Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

4 stars
View map of Av Playa Grande # 1, Cabo San Lucas, 23410

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
129 reviews
AMAZING

Had the best vacation! Playa grande was a great choice. We always felt welcomed and taken care of. See full review

  • Shawn S.
  • Feb 21, 2015
10 Yr Anniv. Trip

We went Dec 2014 and it was wonderful! The hotel was beautiful and the location could not be any... See full review

  • Ana C.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Cabo San Lucas hotel tempts active travelers, spa goers
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa sits on prime real estate: a private beach within strolling distance of Land's End. The hacienda-style property lures with 260 rooms and suites boasting ocean views and traditional furniture, plus kitchens or kitchenettes.  The resort bustles with activity, sporting three pools, 11 restaurants and bars, and a spa whose signature is seaweed-based services.
Highlights
  • Private beachside resort a few steps from Land's End
  • Kids eat and stay free with parents
  • Kids club with supervised activities
  • Full-service spa and fitness center
  • Multiple restaurants and swim-up bar
Rooms
Traditional decor -- heavy woods, gilded frames -- bring an old-world feel to the 260 rooms and suites at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa. Landscape portraits, marble floors, archways and pillars further the drama. For groups, space is not an issue, thanks to multiple layouts that feature kitchens or kitchenettes with utensils included and separate living areas. Private, furnished balconies beckon with views of the sparkling Pacific.
Dining
Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa covers global tastes at 11 restaurants and bars. Patrons might start at the breakfast buffet at patio-equipped Calima, then grab authentic Mexican fare and smooth tequilas at Hacienda El Coyote and finish with wood-fired pizza at Italian Restaurant Romeo Y Julieta. Ambiance plays a big part in dining and cocktail drinking here -- even from the lobby sports bar, where patrons watch UFC fights on Saturday nights.
Recreation

Guests might be in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, but at Thalassotherapy Spa, the inspiration comes from France. Using seaweed- and sea-water-based treatments developed by the French in the 19th century, the spa takes advantage of its unique position on the Sea of Cortez to pamper guests from head to toe. Perfecting the bliss are seaside cabanas where visitors can enjoy Repechage Hydra Refine Seaweed Facials and Stone Journey Therapeutic Massages.

 

For group time, visitors can swim in three pools (or wade up to the swim-up bar) or ask the hotel to arrange ATV tours, charter boats for sports fishing and many more excursions through Cabo. A kids club with supervised activities rewards parents with relaxation.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • La Candelaria (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting rooms
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa Rooms

Luxury Suite
Every Luxury Suite comes with a large bedroom with king bed, 2 full tiled baths, one of them with tub, queen-size sofa sleeper in living room, air conditioning, modern kitchen with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with striking views of Pacific Ocean.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Every Deluxe Junior Suites comes with a king bed, queen-size sofa sleeper, full tiled bath with tub, air conditioning, kitchenette with all necessary utensils, coffee maker, satellite TV, telephone, safety deposit box and private balcony with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Puerto San Lucas - A taste of Elegance
Theres a delicious alternative in Cabo San Lucas. Puerto San Lucas is chic, attractive and modern with a flair for steaks, seafood and Mediterranean dishes. The ambiance is bistro-style, the service definitely European and the experience completely unforgettable. Leave the traditional and old fashioned behind. Put on your casual attire and come to Puerto San Lucas. Valet parking is available. Open Monday to Saturday from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Sunday from 2:00 pm to 11:00 pm.
Restaurant Romeo y Julieta - Offsite
Italian Restaurant "where you can really enjoy the authentic Italian cuisine, with fresh pasta made at home and pizza made in our oven with real mesquite wood." A perennial favorite of locals and visitors, Romeo y Julieta offers fine Italian dining in an intimate setting. Located at the entrance of Pedregal, in the heart of Cabo San Lucas, across the street from the marina; for many frequent visitors a meal here is a much-anticipated part of every visit. Known for their pasta and handcrafted pizza Romeo y Julieta also offers a variety of meat and seafood dishes and luscious desserts. Reservations are almost certainly necessary Open daily from 4 p.m. until 12a.m., live music nightly. Full bar.
Hacienda El Coyoto Restaurant & Tequila Bar - Offsite
This Mexican Restaurant is defined by fresh ingredients, meticulously created dishes, homemade tortillas, tamales, mole and salsas, sublime marinades, fresh guacamole mashed tableside, exceptional flavors Breathe in the aromas of the finest Mexican cuisine imaginable and 200 smooth drinking tequilas. Open daily from 4:00 pm to 12:00 pm.
El Tejaban Restaurant at Solmar Resort
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
El Trebol Restaurant at Solmar Resort
With excellent friendly service you can dine and Watch Live Sport from Sky and Setanta in a Bar or Restaurant Environment. Open daily from 10:00 to 6:00 pm.
The Brigantine Restaurant
Pairing great moments in this ocean front Restaurant with well executed flavors. Try our traditional Breakfast Buffet & Mexican specialties: Steak and Lobster, Steak and Shrimps, and our famous Molcajete stuffed with lobster, fish filet, shrimps, avocado and melted cheese. Open from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Calima Restaurant
Offers Lunch all prepared with fresh market ingredients, with a combination of Mexican and American style cuisine. Open daily from 12:00 to 10:00 pm.
Sushi Bar
Enjoy our Asian taste from 10:00 to 5:00 pm. 2 x 1 Tuesday and Thursday on spicy sushi rolls. Located at Playa Grande Resort by Calima Restaurant
Lobby Sport Bar
For wines, spirits and lighter fare come to our Sports bar and on Saturdays enjoy UFC and our Grilled Night. Open daily from 3:00 pm to 11:00 pm. Happy Hour from 5:00 to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Beautiful hotel

The only thing I didn't like was that the hotel didn't honor the $200.00 voucher they were offering at the time of my trip, because the person that booked my reservation didn't wrote it in the e-mail, or in the confirmation of the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can ride the public buses for about 75 cents one way, any where you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, CA
Aug 17, 2010

A Resort of Perfect Proportions

This beautiful resort gave us more than we could have ever dreamed of on our week stay in Cabo. The world class spa provides excellent and lavish service and the several different pools provided a nice variety for lounging. While the drinks were excellent and the bartenders and the swim-up bars were very friendly, the food and service in the restaurants at the resort were definitely lacking. My friend and I waiting for an hour for a sandwich and salad, both of which turned out to be horrendous tasting. I would definitely recommend eating outside of the resort, as many wonderful restaurants are located less than a two minute walk away. The location of Playa Grande is unbeatable. Located right on the point between the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Cortez, the views could not be more spectacular (definitely visit the Infinity Pool for optimal vista viewing). The staff was so helpful and friendly and even encouraged us to speak in Spanish. They gave us a great recommendation for Parasailing as well. While I wouldn't go back for the overpriced food (don't get the all-inclusive package) I would most definitely return to Playa Grande for its impeccable service, beautiful atmosphere, world-class spa, and perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Things in Cabo San Lucas don't really get started until 12:30 or 1:00. Many tourists aren't aware and believe that the town has no nightlife, when in fact it has an excellent one. The most popular clubs for tourists are El Squid Roe, Mandala, and Pink Kitty, but if you care to stray off the beaten path places like Love Shack, Happy Ending, and Baja Junkie are great places to get cheap drinks before heading to the hot locations. Also be sure to check for specials, like ladies night. Cheap drinks can also be found in open air bars located all over town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lbirllain
Business
riverside, ca
Aug 13, 2010

wow! fantastic!!

Amazing! Great room, great resort, no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The resort is walking distance away from the marina. Don't make the same mistake we did or else a 2 min drive to the marina will cost u 6 bucks. Marina is literally at the bottom of the hill from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biskinators Mom
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 14, 2010

BEST LOCATION in Cabo

This was a fabulous resort. The beach was totally private and beautiful since you can't swim due to riptides. This made for a beautiful, peaceful walk along the beach at any time of the day, in complete privacy. The beach party on Friday night was a lot of fun. Met the friendliest people every day...more than any other place i've been to in Mexico. The time share part was not an issue for me. Since I traveled there without my husband (my daughter only), they did not ask me to sit in on a presentation. Marina and shops just a quick walk down the hill. The best part was a Dr.'s office on sight since I came down with an abcessed tooth while there. The Dr. was so friendly and had my scripts delivered to me. He even told me exactly what the pharmacy fee would be and for me not to pay a penny more to them. Would go back again and again to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pick up your own snacks at Wal-mart. The pool side service is great but you pay a lot for just simple things likes chips and salsa, guac. ($18.00)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SunSeekerMA
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 4, 2010

Another great stay at the Playa

This was my 4th stay at the Playa and my boyfriend's first. Although I hadn't been to the hotel in 3 years it was still in great shape and parts had been refreshed - new couches in the room, grounds looked great, etc. I find the Playa to have consistantly friendly service, a great location and beautiful breezes off the ocean vs. the intense heat of the Medano beach area hotels. My only advice is to avoid the timeshare folks unless you want to waste a day of your vacation "touring" the property. Keep saying no and "we have very little time" and they back off quickly. We did rent a car for 24 hours while we were there to drive to a golf course on the corridor and on the raod up towards todos santos. They rent cars right on the property for about $65 a day - which is convenient but be prepared to spend more time doing it then you would in the states. Still a good experience overall though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're a golfer - the Pamilla Course is amazing and well worth the greens fees. The best course I've ever played. We also enjoyed the Cabo Country Club - great views. We also played Puerto Los Cabos - which is quite a far cab ride $50 each way, but still very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
May 25, 2010

Fantastic Location & Close to Everything

I traveled to this resort on vacation with some close friends. All of us had nothing but great things to say about the Playe Grande. The resort was beautiful and well cared for. The staffs were always kind and friendly. The food was good and the entertainment was excellent. Playe Grande is within walking distance to downtown Cabo and had beach access to the Pacific Ocean, but is close to the Sea of Cortez as well. We have already planned our return to the Playe Grande!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed many meals outside of the resort also. We wanted to have the authentic Cabo cuisines and ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
campingit[@]
Business
Cabo
Apr 27, 2010

Cabo In April

Great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
X
Apr 13, 2010

Cabo Trip [...]

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2010

Wonderful Stay!

When we checked into the hotel, we were incredibly impressed with the beautiful lobby and beautiful location. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us great tips for authentic and inexpensive restaurants and how much taxis should cost etc. We were a group of 21/22 year olds, and were generally younger than most of the people staying here. There were a lot of families, and middle aged couples. The pools were beautiful and relaxing, and the beach was totally private. Although you cannot swim in the ocean here due to the rough water, it was still nice to have. Although downtown was walkable, we were not extremely comfortable walking back to the hotel late night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the Marina you can sign up for a booze cruise. It only cost us $20 a piece and we were on the boat for 3 hours. You had as much as you wanted to drink, and we were able to jump off the boat into the water. We stopped at the famous Cabo arch, and were able to swim up to the rocks and climb on them. Well worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 16, 2010

My Playa Grande Experience

Very friendly staff and beautiful grounds. Lots of pools and a gorgeous beachfront view of the pacific ocean. We saw 2 whales from our balcony. The room was very nicely decorated with contemporary art and furniture, etc. FYI Most of the hotel are actually owned as timeshares, and there are some amenities that are only for owners such as the gym and mini golf. I didn't like the quality of their shampoo and conditioner so if you are staying here I'd suggest to bring your own. The 1 bdrm suite we got had a FULL kitchen, which was great - pots pans, silverware, wine glasses, openers, toaster, blender...etc. That was great! The bell boys even brought all our groceries up for us. All in all, it was a great place to stay & made for a memorable trip to Cabo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We went to a timeshare presentation for Playa Grande's newest resort and they gave us free breakfast, and a 90% discount on 2 waverunners. The timeshare presentation was 3 hours and they made us talk to 5 different sales people, which was quite an experience. When you first get to the airport, right when you are walking out there are about 50-100 people standing there behind a counter trying to draw you in to purchase activities or go to a timeshare presentation. Beware - they are all sales people despite their welcoming facade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top