$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

3 stars
KM 104 CARR. CANCUN-CHETUMAL, Akumal, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
214 reviews
perfect for our family

If you want the perfect beach, friendly staff, and nothing but snorkeling with turtles, rays, and... See full review

  • pugdaddy
  • Jul 21, 2014
Loved Akumal Beach Resort!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, beachfront, tropical, relaxing vacation as a belated... See full review

  • Pugpog
  • Jul 2, 2014
Enjoy the private beach, located off Akumal Bay, in Riviera Maya
The Akumal Beach Resort is located 55 minutes from Cancun's International Airport and boasts two swimming pools, two tennis courts, three restaurants, three bars, a children's club and theater.  The all-inclusive resort is surrounded by natural beauty. Akumal Beach Resort overlooks more than a mile of white sand beaches and Akuman Bay, known for Caribbean sea turtles. The 241 room-resort is small enough to be personal but large enough to experience many amenities.
Highlights:
  • More than a mile of beach
  • Akumal Beach Resort is located on Akumal Bay, a known sea turtle hangout
  • Snorkeling steps from the resort
Rooms:

The 168 king or double-double rooms at the Akumal Beach Resort have full ocean or garden views. Expect bold colors, such as orange walls and teal blue accents, that mirror the brightness of the Caribbean. The resort is just steps away from the beach and two pools. Air-conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, purified water, TV, telephone and private balcony or terrace are standard amenities.

Features:

The Akumal Bay provides calm, clear water for swimming , snorkeling and spotting sea turtles. The white, sand beaches lend themselves perfectly to sunbathing. Kids at the Akumal Beach Resort enjoy the supervised kids club. Adults have fun in the sun, play volleyball, work on their archery shot or learn a few new dance moves. For health conscious guests, the resort offers yoga classes. At night, sway to the live music at the main bar or enjoy a weekly show or contest in the theater. Kids in the kids club are fed dinner in the main dining rooms so parents can spend time reconnecting or taking a breather.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (55 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (25 minutes)
  • Tulum (20 minutes)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in the Internet cafe (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.3923 -87.3191
Area served
Akumal, Mexico
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International Airport 160 Miles
Area description
Archeological sites nearby (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza). Golf at Puerto Adventures, Cenotes, X-Caret, Xel- Ha

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony, 560 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. Rustic Mexican decoration, with ocean view or garden view. All rooms have air conditioning, fan, satellite TV, hair dryer, phone, safe, private balcony or terrace.
Superior Room - Ocean View with Private Balcony, 600 Sq.Ft
Guest room includes 2 queen beds or a king bed. All our superior accommodations are oceanfront or ocean view with air conditioning, satellite TV, hair dryer, telephone, safe, private balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Langosta Borracha
Serves filet, lobster and 40 different types of wine. Not part of the all inclusive. A la carte. Opens for dinner.
Azteca
Ideal for tasting the real Mexican food. A la carte. Opens for dinner
La Trattoria
The flavor and taste of Italy in the Caribbean. A la carte rest. Opens for dinner
Akumal
The perfect way to enjoy your meals next to the Caribbean sea. International cuisine- buffet style. Opens for breakfast, lunch and Dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tanned and wanting more
Burnaby, BC Canada
Feb 6, 2011

Akumal Beach Resort

This Hotel is an interesting choice in that it has a great beach and lots of good snorkeling to do but the state of hotel is a rustic one and in need of various repairs. I don't want to sound to negative because over all we enjoyed it and will consider coming back.But this is not a mega hotel all fancied up with multiple restaurants to choose from. It has a main buffet style restaurant with a decent menu. No swim up bar. The staff are friendly and helpful but there are only a few mattress toppers to be had so good luck in getting one. The TV we had was older and to small but ok for getting the news. No elevators, mind you it only has 3 floors.Internet is not free here and is $35/week/device and you need to lug your laptop down to around the front desk area but fortunately the bar is right there to ease the pain.Over all we were happy with our 2 week stay here. It has a certain quaint laid back charm and we were happy with our first [...]adventure as there were no surprises or problems to mar our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There doesn't seem to be any differences in using Pesos or US dollars. You don't get the bank rate for US and they will charge you more in Pesos. The best tip is to take enough cash down so that you don't need to keep paying the ATM service charges all the time.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tanned and wanting more
Burnaby, BC Canada
Feb 6, 2011

Akumal Beach Resort

This Hotel is an interesting choice in that it has a great beach and lots of good snorkeling to do but the state of hotel is a rustic one and in need of various repairs. I don't want to sound to negative because over all we enjoyed it and will consider coming back.But this is not a mega hotel all fancied up with multiple restaurants to choose from. It has a main buffet style restaurant with a decent menu. No swim up bar. The staff are friendly and helpful but there are only a few mattress toppers to be had so good luck in getting one. The TV we had was older and to small but ok for getting the news. No elevators, mind you it only has 3 floors.Internet is not free here and is $35/week/device and you need to lug your laptop down to around the front desk area but fortunately the bar is right there to ease the pain.Over all we were happy with our 2 week stay here. It has a certain quaint laid back charm and we were happy with our first [...]adventure as there were no surprises or problems to mar our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There doesn't seem to be any differences in using Pesos or US dollars. You don't get the bank rate for US and they will charge you more in Pesos. The best tip is to take enough cash down so that you don't need to keep paying the ATM service charges all the time.

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

It was our the best trip in Mexico (we visited Mexico's resorts 2 times before). Location is perfect, beach is perfect, water is perfect too - clear & warm. Staff is very friendly and work hard. Our snorkling was real pleasure for a long time of the day as our traveling along the beach.We had very good trip to lagoon with bikes. Meal was good & fresh always. But we used to have fresh made juces, but Akumal doesn't have it at all.It's the best place for relax in Mexico,I think,for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Breezy Point, MN
Jan 30, 2011

Very satisfied

Just what we needed. a quieter resort with a beautiful beach. We really enjoyed our stay. the rooms are very basic, but we were only in them to shower and sleep. close to the ocean with a great view. We weren't looking for wild nightlife or a busy resort, if you are you will be dissapointed. Food was pretty good at the resort but we are not super picky. we loved the staff! very friendly from the time we arrived. met a lot of really nice people, no pretentiousness. If you are looking for ritz carlton rooms, food and service this resort isn't for you. If you are looking for a great relaxing vacation with a great beach, snorkeling, laid back atmosphere, this is the place to go. We would go back for sure. Akumal is off the beaten path and there are no beach vendors to bug you, no annoying jetskis or airplanes dragging advertisements etc. We snorkeled with turtles every day, quite beautiful to see in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LO Ha restaurant is just a 5 min walk down the beach. Call ahaead and ask which night they have the live music and book for that night. My wife and I went and it was really special! Fantastic trio of mexican/latin music and a fantastic meal. I would recommend the sea bass in pasta, the grouper in a tommatale sauce or the poblano chicken in a walnut sauce. Fantastic

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Breezy Point, MN
Jan 30, 2011

Very satisfied

Just what we needed. a quieter resort with a beautiful beach. We really enjoyed our stay. the rooms are very basic, but we were only in them to shower and sleep. close to the ocean with a great view. We weren't looking for wild nightlife or a busy resort, if you are you will be dissapointed. Food was pretty good at the resort but we are not super picky. we loved the staff! very friendly from the time we arrived. met a lot of really nice people, no pretentiousness. If you are looking for ritz carlton rooms, food and service this resort isn't for you. If you are looking for a great relaxing vacation with a great beach, snorkeling, laid back atmosphere, this is the place to go. We would go back for sure. Akumal is off the beaten path and there are no beach vendors to bug you, no annoying jetskis or airplanes dragging advertisements etc. We snorkeled with turtles every day, quite beautiful to see in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LO Ha restaurant is just a 5 min walk down the beach. Call ahaead and ask which night they have the live music and book for that night. My wife and I went and it was really special! Fantastic trio of mexican/latin music and a fantastic meal. I would recommend the sea bass in pasta, the grouper in a tommatale sauce or the poblano chicken in a walnut sauce. Fantastic

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Torchechar
Québec
Jan 24, 2011

Out third time there, still great !

That was our third time there, in 2005, 2007 and now in 2011. The administration of the hotel changed meanwhile, we were affraid it could be not as good as before, but we were greatly surprised. We felt that they have less budget than in the past, but seems to invest in good places. There are not thousands of choices in buffet, but was delicious and different every days. ALL the staff was very sympatic and seems happy. For sure, this beach is the best for snorkeling. Even for the third time, we discovered new great places to visit and went to the village of Akumal to take breakfast, that was just perfect. The only thing that made me sad was the coffee, they have a great espresso machine, but use it only for hot water and hot milk... they make instant coffee with this water ... :-( no real coffee, except filtered coffee in buffet, but it is gray and horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the collectivos (kind of shared taxis) to go mostly everywhere. 30 pesos (2,40$)for Playa del Carmen or Tulum... Go to Tulum and Playa del Carmen...

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Torchechar
Québec
Jan 24, 2011

Out third time there, still great !

That was our third time there, in 2005, 2007 and now in 2011. The administration of the hotel changed meanwhile, we were affraid it could be not as good as before, but we were greatly surprised. We felt that they have less budget than in the past, but seems to invest in good places. There are not thousands of choices in buffet, but was delicious and different every days. ALL the staff was very sympatic and seems happy. For sure, this beach is the best for snorkeling. Even for the third time, we discovered new great places to visit and went to the village of Akumal to take breakfast, that was just perfect. The only thing that made me sad was the coffee, they have a great espresso machine, but use it only for hot water and hot milk... they make instant coffee with this water ... :-( no real coffee, except filtered coffee in buffet, but it is gray and horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the collectivos (kind of shared taxis) to go mostly everywhere. 30 pesos (2,40$)for Playa del Carmen or Tulum... Go to Tulum and Playa del Carmen...

Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomas de Tejas
Houston, TX
Jan 16, 2011

Super Location!!

The location of the hotel is super! If you want the beach and are not concerned about nightlife, this may be the place. We snorkeled right off the beach in front of the hotel in calm waters. It was amazing to see all the sea turtles and fish including some large rays!! Bring an underwater digital camera to take some great videos to share with friends. If you want nightlife, you will have to taxi it to Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomas de Tejas
Houston, TX
Jan 16, 2011

Super Location!!

The location of the hotel is super! If you want the beach and are not concerned about nightlife, this may be the place. We snorkeled right off the beach in front of the hotel in calm waters. It was amazing to see all the sea turtles and fish including some large rays!! Bring an underwater digital camera to take some great videos to share with friends. If you want nightlife, you will have to taxi it to Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Akumal Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
em1960
Maryland
Dec 26, 2010

great family hotel

nice hotel and great location for snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top