$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flanigan Family
Michigan
Jan 18, 2014

Family Vacation

We choose this hotel for the location on the beach. We read alot of reviews before booking, so we knew what to expect! The rooms are basic but clean. The beds are ok and the shower never got hot, luke warm at best, this was the worst part for me. I never complained to the front desk though, maybe they could of done something, but we weren't interested in moving rooms so we just put up with it. We were happy with the size of the room though, really large for 4 of us. We stayed in building 6, second floor. Beautiful view of the ocean and nice big balcony. The rooms almost all have an ocean view and are closer to the water than any other place we have been. The food is ok, we could always find something good, the snack bar by the beach was great for the kids, fries, nachos and hamburgers, oh and the ice cream is a real treat!! The staff is friendly but there is no real service, you get all your own drinks and the waiters will only clear dirty plates at meal time. But again everyone is very nice and friendly!! It's the beach though that makes it amazing..It is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The sea life is unbelievable. We were able to see more than we ever have, anywhere!! Turtles every time, sting rays more fish than you could ever count, squid and beautiful coral. People pay for snorkel tours in surrounding areas and come to this beach, we didn't even see this much in Cozumel last year on a paid snorkel trip. I cannot say enough about the beauty of the beach, it is perfect. If snorkeling and swimming are what your looking for, then look no further, but remember the hotel is nothing fancy. It's also in a great location, only 20 minutes to Tulum and 40 minutes to the ruins at Coba. We also did the Indiana Joes tour, at Aktun Chen, which is just down the road to the south of the hotel. Highly recommend this place, awesome cave and cenote tour, plus the zip line was fun!! The guides were very knowlegable and friendly. We rented a car at the airport, and felt safe driving around. I wouldn't rent from Hertz though, the service was terrible and the whole process took forever even in Mexico time. And negotiate your rate! This was a wonderful trip and we would recommend this place for the beach. It truly is amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Indiana Joes, Aktun Chen. Did the zip lines, cave tour and cenote swim. Was awesome!! Also visited the ruins at Tulum and Coba, great half day trips with 2 ten year old girls.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slowsprinter
California
Dec 21, 2013

Great private location on the caribbean on the beach

This was our first trip to the Riviera Maya. We decided to stay here because we read a lot of reviews about it being the ideal beach to snorkel in. The location matched and exceeded our expectations. Long stretch of pristine beach with no resorts on either sides for a mile at least if not more. Saw several turtles and a couple of eagle and electric rays on the very first morning out. The reef itself was heavily damaged in the 2005 hurricane and that was obvious. The reef fish were not as many as I would expect but the reef does seem to be regenerating itself slowly. However, the beach is sheltered from waves and winds because of the proximity of the reef to the shore which makes it ideal conditions for snorkeling even for beginners. The hotel rooms are pretty bare bones and a little disappointing considering the price is equivalent to some of the big new resorts in the area like the Bahia Principe. All meals are served in the main buffet room. The cuisines are a choice of mexican and italian every afternoon and night. Though the quality was average to good, the menu was repetitive and got tiring pretty quickly. There are no other restaurants on site to serve as a substitute either. All in all, the planned resort renovation will be a much needed welcome to the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely exchange your dollars for pesos at the airport. The exchange rate quoted by taxi drivers and shops is horrendous. You will easily lose 15-25% paying in dollars.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
damsel fish
Columbia, mo
Nov 13, 2013

perfect place for me

This place has everything I want in a resort. Always an "ocean view" from room and dining room. Awesome beach, snorkeling, good quality food, relaxed atmosphere. I appreciate the lack of incessant music and microphones during the day. One can truly relax, hear the ocean, read, or participate in activities in desired. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. I can just be me without the fancy stuff in a beautiful place .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

do AM snorkel in Akumal bay before the outfitters bring in the groups of people to snorkel. Much more pleasant when not a lot of people snorkeling all around you.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crystalsnow
Colorado
Oct 26, 2013

Wonderful Family Trip

We had such a perfect, relaxing trip. Everyone was so friendly. My kids are still missing Angie--the wonderful woman who took care of them as part of the kids club. The food was plentiful, varied, and healthy. The mojitos were wonderful! Don't go for the rooms--go for the beautiful beach, the turtles, the big pool, the friendly people, and the laid back atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I thought the buffet lunches were the best meal because they had the largest variety of Mexican dishes.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snusink
salem, Utah
Oct 22, 2013

snorkeling paradice

Smaller laid back quiet resort with an amazing beach and staff. the food is very good with a good selection. if your after peace, beauty and relaxation - not party's, jet skis and disco's this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgordon12
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2013

It's all in the staff

Just got back from Akumal Beach Resort after an 8 day trip. It's not the Four Seasons, or even the HIlton, but it is in an amazing location with fantastic beach and aquatic wildlife. What's more, the staff was so helpful all the time. They really want you to have a good time. It's very laid back, and pretty much everyone we met there was the same. It's like some well-kept secret, that this place has an amazing beach and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go visit the Dos Ojos Cenote. It's like swimming in a cave.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EddieBoulder
Akumal Beach Resort, Akumal, Mexico, QR
Sep 25, 2013

Warning-You Too Could Possibly Die Here

I could have died here on my last visit, or, at least be severely injured and never be the same. I had room 752, top floor. Upon entering the room, I walked out to the balcony to see the view. I leaned lightly on the front railing to admire the beautiful beach. After a few seconds I leaned back, still holding the railing. The railing easily split in two as I staggered backwards. If I had leaned forward instead of backwards, I would have fallen 30 feet and possibly died or severely injured myself. I informed Lorena at the front desk and she said she would have it repaired. What a joke! They fixed it by attaching a 1-inch piece of bamboo just below the top railing. As soon as I saw this, I tested the repair and it broke again with little effort. If this is how they repair their hotel, just think how many other problems there might be on the grounds. I have attached some pictures of this scenario. Oh yes, there are also cockroaches,. Don't look under the bed, it is scary. The beds are also terrible. The springs pop up everywhere. The bed pad is ridiculously thin and the sheets were probably 10 years old. The bed cover was crusty and not of any use as a blanket. I was very, very uncomfortable and left a day early. After all this, Lorena offered no apology. She just required me to sign a letter acknowledging I was leaving early on my own will. Huh? I love Akumal, but I would not stay at the Akumal Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
water grl
nc
Jul 16, 2013

love that beach

Beach and views are just amazing. love to sit by the water and eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum is best early in the am.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FWDad
Ft Worth, Texas
Jul 12, 2013

July 2-9

Great snorkeling!!!! Thats why we went... Saw 14 turtles one day in about an hour. Saw many kinds of fish, including baracuda, Squid, and Rays, I AM NOT KIDDING. Beds are super hard, food is soso, but grounds were clean and beautiful. Would highly recommend to snorkelers and divers. Short walk to downtown Akumal with bars, a few restaurants and shopping. Flight was smooth and transport, private, was great. If you want 4 or 5 star rooms, not here. Beauty and serenity, which is why we went, A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Haggle.....Got a $60 necklace for $20 by saying no thank you.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim 32
St Petersburg,fl
Jul 4, 2013

Old building

The ABR is in dire need of upgrading. We stayed on the third floor with no elevator. The air conditioning was all or none. we froze in he room and had to turn it off to sleep. Every time we used the toilet we had to take the top off and put the stopper back on or it would not fill for flushing. Staff was fine. The wine was bad but the rest of the drinks were ok. The food was average. The price was hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top