$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCSDES
Business
St Louis MO
Jun 2, 2013

Catalonia Tulum

The resort is beautiful - love the pool and the beach. Room was very nice too. But - the food was horrible - no taste or selection. Only 1 place to go for breakfast and 2 for lunch There were a few more choices for dinner, but the food was not good. Even ordering room service was a challenge. We were told there would be top shelf liquor - but saw very little and in only selected areas. We will not go back. Would suggest they have at least 1 English speaking customer svc rep available for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Only 1 restaurant had decent food and that was the Italian restaurant.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
To last names
Business
MS
May 24, 2013

From Southern USA to South of the Border

Awesome experience. The best vacation I've had. The hotel staff was the best. Thomas very funny. Locals are very polite and make you feel safe. Cancun has inflated prices and the people act like most in the USA. Very busy but the people of the riveria maya are laid back and put you in the mood to relax. Beach was pretty at the resort very close to a few neighboring beaches that locals say are the best. Actually the beach maybe better because the reef isn't close enough you can walk bare footed everywhere. Again the staff make this hotel. Only negative is the food could use a little work here and there it has potential but not the best. Who cares with service and beach like this one. Will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mundooh
Business
New york
May 22, 2013

fun in the sun!

Amazing food. Amazing drinks. Great staff. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation this is the place to go. It's an overall great experience. The ambiance and location of the resort will put you in great spirits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is absolutely amazing no matter what restaurant you choose to dine at!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AD Ruiz
Business
Kansas city, mo
Apr 10, 2013

Excelente

Best service in the world! Great people, food and service. Thank you for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great everythiing

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AD Ruiz
Business
Kansas city, mo
Apr 7, 2013

Loved it

Awesome place, best employees ever encountered. They know what serviceis about. Humble, great folks. Good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Every restaurant!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super couple babymoon
Business
charlotte, NC
Dec 26, 2012

Great babymoon

Staff and beach is perfect, white sand and turquoise waters. Many activities to enjoy during the day and night and close to the mayan ruins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car for the tours

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacqueline L
Business
Winfield, WV
Nov 17, 2012

Absolutely Fantastic Vacay!!!

My husband and I stayed here from Nov 9th-Nov 16th after 11 months of being workaholics and it was amazing to sum it up!!! Our first stay in the Riviera Maya and we usually have high expectations for vacation. This resort was perfect for us!! Perfect location and we used USA Transfers Round trip they were awesome too! The staff at CRT was always awesome, the beach is gorgeous and we ventured out on our own via Collectivo to Tulum Ruins, Coba, Playa Del Carmen and Akumal, all within easy access to visit. If you stay here get a massage from Carlos on the beach off to the right of the resort, he is wonderful and has better rates than CRT!! The jungle and walkways were always fun to walk through, we loved all the animals, the place is immaculate clean. All the food was great and no reservations required! Our vacay was literally perfect and just what we needed. Please note this is not a party resort which is not what we were looking for this time, when we want to party hard we go to Aruba but if relaxation and perfection is what you seek then I highly reccomend staying here! Also there is all nationalities visiting and we never had a problem with anyone or Veraclub, ignore those reviews, people can be so dramatic sometimes, Different cultures is part of the passion to travel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Collectivos!! They are inexpensive and always running, you can visit the Coba and Tulum Ruins, Playa, Cozumel and Akumal very easily this way and not be on a tour groups schedule.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.Bob
Business
Rochester Hills, MI
Oct 25, 2012

Enjoyable Get away

We just returned from a seven night stay. The location is great. It is about a 45 minute shuttle ride from the Cancun airport. The staff is very friendly and wants to please. The room was modern and clean with a marble walk-in shower. Both the beach and the pool are excellent. Don't go here looking for a beach front room. The resort property is long and skinny and runs between the road and the beach. The lobby is at the road end and the pool is at the beach end. The rooms are in the two rows of buildings (3 buildings in each row) that are at a right angle to the ocean and the road. We were in a building that was closest to the pool end. When we go back we will request that building again as we spent the bulk of our time at the beach and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used USA transfers from the airport to the hotel and back again. We had a van to ourselves which is always the way. Round trip cost was $120 plus tip. I would highly recommend them.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wahba
Business
West Covina, California
Sep 3, 2012

Great Vacation

The best is customer service, everyone treat you the way you excpect it, the room service take care of the room everyday and check with you at night if you are missing something. The location closed to all the attractions ( Xplore, Xcarate, Hel Ha and playa del Carmen), The food selections is good, I like the Tapa, the Mexican, The steak house and pizzeria. Overall Me and my wife enjoyed this vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We rent a car and we drive to all attraction, the road is nice and fast and the distance is short drive like Xplore & Xcarate only 10 minutes, XHel Ha about 20 minutes and playa del Carmen about 30 minutes. Chichen Itza is far and we went with tour bus.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenslyguy
Business
Bristol, CT
Aug 24, 2012

Go to this hotel!!!!!

In 11 years of traveling, my husband and I just rated this as #1! This place is quite swanky! All areas are incredibly clean- lobby, rooms, pool, beach, etc. Saying goodbye to the staff at the end of our stay was like saying goodbye to old friends. Food/drinks were excellent in every area. Beach was absolutely gorgeous. Tips are included, but for just $1 extra at the bar/dinner table/room, they will bend over backwards for you, even more so than what they already do. Children are not allowed, so things were pretty quiet. The guests, however, were on the younger side, (mostly 20s-30s??) although there were couples of every age group. (We are in our 40s and were very comfortable.) Because you are right in a mangrove/jungle, you will have critters all around you, even in the hotel room. We had lizards, salamanders, etc. and even a baby scorpian in the room! No trouble, just shoo them out! The entertainment is great. There is something going on all the time. You can join in or do nothing at all. The nightly shows are great. If you want spectacular costumes and lights, please go to Vegas or Broadway. Remember, you are at the beach!! These people will give a great show and make you laugh, but it's not the caliber of the above mentioned places. If you go to Tulum ruins or Playa del Carmen, bring more water and sunscreen than you think you'll need. It was scorching hot/humid! You also need a hat. We brought zip lock bags and took along cookies, fruit, etc. to keep us going. You do not want to get these things outside the resort or you risk getting very sick. Take the local buses/vans for a cheap ride to these places. There are tons of Italians. I am Italian and speak the language, so we were in with them and had a blast. However, if you don't speak Italian, you might feel left out. They are a different animal and have different ways of life than the Americans. Don't take some rudeness personally. They will cut in line, not say good morning, go topless, etc. They are like that at home,too! Don't worry about it! At the airport, do NOT stop at the place where they try to sell you timeshares and trips to the ruins! Just keep walking out to the transportation to get to the hotel. Do NOT buy tickets to Tulum online. They wanted over $100. We took the colectivo (local bus) and walked to the ruins, all for about $20! Overall, this was the best vacation we've had! I'd go back next week if I could! Enjoy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top