$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Casa Dorada Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Av Del Pescador S/N, Col El Medano, Cabo San Lucas, 23479

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beach girl 55
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 15, 2014

Can't wait to go back

Best location for lots of action. Great beach, lots of chairs and umbrellas, fantastic food and drinks from Sylvia and Laura on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Office Restaurant on the beach is a fun place to go with great food. Make reservations for dinner as it gets very busy.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DP the traveler
Business
Pleasant Hill, California
Sep 10, 2012

End of Summer Getaway

The hotel has a great location - right off the beach and close to downtown. The pool area is nice and all the rooms have a view of the ocean. The best part of the trip was going to lover's beach on a real nice sunny day. We got dropped off in a glass bottom boat after doing the boat tour of el arco and land's end. Cost us $12/person round trip - heard you can get lower. All in all it was a great trip and as i sit here back in my office I'm wishing I was still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

As soon as you get off the plane people will start asking you about your age. The want to get you to go to their timeshare tours which they may say takes 90 minutes but more like 2.5 to 3 hours. I ended up going on the timeshare tour to get free activities but when I said no at the end, the guy got extremely upset and I ended up not getting the activities. I will avoid all timeshare offers on future trips.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stormy weather warrior
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 6, 2012

On the beach, but but not really

Visited early September, which isn't necessarily the best time of year. Medano Beach is said to be the "most swimmable" in the area, but this time of year, the current is strong when there is weather. My wife really wanted to take a dip in the sea, but it wasn't happening this trip. The hotel is "right on the beach" but about 80% of the property is nestled behind the hotel restaurant and an unrelated party bar (Mangos). Not much of a view of the beach unless you have a high vantage point. Several days of rain left the grounds and hallways open to the weather messy and wet. They say it doesn't rain much in Cabo, so when it does, the city floods and pretty much shuts down. Water from the hallway flooded a portion of my room, but the staff took care of it quickly once alerted. Pool was pretty nice, but needed work. Right now they're chipping the tile out of the lower pool to resurface with smooth pebble-tek. Staff was generally very nice, but the timeshare staff (i.e., activities desk) were aggressive. Try working with the concierge or book activities elsewhere, since there are plenty of people bidding for your cash without a timeshare pitch. We ate poolside and at the main restaurant for breakfast. Food was fair (probably the weakest aspect of the property), but there were several excellent options within a few minutes walk of the hotel (some right across the street). We really liked the one bedroom plus room, which was a king bed, single bedroom with jacuzzi, kitchen, huge living room, two full baths and two balconies. Very nice room with nice furnishings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid generic money machines on the street. They only dispense dollars and tend to give poor exchange rates (25%!). Look for money machines in banks to get a better rate, or exchange at the hotel. The hotel rate was actually much better than the rate at the airport.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baryous
Business
Bay Area
Sep 4, 2012

Pool - gym

For some reason they decided to schedule maintenance on one of the pools over labor day weekend. The gym was flooded. Only half of it was open

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGMTL
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 28, 2012

Amazing location, service, and proximity

This hotel was amazing! The room was clean and beautiful. We always roam around the city when we travel and what was great was that we had a beautiful beach at our footsteps and when we wanted to go into town, it was a 10 minute walk to get to places at the Marina or all the bars and restaurants. Also, every morning was the view of El Arco from your window! The service was amazing, from the pool bar, to room service, maid service, and the concierge. I have already recommended this hotel to some friends. If you're going to Cabo, you should really consider this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't remember the name of this bar but there are two of them on the main road where all the bars and restaurants are. One of the places is called the world's smallest bar, and I can't remember the other, but it looks exactly the same. 1$ shooters of Tequila...everyday and every night!

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMprod
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Aug 13, 2012

Solid Resort

I've stayed at Casa Dorada a few times now, it's mostly for a few things that I can count on: location (5 minutes from downtown walk), location (right on the beach), it's new (built in 2008), very modern and nice (again it's new), family friendly (children pool and activities), and the rooms and views are great with kitchen. You can be approached by timeshare sellers (everywhere in Cabo) but you just need to be pleasant and decline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco stands across from Mall - fish tacos until 7 pm. Also Senor Sweets has great gelato and coffee until 11 pm.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JM Belle
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Aug 10, 2012

Great Service

Everything was great, staff was friendly. Will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teefoz
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 1, 2012

Great stay! Be ware of the extra in room amenities and airport transportation

The stay was great. The room was cleaned at least twice a day which is awesome. I had a room with a hot tub that and a lot of dirt came out. They came up to clean it but it was too late already for me to deal with it again. The internet on the TV didn't work and no one fixed it. The airport transportation is limited to taxis that are super expensive and no one had any idea how else to get to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The love turtles
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 30, 2012

A House of Gold

Stayed here from Sunday to Friday during mid-July. Hot 90's weather is surprisingly tolerable (Las Vegas feels hotter). The hotel, rooms, grounds, view, service, and location is amazing. Debating between both Pueblo Bonito hotels next door and felt that the quality of Casa Dorada was worth the price difference. Swim up bar has excellent food and daily drink/food deals (2 for 1). Not your party atmosphere, more relaxing with families and couples, a few kids. Both pools are nice, the dark-blue color pool has tiles that can use some work, and i believe they are shutting the pool down in September for maintenance. Pools are large and provide plenty of space for guests. Go down some stairs, and you're at the beach, awesome. Mango deck noise isn't as bad as other reviews make it seem. 12 Tribes restaurant located on the grounds is expensive. Food is good, but not worth the price. We only ate there once, with so many choices to dine, why eat there when you have MANY other options that are cheaper and tastier. $30 fajita buffet??? No thanks. Even at $20, that sounds a bit pricey. Always felt safe and staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. No free wifi; and overpriced for use. If close enough to the Mango Deck, you might get a small free wifi signal. Didn't see any internet-cafes nearby. This actually was the only downside of this hotel. Go out into the city for restaurants. Always felt safe, lots of tourists around, and found a lot of great places to eat. We would definitely return here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurants in the city, they're amazing! No need to do the restaurants on the resort, not worth it.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SJ2012
Business
Seattle
Mar 19, 2012

Excellent Visit

The room decor is excellent and all of the staff were great. We had 2 massages. Would not recommend the bamboo massage but the Swedish was excellent. We ate at the pool side every day and it was delicious. The quality and quantity per serving were of good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LLKLW
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Great place ... but Music gives headache!

Great views, comfort, pool and beach ... all service very good and so nice. But the music and voices on a speaker ruins the atmosphere ... it should be calm, quiet, peaceful and listening to the waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

bargain with Beach people selling things.

Back to menu Return to top