$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdcristinag
La Costa, Ca
Oct 31, 2012

Great excellent location

Really nice place in Akumal Bay....clean, great food, right on the beach....will go again....this i not the a huge resort is more intimate...snorkeling literally from outside of your room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chamuyil town with a great cenote

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brendar617
San Diego, ca
Oct 6, 2012

Great experience

Overall it was a great place to stay. The only reason it was not perfect was because one of the beds smelled like feet. Luckily we didn't need both beds. Food was delicious & staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Be sure to use mosquito repellent in the evenings!

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Divers
London
Sep 11, 2012

Great base

We were there to cave dive so didn't really take advantage of the all inclusive, but had breakfast and dinner most days. Omelettes at breakfast were brilliant and there was fresh fruit at every meal. We're vegetarian and there was always plenty for us at dinner even if some evenings it wasn't as exciting as others. Had a few cocktails and they were great. Love that they care about the turtles that nest right on the doorstep. Staff were delightful. They had fresh guacamole and salsa and salad (plus burgers, hotdogs etc) available at the snack bar to have any time. This isn't a five star resort and doesn't pretend to be, but for a laid back beach holiday I would highly recommend it (or for a convenient base for cave divers!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the taxis and use the colectivos! Way cheaper and a brilliant experience!

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayat Family
Washington DC
Sep 2, 2012

Nice Family Resort

When we first got there, we were a bit disappointed because our rooms were in two different buildings but they worked with us and moved them the same building the next day. There is a snack bar, all you can eat buffet and another place for dinner. The dinner place has very limited menu and it is with reservation only. So in reality there is only one place to eat but it has a enough variety and the view is wonderful. We were very happy overall with our stay. It is a nice and simple place. I felt without all the extras it was more relaxing, a very good change of pace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary the sporty mom
Montréal Canada
Aug 12, 2012

Paradise on the Beach

Great hôtel Le location is a beautiful I am back and full o f hapiness

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Akumal laggon

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Family of 4
Bowie, MD
Jul 18, 2012

Great Family Vacation

My husband, 2 girls (14 and 9) and I went to Akumal Beach Resort for 6 days. I was a little nervous about traveling to Mexico, but I never felt unsafe during my whole time there, including at the airport and the ride to the hotel. Our first room was almost uninhabitable. There was a musty, moldy smell, and bugs in the shower. We asked for a different room, and were able to negotiate an upgrade for a nominal fee. Definitely ask for the upgraded, superior rooms, which are basic, but clean and do not smell! The resort is small, which suited us just fine. I wanted a relaxed, kid friendly vacation. The food was surprisingly good, especially the guacamole and chips at the snack bar, and the fresh fish at both the buffet and sit down restaurant. The restaurant alternates between Mexican and Italian nights, and it was no problem to get a reservation. The pool is just steps from the beach, and we never had trouble finding beach chairs at the beach or near the pool. There was nightly entertainment, and my girls loved the activites coordinator, Alex. The drinks were usually good, depending on which bartender was serving. We ventured out to the village of Akumal one day to get my daughter's hair braided. There were no vendors on the beach near the resort, and armed police officers on the beach at either end of the resort. The village was small and safe, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We did not try the kids' club, although I know there is one. All in all, this resort had all of the things I wanted, and none of the things that I did not want, like having to wake up at the crack of dawn to reserve a beach or pool chair, or being unable to make reservations at the restaurant, or loud, drunk 20 somethings acting crazy. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peacful surroundings, good food and drink, and a good place for tweens and young teenagers then this place fits the bill. It's definitely not a 5 star hotel, but my 9 year old said "this is the best vacation ever!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margarita1216
San Francisco, CA
Jul 15, 2012

I lOVE ABR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the fourth summer in a row that I have vacationed at ABR. It is a very laid back, casual place with the most beautiful beach, great snorkeling and wonderful staff I could desire! If you want a more luxurious hotel, this is not the place for you. If you like spending most of your time in a bathing suit and flip flops and not having to dress up for dinner, prefer relaxing to partying ABR is for you. the food is good and plentiful, with lots of options, though not great. The beach is the BEST and most of the rooms face the beach. It is not a mega-resort, it is small and Americans are not the majority of guests. There are a lot of Europeans as well as Mexican families. The rooms are adequate, not fancy. But who spends time in their room? only for sleeping and showering. Nightly entertainment or games vary from really good to cheesy, but again, I don't go for the entertainment, but for the sun, the beach, the water and the snorkeling. Lots of great staff who have been there a long time and remember me when I come back. Which is and will continue to be often!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

be sure to go to Yal Ku, the fresh water lagoon 2 km away from the hotel. Amazing snorkeling!!!

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse Arika
Carlsbad, CA
Jul 3, 2012

BEST Snorkeling resort ever!

Beach: If your really enjoy snorkeling and enjoying yourself by the beach, I highly recommend this resort. My family and I saw turtles and many different types of fish. From different sizes and colors. Everything is at hands reach. Very beautiful! We spent our last three days in cancun and their beach does not compare to anything like Akumal. I know previous guests complain of lack of lounge chairs but there are plently for all. GREAT BEACH!!! Food: The food is excellent. I have no complaints what so ever. They always had a good variety and plenty. Their pizza is absolutely to die for as well as the guacamole. The guacamole has a hint of lime. Very delicious! Once again previous guests complain of the food but honest opinion is you pay for what you get. This resort is not a five star, it's a three star so do not expect steaks and lobster! Staff: Unfortunately,the staff can be a little bit more helpful :( Most do not speak english, that was unhelpful. We did ask for toppers for the bed but we never did receive any. Maybe because they are low on material not to sure. They do have internet access in the front lobby. Guest are more than welcome to use the computer. Which is really nice! Most resorts will charge you. Only thing is you can only use the internet at a resonable time. Be courtoues to others. HINT for the computers: The right computer is in english and the left is spanish. Weather: It rained the first two nights in a row. Our last three nights had very high winds. Cancun weather was much better. Just make sure you plan your daily activites earlier or otherwise plan to be interrupted with bad weather. Please do not be discouraged by the bad weather at night because it is still very hot and the rain or high winds feel very cooling. Rooms: DO NOT BOTHER PAYING EXTRA FOR REMODELD ROOMS. The staff is going to try to convince you to upgrade to a nicer room. The only difference from the standard room and remodeld room is new tile for the shower and new wooden closet doors. Nothing special its a waste of money. Spend your extras dollars outside than on a room. Like go and visit the Mayan pyramids! Oh yeah, there are water dispensers on site and they are safe to drink from!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

No need to waste money like we did and go to cozumel or isla mujeres the best snorkeling is right in front of the resort. Its amazing!

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hayuhi
USA
Jun 29, 2012

Relaxing place

It was a good place for a relaxing vacation. If you are looking for a simple getaway to read books, swim and relax, this is a great place. The food is pretty good, although limited variety. The staff is very friendly. The sea and the beach is gorgeous and if you like snorkling, you will be very happy (the moment you walk into the water, you will be surrounded by fish). As for suggestions for improvements, the roofs and beach palapas are old and need repair and the rooms need some furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Beach Traveler
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 26, 2012

Great Location - not so great resort

This was my 4th time to Riviera Maya/Cancun area. The beach was beautiful but the hotel was a little run down and could use some upgrades/improvements. We had an upgraded room so I'd hate to see what the standard rooms looked like. Our A/C broke 3 times during the week and there were tiny ants all over the room. Food and drinks were below average in my opinion (loved the chips and guacamole though). We ate at other restaurants in the area. Hotel employees didn't seem as happy/outgoing as in other resorts we've stayed at. All in all, we had a nice trip but i wouldn't return unless some improvements were made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lol-ha just down the beach had some good food/drinks.

Back to menu Return to top