$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Casa Dorada Los Cabos

4 stars
Av Del Pescador S/N, Col El Medano, Cabo San Lucas, 23479
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
185 reviews
Great week

Great hotel Great location Great trip Definitely will be back See full review

  • Fleadiddy
  • Dec 9, 2014
Casa Dorada is Paradise

Beautiful hotel, perfect location, excellent service... What more could you ask for! See full review

  • lvsyl
  • Aug 26, 2014
Relaxing Los Cabos beach resort boasts breathtaking views, spa services
Casa Dorada Los Cabos mesmerizes guests with beachfront rooms, suites and penthouses, and a lengthy list of leisure activities. Extended-stay travelers appreciate luxuries like in-room dining tables and stainless steel kitchens, while two pools, supervised activities for children and a full-service spa are staples that everyone can enjoy. Come mealtime, visitors flock to seafood favorite 12 Tribes or Maydan, an oceanfront beach club.
Highlights
  • Luxury Los Cabos hotel with ocean-view rooms, suites and penthouses
  • Suites and penthouses equipped with kitchens and dining tables
  • High-end spa
  • Precor-equipped fitness center
  • Activity room for kids at Casa Dorada Los Cabos
Rooms
Sleek lines and handsome furniture bring contemporary flair to rooms at Casa Dorada Los Cabos. Espresso-colored media cabinets, headboards and nightstands pair well with fine bedding in subtle beige and white, while tropical fish-themed artwork adds a bright pop above beds. Lavish suites and penthouses spoil with extra space for cooking and dining, from gourmet granite- and stainless-steel-equipped kitchens to roomy dining tables. Jacuzzis and expansive oceanfront terraces top off the luxury.
Dining
Casa Dorada Los Cabos pours on the ambiance at its lounge and three restaurants. From 12 Tribes, a seaside boite specializing in fresh seafood, diners soak up ocean views and sunsets. The eatery also holds prestige as being one of just two Mexican restaurants featured in the global restaurant guide of Black Ink -- Centurion's members-only publication. Maydan, the oceanfront beach club, captivates with live music, open-air and indoor dining, and catches brought directly from Medano Beach.
Recreation
Guests at Casa Dorada Los Cabos set their own pace for leisure activities, whether it is unwinding in the two pools at the swim-up bars or enjoying spa treatments for couples in private cabanas. The resort staves off boredom for kids with an activity room and family-friendly distractions like fishing and snorkeling. Saltwater Spa, a haven for massages, facials and body treatments, is the perfect pit stop after an invigorating workout on Precor equipment in the fitness center.
Transportation
  • Los Cabos International Airport (21.4 mi/34.4 km)
Attractions
  • Iglesia de San Lucas (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Los Cabos Corridor (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • El Arco de Cabo San Lucas (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • La Candelaria (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • San Jose del Cabo (17.4 mi/28 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Dorada Los Cabos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Casa Dorada Los Cabos Rooms

Deluxe
Ocean view room with two double beds, contemporary decor, fine woods on furniture combined with fresh textiles on bright colors, large closets, flat screen TVs complimentary electronic safe deposit box, independent air conditioning, large ocean view terrace, ceiling fans and living area, dining area, kitchenette. Bathroom with shower and bathtub. Rate includes a maximum occupancy of 2 adults.
One bedroom Suite
Ocean view suite with one king bed, contemporary decor, fine woods on furniture combined with fresh textiles on bright colors, large closets, flat screen TVs complimentary electronic safe deposit box, independent air conditioning, large ocean view terrace, ceiling fans and living area, dining area, full kitchen, pull-out bed for children, and bathroom with bathtub and shower. Rate includes a maximum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids under 12.
Two bedrooms Suite
Ocean view suite with two bedrooms: master room with king bed, second room with two double beds.Contemporary decor, fine woods on furniture combined with fresh textiles on bright colors, large closets, flat screen TVs complimentary electronic safe deposit box, independent air conditioning, large ocean view terrace, ceiling fans and living area, dining area, full kitchen, pull-out bed for children, master bathroom with jacuzzi and separate shower area, second bathroom with bathtub and shower. Rate includes a maximum of 6 adults and 2 kids under 12.
Junior Suite
Ocean view suite with one king bed, contemporary decor, fine woods on furniture combined with fresh textiles on bright colors, large closets, flat screen TVs complimentary electronic safe deposit box, independent air conditioning, large ocean view terrace, ceiling fans and living area, dining area, kitchenette, Rate includes a maximum occupancy of 2 adults.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

12 Tribes
Ocean front restaurant open for dinner. Formal tropical ambiance, unique menu in Cabo, dishes inspired on the gastronomy of the following areas: Eastern Europe, Spain and Russia, all with a contemporary, fresh and innovative touch. This ocean front restaurant offers optional terrace seating.
Maydan
Restaurant open for breakfast and lunch: offers casual food with a Mexican touch and seafood specialties as well as all kind of beverages on the beach. Buffet and a la carte services are available.
B
This is our version of a Lobby bar. B offers an original ambiance with a strategic location in the heart of the hotel. Our guests will enjoy live music, international bar and a wide variety of beer brands including the Casa Dorada brew while they steer at the ocean views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from Bend, OR
Business
Bend, Oregon
Jan 20, 2011

Great hotel and location

Very nice hotel and great location. Very short walk to marina and downtown (4 blocks or so), yet has its own private beach access\section on Medano Beach which is rare. Never spent time at the pool, but looked and seemed nice. Beach access is very easy, just walk down hotel stairs to private section to the left or out to the public section to the right for access to other beach merchants and restaurants. Easy access to beach activity merchants or you could use the hotel concierge. Very minimal timeshare sales pitches. Good service and staff. Rooms are great (we had a one bedroom suite). Very reasonable pricing (drinks, food, etc) and did not try to nickel and dime you on everything. Would definitely go back. We also would look into one of their bigger rooms and bring the kids next time. Hotel has three golf courses associated\partnered with it. We only played Cabo Real and would not recommend it. We booked our own tee times at Cabo del Sol which was great, but very pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 8, 2011

Lovely but a bit too loud.

Customer service is of a high quality here, and the general design and decor of the hotel is comfortable and tasteful. Food served at the hotel was best (as it often is with these places) by the pool, and variable at the restaurants (soups at 12 Tribes were excellent, dessert from room service inedible). Spa is quite nice. Honorable personnel mentions go to pool server Mayra, Reyna at the desk, and Pako at the concierge office. The time share pressure is palpalable throughout, and one sales guy seemed irritated and mystified that we, as hotel guests, were not interested in his spiel. Location is very close to downtown Cabo San Lucas. That gives you a gorgeous view of lover's beach, and access to restaurants, but also puts you 100 yards from the everpresent drinking games and other shenanigans and music of the party crowd. So you hear the hotel's 80's rock playing in one ear, and the men's pushup contest to win beer and the mariachi music in the other. Annoying. Also, for 2 solid days, some guy was hammering holes in a nearby concrete wall just outside the hotel's perimeter. A very nice hotel, but not one I will rush back to since there is really nothing that it does "best." This was my 5th Cabo trip and 5th resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Esquina restaurant is an absolute gem, expecially for Cabo. Contintental fusion fare, served up in a very hip and tasteful atmosphere. It is in the pre-open phase now and goes live in February of 2011.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Odessa, Tx
Jan 3, 2011

Very nice hotel for the price

The hotel itself was very pretty and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were big and very comfortable. I found it strange there was a coffee pot in room but you had to pay extra for coffee. If you want to be close to town it is a good location. We prefer to be out away from town. There were restaurants right below one end of the hotel and it was extremely loud if you wanted to enjoy your patio. Along with music there was a loud generator or exhaust fan that was constant. I would suggest not staying in rooms 1-8 on any floor on that side of the hotel. I was surprised they gave us rooms on that side since I had booked three rooms for 6 nights. The beach area had a lot of people selling there wares so a walk on the beach was not peaceful. You are close to all the water sports.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining place across the street and below hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
Jan 1, 2011

Great location but noisey

The hotel is great and so is the service. The down side is the noise from local beach bars and the cruise line passengers who are encouraged by the hotel to use the private beach area. In fact there were many non hotel guests who filled up all the beds so often there where not enough for the hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UkCat03
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 6, 2010

great location

Great location on the beach and 5 minute walk to the marina. Nice, swimable beach with plenty of opportunity to rent Jet Ski's, Kayaks, parasailing, etc... Plenty of vendors selling goods on the beach. Lots of places to eat right on the beach near the hotel Many previous reviews said the Mango Bar was too loud. Our room was right on the other side of the wall from Mango and we never heard anything with the AC running in our room. We were there the week after Thanksgiving and it was not crowded at all. No problem getting a chair at the pool anytime. We were never hasseled by time share people while at the hotel. The airport is another story though... Tip- request a room on a floor higher then 3 for the best view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you take a kayaking trip to see the Arch. Beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tracy, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Third Time

This was our third stay at Casa Dorada. Very nice hotel, beautiful view over Medano beach. Short walk to marina and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 13, 2010

Fantastic Hotel & Location

Overall great hotel, when we arrived we were greeted warmly and provided with some mango mixed drinks as a courtesy. We arrived about 1 hr prior to checkin so we had to wait, and the room took about an extra 30 mins past the 3 checkin time. However when we got to the room it was amazing. We had the 1 bedroom ocean front suite. It was HUGE, elegant interior and had an amnazing view of the beach and pool. The staff all throughout the hotel were very nice and would always bend over backwards to accomodate requests. Pool side food and drink service was priced reasonably , especially for the location, breakfast buffet at hotel was reasonable and tasty. Room service was done every day depending on when you were out of the room, they were good about knowing when you were out and when you were in. They never interupted us while in the room. Also included was nightly turndown service, and some hershey choclate. The location is perfect, its 4 to 5 minutes to the marina where all your favorite restaurants are located. Ruth Chris, johnny rockets, hard rock, burger King, starbucks and literally tons and tons of other restaurants, shopping and night life. The only negative was the time share pitch witch seems to happen at most of the hotels down in Mexico. While we didnt really get hassled inside the hotel, as soon as you exit the back gate to head down to the restaurant or the private hotel beach area, there was always 3-4 time share people from the hotel ready to bother you. They asked every time we went by, and it did get old. One lady followed us onto the private beach area to continue her pitch. By day 3 they relaized we didnt want the timeshare so they left us alone. If this hotel did away with the timeshare bit, it would be PERFECT. Overall great hotel, great location, great service and very friendly and helpfull staff. I would reccommend this hotel to people looking for a great convient stay in Cabo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, 5 minute or less walk to tons of restaurants, shopping and night life !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ca. couple
Business
San Diego
Nov 4, 2010

Great Place to relax

My wife and I did not know what to expect as it was our first trip to Mexico. We wee pleasantly surprised. Upon our arrival we checked in and were upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom without asking. We had to wait and boy was it worth the wait! We stayed in room 304 and had a great view every morning!!!!! As you check in you will be asked to take a time share tour. The one we did was in the hotel and was 90 minutes long. We did not buy but we received a free Margarita Cruise, a free snorkel package to Chileno Bay and $100 off our couples massage. Make sure you ask for what you want or you wont get it. The first person who hit us up was not willing to negotiate at all so be patient and stand pat. The first real day we stayed at the pool. You can reserve your spot at the pool and there were never a lot of people. We kept asking when it was going to get busy? The service was good and very attentive. The next day tough we went to the beach and decided that was where we would spend the rest of our trip. We set up our beach chairs and umbrella and watched the vendors, fellow tourists and cruise enthusiast do their thing. The service was equally attentive and provided us with everything we needed. We even received two each complimentary 5 minute massages. Casa Dorada was conveniently located about a 5 minute walk from the Marina. It was directly behind the Office, Mango Deck and several businesses running the water taxis, jet skis, para sailing, kayaks....... Tandem parasailing was $70, tandem jet ski was 50 for 50 minutes, water taxi tour to Lover's beach with a drop off and scheduled pick-up was 20 for two, water taxi to the marina was 2-3 dollars per person. There were a lot of vendors but they are roped off from you as long as you are on the Dorada property. I did not mind haggling with them over trinkets and my wife finally got into the spirit of things and enjoyed it also. HAGGLE for everything for the most part. We're from San Diego and did not think the prices were high as some had said. We took lots of small denomination bills and I would recommend the same. The Mango deck was great for watching football and the World Series. Bring lots of sun tan lotion and enjoy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 21, 2010

Modern & comfortable, and great location

This was our first time in Cabo, and after much research we chose the Casa Dorada at Medano Beach. We were not disappointed. We were greeted with a frozen daiquiri, given a free upgrade from a junior suite to a 1-BR room -- great way to start the stay! The rooms are very big, and well appointed. Plus, every room has ocean view. All the staff were friendly, and the prices for food/drink were very reasonable for a hotel (2-for-1 happy hour everyday!). We also loved the location, right off Medano Beach, where we enjoyed parasailing and waverunners and drinks/lunch at The Office. We also were within walking distance of the Marina and the main strip of bars (Cabo Wabo, Happy Ending, etc.). Although we didn't bring our son on this trip (we left our 1-year old at home for our first vacation post-parenthood), but we liked that there was a mix of couples and families, and plan to come back again with him and maybe our in-laws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We tried some really great restaurants: 1) La Fonda for Mexican food 2) Hacienda for Mexican food with an awesome view (and just a short walk down the beach). Loved it so much we went twice!) 3) Salvatore's for Italian food when you're tired of tacos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI.
Oct 12, 2010

Good and Bad

The hotel is in a very good location right on the beach, reasonable walking distance to downtown. But watch your bill, caught they billed be at four times the rate for internet service. When questioned they did adjust the bill so it's just a reminder. Water quality I know it is Mexico but when we used the hot tube in the room the hot water came out brown and left a ring around the tube. We would still go back to this hotel anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top