$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Grand Hotel Acapulco

3 stars
Costera Miguel Aleman, # 1 Col. Icacos, Acapulco, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
43 reviews
aca carlos

it was great ! everything was brand new and the staff was always very nice . i needed late check... See full review

  • aca carlos
  • Feb 4, 2014
Secured Family Hotel

The hotel is a Five Star for the cleanliness, staff generosity , and above how the whole hotel is... See full review

  • Incredible Dad
  • Jan 5, 2014
Spacious rooms and suites overlooking Acapulco Bay on Icacos Beach
The Grand Hotel Acapulco sits on Playa Icacos overlooking Acapulco Bay and offers easy access to its golden shores. Located near the eastern end of Acapulco proper, the Grand Hotel Acapulco is a close ride to downtown and popular attractions like the Quebrada cliff divers. Points of interest near the hotel include the convention center and CiCi Waterpark. The Grand Hotel Acapulco features a kosher kitchen and facilities. The hotel also offers beach services, business center and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).

 

Highlights
  • Located on Icacos Beach
  • On-site spa,
  • Kosher services
  • Two swimming pools
  • Fitness center

 

Rooms
The Grand Hotel Acapulco features 587 guest rooms and suites with private balconies and breathtaking views of either Acapulco bay or the tropical mountains. Rooms come furnished with either a king or two double beds. Suites have single king beds. The spacious accommodations boast marble floors and private bathrooms with showers and tubs. In-room amenities include air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephones and hair dryers. Some rooms feature wireless Internet access (fees apply).

 

Features
Located oceanfront, overlooking Icacos Beach on the eastern edge of Acapulco, the Grand Hotel Acapulco offers great ocean views and easy access to 80 thatched palapas on the beach with food and drink services. On the beach, guests find watersports like waterskiing, snorkeling and parasailing. The hotel also offers two free-form swimming pools and an expansive sun deck with lounge chairs. Guests enjoy the sauna, steam room and massages and body treatments at the on-site spa. The Grand Hotel Acapulco offers kosher facilities, including a kosher kitchen and an on-site synagogue. Guests dine at the resort's three restaurants which serve seafood, Mexican and bistro fare. The hotel also has a business center, conference facilities and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Acapulco International Airport (14.8 mi/23.7 km)

 

Attractions
  • CiCi Waterpark (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Acapulco Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Playa Hornos (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Acapulco Harbor/cruise ship dock (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • The Fort of San Diego (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • La Quebrada Cliff Divers (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Peninsula de las Playas (7.2 mi/11.5 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Acapulco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Grand Hotel Acapulco Rooms

Renovated Grand Executive
Room with marble floors and stunning partial views of Acapulco Bay and ocean. Luxury amenities include two double beds or one king size bed, furnished private balcony, marble bath, bathrobes and wireless Internet access. It includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access ($), Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room and Telephone.Includes Executive lounge privileges with access to a private lounge serving Continental breakfast, evening cocktails and hors d'euvres.
Ocean Front Suite
Ocean Front Suites offer stunning front views of the Bay of Acapulco and ocean beyond. Sliding glass doors open onto a private balcony featuring table and chairs. Pampering amenities include one king size bed with plush linens, marble bath and wireless Internet access ($). It includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access ($), Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room and Telephone.
Renovated Grand Room
Room with marble floors and stunning partial views of Acapulco Bay and ocean. Luxury amenities include two double beds or one king size bed, furnished private balcony, marble bath, bathrobes and wireless Internet access. It includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access ($), Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room and Telephone
Deluxe room
Room with stunning partial views of the Bay of Acapulco and ocean beyond. Sliding glass doors open onto a private balcony featuring table and chairs. Pampering amenities include two double beds or one king size bed with plush linens, marble bath and wireless Internet access. Located on the upper floor of the hotel. It includes Air conditioning, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Safe in room and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Zapata Villa & Cia
Zapata Villa & Cia, its casual setting features museum-quality articles from the Mexican Revolution and sets the mood for an evening full of fun and great food. Make sure to save room for Mama Esther's desserts! The world's largest tequila collection and our trademark 'Hangman Drink' await guests, served by authentically uniformed staff. Thursday Pozole tradition from 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm with live music. Seating capacity 200 people inside, 180 people outside on the terrace. Open from Thursday to Saturday from 7.00 pm to 11.30 pm.
El Pescador
El Pescador, otherwise known as a 'gift from the sea', offers an unrivalled view of one of the most beautiful bays in the world. Guests dining at El Pescador will be able to observe the chefs preparing such delicacies as red snapper in coriander sauce or a specialty pizza from our wood-burning pizza oven. In the evening, romantic guitar music complements the Mediterranean-style decor, promising a memorable dining experience. Seating capacity 128 people. Open from Monday to Sunday from 12.30 pm to 11.30 pm.
La Ceiba
In the morning, guest can choose from a spectacular breakfast buffet with a wide array of juices and fruits and a cooking station where a uniformed chef prepares eggs to your liking. For lunch, the menu features international bistro fare and homestyle specialties. Seating capacity 280 people. Open from Monday to Sunday from 7.00 am -4.30 pm.
El Isleo
Offers Kosher food, open only during the winter season from Monday to Sunday from 7.00 am to 10.00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Acapulco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 43
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Incredible Dad
Business
Sacramento, California
Jan 5, 2014

Secured Family Hotel

The hotel is a Five Star for the cleanliness, staff generosity , and above how the whole hotel is secured. It is secured from the entrance of the hotel to the back where the the hotel's pool and its own section of the beach is located. You have great view of the Acapulco's bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aca[pulco Donna
Business
Waterloo, NY
Feb 24, 2010

Grand Hotel Acapulco

This year my entire family went to Acapulco with us. We always stay at the Grand Hotel (previously the Hyatt Regency). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed every minute of it. They are undergoing renovation so some amenities were not available, but will be in the near future and when we go again next year it will only get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a boat at the marina and go to the cliff divers by boat. Take taxis to bull fights and take bus everywhere else (busses are very inexpensive).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 31, 2011

Grand hotel

the beach and pool areas are beautiful!!!Despite what you hear,the tourist areas in Acapulco are safe and the beach and bay are great places just to hang.For those who keep kosher(like me) during the winter there is a kosher resturant and a synagogue.The hotel is currently being renovated so the rooms vary.I should mention, weather is greata nd the price is much lower then the Caribean!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
qnee
Business
burbank, ca
May 29, 2009

a most memorable time

the room balcony view was just outstanding, overlooking the bay and city lights. kids loved the pool, had a hard time getting them out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

save yourself an afternoon to do gift shopping, i found the best deals nearby, also i do not recommend shopping on departure day, time flys bye literally

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer at Playa
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 24, 2014

Some Issues

The staff at the front desk are slow. It took me about 45 min to check in because a tourist group was ahead of me checking in. The toilet got clogged up a few times, but the response was adequate. Room was spacious. We had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A fish place called PACO'S two blocks away was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, CA
Jan 24, 2011

great location for family vacation,

great hotel, the staff need to learn english. I was surprised the delux room did not come with complimentary breakfast. not as flexible as last year. I am easy going so for me was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mgaraito
Business
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Mar 30, 2013

Could be better, not really 5 star

Grand Hotel used to be the Hyatt, but due to the financial crisis four years ago, they decided not to pay franchise anymore. It's a big old hotel that probably used to be very exclusive in it's day, but it's not 5 star material anymore. Location is good, right at the end of the Costera, within walking distance of restaurants and shops The rooms are very spacious, however, they seriously need a do-over, as there are stains on the walls and rust on the hinges, which gives it away. We went during holy week, which is usually very busy in Acapulco and it was quite difficult finding a lounge chair by the pool the first day. Turns out people here in Mexico go down to the pool at 7 am, put their towels on the chair, and "save" their spot, even if no one is using the chair until four or five hours later, and you have to find somewhere else to sit, while all the chairs are empty but "taken". Strangely, that policy is condoned by the hotel, so, when in Rome..... The staff and reception area staff were lacking in service attitude, kind of indifferent, you almost felt like you were inconveniencing them by any request. Valet and pool staff weren't as bad, but hey, you need to have something that adds value! Every day I had to request towels from housekeeping because they wouldn't put them in my room or only a few, as well as the drinking water. It got annoying after a while. The key would also deactivate often and once I had to go down twice because they weren't programming it correctly. I was angry because on top of that, the guy at reception was kind of rude. I gave him a piece of my mind. The hotel is definitely not friendly for people with disabilities, since there are steps everywhere and no ramps. Steps to get to the lobby, steps to get to the pool, even little steps here and there which raise or lower the floor level. That's another thing that displays the age of the hotel and has not been corrected. I just thought of it as I trudged up and down the steps all day. Honestly, it's an ok hotel if you can get a good price, but I wouldn't pay 5 star prices, since it is definitely not 5 star quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mario del Barrio
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 18, 2013

Ok experience

In spite of the lack of international tourists at the hotel, the food was too expensive. To be competitive they should offer free Wi-Fi and gym. Staff was slow in responding to a complaint about ice machine in our floor. It took more than 5 times complaining for them to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momma is getting tired
Business
golden zone, Acapulco
Feb 11, 2014

Holiday

The above rating is based on the room we were eventually put in. I booked a room over the internet. I paid upfront for a 600 + sq ft room. When we arrived we were checked into a very small room. After you've tipped someone and your luggage has been delivered and its late at night and your tired..it is hard to understand why they would do that as it was low season in Mexico and the hotel was no where near full. I go back down to the front desk and explain the situation and they move us to another room. The size I actually had paid for. This seems to be a pattern in Mexico...they put you in something less than you have paid for and you have to work for what you should have been given in the first place. I get tired of all the time spent trying to fix things, as well as getting tired of tipping for these experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Dec 30, 2009

They are remodeling, and you can tell

I'm sure the hotel will be beautiful and well managed when the renovations have been completed. In the meantime, go there if you are on a budget and only if you are on a budget. Also, make sure you get one of the remodeled rooms. The older ones can be really grimy. Food by pool/beach is never brought out warm because the kitchen is so far inside the hotel (while they are remodeling poolside restaurant). Also the breakfast restaurant charged me for a meal I never had and filled out a receipt in spanish, and I was almost charged for it, until I threatened to cancel my credit card on file for all my room charges. Hotel has no amentities. Things like gym/spa are all outsouced and must be paid for to an outside company that is on site. Business center is only open until 6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PARADISE AND POMPANO ARE THE BEST RESTAURANTS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top