$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

The Palace

5 stars
High Street, SLIEMA SLM16, Sliema,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
18 reviews
Perfect Base For Malta Break

Staff great helpful and informative. Room massive. Great place as a base lovely hotel to come back... See full review

  • Stafford Traveller
  • Apr 7, 2013
Good value for low-season stay

I stayed at the Palace Hotel in November, and found it very good value for money. The room was... See full review

  • SamW
  • Nov 19, 2013
Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city centre hotel, The Palace is a stylish Deluxe five star Boutique Hotel of distinctive elegance. The Palace is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace Malta, with its new quality and service standards sits nestled amongst the tranquil traditional Maltese town houses and villas yet still very accessible to the cosmopolitan cafes and leading business premises that make Sliema one of Malta foremost addresses. The guests can enjoy a luxurious Spa spread out on two levels, including a fresh water indoor pool and an outdoor pool. The facilities also include a fully equipped fitness room, a sun terrace, saunas, steam room and treatment rooms. Its the perfect place to retreat, relax and unwind from the pressures of everyday life. The Palace boasts the only Concept Suites in Malta which are inspired by the senses, namely View Suite, Music Suite, Texture Suite and Light Suite. These elegantly furnished Suites are inspired by the senses and offer different designs based on classical and contemporary lines aimed at offering guests an ultimate experience in hospitality exclusive to The Palace

The Palace Rooms

EXECUTIVE ROOM
The Executive rooms are designed with the corporate traveller in mind. Everything about this room says business but homely comfort at the same time. The Executive rooms are all situated on the 7th floor of the hotel. This is a guarantee of superb city and sea views, stretching from the beautiful Valletta harbour and port to the Sliema coast. The rooms are all equipped with comfortable outdoor seating in the balcony to make sure you can enjoy the view in the comfort. The Executive room is a cut above the rest because it is supplied with: an Illy coffee machine, daily supply of water, complimentary use of mini bar, complimentary use of WIFI, a fruit basket on arrival ,10% discount on transfers booked with Prestige Cabs Malta
STANDARD - ROOM
This Comfort Room offers one double or two twins along with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.
DELUXE - ROOM
This Deluxe Room offers one double or three twin beds along with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
This Superior Roon offers one double or three twin beds along with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palace also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.9122 14.5035
Area served
Sliema
Nearby airports
Malta International Airport
Area description
The Palace is within easy reach of the hub of the island. Vibrant Sliema, which can be reached within a short walking distance from The Palace, is renowned for its shopping areas, a busy seafront, trendy restaurants, bars and caf?s. Following a pleasant walk down the Sliema promenade, one finds Spinola Bay, where more restaurants are concentrated; this leading to St. Julians, a town popular for its bustling nightlife and casinos.

Dining

Tabloid
main restaurant, is a versatile venue offering contemporary Mediterranean cuisine in a stylish and modern setting. As the name implies, it is the place where events take place; being a healthy start to a new day, the enjoyment of a sumptuous Sunday lunch with the dear ones to a lavish meal in the evening with the special guests.
Talk of Town Cafe
It is situated next to the beautifully restored 18th century chapel, is the place to be seen in the heart of Sliema combining fashionable dining, exquisite food and an array of fine wines to create a vibrant and distinctive ambiance.
TemptAsian Lounge Bar and Restaurant
It is situated on the 9th floor, with truly magnificent panoramic views of Sliema and the Grand Harbour, offers a fusion of Asian and Western cuisines in a tropical and relaxing Asian themed setting. Chic surroundings and a warm atmosphere are complemented by a cool menu. The selection of food takes you to different places; being China, India, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and Thailand. Sushi & Sashimi will also be available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for The Palace

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SamW
London
Nov 19, 2013

Good value for low-season stay

I stayed at the Palace Hotel in November, and found it very good value for money. The room was enormous and very clean, with a nice balcony. The TemptAsian restaurant is the highlight of the hotel. Other meals were decent but not outstanding, though still good value. My only complaint would be the very poor internet connection available on the public computers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The buses to Valletta are frequently very full, but the ferry gets you there in ten minutes.

Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kalla
U K
Sep 29, 2013

Excellent holiday

We had a very pleasant stay here. The first room we had, had a very noisy air-conditioner. However, as soon as we complained about this, the staff were very apologetic and gave us an upgrade with excellent views of the sea. The rooms without a view are quite dark, so I would definitely recommend a room with a view. The hotel is so situated that a five minute walk in any direction takes you to the waterfront. Very friendly staff and excellent service. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Blue Lagoon on Comino Island. 60 minutes by boat from Sliema

Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yutaka
England
Aug 15, 2013

Great hotel

Staff, pool and location are all good. I want to visit this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The pool is so nice to relax.

Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stafford Traveller
Stafford
Apr 7, 2013

Perfect Base For Malta Break

Staff great helpful and informative. Room massive. Great place as a base lovely hotel to come back to after a busy day sightseeing. Would higly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Arriva Buses are great for getting around the island on your own. 2.60 a day or 12.00 for a weekly ticket.

Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paris Convert
Birmingham, UK
Mar 30, 2013

Relaxing break

Really good quality hotel, however the directions there on the website wasn't clear at all. It is only 5 minutes away from the bus tops once we found our way. We were located on the 1st floor, only downside was that the bells on the church opposite the hotel rang every half hour! This stopped our sleep the first night, but you eventually get used to it. Overall, a clean and luxurious hotel, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulBek
Business
London
Dec 21, 2012

Excellent Hotel in Great Location

Everything was great staying here. Staff friendly and facilities were very good indeed. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Ferry to Valetta.

Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaynie
UK
Sep 30, 2012

The Palace

We booked our trip to Malta last minute and have conflicting feelings about The Palace. First impression was that it is a beatiful hotel tucked away from the busy harbour area which pleased us as we were looking forward to a quiet relaxing break. We arrived very early due to our early morning flight from Manchester. We didn't expect our room, which we were told was on the 4th floor, to be ready but when we went back to reception at 3pm the room was still not ready and we were given a room at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor which was complicated to get to and seemed to be a disabled room. Although we had a few 'quiet' days some days when the hotel had a function we were directly above the outside area used and we couldn't sit on the balcony due to the noise. Breakfast is not included in the hotel rate but we were offered a discount for booking 3 days. The food at the restaurants at the hotel was very good. I would definitely stay at The Palace again but would ensure I requested the 4th floor or above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We booked a package of tours with Malta Sightseeing. all the tours left from the harbour a short walk from the hotel. Good value. The round the island tour including lunch was a fabulous day out, & the tour of Gozo is a must.

Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller58
Essex UK
Sep 17, 2012

Nice Hotel Could Easily Do Better

Hotel was an Oasis in an otherwise poor looking neighbourhood. Comfortable rooms & nice ifinity pool on the roof. Food very nice and staff all very polite. However, with a little more attention to detail & customer complaints they could be better. I asked 3 times to be able to lower air con but despite logging my request I suspect a hotel policy of not lowering below 25C ruled. Another niggle was some mould in the shower. It was a glass shower & the mould around the door hinges could quite easily have been removed with a little bleach. The 2 saunas failed to work & again I and others complained but to no avail. Lastly the pool and facilities was fine but from Saturday pm it was closed to guests as there was a wedding reception being held. You are therefore paying for facilities that are not available. With attention to these niggles I would give the hotel 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Golf
New York, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2012

couldn't have asked for better!

we had a suite overlooking Valletta: very romantic and relaxing. everything was exactely as one would have wanted it. Couldn't aske for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

the Asian rooftop restaurant is unbeatable!

Review of The Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAwales
UK
Aug 7, 2012

perfect for a relaxing break.

I stayed at The palace for a long weekend and couldn't wish for a more relaxing destination. The Staff are friendly and helpful and the food through out the hotel is excellent and the portions were a huge - I don't think I ever finished a meal. The pools are lovely - and the gazebo experience is definitely worth it. The room was comfortable with surprisingly efficient air con, the only slight niggle was the very low water pressure in the shower (even on the first floor) however this wasn't a real problem. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a 'get away from everything' break and I ended up wishing I was staying a little longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top