Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Interline family on the go
Owasso, OK
Nov 30, 2010

Excellent Beach!

The beach was magnificent! The snorkeling unbelievable! The staff excellent! The rooms were ok and the drinks were so-so but overall I have nothing bad to say! We came back relaxed and refreshed! We will be back next Thanksgiving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood restaurant in the same little bay just to the left of the hotel.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suntanned Traveler
Aloha, Oregon
Feb 12, 2011

What a great place to stay!

We had a fabulous time at the Akumal Beach Resort. The hotel was very clean and well kept and the staff immediately made you feel welcome and at home. The food was displayed beautifully and always included fresh fruit and fresh vegetables. There were also many choices of main courses as well as a variety of desserts. Drinks were always available and nicely prepared. We also enjoyed the wine at dinner and the beer on tap at all times. Also, the guacamole was the best side dish ever! If that wasn't enough, the setting at the resort was unbelievable. The beach was just about the nicest I have ever seen. As we walked out to snorkel from our own beach, we watched all the snorkel tours arriving so we knew the conditions were the best where we were. On our many snorkeling outings from our beach we saw groups of turtles, a baracuda, sting rays and many tropical fish in the beautiful clear warm water. Even though you never really had to leave the resort, we did venture out on a trip to Tulume and some sonotes. We also rented a car for 1 day and drove to Coba and Playa Del Carmen. This place is the greatest spot for a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many trips that are probably within an hour of the hotel that it is hard to chose which one to see.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Mar 10, 2008

Location is everything!!

The beach is beautiful and only yards away from your room. I arrived late in the evening and walked along a winding sidewalk right next to the ocean. It was totally awesome!! The room is only OK, but the food was very good as well as the service. I ate at the Mexican and Italian restaurants 3 nites, u must make reservation at 10 am and they only seat 70 to 80 people. I liked the food and service. The buffet restaurant has an awesome selection to choose from. The water is very calm and a beautiful clear aqua green color. I would definitely recommend Ackumal Beach Resort. Make sure u arrange for airport transportation from Cancun to the resort, They do not provide any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely take a trip to Tulum, Mayan Ruins, and Xel-Ha. Xel-Ha is a river and lagoon complex and u can snorkel or take an inner tube down the river. Food is included and there are a number of restaurants to choose from. The Mayan ruins are very interesting.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 28, 2008

Perfect location and great people

Akumal beach Resort is a great hotel located on the best beach in the Riviera Maya. The rooms are very nice and clean and you are right in front of the beach. The food is good, we always found something to eat. The breakfast was my favorite! As soon as you walk out your door and get to the beach you realize that the coral reef is right in front of you and tons of colorful fish are around. A 2 minute walk down the beach leads you the the sea turtle area. When we went kayaking and snorkeling we saw lots of turtles, sting rays, barracudas, etc. besides the clear blue water and beautiful beach, one of the best things about this hotel is the staff. The staff is AMAZING. They are so much fun, they really try to get everyone involved (but they do leave you alone if you don't feel like doing all the activities). They are so friendly and really enhance the whole experience. I will definitely to return to Akumal Beach Resort and would highly recomend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Relaxing atmosphere

I am in the travel business and stay at locations worldwide and this hotel exceeded my expectation by vast margins. The location was perfect with very lush gardens, open-air lobby and meeting areas and a pristine, white-sand beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All stall members were multi-lingual. There was always a variety of food, snacks were provided between meals and beverages were abundant. The coral reef just off the beach was beautiful with many mulit-colored fish, stingrays, sea urchins,etc. I would suggest bringing your own snorkel and mask rather than renting. We took one hotel-arranged side trip to snorkel one of the local cenotes/sinkholes. That trip was well worth the cost and the guide was very helpful in insuring that everyone was happy. We we able to go into some narrow caves that I would not have been able to see without his guidance. I would be very happy to go there again or recommemd it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Mar 10, 2008

Location is everything!!

The beach is beautiful and only yards away from your room. I arrived late in the evening and walked along a winding sidewalk right next to the ocean. It was totally awesome!! The room is only OK, but the food was very good as well as the service. I ate at the Mexican and Italian restaurants 3 nites, u must make reservation at 10 am and they only seat 70 to 80 people. I liked the food and service. The buffet restaurant has an awesome selection to choose from. The water is very calm and a beautiful clear aqua green color. I would definitely recommend Ackumal Beach Resort. Make sure u arrange for airport transportation from Cancun to the resort, They do not provide any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely take a trip to Tulum, Mayan Ruins, and Xel-Ha. Xel-Ha is a river and lagoon complex and u can snorkel or take an inner tube down the river. Food is included and there are a number of restaurants to choose from. The Mayan ruins are very interesting.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pugdaddy
kasnas city, missouri
Jul 21, 2014

perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and fish, then this is the place. If you want loud, people bugging you to come play games, and nightlife entertainment, then this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active baby boomer
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 2, 2012

Outstanding laid back vacation

Our experience was wonderful. I loved the eco-friendliness. The food was simply and beautifully prepared. Interesting Yucatan variety. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Even the security guard was helping to keep the beach clean. The snorkeling right from shore was amazing. They have tremendous respect for the enviornment and the need to preserve it. We have been to other all-inclusives. The Akumal Beach Resort was outstanding-both for couples and familes. I loved seeing so many 3 generations enjoying time together. I loved being right on the beach for sleeping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, bring your own snorkel equipment, but the resort does have it available.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pugpog
Bridgton, Maine
Jul 2, 2014

Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated honeymoon and we definitely found it at Akumal Beach Resort! Most of the resort was closed for renovations and while that may scare some people away, it was a huge bonus for us! There were hardly any people there, we had the pool to ourselves most of the time, no problems finding beach chairs, yet there were still people to meet and talk to in the evenings in the main bar. The room had a gorgeous view of the ocean and overlooked the pool. The beach is right in front of the resort, no shuttles or long walks to get anywhere. The rooms, the pool, the restaurant, the main bar, everything is right on the beach. The snorkeling and swimming right out in front of the resort is great! People have complained about the beds and pillows but I thought they were absolutely fine. The rooms are not like American 5-star standards but they are more than sufficient and kept very clean. The AC in the room was lacking. It stayed nice and cool for most of the day and night but they seemed to turn it off around 3am-6am or something and the temperature in the room would be the same as outside. But they are renovating soon. There were activities in the afternoons by the pool and entertainment every evening in the main bar at 9pm. There is snorkeling gear and floating chairs to borrow and the beach towels are nice a big. The staff is very friendly and you get to know them a little throughout the stay because they are always there and available. We also felt that they did a great job quietly behind the scenes taking care of guests to make sure no one drank too much, or got lost or hurt or anything. The dinner buffet was ok. There were always local Mexican food options and mini tres leches cakes that I loved! The pool side snack bar was my favorite food option, open from 12-6, hamburgers, hotdogs, ice cream, chips and guacamole and pico de gallo plus a full bar. Apparently the thing to do is buy or bring a big tumbler or insulated beverage holder and fill it with lemonade or beer or to make iced coffee every morning like I did. Then you are set for the beach! We ended up going out for at least one meal a day because there are also some great restaurants in walking distance. They had shuttle and taxi services available all the time, but we had rented a car so we could venture out to Tulum, Playa del Carmen, Xel-Ha etc. Everything was a short drive from the resort. Best snorkeling I've ever done at Yal-Ku and Xel-Ha!! We could not have had a better place for what we were looking for! The day before we left it did fill up with more people, the pool and main bar were noticeably more rowdy. But still nothing compared to the big resorts in Cancun or Playacar. And I suspect once renovations are complete, and the new resort goes in next door, it will never be so quiet again. We really lucked out with our week at Akumal Beach Resort!! It was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Around 10am local resorts start to bring in large groups to snorkel just down the beach where all the turtles are. If you want the best experience get up early and go out before they arrive! Also, well worth the short drive or long walk to Yal-Ku lagoon (small cost to get in) for some awesome snorkeling!

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean City
Dec 15, 2008

Breathtaking Beach and Snorkeling

The Akumal Beach Resort was exactly as I expected. It is not super duper fancy HOWEVER the beach is gorgeous and the snorkeling was just phenomenal.I traveled by myself and felt very comfortable and safe walking areas at any hour. The staff were very nice.You absolutley do not need to bring your dressy clothes, this is a laid back beach resort and the other guests regardless of nationality were very friendly and most offered a nice greeting as you passed on the grounds in the hallways.The children that were there during my 12 day stay were well behaved.....I am not a kid person so I was glad to see good manners exhibited. I found my room and all public areas of the resort (especially restrooms) to be very clean. As prior reports stated the superior rooms are pretty darn basic, but that was ok with me as I expected as much.I did not find the beds to be all that hard as many other folks have reported. I did request a refrigerator at checkin and one was promptly brought to my room.I thought breakfast was wonderful and you could certainly make do with the lunch and dinner there as well.The fresh fish offered daily was very good. I was told it was kingfish. In all honestly, for how economical this resort is you can easily afford to eat dinners elswhere and there are numerous reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance along the beautful beach. I can not begin to tell you how wonderful it was to walk along that beach during a full moon on the way to dinner. I plan on going back at the end of February.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top