$221 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
426 reviews
Great friendly place

No complaints! Beautiful beach, nice room, friendly staff, and good food! Would definitely go back!! See full review

  • yepyep
  • Jun 9, 2014
Amazing beach, incredible staff

This was my first time at an all-inclusive resort, and I could scarcely be more pleased with my... See full review

  • BetterSnickerdoodle
  • Apr 20, 2014
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Hotel Map

20.5137 -87.2085
Area served
The Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach & Spa Resort is just 25km from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 85 km south of Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport at just 80 km from the Hotel.
Area description
Catalonia Royal Tulum is just 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen and Tulum's archaeological site, and 80 Km South od Cancun International airport, in Quintana Roo State, Mexico.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Standard Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Junior Suite Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Free access to spa and water treatment areas during entire stay. - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM with instructor.
Honeymoon Room
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -New bedspreads and drapery -Preferential location in buildings closest to the beach (buildings 5 & 6 ) - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom plus upgraded amenities (product line "BIO2" : shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soap) - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box ( free of charge )

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
Set buffet 08.00 am - 12.00 am (continental breakfast) 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm (grill & snacks and lunch)
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Type of cuisine: lobster, prawns and meat dishes. Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant Terrace
Lobster and steakhouse. Additional charge. Dinner from 7.00 pm to 9.30 pm
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
To last names
MS
May 24, 2013

From Southern USA to South of the Border

Awesome experience. The best vacation I've had. The hotel staff was the best. Thomas very funny. Locals are very polite and make you feel safe. Cancun has inflated prices and the people act like most in the USA. Very busy but the people of the riveria maya are laid back and put you in the mood to relax. Beach was pretty at the resort very close to a few neighboring beaches that locals say are the best. Actually the beach maybe better because the reef isn't close enough you can walk bare footed everywhere. Again the staff make this hotel. Only negative is the food could use a little work here and there it has potential but not the best. Who cares with service and beach like this one. Will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mundooh
New york
May 22, 2013

fun in the sun!

Amazing food. Amazing drinks. Great staff. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation this is the place to go. It's an overall great experience. The ambiance and location of the resort will put you in great spirits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is absolutely amazing no matter what restaurant you choose to dine at!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AD Ruiz
Kansas city, mo
Apr 10, 2013

Excelente

Best service in the world! Great people, food and service. Thank you for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great everythiing

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AD Ruiz
Kansas city, mo
Apr 7, 2013

Loved it

Awesome place, best employees ever encountered. They know what serviceis about. Humble, great folks. Good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Every restaurant!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super couple babymoon
charlotte, NC
Dec 26, 2012

Great babymoon

Staff and beach is perfect, white sand and turquoise waters. Many activities to enjoy during the day and night and close to the mayan ruins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car for the tours

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacqueline L
Winfield, WV
Nov 17, 2012

Absolutely Fantastic Vacay!!!

My husband and I stayed here from Nov 9th-Nov 16th after 11 months of being workaholics and it was amazing to sum it up!!! Our first stay in the Riviera Maya and we usually have high expectations for vacation. This resort was perfect for us!! Perfect location and we used USA Transfers Round trip they were awesome too! The staff at CRT was always awesome, the beach is gorgeous and we ventured out on our own via Collectivo to Tulum Ruins, Coba, Playa Del Carmen and Akumal, all within easy access to visit. If you stay here get a massage from Carlos on the beach off to the right of the resort, he is wonderful and has better rates than CRT!! The jungle and walkways were always fun to walk through, we loved all the animals, the place is immaculate clean. All the food was great and no reservations required! Our vacay was literally perfect and just what we needed. Please note this is not a party resort which is not what we were looking for this time, when we want to party hard we go to Aruba but if relaxation and perfection is what you seek then I highly reccomend staying here! Also there is all nationalities visiting and we never had a problem with anyone or Veraclub, ignore those reviews, people can be so dramatic sometimes, Different cultures is part of the passion to travel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Collectivos!! They are inexpensive and always running, you can visit the Coba and Tulum Ruins, Playa, Cozumel and Akumal very easily this way and not be on a tour groups schedule.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Seeker from Redmond
Redmond, WA
Nov 16, 2012

Great relaxing vacation!

Just back from a wonderful week! It was a bit windy but can't really blame it on the hotel. For me the check-in and check-out were a breeze, we got a wonderful room in building 5, but any bldg. would be ok, as the walk/path is so beautiful. Pros: fantastic beach, beautiful grounds in the middle of a small jungle with a cenote. No reservations required for dinner. Spanish restaurant ambiance was amazing. Relaxed atmosphere overall. Enjoyed the Jacuzzi once sun went down every day. Very friendly staff. Lunch buffet restaurant by the beach requires shirt/shoes, but they are OK with you getting a to-go plate to the beach. Cons: pool was cold, and no swim-up bar (not a big deal for us as we wanted the beach anyway), only one hot Jacuzzi (one was medium and the other was cold, no idea why, but we did manage to get a spot every day after the beach in the hotter one). Lots of Italians but I thought it was actually fun having them around. I just got disappointed as no women was going topless and I was hoping not to be the only one as I'm not super comfortable doing it... Hotel location close to Tulum is great to visit cenotes, parks and ruins. Taking the local bus (coletivo) was super easy to go places. So overall we thought it was a good deal for the price we paid and for what we were looking for. Not sure I'll go back as I like experiencing different styles, but I'd recommend it to friends who are looking for a relaxing place, and affordable (most adults-only hotels were quite more expensive or seemed too "kinky" when I was looking for options).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cenotes Dos Ojos is about 15 min drive from hotel (we took the bus/coletivo). We paid for the snorkeling tour of the cenote and it's an amazing experience! If you dive I guess it's even better!

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.Bob
Rochester Hills, MI
Oct 25, 2012

Enjoyable Get away

We just returned from a seven night stay. The location is great. It is about a 45 minute shuttle ride from the Cancun airport. The staff is very friendly and wants to please. The room was modern and clean with a marble walk-in shower. Both the beach and the pool are excellent. Don't go here looking for a beach front room. The resort property is long and skinny and runs between the road and the beach. The lobby is at the road end and the pool is at the beach end. The rooms are in the two rows of buildings (3 buildings in each row) that are at a right angle to the ocean and the road. We were in a building that was closest to the pool end. When we go back we will request that building again as we spent the bulk of our time at the beach and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used USA transfers from the airport to the hotel and back again. We had a van to ourselves which is always the way. Round trip cost was $120 plus tip. I would highly recommend them.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wahba
West Covina, California
Sep 3, 2012

Great Vacation

The best is customer service, everyone treat you the way you excpect it, the room service take care of the room everyday and check with you at night if you are missing something. The location closed to all the attractions ( Xplore, Xcarate, Hel Ha and playa del Carmen), The food selections is good, I like the Tapa, the Mexican, The steak house and pizzeria. Overall Me and my wife enjoyed this vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We rent a car and we drive to all attraction, the road is nice and fast and the distance is short drive like Xplore & Xcarate only 10 minutes, XHel Ha about 20 minutes and playa del Carmen about 30 minutes. Chichen Itza is far and we went with tour bus.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenslyguy
Bristol, CT
Aug 24, 2012

Go to this hotel!!!!!

In 11 years of traveling, my husband and I just rated this as #1! This place is quite swanky! All areas are incredibly clean- lobby, rooms, pool, beach, etc. Saying goodbye to the staff at the end of our stay was like saying goodbye to old friends. Food/drinks were excellent in every area. Beach was absolutely gorgeous. Tips are included, but for just $1 extra at the bar/dinner table/room, they will bend over backwards for you, even more so than what they already do. Children are not allowed, so things were pretty quiet. The guests, however, were on the younger side, (mostly 20s-30s??) although there were couples of every age group. (We are in our 40s and were very comfortable.) Because you are right in a mangrove/jungle, you will have critters all around you, even in the hotel room. We had lizards, salamanders, etc. and even a baby scorpian in the room! No trouble, just shoo them out! The entertainment is great. There is something going on all the time. You can join in or do nothing at all. The nightly shows are great. If you want spectacular costumes and lights, please go to Vegas or Broadway. Remember, you are at the beach!! These people will give a great show and make you laugh, but it's not the caliber of the above mentioned places. If you go to Tulum ruins or Playa del Carmen, bring more water and sunscreen than you think you'll need. It was scorching hot/humid! You also need a hat. We brought zip lock bags and took along cookies, fruit, etc. to keep us going. You do not want to get these things outside the resort or you risk getting very sick. Take the local buses/vans for a cheap ride to these places. There are tons of Italians. I am Italian and speak the language, so we were in with them and had a blast. However, if you don't speak Italian, you might feel left out. They are a different animal and have different ways of life than the Americans. Don't take some rudeness personally. They will cut in line, not say good morning, go topless, etc. They are like that at home,too! Don't worry about it! At the airport, do NOT stop at the place where they try to sell you timeshares and trips to the ruins! Just keep walking out to the transportation to get to the hotel. Do NOT buy tickets to Tulum online. They wanted over $100. We took the colectivo (local bus) and walked to the ruins, all for about $20! Overall, this was the best vacation we've had! I'd go back next week if I could! Enjoy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top