$267 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Casa Dorada Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Av Del Pescador S/N, Col El Medano, Cabo San Lucas, 23479

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
soooo
Business
los angeles
Sep 10, 2011

It was OK.

Timeshare people kill it. The hotel located right in the city, it's close to everything, but they will bot,her you at the beach every minutes trying to sell something, if you are planning to go to a quiet, beautiful location, don't go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ritz
Business
Orange County, California
Sep 6, 2011

Cabo Extravaganza!

I've been visiting Cabo for eight years now and have found the perfect hotel. Casa Dorada, is the closest hotel on the beach to Cabo's city center and the Marina. This is the second year in a row that I've stayed here. This year we had three separate rooms including the Cactus Pent House Suite. I'll rate it as a four star american hotel. It is a very quite hotel but very close to all the night life and excursions you want! You're a quick ten minute walk to the Marina and fifteen minute walk to the city center. We never used a taxi over the four days we visited. You can also use the Melia (ME) pool next door! Enjoy because this is one recommendation I wish somebody would have given me eight years ago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marina is a short ten minute walk. Cabo city center night life, and restaurants are also the same distance. Perfect location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ayeayecap'n
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2011

Casa dorada 2011

The Orbitz description and pictures are really accurate. Great hotel on the beach in town, the only bad thing was there was not free wi-fi which most orbitz bookings include HOWEVER if you go to the starbucks in town you get free wifi all day everyday. I would definitely stay here again. Like most of Cabo, the timeshare sales people were really working it, if you choose to listen to a presentation agree on a SET time limit and HAGGLE for what you get out of it: golf, spa credit, food, activities, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Monkey business makes the BEST mojito i have ever had in my life. Go here, get to know the bartender and the locals, they recommend great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris1973
Business
New Orleans
Aug 16, 2011

Fun In Cabo

The hotel was very nice and the rooms were very nice with beautiful views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not let anyone convince you to go to a meeting unless you are interested in buying a timeshare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jbabe
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Great Vacation

Hotel is gorgeous! Loved our suite, very spacious and nice balconies. Staff is very friendly and made sure everything was ok for us. Hotel was clean and quiet even though there were kids there. Would love to go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive Restaurants in the city and hotel. Squid Roe restaurant- fun and affordable. Bring plenty of cash

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gina-The Mom plus 2
Business
Walnut, Ca.
Aug 10, 2011

Lovely...but the peddlers are a pain!!!

The resort and my room were absolutely beautiful, well kept and clean. Me and my children spent alot of time at the pools or involved in some type of water activity on the beach; jet sking was the BEST!!!! We also walked to the mall,movie theater, Marina and downtown which were within minutes of the Casa Dorado Resort.(Learn the short cut. No need to take a taxi.) I went to the gym almost everyday and worked out. I went to a local market, bought a few things and cooked in my room. I sat on my balcony and exhaled. I sat on a stool at the swim-up bar, ordered a marguarita and yet on another day, I ordered food and drinks from my reclined pool chair. No matter what time of the day or night me and my children were out walking, I always felt safe. My only problems were the peddlers, begging children and the timeshare sellsmen on the beach. They boarder on harassing you! I couldn't sit on the beach in peace! Literally, EVERY few seconds someone was approaching me with one of these stupid boards with stuff attached to it, or a dress, or a hat, or a plate, or a purse, or a bracelet, or a wooden carving of a bear with a fish in its' mouth or some other dumb thing and asking me to buy something. I think I sprained my neck shaking my head, "No," so much. Most of these people just could not take, "NO," for an answer and sometimes doubled back within minutes to try and sell me the same thing TWICE! I kid you not....One peddler even tried to sell me some mari.......! (I don't think so!) The beach was clean and scenic and the water was warm and crystal clear, but the peddlers are a nusciance. I couldn't even lay down and relax!!! This is why when I was not "IN" the beach water or on the other side (take the taxi across the ocean to the other island), I stayed within the confines of the resort if I just wanted to close my eyes to relax. Cabo is kind of expensive, so have money and expect to pay at least $40.00 on the average for a dinner for 3, 2 sodas and 1 alcoholic drink (You can easily spend over $100 in one day on food alone if you include breakfast, lunch and drinks). Learn each peso value and check the bill, because some of the natives will try to cheat you. That or get small bills and alot of single dollar bills. Not even McDonalds would give me American change back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Say "No" and keep walking. Don't be afraid to request a menu after you eat and check YOUR bill against the menu prices. Remember, it's a vacation, relax and have fun but don't be a sucker or get suckered. Once you get back home, you still need to be able to pay your bills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Repeat Customers
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Location, Location, Location !!!!!

Great larg rooms with fanstic view !!!! Located in front of Lands End close to marina, downtown and the restaruant Office right in front of hotel. Service was outstanding !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30sgal
Business
Los Angeles CA
Aug 1, 2011

good for the price

Just spent 5 days at Casa Dorada and it was very nice and a pretty good deal for the money. The location is the absolute BEST part of the hotel, 5-10 minutes from downtown Cabo. It is definitely not a party hotel (I am 32 and single and went with 4 girlfriends), but you are right next door to ME if that's your thing. Having your own private beach was very cool too, and the service was attentive and helpful. Our two bedroom suite was gorgeous with amazing ocean views everywhere, but a lot of things broke. My hairdryer broke, the coffee-maker broke (and no filters), the fridge broke, they only gave us one roll of tp, the dishes are tiny and few and far between, the kitchen smoked and set off the fire alarm - so really the facade of the place is nice but the quality isn't as up to par with similar American luxury hotels. Still, the place was clean and nice, and to be able to walk into town was 100% worth the stay at Casa Dorada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste $$ on a cab to downtown Cabo from this hotel - they will charge you around $10 when you could walk there for free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cabo Wabo
Business
San Francisco
Jul 10, 2011

Great hotel, great location

We couldn't ask for a better hotel in a perfect location. Great views, great beach access. Pool was spectacular, great service. It was nice having a fitness center to use. Hotel is within a 15 min walk to central downtown, squid roe and local shops. Our room was awesome! 2nd floor ocean/pool views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon City, OR
Jul 7, 2011

Excellent Resort and Location

This was our second time in Cabo and our first stay at the Casa Dorada. I doubt we will stay at any other resort next time. The Casa Dorada was built in 2008. We stayed in the One Bedroom Suite and it was just under 1400 square feet....a HUGE room, always clean, super efficient air conditioning, great patio and not much noise from outside even though we were just above the pool area. Our arrival and check in was fast. We were never approached by timeshare reps as many others have noted. We were in our room in minutes. We were easily able to charge meals, drinks and other items to our room. All the staff were excellent. My wife asked for a dozen extra hangars and they arrived in minutes. Staff offered more towels in the late afternoon and did turn down service in the evening. We arrived back at our room with some lamps on and music playing. The bed was VERY comfortable. Many room service menu options are available all night (moon symbol). We didn't realize this until we ordered a Domino's Pizza late one night thinking it ended at 11pm. The pool area was great. I'm very susceptible to sunburns and we never had trouble finding umbrellas or places to sit/lie. We spent a couple days beachside again under umbrellas in the resort only area. Keep in mind, if you lay at the beach avoid the front row because the Mexican vendors will walk past and call out to you every minute or so. Pool and Beach bar/food service was excellent at times and slow others, depending on the staff. The food was quite good. We ate at 12 Tribes a few times, the resort restaurant which sits near the pool overlooking the ocean. Wide open with no windows so the breeze blows through nicely. Beautiful setting and the food was EXCELLENT. We weren't that impressed with the made to order desserts we had but the buffet desserts were great. Taxi service is quick at the entry...never more than a one minute wait. They typically had three or four taxis parked next to the hotel ready to come around. Taxi rides into downtown (near the Harbor) were between $6-8 dollars although a ten minute walk would take you there. Walking to the beach....forty paces from the pool. The Office and The Mango Deck are right there. The Office has some of the best food we had in Cabo. The shrimp omelette was incredible. We didn't like the food at the Mango Deck but the place is full of action with staff engaging customers (usually the good looking scantily clad sort) into all sorts of antics resulting in free shots of tequila. Fun place. From that same beach wave runners are rented for $90 an hour. Water Taxis to the harbor are easy and quick (about $4 a person for the ride one way). Our favorite places to eat at the harbor were Captain Tony's (great shrimp tacos) and right next door Solomon's Landing (awesome Filet Mignon and pretty much everything else we had). No Worry's Bar is at the same location (under the lighthouse) and five nights a week (Wed-Sun) they have an 80's rock cover band called Azteca. Who knew four Mexicans could rock so well to AC/DC, Bon Jovi, Scorpions, ZZ Top, Deep Purple, Def Leppard, Van Halen, etc. The lead singer really plays the part with his long black hair and Sebastian Bach looks while band manager and bass player Mario Carrasco G was a good time (although hard to understand in English) We finished our stay never having been cornered by timeshare reps. We saw one staff member starting down that path and we continued on our way. Very happy with this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Italian Restaurant "That's Amore'" located behind the El Squid Roe bar/club in downtown Cabo. This place was listed in a hotel magazine as a great hidden gem and they weren't kidding. Its easy to miss. The food is all made to order in the tiny kitchen. Great theming and decor. The owner, [...], met us at the door. My wife was looking for something not on the menu and [...]walked her through options making her meal to her liking from scratch. The food was awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top