Bottom floor, looking out at the backside of the restaurant, as far from the ocean as is possible. However, we were disappointed before we ever saw our room as the check in procedure took over a half hour and every single person that was being "helped" in front of us was having a problem. Overcharged on room service, locks not fitting in the safe, timeshare shiller offering services not covered, etc, etc. Easily one of our top 3 worst hotel experiences. We will never be back. When we left there to check into our unit at the Finisterra it was like the angels were singing and we were welcomed back to Shangri La. And the Finisterra is a much older, less cared for resort, but with much greater customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy timeshares on the resale market, NEVER at the resort. I have done both and ALWAYS regretted the purchases at the resort.......

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steve wave
saint pete fla
Nov 11, 2011

nice place

great location, very clean ,aviod timeshare talk say it takes 90 min. but realy they keep you 1/2 day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

ask about shortcut to the street saves time. also if you like to fish it is great.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointedincabo
San Jose, CA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

WE WERE INSULTED BY SALES STAFF MEMBER

A HEAVY MEXICAN WOMAN NAMED ANNA SERIOUSLY INSULTED US AT THE END OF A SALES PROMO TOUR THEN BRAGGED ABOUT HER SALARY. IT WAS UNBELIEVABLE. UP UNTIL THAT POINT WE THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy H
Campbell, CA
Sep 3, 2011

Playa Grande

Very Good. The staff was very freindly, the hotel was beautiful and very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this resort. The food was average but tasty. The non alcoholic drinks were a bit expensive in my opinon. I think the extra cost to go all inclusive would be well worth it. I will definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search