$411 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
262 reviews
Great Trip

Great Property, Great Beach! Good Food and Drink... I could do without the sales pitch to "buy in"... See full review

  • Mr. VW
  • Feb 24, 2015
Perfect Relaxation

Royal Catalonia Tulum is a great place to get away from it all. The resort is quiet, the beach is... See full review

  • Matthew O.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Privileged Junior Suite
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM.
Privileged Honeymoon
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer. - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -Preferential Location nearest to the beach - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant Tao-Cat
New asian restaurant located near the pool area
Restaurant La Palapa
lunch buffet and a la carte breakfast service only for privileged customers
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Meat specialties to the grill.
Restaurant Terrace
Spanish trendy tapas restaurant, placed in a terrace over a cenote, and with chill-out music.
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 262
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rekeem
Business
Denver
Oct 13, 2014

Great everything, but service

Very nice place, nice location, good, not great, beach, good food. Unfortunately the service was horrible. Over an hour to check in and they sent the luggage to the wrong room. We had four couples and only one ended up in the room with their name on it. Entertainment was bland. Food was good, but service (the staff was great, there just were not enough of them) was lacking. Won't likely go back or recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxing at the beach
Business
Florida
Aug 10, 2014

Visually perfect

We had a great time at the resort. The accommodations were great. Large clean rooms, comfortable beds. Walking from the lobby to the beach gave you the feel of walking in a jungle. The property landscape is stunning. The beach and pool were beautiful. My favorite water activity was the cool water jacuzzi, very refreshing in the heat at the day. The only negative we experienced was the food. Out of five stars I give it a two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
48 Lowes Fan
Business
Ellijay, GA
Jul 10, 2014

Needed Time Away

This was a very beautiful resort and everyone treated us wonderful. The food was just ok, but I consider myself somewhat of a foodie. It was fine just nothing to write home about. Everything else was top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Lasagna at the Italian restaurant was Excellent. We had it twice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tininha
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jul 28, 2012

Girls Trip

My best friend and myself were looking for a one week relaxing getaway from the kids and husbands. Well, we couldn't have picked a more perfect place. Many of our friends have been to Cancun but often complained about the tourist area and the resorts being next to one another. We deciced that we would like a place that provided more privacy and tranquility. The hotel from the outside may not seem luxurious or over the top entrance to attract the tourists. However, once inside we were immediately treated with drinks and our luggage whisked away. The reception was fantastic. The decor is very eco friendly and the architecture is simple but with the natural environment in mind. The rooms are simple but very clean and efficient. Beautiful large stone shower and room service was impeccable. The restaurants served a variety of food but all very well presented and delicious. The beach is beautiful and clean with absolutely no other resorts on either side. The staff was always ready to tend to our needs and always with a smile. One downfall was to us was that it would have been nice to have a small laundry room for guests, although they did offer landry services for a fee. Overall, the resort appears to cater mainly to Europeans. We met many Italians and Spanish (from Spain) and other European folks. We actually enjoyed mingling with the other guests and the feeling seemed mutual. We certainly enjoyed out very relaxing time at the Catalonia Royale Tulum. I would eagerly plan on a return visit, no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan to visit the Tulum Ruins, take the collectivo bus (across the highway) for only 30 pesos each way. It's certainly much cheaper than paying $65 or more US dollars to go on a tour. It only costs 57 pesos for the entrance fee at the ruins. We rode the collectivo bus with the locals and saw the ruins, for about $10 usd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
s.of boston
Business
boston ma
Jul 8, 2012

7/13----7/23 -----2012

great place ,great staff, fantastic beach.been here 2-3 time prior as the copacabana , catalonia chain has made it even nicer. beach service was fantasic, as we spent most every day by the waters edge. staff from bellboys to entertainment were fantastic,always there to help you or get you a a drink or something to eat the bars thruout service was great .rooms very clean with towel animals nightly, food was very good thru -out the resort ,you would hard pressed not to find something you enjoyto eat.;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smile2AZ
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 4, 2012

Catalonia Royal Tulum - Their beach is beautiful!!!

This is my second year back to the Catalonia Royal Tulum. The staff is EXCELLENT and ensures you have what you need. They offer a good variety of food, drinks and beer (they changed from Dos XX to Modelo and the beer was not very cold. So we added ice :) We love, love the beach/pool service, it is heavenly!!!!!! The beach is very nice and there are no other resorts within the area,so you can walk the beach and not be very congested. It is a smaller adult resort which does not have alot of activities or loud music. It is all about relaxing!!! The resort is near Tulum ruins, Akumal - go snorkle with the turtles, go jump in cenotes or go shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cenote Azul is within walking distance (Not sure how safe it is to walk the road, we took a collectivo). Tulum ruins - also take a collectivo there and cab back (or wait until for collectivo fills up to come back. We decided it was too hot and for a couple of more US$, we could take a cab and be back sooner). Safe travels :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Feb 17, 2011

Beautiful Beach

Beautiful Resort. A little disappointed in the food. For being such a first class resort, we all thought the food could have been better. The beach was wonderful and very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go snorkling at Alkumal Beach. You do not have to go out very far to see the Turtles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Oct 28, 2010

First time traveler to Mexico

This was my wife's and my first time ever visiting an all inclusive resort and ever traveling out of the U.S. for that matter so I really have nothing to compare it to. We really enjoyed the trip tremendously, the weather was fantastic first of all which probably helped, we went with four other friends and met some other wonderful couples while we were there. Everyone we talked too while there, including two of our friends who travel all the time and have been to other resorts, said that this was one of the nicest and friendliest resorts they have ever been too. The staff was super, the rooms were very clean, the bed was super comfortable which is key for me because I have a bad lower back and a huge walk-in shower was a bonus. There were not many amenities in the rooms, a desk, wicker chair, TV, balcony but we didn't really care because all we did was sleep and get dressed there. Every room had a balcony but there was really no view as the hotels were located in the jungle so that was fine, if you like watching wildlife as my wife does it was great. The beach and ocean were unbelievable, sand as soft as baby powder and clear blue oceans where the fish swim right up to you and eat bananas out of your hand, and I hate the beach so for me to say this was something. There was a coral reef off shore which was great for snorkeling and there were several boats that came every day from other resorts and anchored off shore with scuba diving and snorkeling trips and all we had to do was swim out to the reef. As well there was a great pool if you wanted to get out of the ocean, three hot tubs, a spa, etc, all the normal extras I was told you should expect. The only downside for us was that they had trouble accomodating groups of six for dinner, you could not make reservations so we had a struggle most nights trying to get a table for six. Now I don't understand this but it is something I think they need to fix, we came with friends and wanted to eat dinner with them every night so that was a probelm for us. The food was generally very good, I'm basically a steak and potato guy so it was differnet for me to try the various foods and restaurants. The morning breakfast was fantastic, you could get just about anything you wanted, eggs made to order, pancakes, French toast, omelets, bacon, sausage, fruit, juice, mamosas, Bloody Marys, etc, including some things that I would never eat for breakfast being an uneducated American. There was a lunch buffet down by the pool everyday that was excellent and the items changed on a daily basis, you could have stuff made to order if you wanted or just pick from the variety of selections, salads, meats, veggies, pasta, tacos, etc. There was also just a plain old burger and pizza place near the pool bar if you wanted something simple. We did not go off site at all as this was our first time doing something like this which was fine for us but there was plenty to do in the local area, shopping, zip lines, tours etc. if you are into that stuff, for us the early morning sunrise and hanging out at the beach or pool was enough. All in all, a great place and a great time for the price and we recommend it highly. We will definitly go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hartford, CT
Oct 25, 2010

October 2010 Vacation

First time for us in Mexico. Beaches were beautiful. Very good service from staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1 of 6
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2010

CRT 2010!

Great Adults Only resort! Will stay again if visiting the Riviera Maya!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are at least 3 cenotes within walking distance, but jump on the Collectivo, it is only 20 pesos, or $2.00 USD. I highly recommended checking them out for fun dive spots and getting to hang out with the locals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top