$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
426 reviews
Great friendly place

No complaints! Beautiful beach, nice room, friendly staff, and good food! Would definitely go back!! See full review

  • yepyep
  • Jun 9, 2014
Amazing beach, incredible staff

This was my first time at an all-inclusive resort, and I could scarcely be more pleased with my... See full review

  • BetterSnickerdoodle
  • Apr 20, 2014
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Standard Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Junior Suite Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Free access to spa and water treatment areas during entire stay. - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM with instructor.
Honeymoon Room
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -New bedspreads and drapery -Preferential location in buildings closest to the beach (buildings 5 & 6 ) - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom plus upgraded amenities (product line "BIO2" : shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soap) - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box ( free of charge )

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.5137 -87.2085
Area served
The Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach & Spa Resort is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport at just 80 km from the Hotel.
Area description
Catalonia Royal Tulum is just 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 80 Km South od Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico.

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
Set buffet 08.00 am - 12.00 am (continental breakfast) 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm (grill & snacks and lunch)
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Type of cuisine: lobster, prawns and meat dishes. Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant Terrace
Lobster and steakhouse. Additional charge. Dinner from 7.00 pm to 9.30 pm
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manyou07
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Perfect beach, disappointing food

The best part of the hotel was the beach - it doesn't get any better than that! We were there in the beginning of September, and it was probably around half capacity. This was great for us, as we never had a problem grabbing chairs by the pool or a palapa on the beach. The weather was nearly perfect too, raining a little on a couple of days but clearing up in the afternoon. Several other reviewers have described problems they had with the hotel: (1) that there is too much smoke and (2) that the hotel caters to its European clientele. While there was more smoke than we'd prefer, we weren't bothered by it too often. And although many of the guests are European (many Italians and Spaniards) the staff was always helpful and friendly and we never felt like we were being treated differently. The biggest downside for us was the food. It wasn't good. There were buffets for lunch and dinner which were ok (there was always something decent in there) but the themed restaurants (Mexican, Italian, American) left a lot to be desired (especially the Mexican one!). The rooms were clean and nice and the hotel had a very cool atmosphere - the walk from the restaurants past the rooms to the beach was like a jungle, and several different kinds of wildlife could be spotted on each trip. Overall, a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The local transportation is a cheap and fast way to get to nearby destinations like Tulum and Xel-Ha. You can catch it right outside the hotel.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lawcat
Kansas City, MO
Dec 27, 2011

Fantastic couples getaway

Great place to get away from it all. The staff is wonderful and are the most impressive part of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric and Marsha
Tacoma, WA, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Excellent hotel on a beautiful beach

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Catalonia Tulum. This trip was to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversay and our birthdays. We selected this hotel because it is adults only and the reviews were mostly good. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, like the pictures from the website and we had a different towel animal on the bed daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eltigre
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 20, 2011

International Adults Only AI

This was our first AI & first Adults Only resort. We are in our late 50's & it was my third trip to Mexico. The resort is truly international with guests from Italy, Belium, USA, Germany & Canada to name a few, with all the adult age groups. The white talc sand beach & aqua water, plenty of shade with palapas & palms the chill beds & pool area plus wonderful mainpool where you could always find a quiet nook for 1 or 2 was all part of this resort. Friendly attentive staff in every department from front desk, bell hops, wait persons to those you met through out the grounds doing landscape & maintainence was a real pleasure. Mexican, Italian, Tappas, Royal Grill & Buffet all had good food the only complaint was, most food was luke warm. The maid service was a bit spotty but other than not having our ice bucket filled (and we did leave requests & tips)it was not an issue for us. The fridge was filled & we always had enough towels. There was plenty of entertainment for our needs, however there is no "night clubbing". If you were not at the pool area to hear the schedule of daily activities some might miss out. The theater information was always available on each building but again I am not sure if that location of information was brought to everyone's attention. All in all a great experience & we would definately recomend this resort to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Snorkel
Rochester, NY, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Unbelievable staff

The staff at this hotel are the best of any resort I've ever been to. I'm not talking only about servers and front desk.... I mean everyone!!! Everybody smiles, everyone genuinely wants to help you have a great time. I couldn't be more impressed. The grounds are impeccable. Everyplace within the property from the front lobby to the beach (if you view the layout, this is a big distance) is clean, pristine and beautiful. In fact, what was left of hurricane Rima hit on Thursday evening/night, and by the next day you wouldn't know anything had happened. The food is really good from the ample choices on the buffet to the variety of the a la cart restaurants. The drinks are good, if you ask for the top shelf brands they're even better. The beach is great, with lots of room to swim, long stretches to walk in either direction, and no rocks! You can even snorkel right from the beach with some interesting fish to see. Like others have reviewed, there is a large percentage of guests from Italy at the resort. While this in no way deterred from our enjoyment, most activities were organized and run for that group of guests. Evening entertainment is sort of spotty, but they try hard. We're beach people, not party animals so for us that was not an issue. I could go on and on about how great this resort is, but I don't want this place to get too popular, the price might go up! As it is, this is by far the best value of any vacation we've ever been on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're into snorkeling, try the Yal Ku lagoon. Alkumal Bay gets more press, but Yal Ku is really cool.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denmark
Copenhagen
Oct 29, 2011

4.th stay at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort

All from check in to departure went smoothly and the staff is the best. The resort is a nice small adults only, but very well equiped with very nice gym and spa facilities, great pool and the most fabulous beach. Bars has both local and topshelf brands. And they are not watering down the drinks - so be careful :o) We love it here and will go back for an other stay in the future. Hoping that the Italian Vera-Club is not as loud a factor next time. But that has nothing to do with the hotel and it's staff - just a personal note to our self. The danes from Denmark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All good attractions are in close reach of this hotel both ruins at Tulum and amusementparks, Dolphinswimming and shopping in Playa Del Carmen is no more than 15 min away.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Bob
Rochester Hills, MI
Oct 20, 2011

Absolutely great resort at an incredible price

This is an incredible resort. The rooms are modern, well kept, and clean. The pool and beach are great. The staff was friendly and anxious to please. The food and drinks were very good. Other than a couple of days of bad weather, there was nothing to complain about. The hotel is very close to Tulum and Playa Del Carmen. They are both a short cab ride away and very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sebas
Pasadena, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Fantastic!

Our experience at this hotel was incredible. We stayed 3 nights here and everything was just perfect. My boyfriend and me had the best days in Mexico at the Hotel Catalonia. From the first minute there, we were amazed by the place (gorgeous beach and jungle). The staff is very nice and helpful. The food at the different restaurants is very good and the buffet for lunch is high quality. Children are not allowed so everything is calm and most of the customers are young couples. It's a very pleasant atmosphere. We only regret the poor internet connexion (wi-fi) and sometimes the noise by the animation team at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Canada
Jul 22, 2011

Ahhhh bene bene bene!!!

The hotel is located in Tulum not to far from Playa Del Carmen. The commute took about 1.0-1.5hr from Cancun International Airport. We choose "Best Day" for our transfer. The Best Day Rep at the hotel had zero customer service. He wasn't very cooperative or helpful. He wouldn't change out pick-up time!?!? Couldn't give us a good reason for the early pick-up. The hotel staff were super courteous. The rooms were clean and safe. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless. The pool towels are available from 9am-6pm but punctuality wasn't their strong suite. The food was great. The Buffet "La Selva" had great variety for breakfast. "Restaurant Royal Grill" had nice cuts of meat. "Restaurant Centenario" was the Mexican restaurant and had strange acoustics in the dining room lol. The lunch buffet was great...lots to choose from. If your still hungry head over to "Snack Sorrento" for pizza, burgers, roast chicken and fries. The weather was sunny and hot. The beach was small but the water was clear & beautiful. The waves were fine but strong at times. The mosquitoes were only out at night. Gentlemen please bring extra slacks if you have "sweet blood" because the mosquitoes will get you. The entertainment staff were fun and friendly. Jose was a riot!!! The shows at night were mediocre at best. Sign up for the free catamaran ride at the aqua sports center. There's also a free scuba class by the pool at 11am. Try it if you've never scuba'd before. A very cool experience. The weight room "gym" was adequate. We had a couples message at the beach. It wasn't the best one I've had but it did the job. All in all great vacation. I enjoyed the resort and got a great tan. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Canada
Jul 22, 2011

Ahhhh bene bene bene!!!

The hotel is located in Tulum not to far from Playa Del Carmen. The commute took about 1.0-1.5hr from Cancun International Airport. We choose "Best Day" for our transfer. The Best Day Rep at the hotel had zero customer service. He wasn't very cooperative or helpful. He wouldn't change out pick-up time!?!? Couldn't give us a good reason for the early pick-up. The hotel staff were super courteous. The rooms were clean and safe. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless. The pool towels are available from 9am-6pm but punctuality wasn't their strong suite. The food was great. The Buffet "La Selva" had great variety for breakfast. "Restaurant Royal Grill" had nice cuts of meat. "Restaurant Centenario" was the Mexican restaurant and had strange acoustics in the dining room lol. The lunch buffet was great...lots to choose from. If your still hungry head over to "Snack Sorrento" for pizza, burgers, roast chicken and fries. The weather was sunny and hot. The beach was small but the water was clear & beautiful. The waves were fine but strong at times. The mosquitoes were only out at night. Gentlemen please bring extra slacks if you have "sweet blood" because the mosquitoes will get you. The entertainment staff were fun and friendly. Jose was a riot!!! The shows at night were mediocre at best. Sign up for the free catamaran ride at the aqua sports center. There's also a free scuba class by the pool at 11am. Try it if you've never scuba'd before. A very cool experience. The weight room "gym" was adequate. We had a couples message at the beach. It wasn't the best one I've had but it did the job. All in all great vacation. I enjoyed the resort and got a great tan. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top