$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
View map of Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey R.
Couples
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

fun week in Cabo

Spent a great week at Playa Grande. Pros: large one bedroom unit with separate bedroom, dining/living area, full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Staff was exceptional. Several pool areas and hot tubs to relax. Resort is walking distance to the harbor, numerous restaurants, and shopping. It was fun to relax by the pool, there are a few different activities to choose from (yoga on the beach, pool volleyball, water aerobics, spanish lessons, etc). Cons: located on the Pacific Ocean where no beach swimming is allowed due to rough water. While there are chairs on the beach, there are no umbrellas and no food/beverage service. Internet service (which is not complimentary) is expensive and needs upgrading. Mild annoyance with pushy time share individuals as soon as you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for a room located around the swimming pools. They tried to place us on 'the Ridge' which, while newer, is quite a long walk from the pools, beach, and main activities. If you are not interested in the time shares, just let them know fairly strongly and they will leave you alone. If you want to purchase souvenirs from vendors, they all negotiate.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ana C.
Couples
Round Rock
Jan 23, 2015

10 Yr Anniv. Trip

We went Dec 2014 and it was wonderful! The hotel was beautiful and the location could not be any better! We walked to the pier everyday where we had dinner and where we met the boats that took us snorkeling and sunset cruise. It is a 5 min walk so we never had to jump in a cab for food or activities. The room was perfect for me and my hubby. We went down to the OXXO (convenience store in front of pier) for affordable snacks and drinks to stock our fridge and room. Overall...super happy with this hotel! A tip...eat at the bar and split the food! An order of nachos or a pizza will feed 2 no problem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay here, you can walk to the pier where there is great food, activities, shopping and entertainment.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anurag
Couples
Boulder
Jan 22, 2015

First Anniversary trip

The resort and services offered are generally expensive. We had a very comfortable stay and the staff was very friendly and always eager to help. There was no free wifi anywhere in the hotel which in my opinion was a bit of a disadvantage as we did not even have international roaming on our cellphone. The spa is really good and we had a great couple's massage experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the local restaurants in Los Cabos rather than the ones in your resort. The local restaurants are very reasonable and have great food. Also, don't forget to carry a lot of cash for tipping. You can either carry USD or exchange dollars for pesos there. Everyone expects a tip there for every small service.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nathan H.
Family
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great Family Resort

Loved the All Inclusive resort feel and activities. Perfect for my family (kids ages 8 and 13).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking into town is a 15 minute walk, very easy and locals are very nice.

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juliette H.
Family
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Great Family Trip

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. We liked the location of the hotel because it was within walking distance into town. The staff was friendly and the room were very clean. We will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary B.
Couples
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Relaxing fishing & beach vacation

Very well maintained premises, recovered from the September hurricane, walking distance to the harbor and town, nice pool area and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to just about everything

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anthony b.
Family
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Being Nickeled and Dimed at every corner

This hotel is extremely large. There are two sections it has, one beach front, one harbor side. To walk from one side to another is a very very long walk. There are no signs to get around and it is very confusing getting around. We even asked several staff and they didn't know how to get around themselves and we're at a loss to help us find, our room, the pools, or the exit on how to get into town. Since it is a resort they really do not want you going into town to spend any of your money, which is fine for those who never want to leave the resort. But it is a 10-15 minute walk to leave the property to get into town, which should only be about 5 if they let you use the exit on the street, but they have very limited hours when you are allowed to have access to this. We stayed in an executive suite, and the room was really sized very nice, but that was the only thing we really liked about the hotel. One of the pools was filthy and had a layer of scum on it. There is no free wifi. At $500 dollars a night, I feel wifi should be free since there are no amenities offered. But they charge I believe $18 a day for internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matty KD
Family
CA
Nov 20, 2014

Great Experience

We really liked our stay here. Hotel is nicely located close to downtown, nice amenities and good staff and rooms. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vinniewrote
Family
Chicago, IL
Aug 26, 2014

Great for a vacation, but rather stay at Grand Solmar next time

Nice resort for the price, but prefer all-inclusive, which they offer at a very high cost. Sister resort , Grand Solmar is a 5 minute shuttle ride away is much better. Better drinks/food and amenities. Wi-fi is in desperate need of improvement. $13/day and you can only really use it on your patio or poolside. Also an additional charge to use the fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E Casillas Cabo lover
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Aug 21, 2014

Playa Grande is an absolute dream!

From the moment you walk in, the grandeur of Playa Grande speaks for itself. A beautiful lobby with helpful staff is the first thing you want to see. Secondly, the Playa Grande villas are beautiful and functional, each with a great view of either the pool or the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are spacious and have a functional kitchen with stove, microwave, spacious fridge and even a blender. The room also comes with an iron, a blow dryer and those magnifying mirrors I adore. The bed is unbelievably comfy and the A/C works beautifully. Hands down, the best part of Playa Grande is the incredible pool areas. At the time we went, they were renovating the "adults-only pool" and I don't even feel like we missed out because the other 3 pools and jacuzzi were more than enough. Especially the pool with the swim-up bar, we were frequent visitors there. Don't even get me started on the 2 for 1 happy hour or fish tacos, it is basically heaven on earth. Lastly, the views of the Pacific ocean are so beautiful and it's RIGHT there. Sure you can't swim in it, but it makes for a beautiful sunset and it doesn't hurt to sink your toes into the warm Mexican sand. The only downside at the resort is that wi-fi was spotty in some areas but it was easy to find out where it was strongest (the lobby, by the pool). For $14 a day, I wish it were just a little bit better in building F. Also, cabs were rather expensive too and from Playa Grande (as they are ALL over Cabo) but walking is a possibility, but difficult with the high 90s heat in August with the hilly entrance into the resort. Just a thought. We did taxis more often than not. But overall, I would book there again and again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fish tacos from the hotel swim up bar... JUST TRUST ME.

Back to menu Return to top