$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Casa Dorada Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Av Del Pescador S/N, Col El Medano, Cabo San Lucas, 23479

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A.Castle
Family
Long Beach, CA
Oct 5, 2009

Very nice, if not for construction

The rooms were great and very clean. Service was good. Location is wonderful in terms of beach access and access to Marina shopping/dining. But we were very disappointed that pool was under construction and we were not advised in advance. Traveling with small child that was a huge pass-time and it was not tranquil for us... if I would have known I would have booked elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oregon
Oct 2, 2009

Overpriced Noise Pad

At checkin you could hear a horible pounding. I asked about it. the pool was under construction. The staff said that it was the last day. That turned into a joke. Everyday was the last day of the continuous pounding of a jackhammer. The hotel is only a year old and they are already having to do major repairs. There was no upgrad, no offer of anything. [...] The construction went on until 10pm at night almost every day. The staff were very poor overall. Of course we found one or two that were great but the rest only helped the people that were rude to them. The water went out for a whole day at one point. No one called to explain. The phone and wireless internet went down for a whole day at one point.If this much is wrong after one year, I shudder to think whats going to happen as the hotel gets older. It rained a couple times and the water flooded into the room. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the kitchen.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fabfive31
Couples
Hartford, CT
Sep 30, 2009

Nice Hotel but......

The hotel was located close to many great restaurants, the mall, the marina and many great bars. But the pool was under construction and we were never notified in advance of this. Apparently [...] knew of the construction and didnt warn anyone of this, we were on our honeymoon and a loud jackhammer was the last thing that we wanted to hear. Fortunately management was very understanding and tried to accomodate us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Casa Dorada
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Sep 26, 2009

Found another hotel after one night!

The hotel room (One Bedroom Suite Ocean View - 1 king bed and 1 sofa bed - 1380 Sq.Ft) was amazing. Excellent view, very large jacuzzi tub, nice full kitchen. The location of the hotel was on a good portion of the beach as well. However, I couldn't stay past one night. There was a constant BARRAGE of time share questions from EVERYONE - the check-in staff, the maître d, bell hops, beach staff, etc - it was unrelenting. When I complained that I wasn't interested and would like the staff to stop asking, I was admonished for asking - instead told that time shares were how los cobos were built and that should have expected it! The straw that broke the camel's back was the next morning, when unexpected construction on the pool started. We woke up to a drained pool and a bunch of workers jackhammering the pool apart. We called the front desk and were told it'd be going on 9AM-5PM Mon-Fri (the entire duration of our trip). I got our money back for the remaining nights and stayed at Villa La Estancia instead - and it was WONDERFUL. We were asked ONCE about a time share presentation at the time of check-in, and that was IT. The hotel had a working pool (crazy, I know!) and it was quiet. The rooms were of equal quality to Casa Dorada. Villa La Estancia and their wonderful staff saved our vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cabobound
Family
Manitoba Canada
Sep 17, 2009

Fantastic Getaway for any age group

We thoroughly enjoyed our room. The view was breathtaking and the terraces are large so we enjoyed breakfast and dinner out on the terrace. The hotel was in walking distance to the mall and marina which we went to a couple of times a day. We enjoyed the beach with the ocean being like bath water. I enjoyed not being at an all inclusive resort which we have always been to on previous trips. Cooking with a view is fantastic. Plus our hotel had great restaurants and food made at the pool bar. Walking from the hotel to the marina, you always felt safe, no worrys even if you went by yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco
Sep 14, 2009

jackhammers, construction & timeshares

One word - terrible. Neither Orbitz nor the hotel bothered to mention that half the pool complex would be under construction while my wife and I were there. We woke every morning to jackhammers which continued nonstop all day making time spent by the pool unbearable. Add to that the daily harassment to attend a timeshare presentation (need I say more). Thanks Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Casa Dorada

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gulfport, MS
Sep 13, 2009

Great room, useless lobby staff

Be aware that the timeshare salesmen are incredibly annoying. Do not expect to be able to walk out of the hotel lobby on any given morning, even for breakfast, without being interrogated about where you are going and who you are meeting. It was to the point of harassment for the first few days. It got better after I basically went off on one of the salesmen, [...], but it should not have to come to that. Casa Dorada, you need to keep your salespeople in line. It is not pleasant nor professional. I am a guest and I should be able to go and come as I please. Where I go and come from is none of your business.That being said, the rooms are spectacular, although we had the bad luck of going just as they were beginning their pool renovation. Imagine jackhammering from 9-5. No compensation was offered for the fact that we had to go elsewhere during our stay for some peace and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi to the Wal-Mart and buy some groceries to save on money. The front desk was not very helpful at all when it came to finding ways around town. Do all the research yourself beforehand of how to get around if you plan to walk.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston
Sep 7, 2009

Paradiso Mexicano

Casa Dorada is a wonderful hotel right on Medano Beach and minutes away from downtown Cabo and the Marina. Its brand new, beautiful, with a great friendly staff. My one negative comment would be that they really do pour it on thick with the timeshare stuff. However a couple we met there didnt ever do the tour. The views are unbelievable,walk steps to ether the beach or the huge pool. Staff was fun and quickly learned all our preferences. We actually hung out in Cabo with some of the staff Id say the clientele skewed younger witch was great for me and my wife(early 30's mid 20's), not too many kids. But that could have to do with timing (late Aug ). Overall I loved Casa Dorada would highly recommend it and would absolutely return, hopefully real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For Hardcore Party People "Squid Row" For rock n rollers "Cabo Wabo". For an awesome cruise around the bay with tons of booze and a crazy mexican crew "the Jungle Cruise Booze Cruise"

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles,CA
Sep 6, 2009

The best vacation ever!!!

This hotel is in the best location. It's within walking distance to restaurants and bars. The hotel staff go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are amazing. Everything you would ever need in a room. It's located in the best swimming beach in Cabo. The only thing that I would change from this hotel is the channel line up of the T.V. There were not enough English channels which is not a big deal. Just don't expect to keep informed with sports in the U.S. because it's not gonna happen. They don't have ESPN which my husband missed a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown and the marina are within walking distance. There is no point in paying $8 each way to get to and from. It's also helpful to exchange your money into pesos instead of using dollars. You get more for your money that way. Another thing I would change is that you can't take a shuttle back to the airport. You have to pay $65 U.S. to get back to the airport.

Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mauicat
Couples
San Ramon, CA
Sep 4, 2009

Beautiful resort & hurricane strong

5 Star place. We were there during hurricane Jimiena. The absence of lighting over the balck stairway in the lobby and the absence of hand railings down the wet slippery exterior halls were more evident. Emergency proceedures also need improvement. They elected to lock down hotel including guests, turn off air conditioning, elevators, network and most lights. We were locked down for 12 hours. While, other hotels were fully functioning with all services, and guests were not under lock-down. The next afternoon (16 hours after the storm) network, elevators, etc. were still functioning. Other areas never elected to turn off these services. There were no power outages anywhere during the entire time. Service was excellent. They provided all meals, and chair massages. No beer, wine or alcohol was served or allowed during the 12 hour lock-down. We love the resort and would go back again. In the event of another Catagory 4 hurricane, when they tell you they only expect light rain (just remember, they don't want you to leave) However, it is better to go home early, or move to another hotel that will not practice early lock-down and shut-down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the pool, swim-up bar and any water activities immediately. They are great!

Back to menu Return to top