$285 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottish canadians
Business
British columbia
Oct 18, 2014

Just returned oct 16

This was our third time at this resort, and we'll be back again. It is a long drive from cancun (about 90 mins) well worth it when you get there. It is a smaller resort, which we prefer, and it's adults only. The staff are very friendly and can't help you enough. The food was excellent, the beach is beautiful and you can walk a long way at either side. The staff put on fun pool activities. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It was a bit busier this time than the last two times before that we went, which were in September. It did get a bit loud at the pool and hard to find a lounge, but we are beach people anyway, so it was quieter there, but the lounges aren't as comfortable as the pool ones. There was a lot of seaweed blown in by the sea, but it didn't bother us too much, it just makes a lot of work for the staff cleaning it up. We took the bus to akumel and snorkel led with the turtles, this is the third time doing this and it's amazing. We take our own snorkeling equipment. We went to playa del Carmen for the day, but I don't think I would do it again, we have been there four times and we have a hard time with the pressure to buy, we also went to kinn wa, which is near peurto Morelos, it's a very bumpy road it, but we rode the ATV s in the jungle, and zip lined and dropped into a cenote, and zipped lined over land. It is a totally natural place and we loved swimming in the cool cenotes. We had a hamburger lunch and they took a DVD of all our activated which we bought. George was our tour guide and he was great. We were sad leaving the resort and are looking forward to coming back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From our hotel we can easily walk to the highway to get the collectivo bus. It's $3 each way and goes from tulum to cancun and they let you off pretty well wherever you are going along the highway.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rekeem
Business
Denver
Oct 13, 2014

Great everything, but service

Very nice place, nice location, good, not great, beach, good food. Unfortunately the service was horrible. Over an hour to check in and they sent the luggage to the wrong room. We had four couples and only one ended up in the room with their name on it. Entertainment was bland. Food was good, but service (the staff was great, there just were not enough of them) was lacking. Won't likely go back or recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
farcus
Business
Greenfield, ma
Oct 13, 2014

you get what you pay for

Title says it all. In no way is this a 4 star resort... Not even close. Small poor quality in food no so great beach in need of desperate renovation. Staff was good though only plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mollygirl1
Business
California
Oct 12, 2014

Ok stay

Beautiful resort. Excellent staff. Rooms are old and could use a face lift although the beds are new and comfortable. Food very marginal. Steaks are flat flank steak and tough. It was this way in specialty restaurants as well as buffet. No shell fish unless you buy lobster. Just not a very large selection. Food tasted ok but because of the jack of choices, it can get a bit repetitive. Never saw any of the beach feasts that are featured in the advertisement photos. Stayed over a week. All in all, nice place but there are better AI's out there. Doubt I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the collectivos to town. Very easy and $3 each way.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Workaholic777
Business
Miami, Fl
Oct 6, 2014

Great couples getaway

Rooms are very clean, staff is friendly and very helpful. Food was good. Beach was gorgeous. Will definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out to the main road you can get their public transportation for mere dollars all the way to the ruins or the beaches.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
avelonokc
Business
OKlahoma
Sep 26, 2014

Average at best

What made my trip: The monkeys at the hotel/ the excursions away from the hotel/ the beach and water The hotel was at best average. The room was hot unless you had the ceiling fan on all the time. I was there in July. I would go to bed hot and it would in the middle of the night cool down. We were on the third floor. I hope you like stairs! The mini fridge was stocked daily and is included in your package. 1 orange soda, 1 lemon lime, 2 beers and 2 bottles of water. The bed was okay and there were a variety of pillows on the bed. No tub, just a walk in shower. The walk to the pool/front desk was a journey. You will need your walking shoes. The pool was just an average pool. No pool bar. There were two hot tubs. One was hot and one was cold. There were several restaurants to chose from in the hotel and the food was edible. There was a limited variety of fruit offered. I found that to be odd compared to other all inclusive hotels in Mexico. I ate all every one of the restaurants. Some were better than others and I did see a lot of food go to waste. The adult beverages were okay (if you like Pepsi). My cuba libre with Pepsi was awful. Rum and coke is a rum and coke for a reason. The flavored daiquiris and margaritas were not made with real fruit. They were made with artificial mixers. Ive never been anywhere in Mexio that used mixers. So, no coca cola and no real fruit in the adult beverages. There was a hut that made fruit smoothies. It was real fruit and I ended up getting non alcoholic drinks the entire time. beach was awesome the first three days. Then came the green kelp/seaweed with little balls on them. I was constantly picking the stuff up and throwing it away from me. It actually gave me a rash where it touched me. The rash went away after a few hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Xscape!.. Underground river is awesome and so is the zipline.

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy 2013 Honeymooner
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 18, 2014

Perfect Romantic Getaway

We really enjoyed our one week stay at Catalonia Royal Tulum Hotel. Staff was professional and attentive. Food was not excellent, but good enough. The best part of this hotel is the beach! We were spending at least 8-10 hours outside every day and it was amazing. If you are looking for affordable, all-inclusive, adults only resort with beautiful white sand beach, this place is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid their time sharing program. Waste of time. Not worth it. We did get a free beach bag and couple hats and t-shirts though for attending :)

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pourmeanother
Business
Ohio
Sep 14, 2014

Third Visit

Booked CRT for the third time. We stayed in building three, which was halfway between the lobby and beach. Our room was on the first floor and was very clean and comfortable. We saw no need to upgrade to a suite as we were only in our room to shower, change clothes and sleep. breakfast buffet was always fresh with a large selection of items. Lunch was either by the pool bar or buffet by the pool. You come off the beach or pool throw on a cover-up or tee and eat lunch. Dinner you have the choice of Thai, Steak, Italian, Mexican, or the Tapas. We really enjoyed the Thai and Mexican as we visited them both twice. The beach and pool are the best amenities at this resort. I have stayed in Cancun and up and down the Riviera Maya and the beach and pool are why I keep coming back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim789
Business
Cleveland, ohio
Aug 16, 2014

Catalonia royal Tulum

We just returned from our stay Aug 11 - Aug 15. Amazing accommodations! Rooms were cleaned daily and the staff was very helpful. The only annoying part of our stay was the time share talk we had to sit through, but once we said we were not interested we were pretty much left alone. The other was the fact that the gift shop did not take US $ and they did not have enough pesos to provide change from our purchase. The food was delicious and nightly entertainment was enjoyable. We had a terrific time and would consider visiting this resort again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxing at the beach
Business
Florida
Aug 10, 2014

Visually perfect

We had a great time at the resort. The accommodations were great. Large clean rooms, comfortable beds. Walking from the lobby to the beach gave you the feel of walking in a jungle. The property landscape is stunning. The beach and pool were beautiful. My favorite water activity was the cool water jacuzzi, very refreshing in the heat at the day. The only negative we experienced was the food. Out of five stars I give it a two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top