$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active baby boomer
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 2, 2012

Outstanding laid back vacation

Our experience was wonderful. I loved the eco-friendliness. The food was simply and beautifully prepared. Interesting Yucatan variety. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Even the security guard was helping to keep the beach clean. The snorkeling right from shore was amazing. They have tremendous respect for the enviornment and the need to preserve it. We have been to other all-inclusives. The Akumal Beach Resort was outstanding-both for couples and familes. I loved seeing so many 3 generations enjoying time together. I loved being right on the beach for sleeping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, bring your own snorkel equipment, but the resort does have it available.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Work2Vacation
Pennsylvania, USA
Mar 30, 2011

Perfect hotel for our taste

We chose this hotel for it's location and size. The setting is amazing in the Akumal Bay. The beach is long and wide so even though the hotel was full, it never felt too congested on the beach. There were plenty of lounge chairs, although the ones under the palapas got taken very early in the day. So if you want a palapa you have to claim one with your towel in the early morning. We brought our own snorkel gear and were able to walk right in to snorkel with the turtles and even found some coral heads w/nice schools of fish. The food was very good in the buffet! We went there for most meals and were happy with the variety and amount of food. We did the Mexican specialty dinner and while the food was okay, the atmosphere there was very nice. The beach snack bar was typical burgers, dogs, pizza. The 3 bars were always well equipped, except for one day when there was no mint for mojitos! For as full as the resort was, we never waited long for a drink. The bartenders were fast and friendly! Bring a refillable travel mug with you for the beach. The hotel grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. The whole resort is very clean. The only complaint we have is the condition of the room. While very clean, it really needed updating. We were in building 7 on the second floor. We knew what to expect from reading reviews, but the electrical switches were a little scary. There was also no shelf in the shower to put your toiletries on. I never realized how important that is! The bed was rock hard, but we slept well.(rum?) All the staff, from front desk to groundskeepers, were so very nice. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Akumal
Mar 26, 2011

Our stay at Akumal Beach

Our family went snorkeling, and we loved it, it was great. The bed were little hard to sleep on but we still had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Akumal
Mar 26, 2011

Our stay at Akumal Beach

Our family went snorkeling, and we loved it, it was great. The bed were little hard to sleep on but we still had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 21, 2011

Not so much.

The good bit: Snorkeling is amazing, just dive right in and there's a whole world in that beautiful water. Turtles, rays and a rainbow of fish-just great. The beach is not too shabby either, although the previous reviewers must not be swimmers, because only a small stretch doesn't have rocks when you walk it (making it difficult to walk into the water without falling and scraping a knee or elbow). Overall great beach, white sand, palms, clear water, little palapas, hammocks and plenty of chairs. The bad: the food. Although I was never hungry, some of my friends were. Dinner consistently got worse though out the week-bizzar. I got excited when I saw fish in the buffet-but what a disappointment-wow. BTW- I'm not a picky eater. The fruits where few and not always fresh looking. Breakfast was the best meal because you can get fresh eggs made. When your at an all inclusive, bad food really puts a damper on things. The entertainment staff, if you can call them that, were pretty bad. They were nice enough, but nice doesn't get me excited or anyone else really, and there were plenty of "joiners" at the resort. The rooms-really need to be updated. They are fine and ours had a great view, but...not so great. Yes, the beds are hard (but not enough to complain about it), but the shower and bathroom setup is odd and almost claustrophobic, but if freshly painted might be ok. The clientele is kinda geriatric-which is ok if you fit that category, but we were a bit bored even with the great margaritas. The drinks are great as are the bartenders! The cute beach bar closes at 5pm with a full resort! What a disappointment! Also, this place is off the beaten path, which is not as exciting as it sounds. Playa del Carmen is a $30, 35 min ride. that's the nearest civilization if you want to go out to dinner or for drinks-which we did a lot! I wouldn't return or recommend-maybe a day trip if your in Playa and going to Tulum-stop by to snorkel for sure! Did I mention this was my 6th trip to Mexico?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 21, 2011

Not so much.

The good bit: Snorkeling is amazing, just dive right in and there's a whole world in that beautiful water. Turtles, rays and a rainbow of fish-just great. The beach is not too shabby either, although the previous reviewers must not be swimmers, because only a small stretch doesn't have rocks when you walk it (making it difficult to walk into the water without falling and scraping a knee or elbow). Overall great beach, white sand, palms, clear water, little palapas, hammocks and plenty of chairs. The bad: the food. Although I was never hungry, some of my friends were. Dinner consistently got worse though out the week-bizzar. I got excited when I saw fish in the buffet-but what a disappointment-wow. BTW- I'm not a picky eater. The fruits where few and not always fresh looking. Breakfast was the best meal because you can get fresh eggs made. When your at an all inclusive, bad food really puts a damper on things. The entertainment staff, if you can call them that, were pretty bad. They were nice enough, but nice doesn't get me excited or anyone else really, and there were plenty of "joiners" at the resort. The rooms-really need to be updated. They are fine and ours had a great view, but...not so great. Yes, the beds are hard (but not enough to complain about it), but the shower and bathroom setup is odd and almost claustrophobic, but if freshly painted might be ok. The clientele is kinda geriatric-which is ok if you fit that category, but we were a bit bored even with the great margaritas. The drinks are great as are the bartenders! The cute beach bar closes at 5pm with a full resort! What a disappointment! Also, this place is off the beaten path, which is not as exciting as it sounds. Playa del Carmen is a $30, 35 min ride. that's the nearest civilization if you want to go out to dinner or for drinks-which we did a lot! I wouldn't return or recommend-maybe a day trip if your in Playa and going to Tulum-stop by to snorkel for sure! Did I mention this was my 6th trip to Mexico?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Time Mom
Lac La Biche, AB Canada
Mar 20, 2011

Loved it11

The snorkeling was fantastic, very close to the hotel. Giant turtles and stings rays were plentiful. The rooms are basic but clean. It appeared that maintenance was ongoing. There were ample choices at all meals. The animation staff were very attentive and welcoming but not pushy. Would definately consider going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Time Mom
Lac La Biche, AB Canada
Mar 20, 2011

Loved it11

The snorkeling was fantastic, very close to the hotel. Giant turtles and stings rays were plentiful. The rooms are basic but clean. It appeared that maintenance was ongoing. There were ample choices at all meals. The animation staff were very attentive and welcoming but not pushy. Would definately consider going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Akumal fan
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2011

Rustic, Laid back

Good deal for the price. not a fancy hotel...Akumal is more about the snorkeling, diving and beach experience, so this hotel fits with that. The food left a lot to be desired, unfortunately. The drinks were great, the staff was great, the beach was great, so who cares about the food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother going into Playa for gifts or anything! It has become too commercialized and a mini-Cancun. There are great shops right in Akumal and folks that just set up their tables in the square as well as in the bar one night at the resort. The prices are comparable or a bit higher, but it's worth it to not hassle with Playa...time and headaches!

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Mar 1, 2011

Nice but lacking

This hotel was very nice. We loved the beach and the room was nice. The food however was a little lacking. The taste was ok, but the selection wasn't the best. I don't know if we would return, unless it was a very good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Mar 1, 2011

Nice but lacking

This hotel was very nice. We loved the beach and the room was nice. The food however was a little lacking. The taste was ok, but the selection wasn't the best. I don't know if we would return, unless it was a very good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top