Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
212 reviews
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Awesome hidden treasure

This place just amazed our whole party! We had the time of our lives there. There were 4 people in... See full review

  • Marinemama
  • May 27, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
damsel fish
Columbia, mo
Nov 13, 2013

perfect place for me

This place has everything I want in a resort. Always an "ocean view" from room and dining room. Awesome beach, snorkeling, good quality food, relaxed atmosphere. I appreciate the lack of incessant music and microphones during the day. One can truly relax, hear the ocean, read, or participate in activities in desired. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. I can just be me without the fancy stuff in a beautiful place .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

do AM snorkel in Akumal bay before the outfitters bring in the groups of people to snorkel. Much more pleasant when not a lot of people snorkeling all around you.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crystalsnow
Colorado
Oct 26, 2013

Wonderful Family Trip

We had such a perfect, relaxing trip. Everyone was so friendly. My kids are still missing Angie--the wonderful woman who took care of them as part of the kids club. The food was plentiful, varied, and healthy. The mojitos were wonderful! Don't go for the rooms--go for the beautiful beach, the turtles, the big pool, the friendly people, and the laid back atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I thought the buffet lunches were the best meal because they had the largest variety of Mexican dishes.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snusink
salem, Utah
Oct 22, 2013

snorkeling paradice

Smaller laid back quiet resort with an amazing beach and staff. the food is very good with a good selection. if your after peace, beauty and relaxation - not party's, jet skis and disco's this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgordon12
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2013

It's all in the staff

Just got back from Akumal Beach Resort after an 8 day trip. It's not the Four Seasons, or even the HIlton, but it is in an amazing location with fantastic beach and aquatic wildlife. What's more, the staff was so helpful all the time. They really want you to have a good time. It's very laid back, and pretty much everyone we met there was the same. It's like some well-kept secret, that this place has an amazing beach and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit the Dos Ojos Cenote. It's like swimming in a cave.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EddieBoulder
Akumal Beach Resort, Akumal, Mexico, QR
Sep 25, 2013

Warning-You Too Could Possibly Die Here

I could have died here on my last visit, or, at least be severely injured and never be the same. I had room 752, top floor. Upon entering the room, I walked out to the balcony to see the view. I leaned lightly on the front railing to admire the beautiful beach. After a few seconds I leaned back, still holding the railing. The railing easily split in two as I staggered backwards. If I had leaned forward instead of backwards, I would have fallen 30 feet and possibly died or severely injured myself. I informed Lorena at the front desk and she said she would have it repaired. What a joke! They fixed it by attaching a 1-inch piece of bamboo just below the top railing. As soon as I saw this, I tested the repair and it broke again with little effort. If this is how they repair their hotel, just think how many other problems there might be on the grounds. I have attached some pictures of this scenario. Oh yes, there are also cockroaches,. Don't look under the bed, it is scary. The beds are also terrible. The springs pop up everywhere. The bed pad is ridiculously thin and the sheets were probably 10 years old. The bed cover was crusty and not of any use as a blanket. I was very, very uncomfortable and left a day early. After all this, Lorena offered no apology. She just required me to sign a letter acknowledging I was leaving early on my own will. Huh? I love Akumal, but I would not stay at the Akumal Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
water grl
nc
Jul 16, 2013

love that beach

Beach and views are just amazing. love to sit by the water and eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum is best early in the am.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FWDad
Ft Worth, Texas
Jul 12, 2013

July 2-9

Great snorkeling!!!! Thats why we went... Saw 14 turtles one day in about an hour. Saw many kinds of fish, including baracuda, Squid, and Rays, I AM NOT KIDDING. Beds are super hard, food is soso, but grounds were clean and beautiful. Would highly recommend to snorkelers and divers. Short walk to downtown Akumal with bars, a few restaurants and shopping. Flight was smooth and transport, private, was great. If you want 4 or 5 star rooms, not here. Beauty and serenity, which is why we went, A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Haggle.....Got a $60 necklace for $20 by saying no thank you.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim 32
St Petersburg,fl
Jul 4, 2013

Old building

The ABR is in dire need of upgrading. We stayed on the third floor with no elevator. The air conditioning was all or none. we froze in he room and had to turn it off to sleep. Every time we used the toilet we had to take the top off and put the stopper back on or it would not fill for flushing. Staff was fine. The wine was bad but the rest of the drinks were ok. The food was average. The price was hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Sam
New York
Jun 23, 2013

Turtle, Beach heaven

Not a mega resort. Simple but accommodating. Super friendly staff all around. Let us change our room to top floor for a better view very easily. A bit of a drive from Cancun airport but well worth it for the snorkeling. We swam with multiple sea turtles nearly every day! The food was adequate and sometimes more so at the main dining hall/buffet. Not a single complaint. Also a snack bar by the pool with burgers/hot dogs, chips/fries. There is a lively crew of young people making up the entertainment staff. They organized activities such as beach volleyball, water aerobics, and dancing lessons. Each night at 9pm there is a show/event. One of these shows was "Fantasia", a well choreographed black light show in a theater on the grounds. It was stellar. If you are looking for some good snorkeling at a modest hotel in which you can relax at, Akumal Beach Resort is your destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The cups given at the bars are only about 10oz. Bring a larger bottle of your own (preferably an insulated one with a top) if you'd like to have more drink at a time. Bartenders will have no problem with that.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Young Williams Couple
Mississippi
Jun 7, 2013

Small and quiet vacation for two

This was my second trip to Akumal Beach Resort and first trip for my husband. I love that this resort is small and quiet, not crowded or too big. We had an ocean view room with a gorgeous view. The food at the buffet restaurant is good and at times really good. We never ate at the a la carte restaurant because we never thought to make reservations until it was too late. Breakfast is just about the same every morning. They have omelets where you can add what you want. In the morning they have yummy cappuccinos made at the main bar. The snack bar was pretty good. They offer pizza, hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, chips, salsa, and guacamole. Not a lot to choose from on the drink selection (1 type of beer, 2 types of wine, & a small variety of liquor), but you get what you pay for. My favorites were the pinnacloda, mango margarita, and dirty monkey. They make a pretty good mojito too. I suggest taking your own cup because the cups from the bar are small. Even though it is a small resort there is still plenty to do. It rained most of our trip, so when we weren't on the beach the entertainment crew kept us occupied and we brought our own deck of cards. They give excellant relaxing messages in this hut on the beach. The snorkeling is excellent and your almost guaranteed to see a sea turtle especially during nesting season. What I liked most about the snorkeling is that it's right off the beach of the resort. The resort has snorkeling equipment for rent, but we took our own snorkel and mask and rented life jackets. The small town of Akumal is just a short walk on the beach from the resort. The small town has two super markets, lots of little shops, and several restaurants with good food. The only pitfall to our stay was our room. It was hard to keep the humidity out of the room, the bed is super hard (even with the mattress topper that must be requested), they never left us enough towels, and I noticed mold on the furniture (mattres, window curtain, and lamp shades). The only time we were in our room was to shower and sleep, so all of that didn't really matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The town of Akumal is just a short walk up the beach, so do not worry about getting a taxi from the resort to Akumal. When shopping at the little stores and booths (not the super markets), never pay the full price they have labeled on their merchandise. They jack the prices way up for tourists.

Back to menu Return to top