$331 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 15, 2015 Check-out: Apr 18, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed recent guest
Business
Boston MA
Oct 20, 2013

Hotel experience

From previous review I knew they would offer to upgrade which we were not interested. They did right from check in no problem declining but what was upsetting was we reserved a superior room with KING SIZE BED & package - we got a double bed with no sitting area & the safe was so unsafe looking with the key which didn't really lock it. When I pointed this out which was not discussed with us at check in, I had to call the staff said they had no available room with our choice which we paid for & expected. Not until 3 days into our stay they finally switched us which was incongruent to have to pack again! Personally we felt it was a very sneaky way of trying to force people to upgrade & make more money. By the way the switch of the room didn't happen until we filled out a survey & really voiced it out. I feel the days we stayed at the cheaper looking room was not ideal for paying for the more expensive room & certainly should have been compensated out wether a hotel credit or anything. Food was ok but the the restaurant would be closed randomly & there for we ate at the buffet a lot! Would have been good to really try all the restaurants since we were there for a week. Over all the food in the buffet was ok would be better to have MORE authentic Mexican food! For the whole experience it was more of a 3 star - the restaurant staff was good especially when you tip them just for filling your water glass - the cocktail drinks were watered down & there was no higher liquor quality & if they did they will not use it even if you ask you really have to pay attention. We will be coming back to Mexico but we will not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Business
Cancun Mexico
Oct 1, 2013

Relaxing

We have a great time, the staff are very helpful, I was a little sick because I drink too much tequila, but chef was nice to prepare a delicious chicken soup, the best chicken soup that I ever eat my only complaint there too many mosquito.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE BUG SPRAY!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PM321
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 18, 2013

Great value, beautiful beach

As long as you understand this is probably a 3.5-4 star property and has a few rough edges, you'll greatly enjoy your stay. No major issues at all. The location and beach are wonderful, the layout is great, most of the staff are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmen2Marcel
Business
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Jul 21, 2013

The greatest experience for couples of any age

We had a great vacation. Everything was perfect. The location is like paradise like. It was relaxing, and quite, perfect for couples of any age. I have seen just married couples, as well as mid ages couples and older couples. It is a location that you can have fun or just take rest. The food and drinks are good, atmosphere as well. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you dine at the Spanish and Mexican restaurant. They are the best. Great food and service. The Spanish restaurant has chill out music. The Best!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DK01
Business
New York City
Jun 26, 2013

Group Vacation

We decided on this place as a group. It was a couples retreat. We ha a wonderful time. The staff was great the beach is beautiful. Surprisingly the food was delicious as well. Overall a great trip. I would definitely recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nate1109
Business
Shorewood, WI
Jun 24, 2013

Great Relaxing getaway

Had a terrific time relaxing at the pool, on the beach and in the comfortable rooms. The staff was so friendly and courteous and the spa was great as well as our excursions were there for some super relaxing services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
justturned30
Business
massachusetts
Jun 2, 2013

great time!

We were pretty blown away by everything in the place. Place was not too big/not too small. very impressive buildings and you walk through pretty much a jungle (with wildlife) to get around. every person that we met that works there was extremely friendly. No bad vibes at all from them or even the people staying there. We expected to run into some drunk a-holes here and there but didn't at all. there was an excessive amount of guys in speedos there but to each there own ha. Just a real laid back time. we left the hotel once to go on one of the 'adventures'. WELL worth it! it was over $100 but it was a full day of snorkeling in caves, ziplining through the jungle and mayan ruins on a beach nearby. The ruins were more than we expected and the beach was amazing we wish we had brought our bathing suits to it. All in all a great time. bring your A-game when you check in because it seemed like they were trying to "up sell" us a room. which we went for ha. paid an extra $200 or a room on the third floor 'near' the ocean. you couldn't see the ocean, the walk was closer and it had a private balcony and hammock but; there wasn't much of a view; or a breeze. oppressive heat in end of may when we went.. really you wanna be in the middle of the place. Everyone else was extremely accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCSDES
Business
St Louis MO
Jun 2, 2013

Catalonia Tulum

The resort is beautiful - love the pool and the beach. Room was very nice too. But - the food was horrible - no taste or selection. Only 1 place to go for breakfast and 2 for lunch There were a few more choices for dinner, but the food was not good. Even ordering room service was a challenge. We were told there would be top shelf liquor - but saw very little and in only selected areas. We will not go back. Would suggest they have at least 1 English speaking customer svc rep available for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Only 1 restaurant had decent food and that was the Italian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
To last names
Business
MS
May 24, 2013

From Southern USA to South of the Border

Awesome experience. The best vacation I've had. The hotel staff was the best. Thomas very funny. Locals are very polite and make you feel safe. Cancun has inflated prices and the people act like most in the USA. Very busy but the people of the riveria maya are laid back and put you in the mood to relax. Beach was pretty at the resort very close to a few neighboring beaches that locals say are the best. Actually the beach maybe better because the reef isn't close enough you can walk bare footed everywhere. Again the staff make this hotel. Only negative is the food could use a little work here and there it has potential but not the best. Who cares with service and beach like this one. Will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mundooh
Business
New york
May 22, 2013

fun in the sun!

Amazing food. Amazing drinks. Great staff. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation this is the place to go. It's an overall great experience. The ambiance and location of the resort will put you in great spirits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is absolutely amazing no matter what restaurant you choose to dine at!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top