$411 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2015 Check-out: Feb 17, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
260 reviews
Perfect Relaxation

Royal Catalonia Tulum is a great place to get away from it all. The resort is quiet, the beach is... See full review

  • Matthew O.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Beautiful, Relaxing Stay

I have been to the Catalonia Royal Tulum twice within the year--each time the staff has been very... See full review

  • Kristy T.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Standard Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Junior Suite Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Free access to spa and water treatment areas during entire stay. - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM with instructor.
Honeymoon Room
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -New bedspreads and drapery -Preferential location in buildings closest to the beach (buildings 5 & 6 ) - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom plus upgraded amenities (product line "BIO2" : shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soap) - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box ( free of charge )

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
Set buffet 08.00 am - 12.00 am (continental breakfast) 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm (grill & snacks and lunch)
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Type of cuisine: lobster, prawns and meat dishes. Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant Terrace
Lobster and steakhouse. Additional charge. Dinner from 7.00 pm to 9.30 pm
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nina dahcegirl
Business
New York, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Hotel for the smoking people only.

Hotel was OK, but getting old it means need renovation. Food was OK. Beach was nice, that the reason I went there second time. I did now that this hotel is for the smoking people only. They have to make a special sing for that. For the time I stay there I was watching sow only once and has to move on the beach more then 10 times to avoid the smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesbury John
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 21, 2013

Id give it a B

Staff was great except for entertainment staff who did very little. Six months ago we went to the Iberostar and their staff is so much better. The food was so so....but the house wine was the best we've had in Mexico. The pool was pretty nice and the beach was excellent. Very little dancing outside, which we enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The collective runs right by the hotel and it is very easy to take to Playa and back...$3 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sukhisue
Business
Encinitas, California
Nov 18, 2013

7th visit to Catalonia Royal Tulum

We love CRT! The staff are the nicest, kindest people and the service is amazing! The beach is absolutely gorgeous. Turquoise - green water and white sand. Since this is our 7th visit to CRT, we obviously love individual staff, which we would like to acknowledge. Amado is the most loving and wonderful waiter and he works in the LaSelva Buffet in the evening. We absolutely love Fernando who was just promoted from (excellent) waiter to concierge! Congratulations to you! We also love other wait staff - Dora, Gabriel, Carlos & Guillermo. We love Eduardo the supervisor, and the hostesses are awesome! Elizabeth, Flora, Juana & Fabiola. In Reception Brenda and Veronica are kind and helpful. The place is kept impeccably clean and we love the food, especially at the lunchtime and nighttime buffets. The ONLY reason we gave the hotel a 4 star and not a 5 star is because of the lack of designated smoking areas. We have to breathe in the deadly smoke on the beach, at the pool, on the walkway every time we go anywhere, at the evening shows and even in the lobby. We will be going back in February and look forward to being there in the beautiful atmosphere, with the lovely people who work at CRT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffets are the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypsie
Business
St Clair Shores, MI
Nov 18, 2013

Amazing beach!!

This was the third time visiting and am still amazed at the beautiful beach and crystal clear water. The grounds are kept very well. The staff was very friendly, always smiling and saying "hola". Loved that no dinner reservations are needed and no dress code. Hope to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinster
Business
Danbury,Ct
Nov 4, 2013

Four times @ CRT and more to come !

This was our fourth stay here over the past five years. The beach is the one of the best in Riviera Maya. The food quality has lessened over the years but is still good, if you are not a confirmed foodie you will be content as there is plenty of choice. The buffettsare the best and freshest . The drinks are plentiful and available. The only negatives are the towel games that start at daybreak and the lack of any coffee availability prior to 7 AM unless you make the instant package in the room. Nice mix of ages and nationalities, staff is very good but seem to be doing more as there are fewer servers than in the past. Overall, an exceptional value on a great property !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William Traveler
Business
Washington, NC
Oct 31, 2013

Wonderful Couple Getaway

The hotel was great. Wonderful staff! Enjoyed our stay very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatchRN
Business
Calgary, AB
Oct 23, 2013

Great getaway!

My husband and I just got back from 6 nights at CRT and we had a blast. The resort is very clean and well tended to. We enjoyed the pillow menu in the room but felt the "spa upgrade" (which included better room loc., spa access everyday, resort discounts, and a couple chocolates with wine) we were sold was not worth the money. The spa had great monthly specials that were offered to everyone and if you opted to use those you weren't able to use the upgrade discounts.The location and beach was great. What we loved the most about the beach was there was great coral reefs with lots of fish within swimming distance. We would have loved a swim up bar and a better choice of alcohol, but enjoyed the 2 bartenders named Carlos who definitely made our experience fun! We would definitely say the food was average compared to the 2 other riviera maya resorts we've stayed at. Overall, this has been the best mexico vacation we have taken because we had a great time at an affordable price at a really relaxing, enjoyable resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tampa Bay Traveller
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 21, 2013

Great Adults Only Resort

Just got back from a 7 night stay and we really enjoyed it. I would go back again and I would recommend to a friend. Notes - Service staff were excellent - beach and pool great, never too crowded - definitely go snorkeling - Salsa dances on the beach with Monica were a lot of fun - Food was a little hit and miss. I would def. do the Italian, Thai, and Mexican restaurant. Every meal at these locations were a home run. - I didn't really like mixed drinks, I found them to be too sweet, but the wine was very good - The evening entertainment was OK, it was a nice change - Rooms were clean but nothing spectacular, but then again, you only sleep there. The rest of your time should be outside having fun! - Yes you do need bug spray, but they weren't that bad at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed recent guest
Business
Boston MA
Oct 20, 2013

Hotel experience

From previous review I knew they would offer to upgrade which we were not interested. They did right from check in no problem declining but what was upsetting was we reserved a superior room with KING SIZE BED & package - we got a double bed with no sitting area & the safe was so unsafe looking with the key which didn't really lock it. When I pointed this out which was not discussed with us at check in, I had to call the staff said they had no available room with our choice which we paid for & expected. Not until 3 days into our stay they finally switched us which was incongruent to have to pack again! Personally we felt it was a very sneaky way of trying to force people to upgrade & make more money. By the way the switch of the room didn't happen until we filled out a survey & really voiced it out. I feel the days we stayed at the cheaper looking room was not ideal for paying for the more expensive room & certainly should have been compensated out wether a hotel credit or anything. Food was ok but the the restaurant would be closed randomly & there for we ate at the buffet a lot! Would have been good to really try all the restaurants since we were there for a week. Over all the food in the buffet was ok would be better to have MORE authentic Mexican food! For the whole experience it was more of a 3 star - the restaurant staff was good especially when you tip them just for filling your water glass - the cocktail drinks were watered down & there was no higher liquor quality & if they did they will not use it even if you ask you really have to pay attention. We will be coming back to Mexico but we will not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Business
Cancun Mexico
Oct 1, 2013

Relaxing

We have a great time, the staff are very helpful, I was a little sick because I drink too much tequila, but chef was nice to prepare a delicious chicken soup, the best chicken soup that I ever eat my only complaint there too many mosquito.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE BUG SPRAY!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top