$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
133 reviews
place to relax in peace, and snorkle all day

Akumal Beach Resort was, simply put, exactly what I was looking for. The price was imminently fair,... See full review

  • zimpah
  • Mar 27, 2014
Great excellent location

Really nice place in Akumal Bay....clean, great food, right on the beach....will go again....this i... See full review

  • sdcristinag
  • Oct 31, 2012
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
sdcristinag
La Costa, Ca
Oct 31, 2012

Great excellent location

Really nice place in Akumal Bay....clean, great food, right on the beach....will go again....this i not the a huge resort is more intimate...snorkeling literally from outside of your room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chamuyil town with a great cenote

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Interline family on the go
Owasso, OK
Nov 30, 2010

Excellent Beach!

The beach was magnificent! The snorkeling unbelievable! The staff excellent! The rooms were ok and the drinks were so-so but overall I have nothing bad to say! We came back relaxed and refreshed! We will be back next Thanksgiving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood restaurant in the same little bay just to the left of the hotel.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Suntanned Traveler
Aloha, Oregon
Feb 12, 2011

What a great place to stay!

We had a fabulous time at the Akumal Beach Resort. The hotel was very clean and well kept and the staff immediately made you feel welcome and at home. The food was displayed beautifully and always included fresh fruit and fresh vegetables. There were also many choices of main courses as well as a variety of desserts. Drinks were always available and nicely prepared. We also enjoyed the wine at dinner and the beer on tap at all times. Also, the guacamole was the best side dish ever! If that wasn't enough, the setting at the resort was unbelievable. The beach was just about the nicest I have ever seen. As we walked out to snorkel from our own beach, we watched all the snorkel tours arriving so we knew the conditions were the best where we were. On our many snorkeling outings from our beach we saw groups of turtles, a baracuda, sting rays and many tropical fish in the beautiful clear warm water. Even though you never really had to leave the resort, we did venture out on a trip to Tulume and some sonotes. We also rented a car for 1 day and drove to Coba and Playa Del Carmen. This place is the greatest spot for a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many trips that are probably within an hour of the hotel that it is hard to chose which one to see.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
iqjq
Niagara Falls, NY
Apr 18, 2011

Excellant!

Great hotel....would return in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Denver, CO
May 18, 2007

Relaxing vacation

Akamal Beach Resort was a very relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. The rooms were simple and enjoyable. Whether you wanted a quiet evening or entertainment you had both to choose from. The hotel was very clean including the beaches. Very close to the small town of Akamal were there are great little restraunts and shops. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

When entering the town of Akamal there is a little outside bar to the right that has great authentic food! The mole enchilades and the fresh squeezed limonade is the winning ticket. Down the road about a mile there is a small place with tree houses that also serves awesome food.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Terre
Trafalgar IN
Apr 22, 2010

best beach ever

I enjoyed my vacation so much that I am already planning to go back to ABR next year and take my husband & sister. I went with my son's family this year. I know my husband will enjoy being on the beach under one of the thatched huts while my sister and I soak up the sun and do some first class snorkleing. I also became certified in scuba diving this trip! I could not believe the beauty of this beach! I have been to several places including San Juan & Hawaii and this area stole my heart. This is not the fanciest resort you will find but it is clean, friendly, and the food (all inclusive) was wonderful. We had a all inclusive one time in Jamaica and it was terrible. you can book your trip and take some money for tipping and not spend anything else if that is what you want. between enjoying the beach and hotel activities you need not leave at all. We did go to some near by tourist attractions but I would have been just as happy to stay at the resort. The only thing I am going to do next year is stay longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

dive shop is a short walk from resort

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Jan 8, 2008

Realistic Expectation-Great Experience

We went to the resort thinking it would have: a beautiful beach & great snorkeling, clean rooms, friendly staff, great drinks and guacamole, and a low-key, relaxed atmosphere. This was our experience-100%. It wasn't fancy-but we weren't expecting fancy. The food was fine-the buffet had a decent selection. We treated ourselves to lobster and fillet one night (at an extra cost) for the seafood restaurant-it was great! The most impressive thing I found with the food was I had heard horror stories about getting sick in Mexico from my friends. At the ABR-we drank water (not from the tap in the room, though) and the slushy ice in the drinks, we ate salads daily, and we ate the fruit with no problem what-so-ever. There were several spring water-coolers on every floor so we kept refilling water bottles. The beds and pillows were firm. The only annoying thing was the shower. The water temperature alternated-hot to chilly-during a shower. One night after the beach we didn't have water. When we spoke to the front desk, they said that maintenance was working on it-and water was restored within a couple hours. Overall this resort was excellent-and we would certainly return-even with the temperamental shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Relaxing atmosphere

I am in the travel business and stay at locations worldwide and this hotel exceeded my expectation by vast margins. The location was perfect with very lush gardens, open-air lobby and meeting areas and a pristine, white-sand beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All stall members were multi-lingual. There was always a variety of food, snacks were provided between meals and beverages were abundant. The coral reef just off the beach was beautiful with many mulit-colored fish, stingrays, sea urchins,etc. I would suggest bringing your own snorkel and mask rather than renting. We took one hotel-arranged side trip to snorkel one of the local cenotes/sinkholes. That trip was well worth the cost and the guide was very helpful in insuring that everyone was happy. We we able to go into some narrow caves that I would not have been able to see without his guidance. I would be very happy to go there again or recommemd it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Mar 10, 2008

Location is everything!!

The beach is beautiful and only yards away from your room. I arrived late in the evening and walked along a winding sidewalk right next to the ocean. It was totally awesome!! The room is only OK, but the food was very good as well as the service. I ate at the Mexican and Italian restaurants 3 nites, u must make reservation at 10 am and they only seat 70 to 80 people. I liked the food and service. The buffet restaurant has an awesome selection to choose from. The water is very calm and a beautiful clear aqua green color. I would definitely recommend Ackumal Beach Resort. Make sure u arrange for airport transportation from Cancun to the resort, They do not provide any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely take a trip to Tulum, Mayan Ruins, and Xel-Ha. Xel-Ha is a river and lagoon complex and u can snorkel or take an inner tube down the river. Food is included and there are a number of restaurants to choose from. The Mayan ruins are very interesting.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Aug 18, 2007

Anice vacation

Akumal Beach Resort was a nice resort for me, my husband and 2 sons, ages 17 and 21. We had Superior rooms, which were very clean but by no means luxurious. It has tile floors and only shelves to put your clothing. It was certainly adequate, but if you are looking for marble bathrooms and luxurious accommodations, the Akumal Beach Resort will not meet your needs. The mattresses were very firm, and maybe too firm for some. In general, the resort is a rustic beach resort but the spectacular beach is what it is all about. The beach is gorgeous, you can snorkel right off the shore and there are tons of fish, sea turtles, etc. It was great. As far as the food, it too was fresh and adequate. There is always fresh fruit, salads, and a choice of fresh fish, beef and chicken choices and pasta dishes. The food is fine, plentiful, fresh and many choices. It is not top gourmet cuisine. If you want gourmet, then ABR is not for you. We are not big alcohol consumers, but heard that while the beer on tap was OK, the cocktails were not the best. We had a wonderful time. We went to Chichen Itza, Playa del Carmen, Valladolid and Tulum. We also spent a wonderful day at Xel-ha. In summary, we would definitely return to the ABR. We had a nice time at the resort and enjoyed the excursions. We also went diving in a cenote and that was fabulous. It is all about the gorgeous beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxis or collectivos are very available and moderate in price. You could rent a car as driving is fairly easy.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 26, 2007

Tranquil Vacation

When I planned my vacation this year, I wanted something low key and low maintenance. Akumal Beach Resort was perfect for relaxing. I was not interested in nightlife and bars or the whole party scene. Thats why I chose Akumal. It is an hour away from Cancun. It is very tranquil and simple. Simple is a good thing. The resort was perfect. Although there were many people there, it didn't feel crowded or busy. The room was simple. I had a King size bed, a spacious bathroom and closet area. There was very little noise while I was in my room. The food was fine. There is a big variety of tastes. The buffet is only closed during certain hours of the day so I felt that I could eat whenever I wanted to. There are several bars. I never got thirsty. The beach was fantastic. I can't do it justice by describing it, so i won't. The staff is phenominal. They are extremely friendly and courteous. I only have one gripe and it is not really a gripe. The resort gives you a colored arm band based on what language you speak. I didn't like that. For example, I speak english, therefore I had a green arm band. I felt I was segregated a little bit. Although it may be difficult, I would rather have everyone have the same color. At least give me a chance to communicate with someone from a different nationality. Like I said, it isn't really a gripe. It just bugged me a little. Other than that, my stay was fantastic. I didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Lucy's shrimp taco's in the town of Akumal.

Back to menu Return to top