$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 214
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Relaxing atmosphere

I am in the travel business and stay at locations worldwide and this hotel exceeded my expectation by vast margins. The location was perfect with very lush gardens, open-air lobby and meeting areas and a pristine, white-sand beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All stall members were multi-lingual. There was always a variety of food, snacks were provided between meals and beverages were abundant. The coral reef just off the beach was beautiful with many mulit-colored fish, stingrays, sea urchins,etc. I would suggest bringing your own snorkel and mask rather than renting. We took one hotel-arranged side trip to snorkel one of the local cenotes/sinkholes. That trip was well worth the cost and the guide was very helpful in insuring that everyone was happy. We we able to go into some narrow caves that I would not have been able to see without his guidance. I would be very happy to go there again or recommemd it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marinemama
Casper, Wyoming
May 27, 2014

Awesome hidden treasure

This place just amazed our whole party! We had the time of our lives there. There were 4 people in their late 20's and 4 in their early 50's and a great time was had by all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationers04
Tonawanda, NY
Dec 6, 2010

Relaxing and Snokeling Heaven

3 friends and myself wanted a relaxing, uneventful break from the harsh reality of the real world. Akumal had exactly what we wanted. all-inclusive, friendly staff, warm weather, clean sandy beach and so much snorkeling. The resort has several coral reefs to explore and down the beach was a sea turtle reserve where you can swim with the turtles. We spent a week there and could have snorkeled all day, every day. One drawback were the beds! Hard as a rock. I suggest to stop at Walmart before you get to the resort (ask your taxi/van driver to stop there) and purchase egg-crate mattresses. You can get is from the resort, but it may take a few days to get (if there are any available). Other than the beds, the resort is great to get away and relax. There is not much of a party scene but partying is not important to my friends and me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

coral reefs for snorkeling and diving

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rested & tan in New England
Newport, RI
Jan 23, 2010

great snorkeling beach-coral and turtles

Lots to do on and off the resort. Staff and guests were friendly and helpful. Good family vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Airport transfer is really more like a 90 minute ride

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian sick of Winter
London, ON, Canada
Nov 5, 2012

Lazy week in the sun.

We had an amazing time snorkelling whenever we wanted right off of the beach. The resort staff is friendly and very helpful. The entertainment lacks some lustre, but it was off season when we were there. The lighting on the ocean side was a concern (very dim), but we found out this was to encourage the baby turtles to go to the ocean when they hatched, not come to the resort lights, so that made sense to us. The food was good, a lot of variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to go to the end of the beach to the Eco Center to find out about the Sea Turtles, nestings, hatchings, and ocean release times.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish the Dish
Toledo, Ohio
May 16, 2012

Relaxing getaway

My experience was awesome! I am 30 and went with a friend. We left our kids at home and were looking for a relaxing, beautiful retreat. We found it! This specific resort is not for the nightlife thrill seeker, however drinks were great and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Many people we talked to had even been there previous years and say they will continue coming back! The only things that could have made this a 5 star resort would be better food (it was so so, not bad but not great) and the beds were hard. Overall, we were so pleased with everything else, that nothing seemed to matter! I will definitley go back, and might even bring the kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cute little "villiage" a short walk down the beach. You wouldn't know it was there unless someone told you, but when you find it it's very quaint and a fun shopping experience.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rested & tan in New England
Newport, RI
Jan 23, 2010

great snorkeling beach-coral and turtles

Lots to do on and off the resort. Staff and guests were friendly and helpful. Good family vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Airport transfer is really more like a 90 minute ride

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish the Dish
Toledo, Ohio
Apr 9, 2014

Returning Guest

This is my second time at Akumal Beach Resort. The value is unbelievable. I'll throw out the only complaints that I have right away, and I consider them minor. First, the beds are firm, and second, the food is just okay (I am a food critic : ) However, the pros FAR outweigh the cons, hence why I have returned and will return again. The beach is amazing and in very close proximity to the rooms. If you forget something, you can simply and quickly walk back to your room and get what you need. The beach is perfect, not rocky at all, the grounds are very clean and well kept, staff friendly, and drinks plentiful. The snack bar has amazing guacamole, chips, salsa, burgers, and fries all day. Snorkeling is amazing with plenty of turtles, fish, and coral to keep you truly fascinated! This is the place to go if you want a relaxing getaway (not a singles/crazy party atmosphere at all.) There is also a little village very close by (just a little walk down the beach!) where you will find a pharmacy and nice little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Time Mom
Lac La Biche, AB Canada
Mar 20, 2011

Loved it11

The snorkeling was fantastic, very close to the hotel. Giant turtles and stings rays were plentiful. The rooms are basic but clean. It appeared that maintenance was ongoing. There were ample choices at all meals. The animation staff were very attentive and welcoming but not pushy. Would definately consider going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationers04
Tonawanda, NY
Dec 6, 2010

Relaxing and Snokeling Heaven

3 friends and myself wanted a relaxing, uneventful break from the harsh reality of the real world. Akumal had exactly what we wanted. all-inclusive, friendly staff, warm weather, clean sandy beach and so much snorkeling. The resort has several coral reefs to explore and down the beach was a sea turtle reserve where you can swim with the turtles. We spent a week there and could have snorkeled all day, every day. One drawback were the beds! Hard as a rock. I suggest to stop at Walmart before you get to the resort (ask your taxi/van driver to stop there) and purchase egg-crate mattresses. You can get is from the resort, but it may take a few days to get (if there are any available). Other than the beds, the resort is great to get away and relax. There is not much of a party scene but partying is not important to my friends and me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

coral reefs for snorkeling and diving

Back to menu Return to top