$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
place to relax in peace, and snorkle all day

Akumal Beach Resort was, simply put, exactly what I was looking for. The price was imminently fair,... See full review

  • zimpah
  • Mar 27, 2014
Great excellent location

Really nice place in Akumal Bay....clean, great food, right on the beach....will go again....this i... See full review

  • sdcristinag
  • Oct 31, 2012
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
sdcristinag
La Costa, Ca
Oct 31, 2012

Great excellent location

Really nice place in Akumal Bay....clean, great food, right on the beach....will go again....this i not the a huge resort is more intimate...snorkeling literally from outside of your room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chamuyil town with a great cenote

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
The Beach Traveler
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 26, 2012

Great Location - not so great resort

This was my 4th time to Riviera Maya/Cancun area. The beach was beautiful but the hotel was a little run down and could use some upgrades/improvements. We had an upgraded room so I'd hate to see what the standard rooms looked like. Our A/C broke 3 times during the week and there were tiny ants all over the room. Food and drinks were below average in my opinion (loved the chips and guacamole though). We ate at other restaurants in the area. Hotel employees didn't seem as happy/outgoing as in other resorts we've stayed at. All in all, we had a nice trip but i wouldn't return unless some improvements were made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lol-ha just down the beach had some good food/drinks.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
sandy beaches
northern mn
May 17, 2012

Beach is top notch!

Basic all inclusive with clean rooms and less variety at the buffet than other large all-inclusives. The main reason to go there is the outstanding beach with snorkeling right out front. We did the ATV tour off site which was fun. But mostly enjoyed snorkeling and relaxing at the resort. Laid back and staff was friendly. Would go back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent bikes for a few dollars and go to Yah Kul Lagoon for another great snorkeling experience close by.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Trish the Dish
Toledo, Ohio
May 16, 2012

Relaxing getaway

My experience was awesome! I am 30 and went with a friend. We left our kids at home and were looking for a relaxing, beautiful retreat. We found it! This specific resort is not for the nightlife thrill seeker, however drinks were great and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Many people we talked to had even been there previous years and say they will continue coming back! The only things that could have made this a 5 star resort would be better food (it was so so, not bad but not great) and the beds were hard. Overall, we were so pleased with everything else, that nothing seemed to matter! I will definitley go back, and might even bring the kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cute little "villiage" a short walk down the beach. You wouldn't know it was there unless someone told you, but when you find it it's very quaint and a fun shopping experience.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
IowaVacationer
Iowa
May 8, 2012

Clean, friendly hotel, Excellent location

We had been to a different hotel on this beach before so we knew the location would be good. This resort is older but had everything we needed. Loved the smaller size. If you need luxury, this place isn't for you. Food is rather plain, but fresh and well-prepared. Rooms are on the small side, bathroom area is large. No dresser in the room for clothing storage, but large closet to hang things and a few shelves. Bring your own snorkel gear, you'll be glad you did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
dschul111
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Snorkel, snorkel, snorkel

Stayed March 2012 (Spring break). The hotel fronts on 1/3 mile of powdery white sand beach, with a huge area of coral reef snorkeling a few feet off the beach. Our room was clean, but beds were rock-hard, just like every other Mexican hotel we've stayed at. AC worked great but thermostat didn't work so room sometimes got too COLD. I think most people stay here for the beach and snorkeling so there was never more than a couple dozen people around the pool. The pool was nice with shallow areas for small kids. The food was good but not a lot of variety during the week. The guests were a mix of U.S., Canadian, and European families and couples, and lots of over-60's, even though it was spring break. We really liked it here and will return next year. The weak spot, hands down, was the hard mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

To get there from the Cancun airport, we used a private shuttle from U.S.A. Shuttle, which was fast and painless in both directions. Our driver offered to stop for lunch or shopping on the way to the hotel. Next year, we will ask him to stop at Walmart in Playa del Carmen and pick up a couple foam mattress pads.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
MID MO
Jefferson City Missouri
Mar 15, 2012

Turtles and snorkeling

Laid back casual. Snorkeling at it's best!!! Always meeting new friends. Food is always the same in the buffets but you will not starve. The bartenders are fantastic and the drinks are great. The sea turtles are a must see along with the rays and the fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always take the collectivo, it is safe and cheap at 3.00 U.S. to go to Playa del Carmen versus 25.00 U.S. for a taxi. Plus you will experiance more of the local lifestyle

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
B Mac
Missouri, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Nice surprise

Front desk was OK. The resort was clean, (rooms,grounds). The beds were hard, after a couple of days we adjusted , the buffet was good plenty of help, (IMO) forget the other restaurants. NOW, I'll talk about the beach,( beautiful, fantasy, turtles, stingrays, the assortment of fish in the reefs,the water was crystal clear and very calm & friendly which made for excellent snorkeling. there were boats available for hire off of the public beach at Akumal,( just a short walk down the beach). Again, views on the beach are ones we will never forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Active baby boomer
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 2, 2012

Outstanding laid back vacation

Our experience was wonderful. I loved the eco-friendliness. The food was simply and beautifully prepared. Interesting Yucatan variety. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Even the security guard was helping to keep the beach clean. The snorkeling right from shore was amazing. They have tremendous respect for the enviornment and the need to preserve it. We have been to other all-inclusives. The Akumal Beach Resort was outstanding-both for couples and familes. I loved seeing so many 3 generations enjoying time together. I loved being right on the beach for sleeping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, bring your own snorkel equipment, but the resort does have it available.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
bay area girrl
Bay Area, California
Dec 29, 2011

Hard nights, lazy days..

Beautiful beach and great swimming. The rooms are sub-par, the beds are hard as rock. I injured my fingers because the window didn't work properly in my room; the front desk did nothing about it. The food was just okay. The front desk and the other customer service employees are at best, luke warm and seem unhappy to be working there. The maid service was the most redeeming quality....they were tipped! P.s. Not a friendly environment for lone female travelers...catered to couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
k2flyin
Owasso, OK
Dec 1, 2011

Absolute paradise! Location Location Location!!!!!

Family friendly quaint hotel with breathtaking beaches that rival no other! Definitely our place for annual Mexican trek!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top