$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

4 stars
View map of Playa Revolcadero s/n, Col. Granjas del Marques, Col. Granjas del Marques, Acapulco, 39890

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mirabell3454
Family
Chicago
Dec 6, 2014

I love it here

every year we always stay here and I always will. the people the food the rooms and pools I think are amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom Kuffner
Couples
Portland, Oregon
Aug 5, 2014

Lovely experience in the Junior Suite

The Acapulco Princess was lovely. I’d seen mixed reports on here and had some concerns, but our experience was top-notch. It compares favorably to some of the best hotels I’ve stayed in anywhere in the world. We took advantage of an offer to upgrade to a Junior Suite/golf-course view for an additional $25/night above the basic room. The hotel upgraded us another step up to a Junior Suite with an ocean view (in the Pearl Tower). The rooms in each corner of the Pearl Tower (and probably the other tower) are suites. These are basically like the standard hotel room where you walk past the bathroom to the bed area but it’s at least 50% wider than the standard room. This gives you a nice seating area and a rather large balcony. If you’re traveling with a group or a large family, one of you could get a suite to have a gathering space for everybody. There was a slight delay at reception because we arrived right behind a busload of convention goers, but all the staff we met was polite and professional. With so many swimming pools and restaurants, our only trouble was deciding what to do. It was a great get-away. I’m really glad we decided to stay at the Acapulco Princess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusyQ EPT
Couples
El Paso, TX
May 26, 2014

Romantic Getaway

Every thing was great. The view is wonderful the pools and all the amenities are great. The only two negatives are. one the check in lady could have been a little more friendly and I can't believe they charge ten to twenty dollars a day for Wi-Fi. Other less expensive and less well known hotels don't charge for it. Considering the small draw backs will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lacreid
Family
Mexico City, Mexico
Mar 19, 2014

Could be great with a little attention

This is the quintessential luxury Acapulco resort... thirty years later. Although one of the towers has been fully renovated, the main building is showing its age --both in decor and functionality. A/C in our room was not working properly. Moving the thermostat between 68 and 78 degrees yielded very little temperature change, and no change to humidity, which was above normal for a climate controlled room. My guess is the 40 year old sliding door to the balcony does not create a proper seal. It appeared as though the property allowed non-guests (paid visitors to a "beach club? staff family members?) into the pool area on our last day (mid-week after a long weekend --perhaps an "off-season" move?). Also: waiting times at the restaurants can be off-putting, especially in season. A 30 minute wait for breakfast is not unheard of. Either the venues are insufficient, or the extra towers all come to the main tower restaurant. Bottom line: Fairmont need to deliver on their promise to turn Acapulco Princess into THE place to stay at in Acapulco again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The "La Isla" shopping, dining and entertainment complex is a short cab ride away, and has options for all ages all day long. Some of the restaurants stay open into the night (stay away from Carlos n' Charlie's, though... it's every bit as juvenile and loud and cheesy as you remember from the eighties & nineties).

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tarball
Family
san diego ca
Mar 6, 2014

Continues to go down hill

I've stayed here many time but everything keeps going downhill...don't have a lot of time so I'll make this quick...pool closes too early 8-9pm. you have to reserve beach cabanas EARLY (7am) if you want a chance at one (and what a shame, they are reserved for the whole day even if people don't show up), wireless inet only works in hallways and lobbys and is terribly slow. service at bar has gone WAY down hill (blatantly lied to by waitress about bottled water being in rooms) and they wanted 150 pesos ($11 USD) for me to use their gym that was completely empty when all I wanted to do was run on treadmill for 20 minutes! Even after I told the person this they said it's still 150 pesos, so I left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PMeads
Family
Mexico City
Jan 27, 2014

Great Escape!

We live in Mexico City and driving down to the Princess is a wonderful 48 hour escape. Take a half day off on Friday, drive down in 4.5 hours (before the traffic rush) arrive for a few hours of sea and sun, and don't leave until Sunday afternoon (ask for late checkout!!). The staff is very accomodating. Food is pricey but you can walk to the mall in 10-15 minutes along the golf course path and get a meal there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short hike to the Superama Mall and get your lunch there - a great way to save money for those on a budget!! Food in the resort is quite pricey.

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yolanda g.
Family
san antonio texas
Jan 25, 2014

Best Vacation

The first encounter with the hotel front desk was fantastic. The room was more of what I expected. The food in all the restaurants were absolutely delicious. Typical Mexican music every breakfast at the buffet. Excellent service everywere. I am going back as soon as I organize my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good Service, great food.

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Previous Expat in Mexico
Family
London
Jan 7, 2014

Too busy and understaffed for the Holiday season

I've been to Aca many times over the year as I once lived in the country for a number of years. This is an old classic hotel in Mexico with a very good brand name, on which it now surely lives on. The staff is friendly and helpful but the sheer amount of guests at the hotel left them completely understaffed for our post New Years visit. Definitely a management problem there. There where queues for almost everything and I got the feeling of being in a busy London underground station during every day of our stay. There were people everywhere with lack of sunbeds etc for everyone. Definitely not as exclusive as it once were and as its reputation indicates. The check-in queue took 45 minutes of standing around with a crying child. Quite frustrating indeed. Although apart from the crowds and understaffing, our stay was quite pleasant. But in all honesty, Acapulco over X-mas and around New Years is normally absolutely packed with national tourists so this experience might be replicated across all the larger hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The new shopping mall "La Isla", located a 10 minute drive away, is quite nice and has plenty of good restaurants and shops. There's no need to drive into the Acapulco Bay for everything, as traffic there is severely congested.

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeoC
Couples
Los Angeles, California
Dec 17, 2013

Great food and service

the hotel has many pools to relax, it is a real resort where you feel old school service in every corner. The food is excellent and really enjoyed long breakfast after relaxing at the beach huts. Great getaway from the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The club sandwich is a great 5 am treat after partying, just order room service.

Review of The Fairmont Acapulco Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uy The Traveler
Family
Houston, Tx
Dec 8, 2013

great getaway for the family

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was right on the beach and easy access to the nearby mall and downtown. Close to the airport also. Rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top