$452 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
260 reviews
Perfect Relaxation

Royal Catalonia Tulum is a great place to get away from it all. The resort is quiet, the beach is... See full review

  • Matthew O.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Beautiful, Relaxing Stay

I have been to the Catalonia Royal Tulum twice within the year--each time the staff has been very... See full review

  • Kristy T.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Standard Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Junior Suite Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Free access to spa and water treatment areas during entire stay. - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM with instructor.
Honeymoon Room
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -New bedspreads and drapery -Preferential location in buildings closest to the beach (buildings 5 & 6 ) - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom plus upgraded amenities (product line "BIO2" : shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soap) - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box ( free of charge )

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
Set buffet 08.00 am - 12.00 am (continental breakfast) 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm (grill & snacks and lunch)
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Type of cuisine: lobster, prawns and meat dishes. Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant Terrace
Lobster and steakhouse. Additional charge. Dinner from 7.00 pm to 9.30 pm
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alisa82
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2014

Catalonia Royal

My overall rate for this hotel is a 3. It has it’s pros and cons. In short, the pros are mostly the location of the hotel, the hotels surrounding which has a natural habitat & path way that were beautiful, and the clean rooms. The cons were the food, the sales people trying to sell you time shares and some of the staff was not very well organized. This hotel has a contract with an Italian agency so 70% of the population is Italian and they cater specifically to them. For instance, most of the after hour activities were only in Italian. Which wasn’t very convenient for the rest of the guests especially on a rainy day. The hotel location was nice because it was close to the Tulum Ruins, Paradise Beach, Xcaret and Xelha. You can take the collectivo bus for $3 per person which gets you there in about 20 min and pay an entrance of $6. This saves you some money because the average tour to the ruins is about $80 per person. The hotel and the rooms were clean. The ladies that cleaned the rooms were extremely friendly and always greeted you with a smile. The beds and pillows weren’t the most comfortable ones but the sound of the ocean made up for that. Unfortunately, none of the rooms have an ocean view. In my opinion the lobby was somewhat small. We had three days of rain and during those nights we could not find a seat to relax in the lobby. The hotel has 6 restaurant and every evening one of them was closed. On the night that it rained heavily, the staff closed the Mexican restaurant which was on the inside & closed off and left the Steak Restaurant open. The Steak restaurant was by the beach so it was out in the open. Even though they had covers the heavy wind blew all the rain and people had to move. On our first day the hotel sales people tried to get us to attend a breakfast the next day and sign up for time share. On numerous occasions we said no and were approached by someone else or the same person. They were a little pushy when it comes to that. I came to enjoy my time and not waste it on a sales person. They should take NO for an answer. But we did pay an extra fee of $245 to get a better room and some additional services (massage, fruit & champagne and romantic dinner). We signed up for it because it was our one year anniversary and mostly because of the Romantic Dinner. Since it rained for three days we had to reschedule our romantic dinner with the concierge to the last night of our stay so we could be able to enjoy it at the beach and not at one of the restaurants. When we got there, the staff said they had no reservation for us. We waited for over an hour for them to figure out what to do. Then they came back and said they could only offer us the same food from one of the restaurants. When we asked to speak to a supervisor or manager, we waited again for over half an hour and no one came. In the end we had to walk back to the lobby and request our money back. The staff was just very unorganized. But our biggest disappointment was the food. We expected more seafood since we were by the ocean but the choices were very limited. It was mostly ham and pork and it was inconvenient for us because we do not eat it. We didn’t even have an option for turkey and they even put their ham in their pasta without noting it on the menu. I really think they could do a better job on the food because there are people with dietary restrictions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Paradise Beach/Playa Paraiso next to The Tulum Ruins. Beautiful beach with white sand and clear blue water. Great restaurants and bars on the beach. Delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PICOLI
Business
AZ
May 22, 2014

TIME SHARE SALES AT CRT

This hotel is situated in a good location and was popular for it's good reputation. Recently, they have introduced a time share program and the sales people can make the trip a real drag. The service by some staff is very good but if you go, be fore-warned that they will unleash hungry sales people upon your arrival. This issue has become a big problem for a lot of the return customers. Now we are wondering if we should return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leonilo4
Business
Nogales, AZ
May 22, 2014

Fabulous getaway to relax

This is a very nice resort with great staff and facilities. The beach and pool are beautiful. The food is great. Two things keep it from getting 5 stars. There are no ocean view rooms and they have some salesman trying to sell some exclusive club membership (time share?) However the grounds are lush jungle and one usually spends little time in their room so the view doesn't matter. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eclipse Drywall
Business
Oregon City, OR
May 19, 2014

Perfect Getaway for 2

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & are already looking forward to booking our next trip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beaches!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach gal nyc
Business
NYC
May 11, 2014

Couples getaway

The hotel was great! Easy to get to by private car, amazing beach! The only complaint was that there weren't any towels near the beach-- you had one beach towel per day in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tons of activities right near the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip of Pinehurst
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2014

A fantastic honeymoon

We really loved our four day stay at the Catalonia Tulum. The staff was always incredibly gracious, the pool and beach are beautiful and comfortable, and the food was above average. There are five restaurants to choose from, but our favorite shot was the steakhouse near the beach was our favorite spot. The only sour moment of our vacation, which was partly our fault, was when we agreed to attend the Catalonia Hotels 90 minute sales pitch on joining their Exclusive Travel Club. Don't do it, don't go, don't say yes. The people who make that sakes pitch are smarmy, rude, and wholly unlike all the other hotel staff we dealt with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Posada Margharita, wonderful beach restaurant on Beach Road in Tulum. Take Collectivo bus from hotel to Tulum, then take either taxi or beach Collectivo to restaurant. So worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BetterSnickerdoodle
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Apr 20, 2014

Amazing beach, incredible staff

This was my first time at an all-inclusive resort, and I could scarcely be more pleased with my experience. I wanted a peaceful, gorgeous beach where I could relax, read a book, and sip fruity drinks, and I got it. The beach: Incredibly beautiful. Almost-white sands and aquamarine waves, with a slight breeze. Plenty of shade in the many palapas available. The service: I can't get over how prompt and courteous the staff members were. They were incredibly gracious and friendly. Our room was kept spotless. Our drinks were refreshed enthusiastically. I know you don't have to tip at an all-inclusive, but I hope many people do. The employees here really go out of their way. The accommodations: I was very pleased with our clean, standard room with a king-size bed. The room had a huge walk-in shower. The refrigerator was replenished daily with soda, beer, water, and snacks. The maid left fresh towels folded in the shape of animals each day. The food: This is the resort's only weak point. While options abound, the food is just decent. I did not have trouble limiting my trips to the buffet. However, room service is free 24 hours a day, which was a welcome amenity. This was my first trip to Mexico. Unfortunately, we did not get an opportunity to venture beyond the resort's gates. Next time, we will want to see more of the country and have a less touristy experience, but Catalonia Royal Tulum more than met my needs for this vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andres R
Business
new jersey
Apr 18, 2014

great experience

everything was really good, from people from front desk to people in pool area… something that really bothers me a lot was the fact the people "guess" are allowed to smoke everywhere, it should be an smoking area for these guesses.. i went to the bathroom and theres was 3 guys smoking in such a small space… but everything else was good… will go back w/o problem...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

lobster festival and mexican restaurant… delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick Papa
Business
Catalonia royal tulum
Feb 10, 2014

Quiet Peaceful Resort with a touch of beach fun

Hotel was great for a nice getaway. A little ways from Tulum but you can make a day of it. Not much of a night life but you don't need one here. Very quiet and the best of both Mexican worlds (jungle & beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Stone massage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irishfun
Business
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Feb 5, 2014

Nice Getaway

My significant other and I enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel. This was our first time at an All-Inclusive resort so we don't have anything to compare it to. The Deluxe Room was nice, comfortable bed and big bathroom with nice rainfall shower. We tried only one buffet as the other one was closed due to roof re-thatching. The buffet was average I guess - nothing special. We really enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant and the Beach Grill which served good burgers. The beach was fantastic!! Didn't use the pool and all the loungers were always taken / saved. The hot tubs were a bit chilly and not quite as warm as we keep them here in the USA so we paid an extra $15.00 each to use the spa Jacuzzi which were nice. Staff was friendly enough but many don't speak too good of English. Oh and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Some people have reviewed that it is cheesy entertainment but the crew kept us laughing and having a good time. Overall it was nice and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top