Playa Suites Acapulco

2 stars
Ave. Costera Miguel Aleman #123, Acapulco, 39670
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
17 reviews
very willing to fix anything

Our first room was very unsatisfactory, but my husband went down stairs and they were very happy to... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 22, 2008
I would return without hesitation!

I went in Sept of 2012, the weather was HOT & HUMID but clear blue skies and it only rained at 1am... See full review

  • KBNIC
  • Sep 30, 2012
Family-friendly Acapulco hotel on Playa del Morro features kids’ pool
The Playa Suites Acapulco is located on Playa del Morro and is near the airport and Peninsula de las Playas. This hotel offers suites in two towering high-rise buildings. From the Playa Suites Acapulco, visitors walk out the front door to explore great shops, restaurants and bars. And within just a short drive, visitors find attractions like the Quebrada cliff divers, dolphin encounters and Acapulco's golden beaches. Playa Suites Acapulco guests choose from the European plan or meal-inclusive packages. Internet access is available at the lobby, meeting rooms, and some accommodations.
Highlights
  • Located on Playa del Morro
  • Kids' pool and kids' club
  • European plan or inclusive packages available
  • Swimming pool
  • Free Wi-Fi access in some guest rooms
Rooms
Playa Suites Acapulco features 502 suites. The junior suites are the standard option, while the Bahia and two-bedroom penthouse suites offer full ocean views. All accommodations come with single king beds or two double beds. Guest rooms also feature private balconies, bathrooms with showers and tubs, and separate living spaces with sofas and chairs. In-room amenities include air conditioning, direct dial telephones, satellite TVs, safes, hair dryers and alarm clocks. Some rooms offer free Wi-Fi access.

 

Features
The beachfront Playa Suites Acapulco offers a great central location in the heart of Acapulco. Guests of the hotel have direct access to the popular Condesa Beach, where they find snorkeling and watersports along with beach chairs and umbrellas. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and a kids' pool. Guests dine at the two on-site restaurants. Breakfast and lunch buffets are available. Room service also is available and guests choose from meal-inclusive or a la carte vacation packages. Groups find flexible conference and banquet spaces that accommodate up to 300 people.

 

Transportation
  • Acapulco International Airport (17.7 mi/28.3 km)

 

Attractions
  • Playa Hornos (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • CiCi Waterpark (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Acapulco Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Fort of San Diego (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Acapulco Harbor/cruise ship dock (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • La Quebrada Cliff Divers (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Palma Sola (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Peninsula de las Playas (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting and event spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Policies and fees
The All Inclusive plan includes open bar with national drinks from 10 am to 5:30 and from 6:00 pm to 10:30 pm.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Suites Acapulco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Playa Suites Acapulco Rooms

Junior Suite
Suite includes two double beds, air conditioning system, bath with tub, Satellite TV, living room with partial ocean view and balcony ocean view.
Bahia Suite
Ocean front suite with two double beds, air conditioning system, bath with tub, Satellite TV, living room with full ocean view and balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Dining

El Morro
Relax with a refreshing drink at the swim up bar and enjoy the breeze of the sea at the "El Morro" restaurant bar under wonderful area of palm tree and appreciate a spectacular sun set in the most beautiful bays in the world.
Las Gaviotas
Enjoy breakfast or dinner buffet at "Las Gaviotas" restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Suites Acapulco

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Victoria, BC
Apr 22, 2008

very willing to fix anything

Our first room was very unsatisfactory, but my husband went down stairs and they were very happy to fix anything we were unhappy with. Weekends were full of people with children, a few more than what we liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 malls, dinning short taxi ride, great beach,sports bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FT020283
Business
Moreno Valley, California
Aug 18, 2014

Day trip

Overall this hotel is in need of some major repairs. The location is great, check in is a very slow process, shower handles fell off when attempting to open flow etc. Did I mention the location is great? beachfront property and main-road at other side. (Costera Miguel Aleman).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great bars within a short walk from this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Jefe
Business
Chicago IL
Nov 22, 2013

The Jefe

I was there just for relax, to get out from work stress, if hotel offers at least Microwave and a small refrigerator wold be perfect. Price was also a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Acapulco addict
Business
Elmont, NY
Feb 22, 2013

getaway was great however hotel in very poor condition.

everything in the hotel is very old and broken, furniture draws don't open, leaking faucets, uncomfortable pillows. Location of hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TeeJ1207
Business
York PA
Nov 6, 2012

Everything but the rooms

Food was Good. Service was OK, but everyone wanted to sell you something, and were very persistent. I understand that is par for the course in Mexico. Main issue we encountered was the first night we were put in a room and there was someones luggage in there already, not ours. Ooops! Second, they didn't tell us about the lights. You have to put a key card in a slot on the wall to make the lights work. Checking in and out takes forever (30 to 45 minutes each time), and you need to check out to exit the hotel, you can't just leave like most hotels in the States. They were also not cooperative about our family members visiting us or being in the hotel with us to visit. They gave us grief that my brother wanted to park his car there for an afternoon to hang out with us. Bathroom looked run down, rusted. As did the mini bar area. Beds seemed clean and nice though, comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBNIC
Business
Seattle, Washington
Sep 30, 2012

I would return without hesitation!

I went in Sept of 2012, the weather was HOT & HUMID but clear blue skies and it only rained at 1am every night for about 15 minutes. The room was clean & cleaned every day but had some cosmetic blemishes but nothing to worry about since I wasn't there for the room! The staff was very helpful since I didn't speak any Spanish, there was always one person on staff who spoke fluent English when I need help. The security staff was great at directions & finding taxis and always asked how my day was when I returned. The pool was clean & awesome, Sept is very slow for guest so everyday I pretty much had it to myself. I had the all-inclusive package so food & drinks were included, the drinks were great with lots of options but the buffets each day weren't AMAZING but good enough. Sometimes there were lots of food options & other times not at all but overall it was good food. My package included my gratuity as well but I felt sometimes that the service staff had no ideas even though I had the all-inclusive bracelet on, nothing major but you could tell they were wanting more tips. I did the wave runner trip from the beach guys right off of the hotel and it was awesome & cheap, the isle de morro was so much fun to climb to the top also. Overall in the end, I WILL BE BACK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As cheesy as it sound, go to Señor Frogs restaurant just south of the hotel! The food was incredible, the price was amazing & the staff great. The views you get from there are one of a kind, it was so worth it to do the typical tourist food spot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 15, 2010

Playa Review

Got charged for towels. It seemed like a scam. Unreasonable management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mex
Nov 18, 2009

so so

compare with the condition of the hotle i lived in cancun with the same rate, it's totally down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Elgin, IL
Aug 6, 2009

You get what you pay for

We've been to many all-inclusive hotels/cruises and the buffet was the worst we've had. There is a lot of food outside of the hotel so all-inclusive is not needed. They placed a colored band on your wrist depending on the stay and regardless, we were always asked for room number and amt of people to be able to eat! You never receive what you asked for even if we were willing to pay for it since it wasn't included under the "all-inclusive". Lights were off at midnight so no swimming or enjoying the stars. The very outdated elevators took forever that we ended up taking the stair most of the time. Staff very unfriendly- almost seem unhappy to work there!We received better customer service from the local working on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to eat around the area, so all-inclusive is definitely not needed. Awesome service from locals for beach activities at a much lower price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GOOD, BASIC CLEAN OLD HOTEL
Business
SAN JOSE, CA
Jul 20, 2009

CLEAN ENOUGH, FOOD DELICIOUS, OCEAN GREA

GREAT OCEAN SWIMMING, THE OCEAN IS SO WARM. PERFECT WATER TEMPERATURE. BEST NATURAL SPA. LOCAL PEOPLE GIVE THE BEST MASSAGES ON THE BEACH WHILE LISTENING TO THE WAVES. CHECK THEIR HANDS FIRST TO SEE IF THEY HAVE FUNGUS OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT IN THEIR HANDS. NEEDS LITTLE "EXTRAS" IN THE ROOMS SUCH AS: HAIR CONDITIONER, BODY LOTION. TOWELS LOOK VERY OLD. DEFINITELY THE HOTEL NEEDS TO BUY NEW ONES. GREAT VIEWS FROM THE HOTEL ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

YOU CAN WALK OR TAKE A SHORT CAB RIDE TO ANY OF THE LOCAL ENTERTAINMENT PLACES SUCH AS DANCING HALLS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Suites Acapulco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happygma
Business
Inver Grove Heights Minnesota
Jul 19, 2009

Could be better!

The view of the Ocean was wonderful and the location was great. You could walk to the open markets and also within walking distance to bars/clubs and a nice selection of places to eat.I purchased the all inclusive before I was aware of what food they offered on there buffet. I would NOT suggest doing this. The food was rather plain. I would have prefered more of a variety with more ethnic items on the menu. Overall for the price of everything, being a "older" hotel I had a nice large room beautiful view and the staff was very friendly. You get what you pay for! After all who goes on vacation to say inside there hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Security locks the gate to the beach at 10:30 each night so you can NOT go by the Ocean which was kind of a let down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top