$359 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andres R
Business
new jersey
Apr 18, 2014

great experience

everything was really good, from people from front desk to people in pool area… something that really bothers me a lot was the fact the people "guess" are allowed to smoke everywhere, it should be an smoking area for these guesses.. i went to the bathroom and theres was 3 guys smoking in such a small space… but everything else was good… will go back w/o problem...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

lobster festival and mexican restaurant… delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick Papa
Business
Catalonia royal tulum
Feb 10, 2014

Quiet Peaceful Resort with a touch of beach fun

Hotel was great for a nice getaway. A little ways from Tulum but you can make a day of it. Not much of a night life but you don't need one here. Very quiet and the best of both Mexican worlds (jungle & beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Stone massage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irishfun
Business
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Feb 5, 2014

Nice Getaway

My significant other and I enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel. This was our first time at an All-Inclusive resort so we don't have anything to compare it to. The Deluxe Room was nice, comfortable bed and big bathroom with nice rainfall shower. We tried only one buffet as the other one was closed due to roof re-thatching. The buffet was average I guess - nothing special. We really enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant and the Beach Grill which served good burgers. The beach was fantastic!! Didn't use the pool and all the loungers were always taken / saved. The hot tubs were a bit chilly and not quite as warm as we keep them here in the USA so we paid an extra $15.00 each to use the spa Jacuzzi which were nice. Staff was friendly enough but many don't speak too good of English. Oh and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Some people have reviewed that it is cheesy entertainment but the crew kept us laughing and having a good time. Overall it was nice and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nina dahcegirl
Business
New York, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Hotel for the smoking people only.

Hotel was OK, but getting old it means need renovation. Food was OK. Beach was nice, that the reason I went there second time. I did now that this hotel is for the smoking people only. They have to make a special sing for that. For the time I stay there I was watching sow only once and has to move on the beach more then 10 times to avoid the smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesbury John
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 21, 2013

Id give it a B

Staff was great except for entertainment staff who did very little. Six months ago we went to the Iberostar and their staff is so much better. The food was so so....but the house wine was the best we've had in Mexico. The pool was pretty nice and the beach was excellent. Very little dancing outside, which we enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The collective runs right by the hotel and it is very easy to take to Playa and back...$3 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sukhisue
Business
Encinitas, California
Nov 18, 2013

7th visit to Catalonia Royal Tulum

We love CRT! The staff are the nicest, kindest people and the service is amazing! The beach is absolutely gorgeous. Turquoise - green water and white sand. Since this is our 7th visit to CRT, we obviously love individual staff, which we would like to acknowledge. Amado is the most loving and wonderful waiter and he works in the LaSelva Buffet in the evening. We absolutely love Fernando who was just promoted from (excellent) waiter to concierge! Congratulations to you! We also love other wait staff - Dora, Gabriel, Carlos & Guillermo. We love Eduardo the supervisor, and the hostesses are awesome! Elizabeth, Flora, Juana & Fabiola. In Reception Brenda and Veronica are kind and helpful. The place is kept impeccably clean and we love the food, especially at the lunchtime and nighttime buffets. The ONLY reason we gave the hotel a 4 star and not a 5 star is because of the lack of designated smoking areas. We have to breathe in the deadly smoke on the beach, at the pool, on the walkway every time we go anywhere, at the evening shows and even in the lobby. We will be going back in February and look forward to being there in the beautiful atmosphere, with the lovely people who work at CRT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffets are the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypsie
Business
St Clair Shores, MI
Nov 18, 2013

Amazing beach!!

This was the third time visiting and am still amazed at the beautiful beach and crystal clear water. The grounds are kept very well. The staff was very friendly, always smiling and saying "hola". Loved that no dinner reservations are needed and no dress code. Hope to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinster
Business
Danbury,Ct
Nov 4, 2013

Four times @ CRT and more to come !

This was our fourth stay here over the past five years. The beach is the one of the best in Riviera Maya. The food quality has lessened over the years but is still good, if you are not a confirmed foodie you will be content as there is plenty of choice. The buffettsare the best and freshest . The drinks are plentiful and available. The only negatives are the towel games that start at daybreak and the lack of any coffee availability prior to 7 AM unless you make the instant package in the room. Nice mix of ages and nationalities, staff is very good but seem to be doing more as there are fewer servers than in the past. Overall, an exceptional value on a great property !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William Traveler
Business
Washington, NC
Oct 31, 2013

Wonderful Couple Getaway

The hotel was great. Wonderful staff! Enjoyed our stay very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatchRN
Business
Calgary, AB
Oct 23, 2013

Great getaway!

My husband and I just got back from 6 nights at CRT and we had a blast. The resort is very clean and well tended to. We enjoyed the pillow menu in the room but felt the "spa upgrade" (which included better room loc., spa access everyday, resort discounts, and a couple chocolates with wine) we were sold was not worth the money. The spa had great monthly specials that were offered to everyone and if you opted to use those you weren't able to use the upgrade discounts.The location and beach was great. What we loved the most about the beach was there was great coral reefs with lots of fish within swimming distance. We would have loved a swim up bar and a better choice of alcohol, but enjoyed the 2 bartenders named Carlos who definitely made our experience fun! We would definitely say the food was average compared to the 2 other riviera maya resorts we've stayed at. Overall, this has been the best mexico vacation we have taken because we had a great time at an affordable price at a really relaxing, enjoyable resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top