$434 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
260 reviews
Perfect Relaxation

Royal Catalonia Tulum is a great place to get away from it all. The resort is quiet, the beach is... See full review

  • Matthew O.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Beautiful, Relaxing Stay

I have been to the Catalonia Royal Tulum twice within the year--each time the staff has been very... See full review

  • Kristy T.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Standard Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Junior Suite Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Free access to spa and water treatment areas during entire stay. - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM with instructor.
Honeymoon Room
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -New bedspreads and drapery -Preferential location in buildings closest to the beach (buildings 5 & 6 ) - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom plus upgraded amenities (product line "BIO2" : shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soap) - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box ( free of charge )

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
Set buffet 08.00 am - 12.00 am (continental breakfast) 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm (grill & snacks and lunch)
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Type of cuisine: lobster, prawns and meat dishes. Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant Terrace
Lobster and steakhouse. Additional charge. Dinner from 7.00 pm to 9.30 pm
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCSDES
Business
St Louis MO
Jun 2, 2013

Catalonia Tulum

The resort is beautiful - love the pool and the beach. Room was very nice too. But - the food was horrible - no taste or selection. Only 1 place to go for breakfast and 2 for lunch There were a few more choices for dinner, but the food was not good. Even ordering room service was a challenge. We were told there would be top shelf liquor - but saw very little and in only selected areas. We will not go back. Would suggest they have at least 1 English speaking customer svc rep available for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Only 1 restaurant had decent food and that was the Italian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorktown Heights, NY
Dec 18, 2010

Won't be back

This was our second trip to this resort. First time we went thru another travel operator and were treated very well even though the hotel was at 100% occupancy. That was in May 2010. This time we booked thru [...]( cheaper than other sites) and the place changed completely. We ask for non-smoking room, and even though the hotel was in my estimation about 50% occupancy they put us in a smoking room. We tried to switch rooms and complained to 'manager', and basic answer we got, you paid [...] price so live with it.Also we had security issues, which was also denied by management. If you are non-smoker you will not enjoy the pool or the beach(small), most of the people this time were from Europe, and they smoke non-stop, so instead of enjoying the 'smell and sound of the ocean' you will breath cigarette smoke during your stay. I am wondering now if it's worth to pay cheaper thru [...] and than to be treated like 'second class citizen'. The good thinks about the hotel that the food is pretty good and so are the drinks. The quality of a la carte restaurants declined though from my last stay in May. I won't ever be back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avon Lake, Ohio
Jul 18, 2010

Horrible Experience

They have cockraoches,rooms smell horrible, have to wait hours for room service and sometimes they don't even come. Made up pay 200 $ more for a room that was 1% better then the first smelly room. The second have dead cockroaches in it. Pool and beach close @ 8p.m which is silly. Also when u look at all inclusive it should be that, not 55$ for 1 bottle of nasty cheap wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book seperate...hotel is a rip off

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 29, 2009

Poor food, ok rooms, beautiful beach

We had many issues with our stay.The beds are very hard and uncomfortable. We booked a Junior Suite to ensure a king sized bed. The room was pretty basic but fine for our needs with a large shower. Unfortunately, our room had a connecting door to the adjacent room and we could hear everything from that room. We had to listen to Celine Dion music every morning during breakfast. It never changed. The Grill Restaurant on the water piped in country music all night long. Not exactly what you would expect in Mexico. The overall food experience is poor. Not all restaurants were open in the evening. Both of us began to feel ill after our second day there and we are still having issues. I wouldn't drink the water served at the restaurants if I were you. It wasn't bottled. My guess is it came straight from the faucet. The activities staff bothers everyone on the beach calling out bingo numbers on loudspeakers every afternoon and again for other activities even though only a few participated. It would have been nice just to sit and listen to the surf. The beach is beautiful. We used the spa three times and it was excellent. Once again the music in the spa was laughable. The service on most occasions was excellent. Unfortunately, we cannot recommend this hotel. There are too many negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We used Yucatreks for a tour of Coba and a Cenote and really enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jul 28, 2009

I'VE BEEN TO BETTER RESORTS IN AREA

FOOD WAS VERY AVG. ROOM WENT UNCLEANED FOR A DAY AND STAFF STATED WE HAD DO NOT DISTURB SIGN ON WHICH WE DID NOT. SINK WAS BROKEN, AND COFFEE POT DID NOT WORK..THEY NEVER REPLACED COFFEE POT THOUGH WE CALLED TWICE. UPON CHECK OUT BAGGAGE WAS PICKED UP 20 MINUTES LATE EVEN THOUGH WE SCHEDULED IT THE NIGHT BEFORE AND VIEWED THEM WRITING DOWN THE INFO...BEACH WAS BEAUTIFUL.. VERY DISAPPOINGING BEING THAT IT WAS A HIGH VACANCY OR SO IT SEEMED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO COCO BONGO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
avelonokc
Business
OKlahoma
Sep 26, 2014

Average at best

What made my trip: The monkeys at the hotel/ the excursions away from the hotel/ the beach and water The hotel was at best average. The room was hot unless you had the ceiling fan on all the time. I was there in July. I would go to bed hot and it would in the middle of the night cool down. We were on the third floor. I hope you like stairs! The mini fridge was stocked daily and is included in your package. 1 orange soda, 1 lemon lime, 2 beers and 2 bottles of water. The bed was okay and there were a variety of pillows on the bed. No tub, just a walk in shower. The walk to the pool/front desk was a journey. You will need your walking shoes. The pool was just an average pool. No pool bar. There were two hot tubs. One was hot and one was cold. There were several restaurants to chose from in the hotel and the food was edible. There was a limited variety of fruit offered. I found that to be odd compared to other all inclusive hotels in Mexico. I ate all every one of the restaurants. Some were better than others and I did see a lot of food go to waste. The adult beverages were okay (if you like Pepsi). My cuba libre with Pepsi was awful. Rum and coke is a rum and coke for a reason. The flavored daiquiris and margaritas were not made with real fruit. They were made with artificial mixers. Ive never been anywhere in Mexio that used mixers. So, no coca cola and no real fruit in the adult beverages. There was a hut that made fruit smoothies. It was real fruit and I ended up getting non alcoholic drinks the entire time. beach was awesome the first three days. Then came the green kelp/seaweed with little balls on them. I was constantly picking the stuff up and throwing it away from me. It actually gave me a rash where it touched me. The rash went away after a few hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Xscape!.. Underground river is awesome and so is the zipline.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
farcus
Business
Greenfield, ma
Oct 13, 2014

you get what you pay for

Title says it all. In no way is this a 4 star resort... Not even close. Small poor quality in food no so great beach in need of desperate renovation. Staff was good though only plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelsea86
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2012

Lovely property with some issues

If I had written this review in our first couple days at the resort, it would be a five star review. But as our 7-day stay went on, they stopped being able to get anything right. It took them 3 tries to correctly schedule our romantic beach dinner (part of the honeymoon package we bought). During our stay, there were two pool parties (right next to our building) that kept us awake for hours with the thumping music. After the first pool party, we specifically asked if there would be another while we were there, thinking we would change buildings if so. They assured us there wouldn't be any - but of course there was, the night before we had to get up early to fly home. The staff was perfectly friendly, but also perfectly inconsistent. The concierge messed up a few different requests, and when the concierge is off duty, no one else at the resort has the ability to fix them. Also, a warning for non-smokers: do not come here if you don't want to be surrounded by smoke. The good parts: the property is lovely (though bring mosquito repellant), the spa is nice, the room was comfortable. If you like enforced fun (which I don't), they do have people trying to get you into ping-pong tournaments and things. Also the aforementioned pool parties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed recent guest
Business
Boston MA
Oct 20, 2013

Hotel experience

From previous review I knew they would offer to upgrade which we were not interested. They did right from check in no problem declining but what was upsetting was we reserved a superior room with KING SIZE BED & package - we got a double bed with no sitting area & the safe was so unsafe looking with the key which didn't really lock it. When I pointed this out which was not discussed with us at check in, I had to call the staff said they had no available room with our choice which we paid for & expected. Not until 3 days into our stay they finally switched us which was incongruent to have to pack again! Personally we felt it was a very sneaky way of trying to force people to upgrade & make more money. By the way the switch of the room didn't happen until we filled out a survey & really voiced it out. I feel the days we stayed at the cheaper looking room was not ideal for paying for the more expensive room & certainly should have been compensated out wether a hotel credit or anything. Food was ok but the the restaurant would be closed randomly & there for we ate at the buffet a lot! Would have been good to really try all the restaurants since we were there for a week. Over all the food in the buffet was ok would be better to have MORE authentic Mexican food! For the whole experience it was more of a 3 star - the restaurant staff was good especially when you tip them just for filling your water glass - the cocktail drinks were watered down & there was no higher liquor quality & if they did they will not use it even if you ask you really have to pay attention. We will be coming back to Mexico but we will not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nina dahcegirl
Business
New York, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Hotel for the smoking people only.

Hotel was OK, but getting old it means need renovation. Food was OK. Beach was nice, that the reason I went there second time. I did now that this hotel is for the smoking people only. They have to make a special sing for that. For the time I stay there I was watching sow only once and has to move on the beach more then 10 times to avoid the smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top