$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Las Villas Akumal

3 stars
Carretera Cancun-Tulum Km 104 Frac. Akumal Caribe, Akumal, 77737
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
18 reviews
Spacious with gorgeous view

Very friendly and helpful staff. Second floor Ocean view is a big plus. Don't think the garden view... See full review

  • RJFamily
  • Apr 12, 2013
Great place

One of the few places we've ever been that looks as good as the pictures! Beautiful location,... See full review

  • Nick Z.
  • Jul 19, 2014
Relax and unwind in the tranquil seclusion of your own villa

Set in peaceful seclusion along the Mayan Riviera, Las Villas Akumal is ideal for a peaceful relaxing holiday in this tranquil complex. The hotel is close to the area's white sandy beaches, which are home to nesting turtles between May and November each year. The nearby town of Akumal, Mayan for 'place of the turtles', is just a 10 minute walk along the beach. The town retains much of its old world charm and hosts a number of shops, bars and restaurants. Ancient Mayan ruins are in Tulum, a short drive from Las Villas Akumal. There is a small store at the Las Villas Akumal complex that can supply essentials such as toothpaste, sun tan lotion as well as bread, snacks, ice cream, soft drinks and other basic food requirements. For a small cost, there are laundry and babysitting services available and BBQs for hire. Las Villas Akumal and White Spa also offer a wide range of rejuvenating massages and full day spa treatments.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Great beach holiday in a relaxed, secluded location with well appointed spacious villa accommodation

  • Relax with a massage or full day spa

  • Diving, swimming and kayaking on the doorstep

Las Villas Akumal Rooms
The Las Villas Akumal complex consists of 26 spacious villas with a choice of one, two or three bedrooms and a view to either the garden or sea. All villas have a lounge, terrace and a kitchen equipped with oven, coffee maker, juicer, microwave, fridge/freezer, toaster and all utensils. They all provide air conditioning, satellite TV and a telephone. A safety deposit box is also available. Las Villas Akumal supply towels, including beach towels, and all necessary linen and bathroom facilities, drinking water and a daily house cleaner service. Snorkel equipment, kayaks, table tennis and some children's games are also available.
Things To Do:
  • Massages and Spa treatments (on site)

  • Akumal Town (0.5mi/0.8km)

  • Playa Del Carmen (24mi/38km)

  • Tulum Mayan Ruins (15mi/24km)

Hotel Map

20.3872 -87.3227
Area served
Akumal.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Las Villas Akumal is located in the ideal situation, in the middle of the Riviera Maya and far from the masses. Only twenty minutes from Playa del Carmen, 15 from Tulum and 75 short minutes from Cancun International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Las Villas Akumal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Las Villas Akumal Rooms

One bedroom ocean view
For a maximum of 3 guests (2 adults and 1 child). Villa comprising of one King size bedroom with full en-suite bathroom (shower only). Include fully equipped kitchen, lounge, dining area and ample beach front terrace with hammock chairs and patio table to enjoy views to the beautiful blues of the Caribbean Sea. All our villas are always prepared with our guests in mind, shampoo, natural soaps, towels, bed linens, beach towels, and daily maid service. Central Air Conditioning, complimentary WiFi, satellite television, telephone and fully equipped kitchen also form part of the service along with our fully qualified staff. Las Villas Akumal is an ecologically friendly resort.
Villa Junior Suite Garden View
The room offers 1 King size Bed and 1 Sofa Beds with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(3 people max.)
Two Bedroom Ocean View Villa
The room offers 1 King Bed, 2 Double Beds, 2 Sofa Beds with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(6 people max.)
Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
The room offers 1 King Bed, 2 Double Beds 2 Sofa Beds with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(6 people max.)
Three Bedroom Ocean View Villa
The room offers 2 King Beds, 2 Double Beds, 2 Sofa Beds individuales with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(8 people max.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant is located on the top roof of the main building with a magnificent view to the ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Las Villas Akumal

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suncatcher
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 29, 2013

Does not worth money

Rented junior suite, room 003A. It was advertized as a garden view but in real life it is in a basement , very dark room.No sitting area or table outside of the room. Toilet constantly was clogged. TV has few channels , about 20 years old and you can not see anything. Do not buy or go on breakfast. It has few fruits ,watermelon drink , not attractive yogurt , and something looks like french toast . Everything else extra, coffee form machine is about $5. You can do much better for this money , i mean rental. but if you have a large group and wound t mine pay about $300 for a night for ocean view it probably worth it. If you have a small children you have to walk 20 minutes for a nice sandy beach. It is very nice walk , but beach not for small children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snikers
Sacramento, CA
Jan 27, 2013

Awesome Place

This is an awesome place on an uncrowded beach. The 2 bdrm. condos are large and ours had a great ocean view. Wifi worked great too. It is a reasonably short walk to Akumal's main bay where you can snorkel with turtles and enjoy food on the beach. We will definitely be planning a future trip back here and will probably bring a few friends with us as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tabi 101
Basking Ridge, NJ
Mar 9, 2012

Quiet and very nice

For the quiet, relaxing vacation on the beach for value, this is the perfect place. Close (1km) to Akumal beach and restaurants, and 30 min. easy drive to Playa del Carmen where there are many authentic Mexican restaurants, this is a great place to come back many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roanoke, Virginia
Jun 12, 2009

Our first trip to the Rivera Maya

We wanted something away from the crowds and Las Villas Akumal was the place. The uncrowded beaches and a short distance to the town of Akumal made this a perfect place for us. We toured every other day and snorkeled locally on our "off days." If you want to swim with the turtles, we had plenty of company off the beaches of Akumal. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We did not rent a car on this first trip to the area. Thus, we had to take a cab or walk approximately 1 mile to the town of Akumal. We are "walkers" so we didn't mind, but you should be aware to come prepared if you do not rent a car. Breakfast is provided on site, but you will have to make other plans for dinner.

Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave the diver
Onalaska, WI, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Good location

The hotel has a nice beach, very scenic. Although not ideal for swimming, it is very well located for walking to the heart of Akumal for shopping, eating, happy hour and snorkeling in Akumal Bay. The staff did a great job with check in, maid service, the little gal at the breakfast buffet was really right there take care of all our requests. The front desk was most helpful setting up our return transfer to the Cancun airport. Really a nice quiet spot to relax around the pool and watch the waves wash ashore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lol Ha Beach Bar has a 5:30 to 6:30 happy hour with half priced drinks and free salsa and pico de gallo salsa. The bartender remembered our preferences after one visit. Maybe I tipped too much.

Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 25, 2009

Lovely

Las Villas Akumal was a really terrific place to stay. We stayed in the 1 bedroom garden view villa. It was kept absolutely spotless. The air conditioning was terrific (and given that it was in the high 90's for most of our stay, that mattered a lot.) The unit included a microwave and full refrigerator - nice for keeping things cold. Also included was complementary bottled water.The pool was very nice - right on the beach. The beach was beautiful, although this area of the coast is still rocky so bring your water shoes with you when you take a dip! The staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay included a continental breakfast, which was just ok but nothing special. We really appreciated having access to free life vests, which we were able to take with us on several days when we went off site to go snorkling. There are also a few sea kayaks to use (free also) and that was nice. The facility was extremely well maintained. The walk along the beach into Akumal town center (where there are restaurants and shops) was a little further than we expected, more like 1/2 hour walk along the beach. But Las Villas Akumal is a great place for a lovely vacation - highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle Bay restaurant in Playa Akumal has fantastic breakfasts!!

Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hillsdale, NY in Columbia County
Feb 8, 2011

Akumal Vacation

The whole area around Akumal, including the little village were very interesting and comfortable. The beach at town is great -- with a dive shop. And there are two good restaurants. The hotel was very very nice. The only issue was not enough hot water. The pool was great, the beach not so great for swimming, but nice for walking. Continental breakfast was free and very good, and we splurged and had the hotel come in and cook for us and it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to La Posada for dinner. Lively with good food. It is in the little town.

Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick Z.
Santa Rosa , CA
Jul 19, 2014

Great place

One of the few places we've ever been that looks as good as the pictures! Beautiful location, amazing view, less than 5 minutes to town but quiet and secluded, beautiful small beach. At night we saw a turtle lay her eggs just steps away from our porch, and saw a just-hatched baby turtle go out to sea. Clean spacious room with nice kitchen, 5-gal drinking water, quiet and effective AC, free Wi Fi that worked perfectly. Very clean pool, well kept grounds. Felt very safe. Staff was very attentive and friendly. It seemed like it was almost all family groups with lots of kids, and we do not have any children, but it was not overly noisy. Our bedroom was quiet even when other people were still out playing at the pool or on their balconies. Nice continental breakfast is included. The only reasons not 5 stars: We had dinner at the hotel restaurant the first night. The food was not very good, and it was much more expensive than any other meal we had the whole trip (and we ate at some nice places). The bed was pretty hard, but seemed very clean and new, so no big deal. And there were gurgly plumbing sounds and an unpleasant smell from the shower drain. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out La Buena Vida

Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stylin Mom
Orem, Utah
Jun 4, 2012

Just spent 10 days in Akumal Villas Condo's

We were very pleasantly surprised. Sometimes when they say, "Fully sticked kitchen" they really mean, mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. This had full size fridge and freezer, stove, oven, pots and pans for the basic needs, toaster, cups, plates, utensils, etc. We were in aGarden Veiw, 2 bdr. 2 bath. sleeps 6 and we were very happy. Some people liked the ocean veiw more, but more $ and if you end up with neighbors that party and smoke all day and night on there patio that is next to yours, it's not so fun. Staff was very nice, with a breakfast every morning of, Pancakes, french toast, fresh fruit, cereal, milk, and breads. Not hugh but made it nice. We are not the kind of people that have to extremly pampered, it was nice and the price was right. Great snorkeling in minute walk down the beach, and kayaking from our beach. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We stopped in Cancun at Costco and Wal mart and bought food for the week. A family of 6 costs alot of money to eat out every meal. We did eat out a couple of times, and it wasn't to bad on prices. Just ask the front desk for suggestions.

Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
postiecat
San Diego, cA
Mar 26, 2011

Very Nice Condo

These condos are very nice. Because there were only 2 of us we didnt get a 2 bedroom that have the ocean views. That would be perfect. They are very clean spacious. The staff is excellent. This beach is not the greatest for swimming, but a 10 minute walk down the way isn't bad. This place makes up for it by not being so busy. The good beach was always very crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring your own toilet paper if you are going to Coba. The public bathrooms don't have any in them and I refuse to pay for toilet tissue from the boy outside the bathrooms.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search