$285 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
266 reviews
Great Vacation best beach ever

Had a great time. Good food, great service, best beach ever. You must get a ride on the sailboat. I... See full review

  • THOMAS W.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Great Trip

Great Property, Great Beach! Good Food and Drink... I could do without the sales pitch to "buy in"... See full review

  • Mr. VW
  • Feb 24, 2015
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Privileged Junior Suite
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM.
Privileged Honeymoon
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer. - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -Preferential Location nearest to the beach - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
lunch buffet and a la carte breakfast service only for privileged customers
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Meat specialties to the grill.
Restaurant Terrace
Spanish trendy tapas restaurant, placed in a terrace over a cenote, and with chill-out music.
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.
Restaurant Tao-Cat
New asian restaurant located near the pool area

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 266
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew O.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Perfect Relaxation

Royal Catalonia Tulum is a great place to get away from it all. The resort is quiet, the beach is very nice, the staff is excellent and the food is better than average for an All-Inclusive. We were visiting for a Wedding and enjoyed ourselves very much. The only shortcomings of the resort - which are not big issues - include a strict beach towel rule and sub-par "room service" food. We did have an issue with our room phone that was not resolved all week, but were offered an alternate room - so can't complain as there was an option to resolve our issue. The value is huge for US travellers looking for a very relaxed environment with a great beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
farcus
Business
Greenfield, ma
Oct 13, 2014

you get what you pay for

Title says it all. In no way is this a 4 star resort... Not even close. Small poor quality in food no so great beach in need of desperate renovation. Staff was good though only plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anacortes, Washinton, USA
Feb 17, 2011

Catalonia Royal

We visited the ruins in Tulum and went to Akumal with our snorkeling gear and saw some turtles and plenty of different fish in a well protected bay. We also went to Playa Del Carmen for dinner and some shopping. It was great fun. The beach was superb as well as the very large pool. Plenty to eat and drink. We even saw a water spout one day. The whole place was very clean and we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is plenty to see and do and we used the busses as well as the taxi's. I would reccomend the busses if you are trying to save a little money for more shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
margadagio
Business
Toronto, Canada
May 20, 2010

A magical location

Hotel is located within a jungle. The atmosphere is very peaceful. Food was very good and food more than adequate. Housekeeping did a good job. Everything is spotless. The beach is gorgeous. Staff were friendly and no language problems at all. The property is in a good location for off resort activities. Not really a complaint but it would be nice if the animation team was active at the pool bar in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshinesher
Business
Okotoks,AB Canada
Nov 11, 2009

Meets & exceeds expectations

Personalized service. Many staff remembered & welcomed me back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Free shuttle to Playa Del Carmen 2 x per day for shopping,dining & entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sher sher
Business
Tulsa, OK
Nov 7, 2009

A very nice experience!!!

What a great experience! The resort was beautiful and in a jungle type setting so take bug spray. The double room had ample space for three adults and bathrooms were very roomy. Beds are on the hard side. The beach was fantastic with great snorkeling. Restaurants and food service are above average offering buffet style breakfast and lunch and ala carte restaurant choices for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Aug 4, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Fantastic value. Hotel only half full because of swine flu. Wonderful beach and sea. Food left a little to be desired in the theme restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

This hotel is really only for those who wish for a very quiet time. Entertainment was poor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hudson88
Business
TN
Jul 6, 2009

Great Value

Great vacation for the money - the beach was great, as was the food. I thought the food was better than you would usually get with an all-inclusive, and I have been to several Sandals. Room was fine, but the beds were hard. Bathroom was clean. Not many bugs even though it is in the middle of the jungle. We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you wait and get your transfers at the airport and at the resort for the return trip you will save money. If included with package it runs $83. per person, but if you wait and get them after you are down there it cost us around $63.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darlyne
Business
Beuatiful New England!
Mar 17, 2009

Excellent Vacation!

My 19 year old daughter and I stayed here March 1-5 and the trip was basically AMAZING! We rented a car at the airport and cruised the hour and twenty minutes to the hotel (car rental including mandatory insurance $100 USD). We emailed the concierge in advance and requested building #5 (Closest to the beach and pool) and were happy to get a 3rd floor room in the requested building. We booked through Orbitz and got a great deal-So good a deal that I was a little concerned about what we were getting ourselves in to. All my concerns were quickly put to rest! The grounds are beautiful. The beach is perfect with the turquoise, crystal clear water. Nice common areas and beautiful jungle walkways. We ate at 4 restaurants and the most memorable was the steak restaurant right on the beach~ the open-air atmosphere was beautiful and the service, stellar. We only ate lunch at the beach bar and you can order from a limited menu or just walk up to the counter. They had excellent pizzas and burgers. My only (very little) complaint was the lack of choices for drinks. Most All-inclusives have an extensive list of different shooters and frozen drinks and this place seemed somewhat limited in their knowledge of drinks. We never had a problem getting a chair on the beach, regardless what time we arrived. We always seemed to park ourselves close to the water sports area-close to the pool, bar, pizza/burger place and the pools. It may take a little searching but you will definitely find two chairs. Also, the woman at the towel counter told me that if there is just a towel on the chair (and no personal belongings); it is perfectly ok to remove the towel and take the chair as people constantly leave towels behind. We never had to do this, but it is an acceptable and fair practice. The people at the dive shop were wonderful. We dove every day and each experience was great. We loved the fact that morning dives are single-tank dives and depart around 10:30 am (no big rush to wake up early, which made us very happy). Nice dives and great staff! There were 3 hot tubs, but only one was semi-warm (the other two were freezing). While we were there, it got pretty cool at night, so I’d recommend bringing a light jacket (yeah, I know… I sound like a mother). The pool was very nice but cold (aka “refreshing”). We absolutely loved this resort. The service was excellent, the rooms were clean and functional, the bathrooms were granite and very well appointed and the showers were huge. The housekeeping department did a fantastic job every morning, the refrigerator was always well-stocked and the fresh towels at night were a very nice touch. The resort is small and I loved the fact that there wasn’t a lot of “canned fun”-no blaring Mexican music, no conga lines around the pool…Everything was low-keyed and fun. They did have dance lessons, beach bingo, volleyball and water aerobics on the beach. There was plenty to do, but it wasn’t the tacky, big-resort “Hey! Ain’t we having some fun now!” kind of environment. I always end my review with “would I go back” and I typically say “there are too many other places to see”-HOWEVER, with this place, I would definitely consider going back. It was low-key, no hassle, TOTAL relaxation, and it was exactly what we were looking for. **just want to add that there is GREAT snorkeling off the beach about 50 yards out (to the right from the dive shop)-A nice reef with lots to see

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top