$452 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun 264.5 Xpuha,, Riviera Maya Akumal C.P. 77790, Akumal, 77790
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
260 reviews
Perfect Relaxation

Royal Catalonia Tulum is a great place to get away from it all. The resort is quiet, the beach is... See full review

  • Matthew O.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Beautiful, Relaxing Stay

I have been to the Catalonia Royal Tulum twice within the year--each time the staff has been very... See full review

  • Kristy T.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Adults-only villa-style Caribbean resort surrounded by native trees
The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort is near the Tulum Mayan ruins and Playa del Carmen. It is an all-inclusive and adults-only resort. The 288 villas, mid-sized resort offers guests relaxation on a beautiful Caribbean strip of beach. Nature lovers enjoy the lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs that dot the surrounding landscape. The Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort boasts four outdoor Jacuzzis, six restaurants, four bars, fitness center and spa with beauty salon.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only resort with multiple restaurants, bars
  • Four outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Resort is surrounded by lush jungle, mangroves and fresh water springs
Rooms:

Accommodations at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort are decorated in relaxing, neutral tones. Each room features cable TV, 24-hour room service, free Internet access and pillow menu. Guests choose among the standard garden view room, the junior suite garden view and the honeymoon room. Both the standard and the junior suite boast private balconies, free use of the gym with instructor and fully stocked mini-bar. The honeymoon room package includes canopy king bed, couples massage, breakfast in bed and a private, romantic dinner. Guests should request non-smoking rooms, if desired.

Features:

The standard all-inclusive package at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort allows guests access to complimentary snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, dancing, beach and pool volleyball, table tennis and billiards. One in-pool scuba lesson is included in the package. For a fee, guests enjoy spa services, tours and Mexican arts and crafts fair.

 

Dining:

The restaurants at Catalonia Royal Beach & Spa Resort include a range of cuisines from Mexican to Italian to tapas. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. Reservations are not required for sit-down dinner service. Included in the all-inclusive package are unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, cocktails and soft drinks.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (52.8 mi/85 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/ 36km)
  • Mayan ruins at Tulum (31 mi/ 50km)
  • Cancun (65 mi/105km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Standard Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers
Junior Suite Garden View with Private Balcony
The room offers: - 1 King Bed - Air conditioning - Ceiling fan - Radio and direct telephone - Mini bar with soft drinks, bottled water daily refilled - Coffee maker - Safe box - Iron and iron board - Fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer - Free access to spa and water treatment areas during entire stay. - Robe and sandals in room plus extra VIP amenities. - Free use of GYM with instructor.
Honeymoon Room
Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Deluxe Room
The room offers: - 1 King size or 2 double beds - Furnished terrace /balcony - Air conditioning and ceiling fan - Direct dial telephone - Wireless Internet access - Safe deposit box - Coffeemaker - Complimentary minibar daily refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer - Turn down service - Pillow menu - Iron and ironing board - 24 hours room service - Bathrobe and slippers -New bedspreads and drapery -Preferential location in buildings closest to the beach (buildings 5 & 6 ) - New "Rainshower" in the bathroom plus upgraded amenities (product line "BIO2" : shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soap) - New 32" LCD TV ( cable ) - New digital safety security box ( free of charge )

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant La Palapa
Set buffet 08.00 am - 12.00 am (continental breakfast) 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm (grill & snacks and lunch)
Restaurant Royal Steak House
Type of cuisine: lobster, prawns and meat dishes. Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant Terrace
Lobster and steakhouse. Additional charge. Dinner from 7.00 pm to 9.30 pm
Restaurant Centenario
Type of cuisine: Mexican specialities Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm
Restaurant La Selva
International buffet-style restaurant 7.00 am - 10.30 am (breakfast buffet) 6.00 pm - 10.00 pm (dinner buffet, theme nights)
Restaurant Toscana
Type of cuisine: Italian specialities.Various dinner sittings: 6.30 pm, 7.30 pm, 8.30 pm & 9.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wahba
West Covina, California
Sep 3, 2012

Great Vacation

The best is customer service, everyone treat you the way you excpect it, the room service take care of the room everyday and check with you at night if you are missing something. The location closed to all the attractions ( Xplore, Xcarate, Hel Ha and playa del Carmen), The food selections is good, I like the Tapa, the Mexican, The steak house and pizzeria. Overall Me and my wife enjoyed this vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We rent a car and we drive to all attraction, the road is nice and fast and the distance is short drive like Xplore & Xcarate only 10 minutes, XHel Ha about 20 minutes and playa del Carmen about 30 minutes. Chichen Itza is far and we went with tour bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew O.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Perfect Relaxation

Royal Catalonia Tulum is a great place to get away from it all. The resort is quiet, the beach is very nice, the staff is excellent and the food is better than average for an All-Inclusive. We were visiting for a Wedding and enjoyed ourselves very much. The only shortcomings of the resort - which are not big issues - include a strict beach towel rule and sub-par "room service" food. We did have an issue with our room phone that was not resolved all week, but were offered an alternate room - so can't complain as there was an option to resolve our issue. The value is huge for US travellers looking for a very relaxed environment with a great beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristy T.
Business
Salt Lake City
Dec 29, 2014

Beautiful, Relaxing Stay

I have been to the Catalonia Royal Tulum twice within the year--each time the staff has been very friendly and the room and amenities have been great. The one area of improvement I would recommend would be to improve the flavor of the food--sometimes the desserts were not very sweet. Otherwise, it was a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristy T.
Business
Salt Lake City
Dec 29, 2014

Great Place, Gorgeous Beach!

We love the Catalonia Royal Tulum--the property and staff are so welcoming. The location is absolutely beautiful--the walkway with overhanging trees, the animals, the beach with the clear turquoise water--all very beautiful. The one thing that could have been better were the desserts--not as sweet as we're used to in the US. Otherwise--great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristy T.
Business
Salt Lake City
Dec 16, 2014

Great Place, Gorgeous Beach!

We love the Catalonia Royal Tulum--the property and staff are so welcoming. The location is absolutely beautiful--the walkway with overhanging trees, the animals, the beach with the clear turquoise water--all very beautiful. The one thing that could have been better were the desserts--not as sweet as we're used to in the US. Otherwise--great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristy T.
Business
Salt Lake City
Dec 16, 2014

Beautiful, Relaxing Stay

I have been to the Catalonia Royal Tulum twice within the year--each time the staff has been very friendly and the room and amenities have been great. The one area of improvement I would recommend would be to improve the flavor of the food--sometimes the desserts were not very sweet. Otherwise, it was a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottish canadians
Business
British columbia
Oct 18, 2014

Just returned oct 16

This was our third time at this resort, and we'll be back again. It is a long drive from cancun (about 90 mins) well worth it when you get there. It is a smaller resort, which we prefer, and it's adults only. The staff are very friendly and can't help you enough. The food was excellent, the beach is beautiful and you can walk a long way at either side. The staff put on fun pool activities. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It was a bit busier this time than the last two times before that we went, which were in September. It did get a bit loud at the pool and hard to find a lounge, but we are beach people anyway, so it was quieter there, but the lounges aren't as comfortable as the pool ones. There was a lot of seaweed blown in by the sea, but it didn't bother us too much, it just makes a lot of work for the staff cleaning it up. We took the bus to akumel and snorkel led with the turtles, this is the third time doing this and it's amazing. We take our own snorkeling equipment. We went to playa del Carmen for the day, but I don't think I would do it again, we have been there four times and we have a hard time with the pressure to buy, we also went to kinn wa, which is near peurto Morelos, it's a very bumpy road it, but we rode the ATV s in the jungle, and zip lined and dropped into a cenote, and zipped lined over land. It is a totally natural place and we loved swimming in the cool cenotes. We had a hamburger lunch and they took a DVD of all our activated which we bought. George was our tour guide and he was great. We were sad leaving the resort and are looking forward to coming back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From our hotel we can easily walk to the highway to get the collectivo bus. It's $3 each way and goes from tulum to cancun and they let you off pretty well wherever you are going along the highway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rekeem
Business
Denver
Oct 13, 2014

Great everything, but service

Very nice place, nice location, good, not great, beach, good food. Unfortunately the service was horrible. Over an hour to check in and they sent the luggage to the wrong room. We had four couples and only one ended up in the room with their name on it. Entertainment was bland. Food was good, but service (the staff was great, there just were not enough of them) was lacking. Won't likely go back or recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
farcus
Business
Greenfield, ma
Oct 13, 2014

you get what you pay for

Title says it all. In no way is this a 4 star resort... Not even close. Small poor quality in food no so great beach in need of desperate renovation. Staff was good though only plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mollygirl1
Business
California
Oct 12, 2014

Ok stay

Beautiful resort. Excellent staff. Rooms are old and could use a face lift although the beds are new and comfortable. Food very marginal. Steaks are flat flank steak and tough. It was this way in specialty restaurants as well as buffet. No shell fish unless you buy lobster. Just not a very large selection. Food tasted ok but because of the jack of choices, it can get a bit repetitive. Never saw any of the beach feasts that are featured in the advertisement photos. Stayed over a week. All in all, nice place but there are better AI's out there. Doubt I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the collectivos to town. Very easy and $3 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Tulum Beach Resort - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Workaholic777
Business
Miami, Fl
Oct 6, 2014

Great couples getaway

Rooms are very clean, staff is friendly and very helpful. Food was good. Beach was gorgeous. Will definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out to the main road you can get their public transportation for mere dollars all the way to the ruins or the beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top