$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
213 reviews
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Awesome hidden treasure

This place just amazed our whole party! We had the time of our lives there. There were 4 people in... See full review

  • Marinemama
  • May 27, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 213
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4.5
Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean City
Dec 15, 2008

Breathtaking Beach and Snorkeling

The Akumal Beach Resort was exactly as I expected. It is not super duper fancy HOWEVER the beach is gorgeous and the snorkeling was just phenomenal.I traveled by myself and felt very comfortable and safe walking areas at any hour. The staff were very nice.You absolutley do not need to bring your dressy clothes, this is a laid back beach resort and the other guests regardless of nationality were very friendly and most offered a nice greeting as you passed on the grounds in the hallways.The children that were there during my 12 day stay were well behaved.....I am not a kid person so I was glad to see good manners exhibited. I found my room and all public areas of the resort (especially restrooms) to be very clean. As prior reports stated the superior rooms are pretty darn basic, but that was ok with me as I expected as much.I did not find the beds to be all that hard as many other folks have reported. I did request a refrigerator at checkin and one was promptly brought to my room.I thought breakfast was wonderful and you could certainly make do with the lunch and dinner there as well.The fresh fish offered daily was very good. I was told it was kingfish. In all honestly, for how economical this resort is you can easily afford to eat dinners elswhere and there are numerous reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance along the beautful beach. I can not begin to tell you how wonderful it was to walk along that beach during a full moon on the way to dinner. I plan on going back at the end of February.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean City
Dec 15, 2008

Breathtaking Beach and Snorkeling

The Akumal Beach Resort was exactly as I expected. It is not super duper fancy HOWEVER the beach is gorgeous and the snorkeling was just phenomenal.I traveled by myself and felt very comfortable and safe walking areas at any hour. The staff were very nice.You absolutley do not need to bring your dressy clothes, this is a laid back beach resort and the other guests regardless of nationality were very friendly and most offered a nice greeting as you passed on the grounds in the hallways.The children that were there during my 12 day stay were well behaved.....I am not a kid person so I was glad to see good manners exhibited. I found my room and all public areas of the resort (especially restrooms) to be very clean. As prior reports stated the superior rooms are pretty darn basic, but that was ok with me as I expected as much.I did not find the beds to be all that hard as many other folks have reported. I did request a refrigerator at checkin and one was promptly brought to my room.I thought breakfast was wonderful and you could certainly make do with the lunch and dinner there as well.The fresh fish offered daily was very good. I was told it was kingfish. In all honestly, for how economical this resort is you can easily afford to eat dinners elswhere and there are numerous reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance along the beautful beach. I can not begin to tell you how wonderful it was to walk along that beach during a full moon on the way to dinner. I plan on going back at the end of February.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lisbon, NY
Jul 11, 2008

Best Beach for the Best Price

This little gem of a resort is a fabulous deal. Many of the clients return year after year, and at the same times. We have friends from all over the globe now! The beach is the best for snorkeling. The snorkeling is so good, you may decide not even to scuba! Lot's of good scuba places if you do want to venture into deeper waters. Food is fine. You won't gain weight on this trip, though. We'll be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The village of Akumal is just on the other side of the resort beach. A nice little shopping outing that you will want to do several times.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lisbon, NY
Jul 11, 2008

Best Beach for the Best Price

This little gem of a resort is a fabulous deal. Many of the clients return year after year, and at the same times. We have friends from all over the globe now! The beach is the best for snorkeling. The snorkeling is so good, you may decide not even to scuba! Lot's of good scuba places if you do want to venture into deeper waters. Food is fine. You won't gain weight on this trip, though. We'll be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The village of Akumal is just on the other side of the resort beach. A nice little shopping outing that you will want to do several times.

Back to menu Return to top