$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 20, 2008

Amazing Location-Fantastic Beach!

Our stay at Akumal Beach Resort was better than I expected. We knew we were paying for a moderate resort, but had no idea how relaxing, fun, and beautiful it would be. Every staff member we came in contact with was genuinely friendly and made the whole experience a delight. The recently rebuilt loby is very welcoming and beautiful. The staff greeted us with warm smiles and champagne flutes filled with cold juice. Immediately after check-in we were taken on a brief tour of the facility while our bags were brought to our room. The room was very basic; a king size bed, bathroom with shower, TV, built-in desk and closet. We were on the second floor of building 6. We had a terrific view of the beach, the ocean, and sunrises. The food was okay. It wasn't great, but it was good and there was plenty to choose from. The snorkling just in front of the resort was spectacular and the resort's proximaty to the little town of Akumal made the positives of the resort's location outweigh any negatives we had about our moderate room (where we barley spent any time) or the so-so food. Before we left, we decided that we would like to return to Akumal Beach Resort with our children and other family members sometime very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little town of Akumal has two small grocery stores with souveniers and gifts. There are little shops and great places to eat like Lucy's (homemade icecream and tacos).

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Des Moines, IA
Oct 12, 2010

Great Resort

Great place to see turtles

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Torchechar
Québec
Jan 24, 2011

Out third time there, still great !

That was our third time there, in 2005, 2007 and now in 2011. The administration of the hotel changed meanwhile, we were affraid it could be not as good as before, but we were greatly surprised. We felt that they have less budget than in the past, but seems to invest in good places. There are not thousands of choices in buffet, but was delicious and different every days. ALL the staff was very sympatic and seems happy. For sure, this beach is the best for snorkeling. Even for the third time, we discovered new great places to visit and went to the village of Akumal to take breakfast, that was just perfect. The only thing that made me sad was the coffee, they have a great espresso machine, but use it only for hot water and hot milk... they make instant coffee with this water ... :-( no real coffee, except filtered coffee in buffet, but it is gray and horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the collectivos (kind of shared taxis) to go mostly everywhere. 30 pesos (2,40$)for Playa del Carmen or Tulum... Go to Tulum and Playa del Carmen...

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Time Mom
Lac La Biche, AB Canada
Mar 20, 2011

Loved it11

The snorkeling was fantastic, very close to the hotel. Giant turtles and stings rays were plentiful. The rooms are basic but clean. It appeared that maintenance was ongoing. There were ample choices at all meals. The animation staff were very attentive and welcoming but not pushy. Would definately consider going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Des Moines, IA
Oct 12, 2010

Great Resort

Great place to see turtles

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
human french fry
New York
Jul 25, 2010

the best beach

Love seeing the same people on holiday year after year. The staff is the best and actually remembers us and calls us by the names we use (not on passport) It's the people and the beach, not the buildings that bring us back year after year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yardley, Pa
Jul 6, 2011

Wonderful place!

This was the most perfect place we could have picked. The snorkeling was amazing. The water was calm, warm and conducive to great swimming. The town of Aka Mal was just a stones throw next to the hotel. The staff was great, except many I was not sure they understood us when we spoke in English. I would definitely recommend this place to any family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be careful in the dinner area. There is a I guess a handicapped area that is slopped. I suggested to the hotel manager that it should be lit. It was very easy to trip on it.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 3, 2011

Akumal Beach Resort

The snorkeling right off the beach was wonderful with the kids. It was a relaxing, easy vacation. The food was o.k. but the hotel does a good job for an all-inclusive. If you love wine bring your own because that was dreadful. We would and will most likely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Sam
New York
Jun 23, 2013

Turtle, Beach heaven

Not a mega resort. Simple but accommodating. Super friendly staff all around. Let us change our room to top floor for a better view very easily. A bit of a drive from Cancun airport but well worth it for the snorkeling. We swam with multiple sea turtles nearly every day! The food was adequate and sometimes more so at the main dining hall/buffet. Not a single complaint. Also a snack bar by the pool with burgers/hot dogs, chips/fries. There is a lively crew of young people making up the entertainment staff. They organized activities such as beach volleyball, water aerobics, and dancing lessons. Each night at 9pm there is a show/event. One of these shows was "Fantasia", a well choreographed black light show in a theater on the grounds. It was stellar. If you are looking for some good snorkeling at a modest hotel in which you can relax at, Akumal Beach Resort is your destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The cups given at the bars are only about 10oz. Bring a larger bottle of your own (preferably an insulated one with a top) if you'd like to have more drink at a time. Bartenders will have no problem with that.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, ID
Apr 22, 2009

Great Mexico Location

This hotel is all about LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Hotel is a little old but is being fixed up. Pool and food was great. Beach in front of hotel is AMAZING. The snorkling was fantastic. Hotel has beachside cabanas which were great to spend the day at. The town of Akumal is just a 10 min walk down the beach. Best location of any place we have stayed in Mexico and will be back in 2009.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of great shopping in Playa Del Carmen a 20min drive. Take the Collectivo from the main road for $2.

Back to menu Return to top