$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Las Villas Akumal

3 stars
Carretera Cancun-Tulum Km 104 Frac. Akumal Caribe, Akumal, 77737
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
19 reviews
Great place

One of the few places we've ever been that looks as good as the pictures! Beautiful location,... See full review

  • Nick Z.
  • Jul 19, 2014
lovely a peacefull

Everything das ver y clean. Yhe apsrtment was very big anda comfortable See full review

  • Carolina V.
  • Dec 16, 2014
Relax and unwind in the tranquil seclusion of your own villa

Set in peaceful seclusion along the Mayan Riviera, Las Villas Akumal is ideal for a peaceful relaxing holiday in this tranquil complex. The hotel is close to the area's white sandy beaches, which are home to nesting turtles between May and November each year. The nearby town of Akumal, Mayan for 'place of the turtles', is just a 10 minute walk along the beach. The town retains much of its old world charm and hosts a number of shops, bars and restaurants. Ancient Mayan ruins are in Tulum, a short drive from Las Villas Akumal. There is a small store at the Las Villas Akumal complex that can supply essentials such as toothpaste, sun tan lotion as well as bread, snacks, ice cream, soft drinks and other basic food requirements. For a small cost, there are laundry and babysitting services available and BBQs for hire. Las Villas Akumal and White Spa also offer a wide range of rejuvenating massages and full day spa treatments.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Great beach holiday in a relaxed, secluded location with well appointed spacious villa accommodation

  • Relax with a massage or full day spa

  • Diving, swimming and kayaking on the doorstep

Las Villas Akumal Rooms
The Las Villas Akumal complex consists of 26 spacious villas with a choice of one, two or three bedrooms and a view to either the garden or sea. All villas have a lounge, terrace and a kitchen equipped with oven, coffee maker, juicer, microwave, fridge/freezer, toaster and all utensils. They all provide air conditioning, satellite TV and a telephone. A safety deposit box is also available. Las Villas Akumal supply towels, including beach towels, and all necessary linen and bathroom facilities, drinking water and a daily house cleaner service. Snorkel equipment, kayaks, table tennis and some children's games are also available.
Things To Do:
  • Massages and Spa treatments (on site)

  • Akumal Town (0.5mi/0.8km)

  • Playa Del Carmen (24mi/38km)

  • Tulum Mayan Ruins (15mi/24km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Las Villas Akumal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Las Villas Akumal Rooms

Villa Junior Suite Garden View
The room offers 1 King size Bed and 1 Sofa Beds with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(3 people max.)
Two Bedroom Ocean View Villa
The room offers 1 King Bed, 2 Double Beds, 2 Sofa Beds with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(6 people max.)
Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
The room offers 1 King Bed, 2 Double Beds 2 Sofa Beds with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(6 people max.)
Three Bedroom Ocean View Villa
The room offers 2 King Beds, 2 Double Beds, 2 Sofa Beds individuales with central air conditioning, satellite television, telephone, safety deposit box, kitchen with oven,microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, toaster, juicer.(8 people max.)
One bedroom ocean view
For a maximum of 3 guests (2 adults and 1 child). Villa comprising of one King size bedroom with full en-suite bathroom (shower only). Include fully equipped kitchen, lounge, dining area and ample beach front terrace with hammock chairs and patio table to enjoy views to the beautiful blues of the Caribbean Sea. All our villas are always prepared with our guests in mind, shampoo, natural soaps, towels, bed linens, beach towels, and daily maid service. Central Air Conditioning, complimentary WiFi, satellite television, telephone and fully equipped kitchen also form part of the service along with our fully qualified staff. Las Villas Akumal is an ecologically friendly resort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant is located on the top roof of the main building with a magnificent view to the ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Las Villas Akumal

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
postiecat
Business
San Diego, cA
Mar 26, 2011

Very Nice Condo

These condos are very nice. Because there were only 2 of us we didnt get a 2 bedroom that have the ocean views. That would be perfect. They are very clean spacious. The staff is excellent. This beach is not the greatest for swimming, but a 10 minute walk down the way isn't bad. This place makes up for it by not being so busy. The good beach was always very crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring your own toilet paper if you are going to Coba. The public bathrooms don't have any in them and I refuse to pay for toilet tissue from the boy outside the bathrooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hillsdale, NY in Columbia County
Feb 8, 2011

Akumal Vacation

The whole area around Akumal, including the little village were very interesting and comfortable. The beach at town is great -- with a dive shop. And there are two good restaurants. The hotel was very very nice. The only issue was not enough hot water. The pool was great, the beach not so great for swimming, but nice for walking. Continental breakfast was free and very good, and we splurged and had the hotel come in and cook for us and it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to La Posada for dinner. Lively with good food. It is in the little town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Central Kansas
Aug 25, 2010

Very Very Pretty and Peaceful

We were actually booked for two smaller junior suites, but both of them were on the lowest level and partially underground, and one of them smelled moldy. At our request, they changed us to a two bedroom unit up on the second level with a balcony. The view was wonderful, all there was between us and the beach was a small pool. The place was cleaned thoroughly daily, the grounds were kept beautifully, and the staff was very friendly. I must say the beds were very hard. But I understand this is the case for most hotels in Mexico, this was our 5th trip and they have all been hard beds. I have come to realize that the hard bed actually helps keep you cooler in the warm climate! Booking through [...] gave us a free breakfast in the morning. The breakfast buffet was a bit limiting but there was fresh fruit and juices, cereal and pancakes each day. The beach was not very large, but certainly adequate, we were there in May and were able to see where the turtles had come up and layed their eggs. We did quite a bit of snorkling while there, we had brought our own equipment except for life jackets which we were able to get from the hotel. The weather was very nice, except rather breezy the entire time we were there, which caused some wave action, so the water was cloudy. Being novice snorklers we were not dissapointed,we enjoyed it all. We were able to see the big turtles in the water in Akumal Bay, and enjoyed the beautiful fish in Yal Kul Lagoon and Xel-Ha. The Hotel is a little remote (a good 30 to 45 minute walk to the Akumal Dive shop by way of the beach). We had rented a car and went a lot of places on our own. We met some other guests who simply had the hotel call them a cab everyday. The Hotel is run by a man from Australia (I think) so it was easy to talk in English. The staff seemed very kind and relaxed.We had brought a computer with us and although it was a little slow, we had no trouble at all getting on the wifi and checking our email accounts. we also could have booked shows online with the computer, as well as check out details of different tourist spots.The hotel was clean, quiet and accomodating in a very picturesque locale, we had a marvelous time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active family that loves Mexico and Baja
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 29, 2010

Excellent Stay!

Perfect location for active couples/families. Close to Xel ha, zip lining, caves, Mayan ruins. Nice beach to swim in with small waves but easy walk 10 minutes North towards Akumal and swim with turtles on a perfect beach with bar and calm waters! Quiet, manicured , very clean and friendly hotel. HIGHLY recomend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was fun taking evening strolls a long the beach to one of the many excellent restaurants in Akumal. Even came across a turtle laying her eggs on our last evening there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 25, 2009

Lovely

Las Villas Akumal was a really terrific place to stay. We stayed in the 1 bedroom garden view villa. It was kept absolutely spotless. The air conditioning was terrific (and given that it was in the high 90's for most of our stay, that mattered a lot.) The unit included a microwave and full refrigerator - nice for keeping things cold. Also included was complementary bottled water.The pool was very nice - right on the beach. The beach was beautiful, although this area of the coast is still rocky so bring your water shoes with you when you take a dip! The staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay included a continental breakfast, which was just ok but nothing special. We really appreciated having access to free life vests, which we were able to take with us on several days when we went off site to go snorkling. There are also a few sea kayaks to use (free also) and that was nice. The facility was extremely well maintained. The walk along the beach into Akumal town center (where there are restaurants and shops) was a little further than we expected, more like 1/2 hour walk along the beach. But Las Villas Akumal is a great place for a lovely vacation - highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle Bay restaurant in Playa Akumal has fantastic breakfasts!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sable's Mom
Business
Sudbury, MA
Jul 5, 2009

A Little Piece of Paradise

One of our best vacations ever! Las Villas Akumal far exceeded our expectations. The location right on Jade Bay is breathtaking with its beautiful white sand and gentle surf. The grounds are beautifully kept and completely inviting. The open-air restaurant was a pleasure to eat in, and the condo units themselves were spotless, roomy and beautifully laid out. I'd come back again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, Virginia
Jun 12, 2009

Our first trip to the Rivera Maya

We wanted something away from the crowds and Las Villas Akumal was the place. The uncrowded beaches and a short distance to the town of Akumal made this a perfect place for us. We toured every other day and snorkeled locally on our "off days." If you want to swim with the turtles, we had plenty of company off the beaches of Akumal. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We did not rent a car on this first trip to the area. Thus, we had to take a cab or walk approximately 1 mile to the town of Akumal. We are "walkers" so we didn't mind, but you should be aware to come prepared if you do not rent a car. Breakfast is provided on site, but you will have to make other plans for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexico, siempre, Mexico
Business
Cheaspeake Bay, Va
Mar 16, 2009

Excellent from first minute!!!!!!!

We enjoyed the local sites - pre-colomban and the truely unique beauties of the Maya Coast.As noted the anbiance,the surroundings and the courteous staff were excellent. It was an superb return to Mexico. For first timers - the villas and Akmula are a top choice. Many Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The visits to cenotes(caves), nature preserves and the snorkling outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 3, 2007

Very Family Friendly

The Villas were beautiful. We arrived and were greatly appreciative of having been able to check in a few hours early. We entered our room and found that it was very clean and totally spacious. I LOVED the bathroom! Plenty of room everywhere, nice big windows, close to the pool, and the beach was right there. I wish it would have had a restaurant, but there was a restaurant about 15 minutes away (walking), and the food was good. Also, they are villas so they were equipped with full kitchens and we were able to cook our own food as well. One thing I hadn't noticed until the office was closed, was that there weren't enough blankets in the room so we were stuck with one blanket and a sheet, which thankfully were both large so we were warm. There were other families there and it was a nice, relaxed, and friendly atmosphere. I would definately refer a friend and would love to take my family again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat out, there is a restaurant about 15 minutes away (walking). Don't walk the beach as there is private property next door. I'd walk the road or drive over next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top