$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Akumal Beach Resort is located within Akumal Bay, this 241 rooms resort stretches almost one mile along our private, immaculate white sandy beach. Making a splash around here is easy.

Just about everything is beachfront, from restaurants and bars to watersports facilities. At Akumal Beach Resort, it's up to you how much (or how little) you do.

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active baby boomer
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 2, 2012

Outstanding laid back vacation

Our experience was wonderful. I loved the eco-friendliness. The food was simply and beautifully prepared. Interesting Yucatan variety. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Even the security guard was helping to keep the beach clean. The snorkeling right from shore was amazing. They have tremendous respect for the enviornment and the need to preserve it. We have been to other all-inclusives. The Akumal Beach Resort was outstanding-both for couples and familes. I loved seeing so many 3 generations enjoying time together. I loved being right on the beach for sleeping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, bring your own snorkel equipment, but the resort does have it available.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Sam
New York
Jun 23, 2013

Turtle, Beach heaven

Not a mega resort. Simple but accommodating. Super friendly staff all around. Let us change our room to top floor for a better view very easily. A bit of a drive from Cancun airport but well worth it for the snorkeling. We swam with multiple sea turtles nearly every day! The food was adequate and sometimes more so at the main dining hall/buffet. Not a single complaint. Also a snack bar by the pool with burgers/hot dogs, chips/fries. There is a lively crew of young people making up the entertainment staff. They organized activities such as beach volleyball, water aerobics, and dancing lessons. Each night at 9pm there is a show/event. One of these shows was "Fantasia", a well choreographed black light show in a theater on the grounds. It was stellar. If you are looking for some good snorkeling at a modest hotel in which you can relax at, Akumal Beach Resort is your destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The cups given at the bars are only about 10oz. Bring a larger bottle of your own (preferably an insulated one with a top) if you'd like to have more drink at a time. Bartenders will have no problem with that.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Young Williams Couple
Mississippi
Jun 7, 2013

Small and quiet vacation for two

This was my second trip to Akumal Beach Resort and first trip for my husband. I love that this resort is small and quiet, not crowded or too big. We had an ocean view room with a gorgeous view. The food at the buffet restaurant is good and at times really good. We never ate at the a la carte restaurant because we never thought to make reservations until it was too late. Breakfast is just about the same every morning. They have omelets where you can add what you want. In the morning they have yummy cappuccinos made at the main bar. The snack bar was pretty good. They offer pizza, hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, chips, salsa, and guacamole. Not a lot to choose from on the drink selection (1 type of beer, 2 types of wine, & a small variety of liquor), but you get what you pay for. My favorites were the pinnacloda, mango margarita, and dirty monkey. They make a pretty good mojito too. I suggest taking your own cup because the cups from the bar are small. Even though it is a small resort there is still plenty to do. It rained most of our trip, so when we weren't on the beach the entertainment crew kept us occupied and we brought our own deck of cards. They give excellant relaxing messages in this hut on the beach. The snorkeling is excellent and your almost guaranteed to see a sea turtle especially during nesting season. What I liked most about the snorkeling is that it's right off the beach of the resort. The resort has snorkeling equipment for rent, but we took our own snorkel and mask and rented life jackets. The small town of Akumal is just a short walk on the beach from the resort. The small town has two super markets, lots of little shops, and several restaurants with good food. The only pitfall to our stay was our room. It was hard to keep the humidity out of the room, the bed is super hard (even with the mattress topper that must be requested), they never left us enough towels, and I noticed mold on the furniture (mattres, window curtain, and lamp shades). The only time we were in our room was to shower and sleep, so all of that didn't really matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The town of Akumal is just a short walk up the beach, so do not worry about getting a taxi from the resort to Akumal. When shopping at the little stores and booths (not the super markets), never pay the full price they have labeled on their merchandise. They jack the prices way up for tourists.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RMGirl
Denver, CO
Jun 3, 2013

Okay, but not great

I found the staff to be the highlight at Akumal Beach Resort, they are happy and courteous. The room was barely average: the bed was very hard, the shower had no water pressure and a constantly fluctuating water temperature. There's only one restaurant but the food was pretty good considering it's all-inclusive. We had a family emergency while there and could not make a call from our room - the phones were not in order. They did offer a call from the reception desk, not the best place for discussing family emergencies though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We used USA Transfers to and from the hotel, as well as for a full day tour of Coba - excellent service, excellent value!

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skumbrik
petoskey, MI
Apr 30, 2013

excellent location

the Hotel is average the food is mediocre, the staff or friendly location is fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

fantastic snorkeling and scuba diving

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Henning's
Fairport, New York
Apr 5, 2013

Great family vacation

We had a wonderful time there. The snorkeling is 5 star. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The food was above the expected. If you couldn't find something to eat there is something wrong. Huge variety and healthy also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian sick of Winter
London, ON, Canada
Mar 18, 2013

great get away

Beach and snorkelling were amazing. Food is very good, lots to pick from, although the desserts were not that great. Minor repairs should be done to the rooms before guests arrive. The resort is very clean and well kept. Entertainment was adequate, some nights better then others. Enjoyable overall, will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed the a la carte restaurant, and really liked that beer was on tap and wine was self serve during lunch and dinner.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I am keith
Denver, Colorado
Feb 17, 2013

Budget - All inclusive

This resort is a good budget all inclusive resort. It doesn't have *all* the options that a more expensive resort gives, but is still a good place to relax for a few days on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sand Fly
East Coast USA
Dec 22, 2012

Half what it used to be

The resort recently lost about half it's property...presumably sold to the property next door. Supposedly they are going to remodel and add amenities. I would wait to book until they do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk into town for shopping and eating.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian sick of Winter
London, ON, Canada
Nov 5, 2012

Lazy week in the sun.

We had an amazing time snorkelling whenever we wanted right off of the beach. The resort staff is friendly and very helpful. The entertainment lacks some lustre, but it was off season when we were there. The lighting on the ocean side was a concern (very dim), but we found out this was to encourage the baby turtles to go to the ocean when they hatched, not come to the resort lights, so that made sense to us. The food was good, a lot of variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to go to the end of the beach to the Eco Center to find out about the Sea Turtles, nestings, hatchings, and ocean release times.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JADI54
FORT SMITH
Nov 3, 2012

Wish it was Home

Akumal Beach Resort is the perfect Mexican get-away. It is small but has all the amenities a person needs. Great staff and service. The food is very good and the beach: oh, the beach - just wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to go to the reservation only dining room. Very good food and the view is spectacular.

Back to menu Return to top