$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Grand Hotel Acapulco

3 stars
View map of Costera Miguel Aleman, # 1 Col. Icacos, Acapulco, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Acapulco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mgaraito
Business
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Mar 30, 2013

Could be better, not really 5 star

Grand Hotel used to be the Hyatt, but due to the financial crisis four years ago, they decided not to pay franchise anymore. It's a big old hotel that probably used to be very exclusive in it's day, but it's not 5 star material anymore. Location is good, right at the end of the Costera, within walking distance of restaurants and shops The rooms are very spacious, however, they seriously need a do-over, as there are stains on the walls and rust on the hinges, which gives it away. We went during holy week, which is usually very busy in Acapulco and it was quite difficult finding a lounge chair by the pool the first day. Turns out people here in Mexico go down to the pool at 7 am, put their towels on the chair, and "save" their spot, even if no one is using the chair until four or five hours later, and you have to find somewhere else to sit, while all the chairs are empty but "taken". Strangely, that policy is condoned by the hotel, so, when in Rome..... The staff and reception area staff were lacking in service attitude, kind of indifferent, you almost felt like you were inconveniencing them by any request. Valet and pool staff weren't as bad, but hey, you need to have something that adds value! Every day I had to request towels from housekeeping because they wouldn't put them in my room or only a few, as well as the drinking water. It got annoying after a while. The key would also deactivate often and once I had to go down twice because they weren't programming it correctly. I was angry because on top of that, the guy at reception was kind of rude. I gave him a piece of my mind. The hotel is definitely not friendly for people with disabilities, since there are steps everywhere and no ramps. Steps to get to the lobby, steps to get to the pool, even little steps here and there which raise or lower the floor level. That's another thing that displays the age of the hotel and has not been corrected. I just thought of it as I trudged up and down the steps all day. Honestly, it's an ok hotel if you can get a good price, but I wouldn't pay 5 star prices, since it is definitely not 5 star quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mario del Barrio
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 18, 2013

Ok experience

In spite of the lack of international tourists at the hotel, the food was too expensive. To be competitive they should offer free Wi-Fi and gym. Staff was slow in responding to a complaint about ice machine in our floor. It took more than 5 times complaining for them to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicholas B
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Oct 21, 2013

Good, not great

Good experience overall. The property itself seemed just seemed a little bit tired -- not the spit shine you'd expect from a former Hyatt resort. Overall, this was a clean, reasonably maintained property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico
Jun 12, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

to bad for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara, MX
Apr 5, 2010

Good intentions

The hotel is nice enough if you are not very demanding. It is undergoing a major renovation now but the renovated rooms look very cheap. The location is perfect if you want to be downtown in Acapulco. The beds are very comfortable and the food is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many nightclubs are within walking distance of the hotel. The "Alebrije" is right across the street, you can even hear the music from the halls (though luckily, not the rooms)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 5, 2009

Grand Horel Acapulco

Was accompanying a conferance participant. Big room.Safe on floor - had to get on knees to operate. Clean room No hot water 1st day - fixed rapidly - Great pool So-so beach.Too many locals hanging around hotel beach - had to pay for someone to bring chair to beach. City sewage pipes opening into beach too close to hotel - smelled of raw sewage..Good beach massage services. Overall very cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

excellent restaurants; very reasonable prices. people very nice and attentive. Primarily a Mexican Tourist spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Dec 30, 2009

They are remodeling, and you can tell

I'm sure the hotel will be beautiful and well managed when the renovations have been completed. In the meantime, go there if you are on a budget and only if you are on a budget. Also, make sure you get one of the remodeled rooms. The older ones can be really grimy. Food by pool/beach is never brought out warm because the kitchen is so far inside the hotel (while they are remodeling poolside restaurant). Also the breakfast restaurant charged me for a meal I never had and filled out a receipt in spanish, and I was almost charged for it, until I threatened to cancel my credit card on file for all my room charges. Hotel has no amentities. Things like gym/spa are all outsouced and must be paid for to an outside company that is on site. Business center is only open until 6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PARADISE AND POMPANO ARE THE BEST RESTAURANTS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 14, 2009

GOOD DEAL FOR THAT HOTEL

Everything was excellent except the price of the internet services very expenses, but in general was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JD2625
Business
Dearborn, MI
Dec 28, 2013

Below average hotel

Below average experience. I will probably not return in the future. My room was an un-renovated double bed room on the 10th floor. Pros: Good location Room was clean and spacious Cons: Very slow, discourteous front desk staff (talk on phone while assisting customers at the desk). Check out line was long and the overall scene chaotic. 50 peso charge to use a chair on the beach No reserved bed types; you get whatever they have available when you arrive Very small self-parking lot (not enough capacity to meet demand). Valet parking is slow. Pools and beach closed at 7 pm. Bed was uncomfortable Room upkeep was lacking (security latch not secured on the door, tub faucet would not stop running, dirty grout/caulking in bathroom). No clock in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Acapulco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
debbie 3
Business
mexico
Apr 15, 2010

acapulco

swim the whole day and we had fish on the beach yum and we also jet ski and went on a boat a refrigerator it was relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

the boat ride was great and my kids had chance to snorkel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top