$258 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe and Leanne
Business
N. Canton, Ohio
May 21, 2014

12th time at the Catalonia Royal Tulum

This was our 12th time at the Catalonia Royal Tulum and each time it keeps getting better and better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all the food, it's excellent.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eclipse Drywall
Business
Oregon City, OR
May 19, 2014

Perfect Getaway for 2

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & are already looking forward to booking our next trip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beaches!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach gal nyc
Business
NYC
May 11, 2014

Couples getaway

The hotel was great! Easy to get to by private car, amazing beach! The only complaint was that there weren't any towels near the beach-- you had one beach towel per day in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tons of activities right near the hotel!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip of Pinehurst
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2014

A fantastic honeymoon

We really loved our four day stay at the Catalonia Tulum. The staff was always incredibly gracious, the pool and beach are beautiful and comfortable, and the food was above average. There are five restaurants to choose from, but our favorite shot was the steakhouse near the beach was our favorite spot. The only sour moment of our vacation, which was partly our fault, was when we agreed to attend the Catalonia Hotels 90 minute sales pitch on joining their Exclusive Travel Club. Don't do it, don't go, don't say yes. The people who make that sakes pitch are smarmy, rude, and wholly unlike all the other hotel staff we dealt with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Posada Margharita, wonderful beach restaurant on Beach Road in Tulum. Take Collectivo bus from hotel to Tulum, then take either taxi or beach Collectivo to restaurant. So worth it!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BetterSnickerdoodle
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Apr 20, 2014

Amazing beach, incredible staff

This was my first time at an all-inclusive resort, and I could scarcely be more pleased with my experience. I wanted a peaceful, gorgeous beach where I could relax, read a book, and sip fruity drinks, and I got it. The beach: Incredibly beautiful. Almost-white sands and aquamarine waves, with a slight breeze. Plenty of shade in the many palapas available. The service: I can't get over how prompt and courteous the staff members were. They were incredibly gracious and friendly. Our room was kept spotless. Our drinks were refreshed enthusiastically. I know you don't have to tip at an all-inclusive, but I hope many people do. The employees here really go out of their way. The accommodations: I was very pleased with our clean, standard room with a king-size bed. The room had a huge walk-in shower. The refrigerator was replenished daily with soda, beer, water, and snacks. The maid left fresh towels folded in the shape of animals each day. The food: This is the resort's only weak point. While options abound, the food is just decent. I did not have trouble limiting my trips to the buffet. However, room service is free 24 hours a day, which was a welcome amenity. This was my first trip to Mexico. Unfortunately, we did not get an opportunity to venture beyond the resort's gates. Next time, we will want to see more of the country and have a less touristy experience, but Catalonia Royal Tulum more than met my needs for this vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andres R
Business
new jersey
Apr 18, 2014

great experience

everything was really good, from people from front desk to people in pool area… something that really bothers me a lot was the fact the people "guess" are allowed to smoke everywhere, it should be an smoking area for these guesses.. i went to the bathroom and theres was 3 guys smoking in such a small space… but everything else was good… will go back w/o problem...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

lobster festival and mexican restaurant… delicious

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick Papa
Business
Catalonia royal tulum
Feb 10, 2014

Quiet Peaceful Resort with a touch of beach fun

Hotel was great for a nice getaway. A little ways from Tulum but you can make a day of it. Not much of a night life but you don't need one here. Very quiet and the best of both Mexican worlds (jungle & beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Stone massage

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irishfun
Business
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Feb 5, 2014

Nice Getaway

My significant other and I enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel. This was our first time at an All-Inclusive resort so we don't have anything to compare it to. The Deluxe Room was nice, comfortable bed and big bathroom with nice rainfall shower. We tried only one buffet as the other one was closed due to roof re-thatching. The buffet was average I guess - nothing special. We really enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant and the Beach Grill which served good burgers. The beach was fantastic!! Didn't use the pool and all the loungers were always taken / saved. The hot tubs were a bit chilly and not quite as warm as we keep them here in the USA so we paid an extra $15.00 each to use the spa Jacuzzi which were nice. Staff was friendly enough but many don't speak too good of English. Oh and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Some people have reviewed that it is cheesy entertainment but the crew kept us laughing and having a good time. Overall it was nice and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nina dahcegirl
Business
New York, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Hotel for the smoking people only.

Hotel was OK, but getting old it means need renovation. Food was OK. Beach was nice, that the reason I went there second time. I did now that this hotel is for the smoking people only. They have to make a special sing for that. For the time I stay there I was watching sow only once and has to move on the beach more then 10 times to avoid the smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesbury John
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 21, 2013

Id give it a B

Staff was great except for entertainment staff who did very little. Six months ago we went to the Iberostar and their staff is so much better. The food was so so....but the house wine was the best we've had in Mexico. The pool was pretty nice and the beach was excellent. Very little dancing outside, which we enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The collective runs right by the hotel and it is very easy to take to Playa and back...$3 each way.

Back to menu Return to top