$426 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
257 reviews
Just returned oct 16

This was our third time at this resort, and we'll be back again. It is a long drive from cancun... See full review

  • Scottish canadians
  • Oct 18, 2014
Great couples getaway

Rooms are very clean, staff is friendly and very helpful. Food was good. Beach was gorgeous. Will... See full review

  • Workaholic777
  • Oct 6, 2014
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Standard Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Junior Suite Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Free access to spa and water treatment areas during entire stay. - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM with instructor.
Honeymoon Room
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -New bedspreads and drapery -Preferential location in buildings closest to the beach (buildings 5 & 6 ) - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom plus upgraded amenities (product line "BIO2" : shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soap) - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box ( free of charge )

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
Set buffet 08.00 am - 12.00 am (continental breakfast) 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm (grill & snacks and lunch)
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Type of cuisine: lobster, prawns and meat dishes. Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant Terrace
Lobster and steakhouse. Additional charge. Dinner from 7.00 pm to 9.30 pm
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 20, 2009

Fantastic. You will not be disappointed.

2nd trip there and it was awesome! Staff is 5 star and we loved everything about it. The beach is flawless as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city, MO
Jul 16, 2009

Excellent time

Liked: •Pool - there's a "pool" bar near the pool, but it's not IN the pool, but there are waitresses coming by to get your drink order. it's very clean too, which was a nice surprise from other resorts we've stayed at. •Staff - activities were great, even the micheal jackson show on tuesday! Staff was tons of fun and very nice. •Drinks •location - quiet, not built up and natural landscape everywhere. •hotel - beautiful walkway with nice music playing, lobby and restaurants were very pretty too. •tulum ruins - absolutely breathtaking to swim in the ocean next to the ruins. i highly recommend it. •BEACH!!! - beach was secluded and not built up, no commercial planes flying over or guys on waverunners trying to get business. it was quiet and absolutely beautiful! •beach dogs - some very cute and friendly beach dogs live nearby and come by each day to play. •ocean - there are tons of angel fish that swim right at the beach of the hotel and if you bring a banana to feed them, they'll all crowd around you. very cool! also, there is plenty of perfect soft white sand to walk on, but if you venture to the left a little or back to the right a little, there is great coral to snorkel next to. •Rooms - loved the cleanliness, the balcony and the towel animals Didn't Like- •mosquitos!!!! bring lots of bug spray!!!! they bite even during the day. •price of sunscreen - make sure you bring enough. it's $26 for a little bottle in the lobby. the aerosol cans only last for about three to four times so for me and my husband we should have brought one and half cans per day because you MUST reapply in the mexican sun. •the food wasn't anything special. the lunch buffet was good because there was plenty to choose from, but the dinners weren't that impressive. •rooms - the size of the room was kinda small, the bed was too hard and the sheets were kinda scratchy. if you have room in your suitcase, bring an extra pair of king sheets. :) The good by far outweigh the bad. we had an awesome time and i would recommend this resort over any Cancun resort. it's an hour drive from the airport but SOOOO worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure to catch the cocktail lesson. 11am on sunday i think. The 2 instructors drink about a bottle of REAL tequila during the lesson and are hysterical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthia, nurse
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 15, 2009

Loved it, hated to leave!!

We rested in the most beautiful place in the world! I loved it so much, it was just perfect. The pathway through the grounds was enchanting, the staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steaks are small, not enough for me a 120 lb female

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teamcricket
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 14, 2009

Beautiful

This place was great! It was kid free, relaxing and fun. It had an amazing beach and mangrove gardens! They had four-five sport options, bingo, spanish lessons, dancing, theater shows and much more everyday! Or you could just relax on the beach or in the pool. We plan to go back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The hotel tries to give you the impression that tips are included, but the wonderful people there deserve tips. We would give them a dollar or two for their great service and attitudes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzeqz
Business
CT
Jul 14, 2009

Heaven

One of the best hotels that I've stayed at. Staff very nice and hardworking. This was a very clean resort at a great beach location. Will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ohiosilky
Business
Green, Ohio
Jul 13, 2009

Great Place, Great Food

Not having the hotel directly on the beach we were very concerned, but decided to try it out. Boy am I glad we did. We really enjoyed the short interesting walk to the fantastic pool and beautiful beach. We saw local animals and enjoyed the soothing music. We have traveled quite a bit and the food at this all inclusive was exceptional. Because there were no other hotels around, the beach is secluded and private to this hotel. It is great for swimming. The pool and beach chairs are very comfortable, they have beverage service in both areas. The pool is large so that if there are activities you can still enjoy the pool. All the restaurants were good with none of the usual all inclusive buffet food, except at lunch, and even then it was much better than what is usually served (even sushi daily). The only problem I can detect is the mosquito problem in the Spanish Tapas restaurant. It is in a very pretty location, with a very interesting menu, but because it is near the cenote you get eaten alive. It is a real shame because I would really like to have had dinner there and could only have the appetizers. The hotel has added some nice touches, like fresh scented damp towels at the front desk and in some bathrooms and fruit kabobs served several times a day pool side. We plan on returning in the spring, we really enjoyed ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaun
Business
North Carolina
Jul 13, 2009

Beautiful grounds and beach

This was our 7th trip to Mexico. Our first to the CRT. The staff was the nicest we have ever seen. The resort was beautiful, quite and the food was mostly very good. We notice most people did not tip as we did. Although the service was always good, a couple of dollars here and there and the service became excellent. Overall this is one of the few places in Mexico I would consider again. We had a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hills, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Great Place

The place is great. It's pretty much rooms and paths cut out of the jungle, so you walk through it. Very pretty and lush, and they play elevator music trhough the paths. The water was nice - a little wavy, but not too bad. There was a school of fish that was constantly near the beach, so you wuld walk right through them and it they would just swim around you. There is a little river near the lobby - very pretty. The staff was friendly and there were activities all day long. There are a bunch of mosquitos, so be armed. The internet is $5 for 30 min, but it's REALLY slow. the beds aren't the most comfortable, but I guess it's expected. Requested a king bed, but they didn't have any when we checked in, so we moved the 2 twin beds together for the first night and got a king bed for the second night. Make sure you eat at the steak house and ask to be seated next to the beach - SO romantic and pretty. Also, didn't have to wake up early to request seating at the nice restaurants - just come by and get seated :) Overall, great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 10, 2009

Very nice resort!

This was our second time to Mexico, more precisely to the Riviera Maya. Our concern was to find a nice beach because we like to spend most of our vacation in the water. This was the best beach! There was sand all the way out to the reefs. A surprise bonus was that there were several coral reefs perfect for snorkeling all around. The service was great and the food was well above our expectations! We will be going back to the Catalonia Royal Tulum soon! We also met multiple people who were on their second, third and sixth time back to this same resort. The numbers tell the story… I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Since this resort is a good distance from the airport the transfer takes a while, We found it cheaper and a lot faster to get a private transfer. A private transfer takes just over an hour and has no stops on the way verses a bus full of people stopping at every resort on the coast that can take up to two and a half hours to get to Tulum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VZ Most
Business
Sherman Oaks, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Awesome all inclusive at great price!

This was my first time at an All inclusive resort and I must say it was one of the best vacations I have been on! This resort is beautiful, service was great, food was pretty good and the beach is amazing! We also loved the fact that it was in a more secluded and quiet location...if you are looking to party until late this resort is not for you. The only problem we had was when we arrived they did not have a king room (which is what we booked) so we had to take a room with double beds...after complaining they gave us a king room the following day. The moving part was not fun...but all the positives of the trip outweight this small inconvenience. I would recommend the A La Carte Restaurant La Selva for dinner one night...our server was Adrian and he was absolutely amazing! Best service and food we had on the trip. I would definetely recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top