$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Casa Dorada Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Av Del Pescador S/N, Col El Medano, Cabo San Lucas, 23479

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chekmate
Business
Denver
Jan 7, 2013

Excellent Location

Near the town of Cabo San Lucas the Casa Dorada allows you to have a vacation without driving a car. The only time we were in a car was to play golf and we'd do anything to play golf. Otherwise, you are able to walk to all activities, the marina, dinner, entertainment, etc. I highly reccomend this hotel and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Amazing Italian food in Cabo. Who'd have figured that. Salvatores and Alcavarea.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CALILUV
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 16, 2012

Needs room and staff improvement

I've stayed at Cabo many times at many different hotels, and I think there are better ones for similar rates. Pros: Location (walking distance to everything), Pool (friendly waiters, 2 for 1 happy hour every afternoon, Spa (LA prices so expensive but nice facilities), Room Size (huge for just the 2 of us but we liked the space) Cons: Room Cleanliness - smelled really moldy when we walked in and took a day for them to fix the vent, the bath tub filled with rusty water and their excuse was that the pipes were 5 yrs old (huh?), and they only did turn -down service one of the nights even though we requested it each night (not a big deal but weird that they would just ignore us after the first night). Front Desk Service – got off on the wrong foot as they shoved us into a time share pitch when we first arrived, even though we asked politely to be able to go straight to our room. We’ve been through the pitch before and we just wanted to change and hit the pool after a long flight and shuttle ride. Anyway, when we told them about the room problems we just got attitude but the front desk girl finally agreed to give us a free breakfast (which was just ok). The worst occurred as we were leaving – check out was at 1pm but apparently that means you have to actually be at the front desk to check out AT 1pm EXACTLY. We walked up to the front desk at 1:20pm and she rudely informed us that they were charging us $20 since we were 20 minutes late and they needed time to clean the room before the next guest. I tried to explain to her that we were actually out of the room well before 1 (and I admitted that I had run back to the room around 1:15 since I forgot something, but no one came to the room during the 3 minutes I was in there) so they could have just gone up to the room to clean at 1, but she kept giving me major attitude so we gave up. I should mention that aside from being paying guests, we spent about a lot on drinks and food by the pool as well as spa services during our stay, but the girl at reception made us feel like we weren’t even worth her time and dismissed us with a “ok thanks for coming BYE NOW.” I could’ve let it go about the few room issues but there is no excuse to treat paying guests like that ever, especially in a so-called 4 star resort. I think her name was Lilly, so beware of her sharp tongue - ended an otherwise pleasant stay on a very sour note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Magdalins
Business
Ilinois
Nov 29, 2012

Perfect Honeymoon getaway!

We stayed for 8 days and 7 nights at Casa Dorada for our honeymoon in November. The staff was accommodating and greeted us at every opportunity. Any questions we had from local restaurants to excursions were answered directly! The room had an impeccable view of the arch and Lover's Beach which were only a 5 minute water taxi ride! While we were there we rode ATV's, went zip-lining, snorkling, and visited lover's beach! Casa Dorada set all of the activities up for us as well as provided transportation! The best vacation ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yurman2000
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 8, 2012

Medano Beach

This hotel sits right on the Medano Beach where everybody want to be. In terms of location - this is perfect. Staff is friendly and accomodative. We were upgraded from junior suite to 1-bedroom at no additional cost. Same thing happened on our previous trip. This is very nice of them. The room is double the size w/huge balcony-terrace.Easy access to the beach w/cabanas and food & drinks service on the spot. From the hotel its about a 10 minute walk to the marina where the night life - food places and entertainment available. This Hotel has a restaurant called "12 Tribes" which sits on the beautiful terrace overlooking the Arch and a shore of the Sea of Cortez, however, the restaurant itself could use a better quality food and perhaps a better cook considering the status of the Hotel. All else is perfect.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch or dinner right on the beach at the place called "OFFICE" right next to the hotel. There is no mistake in anything you order. Delicious.,.,.,.,.,.,,.,.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents get away
Business
Pleasanton CA
Oct 9, 2012

Great property and location

Casa Dorada's rooms and grounds are new, clean and very comfortable. Patio's were spacious. The hotel and staff were very courtious but the location makes the difference. Stairs from the pool area right down to the beach We have stayed at other hotels very close - Bahia, Bonito Rose, Cabo Villa - but Casa Dorada was a significantly better experience for us. It was also very quite overall even thought the hotel was pretty full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DP the traveler
Business
Pleasant Hill, California
Sep 10, 2012

End of Summer Getaway

The hotel has a great location - right off the beach and close to downtown. The pool area is nice and all the rooms have a view of the ocean. The best part of the trip was going to lover's beach on a real nice sunny day. We got dropped off in a glass bottom boat after doing the boat tour of el arco and land's end. Cost us $12/person round trip - heard you can get lower. All in all it was a great trip and as i sit here back in my office I'm wishing I was still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

As soon as you get off the plane people will start asking you about your age. The want to get you to go to their timeshare tours which they may say takes 90 minutes but more like 2.5 to 3 hours. I ended up going on the timeshare tour to get free activities but when I said no at the end, the guy got extremely upset and I ended up not getting the activities. I will avoid all timeshare offers on future trips.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stormy weather warrior
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 6, 2012

On the beach, but but not really

Visited early September, which isn't necessarily the best time of year. Medano Beach is said to be the "most swimmable" in the area, but this time of year, the current is strong when there is weather. My wife really wanted to take a dip in the sea, but it wasn't happening this trip. The hotel is "right on the beach" but about 80% of the property is nestled behind the hotel restaurant and an unrelated party bar (Mangos). Not much of a view of the beach unless you have a high vantage point. Several days of rain left the grounds and hallways open to the weather messy and wet. They say it doesn't rain much in Cabo, so when it does, the city floods and pretty much shuts down. Water from the hallway flooded a portion of my room, but the staff took care of it quickly once alerted. Pool was pretty nice, but needed work. Right now they're chipping the tile out of the lower pool to resurface with smooth pebble-tek. Staff was generally very nice, but the timeshare staff (i.e., activities desk) were aggressive. Try working with the concierge or book activities elsewhere, since there are plenty of people bidding for your cash without a timeshare pitch. We ate poolside and at the main restaurant for breakfast. Food was fair (probably the weakest aspect of the property), but there were several excellent options within a few minutes walk of the hotel (some right across the street). We really liked the one bedroom plus room, which was a king bed, single bedroom with jacuzzi, kitchen, huge living room, two full baths and two balconies. Very nice room with nice furnishings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid generic money machines on the street. They only dispense dollars and tend to give poor exchange rates (25%!). Look for money machines in banks to get a better rate, or exchange at the hotel. The hotel rate was actually much better than the rate at the airport.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baryous
Business
Bay Area
Sep 4, 2012

Pool - gym

For some reason they decided to schedule maintenance on one of the pools over labor day weekend. The gym was flooded. Only half of it was open

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGMTL
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 28, 2012

Amazing location, service, and proximity

This hotel was amazing! The room was clean and beautiful. We always roam around the city when we travel and what was great was that we had a beautiful beach at our footsteps and when we wanted to go into town, it was a 10 minute walk to get to places at the Marina or all the bars and restaurants. Also, every morning was the view of El Arco from your window! The service was amazing, from the pool bar, to room service, maid service, and the concierge. I have already recommended this hotel to some friends. If you're going to Cabo, you should really consider this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't remember the name of this bar but there are two of them on the main road where all the bars and restaurants are. One of the places is called the world's smallest bar, and I can't remember the other, but it looks exactly the same. 1$ shooters of Tequila...everyday and every night!

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMprod
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Aug 13, 2012

Solid Resort

I've stayed at Casa Dorada a few times now, it's mostly for a few things that I can count on: location (5 minutes from downtown walk), location (right on the beach), it's new (built in 2008), very modern and nice (again it's new), family friendly (children pool and activities), and the rooms and views are great with kitchen. You can be approached by timeshare sellers (everywhere in Cabo) but you just need to be pleasant and decline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco stands across from Mall - fish tacos until 7 pm. Also Senor Sweets has great gelato and coffee until 11 pm.

Back to menu Return to top