$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
119 reviews
Great Experience

We really liked our stay here. Hotel is nicely located close to downtown, nice amenities and good... See full review

  • Matty KD
  • Nov 20, 2014
Playa Grande is an absolute dream!

From the moment you walk in, the grandeur of Playa Grande speaks for itself. A beautiful lobby with... See full review

  • E Casillas Cabo lover
  • Aug 21, 2014
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Av8tor
Business
New York
Apr 24, 2014

Great Location

Great hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are great. Beach is nice, but you can't swim and the surf is so dangerous you can't even walk in the water. The location is great for walking to the marina or town restaurants, but the food at the resort is quite good as well. There is a little pressure to check out the timeshare plans, but it wasn't too crazy. The biggest negative is the internet! Horrible!!! Slower than dial-up!! If you are going for business or need to be connected then go elsewhere . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samantha68
Business
San Antonio
Mar 16, 2014

Beautiful beach getaway

This is one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed at. The only negative was the high pressure sales. Spa was exceptionally nice, employees were there to take care of your every need. The views from this hotel are gorgeous, the cleanliness was exceptional. Our family had absolutely no complaints and had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NWEI2000
Business
Shelton, Wa.
Mar 4, 2014

Super Vacation Experience

Everything was outstanding...Every night for 10 nignts we found an activity that included entertainment and great food...The facility was clean and very relaxing and the hotel staff went well out of their way to ensure you were pampered constantly.... All of the staff treated us like family and we found it difficult to leave.... Definately we will be back...10 days isn't long enough. The activities are endless...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Every night the hoter sponsors a unique dinner/event be sure to check with concierge services...They have more than enough to offer...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cabo my second home
Business
vancouver bc
Feb 24, 2014

rated higher thsn it is worth

I stayed fot one night as it was revommended. Very busy caotic entrance amd appeared lined with time share/membership desks. Room was not ready at checkin amd no area to rest so i went to yhe pool. Looks awsiting service, no activities, food ok but very expensive everywhere! Room was attractive but coild tell thst it was rushed yo vlean and smelled of urine. Fans very loud. Staff was very nice and generally help. Located close to the marina but a lng walk to the nightlife amd good restaurants. Beach ok but unsightly undeveloped dpave to the sife of the hotel. Rated as a 4 star hotel but altogether adds up to 3.5 to us. Can get a better deal easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David and Arlene
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Feb 19, 2014

Wonderful Hotel in Great Location

Second year in a row staying at this hotel and had an even better experience than last year. The rooms are large [we stayed in a luxury suite which had 2 bathrooms] the view was terrific and being pool people we loved, loved, loved them. The people working there made our experience that much better such as the front desk clerk Juan Carlos, the concierges Paula and Angel, Jorge and his staff at the Brigantine restaurant [we were in a rush to get to the airport yesterday and didn't want a breakfast buffet and didn't have time to order off the menu but Jorge let us pick a few things off the buffet for a minimal charge and it was much appreciated], and last and by no means least Marina who we saw at the activities desk near the pool who gave us advice, tips galore, kindness, patience and even though we didn't do many activities at the hotel she was always, always wonderful to us. Don't hesitate to stay at this gorgeous property!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

At the bottom of the hill of the Playa Grande is the bus stop. TAKE THEM! They're not very fancy looking but they're a buck to go anywhere. If you don't speak any Spanish get someone at the hotel to write down where you're going and people on the bus will help you. Going anywhere by cab is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dont have a nickname 444
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 6, 2014

Nice place.

Is on the "non swimmable" beach side of Cabo. Can walk on the beach to get to other resorts, but can't go in the water. Easy 5 min walk to the marina, where you an get water taxi to Medano Beach (swimmable beach),or to see whales, etc. Some good places to eat and drink in Marina too, nice walking area, lots of vendors, safe, tourist spot. Beach was very nice, and big, Pools here were clean, big. Rooms decent. We had a 1 bedroom, smelled like bug spray, but was clean, large, everything you need. Internet at this hotel was ineffective. Spent hours trying to get it to work and gave up. All stores in Marina and downtown have free wifi, including Starbucks 10 minutes walking away.All staff excellent, very nice. Drinks at pool bar decent, nothing too good. Didn't eat at too many of restaurants there, had breakfast buffet one day,and was not too impressed. Didn't get all inclusive, was $95 a person a day. Is pretty cheap on the streets to eat and drink. This is the slower, calmer part of town. Medano Beach is where all the action is. Lots going on at the beach, and downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KCinLG
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Nov 19, 2013

Not what I expected at all...........

I’ve had the luxury of staying at Me Cabo and Casa Dorada (sister companies) so I have to give this place three stars. Don’t get me wrong, it’s awesome if you’ve never been to Cabo, but you can do way better for just a tad bit more money. Pros: -Music at pool is better (just good ol 80’s, 90’s and top 40’s) -Gym is great, if you care to workout but it’s not free like the other places I’ve stayed at ($10 a day). -I read about internet issues but I didn’t experience much. I got kicked out every now and then but that goes with any location I think. Internet cannot be perfect serving that many people. Cons: -At the far end of the marina so even though the walks are nice overlooking the water and shops, to get to our favorite restaurants it was a 35-/+ walk. -Concierge isn’t that nice unless you are looking to buy a time share. -Happy hour is just 2-4pm at the pool. At other places, I’ve seen them break it up from 11am-12pm and then 2-3pm. -Drinks at pool are not that great. Quality of food (which is not included in happy hour like other resorts) are not great and very pricy. The shrimp in the ceviche tastes precooked and then mixed in with final ingredients. A good ceviche should be tender, cooked by the acids of the lime. -Room and lobby smell sorta funky. Doesn’t bother me but I was forwarned and I do smell it. Perhaps a travel candle will take care of that. -Bar at lobby is closed at 11pm.  -I was able to grab a lounge chair for me and three others but it gets crowded fairly quickly. -The pool area gets lively with all sorts of activities. Ok if you like that stuff but I just need the sun and my book, so all the yelling and screaming was a turn off. Overall this resort was ok. I would only return if I absolutely could not get a cheaper rate at the other places I’ve stayed before but for a little more, just get the luxury elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Edith's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tikka C
Business
Lodi, CA
Nov 17, 2013

Quick get away

Staff was fantastic all very helpful and friendly. Did not like that gym cost extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel M
Business
Hydesville, CA, USA
Oct 27, 2013

Excellent stay!!

The staff was right there to park the car and take our luggage to the room. The room they gave us had a great view and was very clean. The restaurants all had great food, a little over priced. The grounds were spotless and well maintained. The little store they had was stocked with just about anything you needed or forgot. It was a great place to stay. Con: no free WiFi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrismitchellftc
Business
Laguna niguel
Oct 4, 2013

Incredible hotel with the friendliest staff

Honestly was the trip of a lifetime, if your worried about Mexico don't. The staff truly felt like family and went the extra mile every second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top