$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

5 stars
Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, KOTA KINABALU, 88991
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
4 reviews
Very good

I was very happy with the hotel I would stay there again See full review

  • Harvey prince
  • Jan 13, 2014
Hyatt review

Location was within walking distance to most places in downtown. Only the pool was being renovated... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 8, 2011
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu is a 14 story highrise in the heart of Kota Kinabalu city overlooking the island-studded South China Sea. Features a 5 story atrium lobby in the heart of of the business, shopping and entertainment district. Dec 2013 to end of year 2014, Hyatt Regency Kinabalu will undergo a major renovation project to upgrade its restaurants. The renovation will involve its main coffeehouse Tanjung Ria Cafe, The Chinese Restaurant, The Atrium, the lobby and our kitchens. Please be advised that during this period, our menu offerings may be limited and intermittent noise is expected during working hours.

Hotel Map

5.9852 116.0751
Nearby airports
Kota Kinabalu, (BKI), 10.00, KM, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Kinabalu also booked these hotels.

Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Rooms

Standard
City or atrium view. Located on floors 2 through 10. 1 king or 2 twins

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Jogging track
Tennis
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Mt Kinabalu: 34.1 mi

Dining

The Chinese Restaurant
The city's most elegant and comfortable Chinese restaurant featuring classic Cantonese, Szechaun and Shanghainese favorites plus innovative and delicious Dim Sim.
Nagisa Japanese Restaurant
The country-inn inspired Nagisa Japanese Restaurant overlooks the enchanting South China Sea offering a sushi bar, two teppanyaki counters, a tatami room and an open kitchen counter.
Tanjung Ria Cafe
A busy cosmopolitan cafe featuring a wide selection of local and international specialties. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5
Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goodies
UK
Sep 29, 2010

Great Hotel and Friendly Staff

The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. the rooms are very well furnished and comfortuble. The on-going refurbishment tends to get on your nerves after a while and due to these works the pool is out of use - but they will supply transport down to the Meridian free of charge. There is no beach near by however for @ 40 Ritzel return you can go to one of the near by islands which is well worth the effort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Night foodhall is very good value for money and is a real good expierence @ 10 Ritzel by taxi and food is @ 100 per person

Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheapo traveller
Singapore
Jan 26, 2010

Everything we expected.

We (my brother and I, age 21 & 19) arrived on the morning of 23 Jan for a 3 night stay in Kota Kinabalu. We booked the Hyatt due to the cheap price (US$60/night), most probably so cheap because it is currently undergoing renovations. We expected the renovations (thanks to their website) and were prepared for it. For the price we paid, I am definitely not in a position to complain about the very audible drilling that took place from 9am - 4.30pm. Neither am I complaining about the slight tinge of "renovation smell" in the corridor. However, the room, while dated, was actually very clean and well maintained. Service was definitely what you would expect at any other Hyatt establishment. Absolutely no complains there. To sum it up, if you are planning to stay here from now till end-2010 (when their renovations are slated to be completed), do expect inconveniences due to the renovations. But, I believe that they have reduced their rates for this period, so its up to you if you want to save some money and put up with all that. Should you want to pay more, definitely try the "Le Meridien", which is located in a slightly more central location and is not in renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in Kota Kinabalu, definitely do not miss having dinner at Sedco. Just tell the taxi driver "Sedco" (pronounced sad-co) and he should know. It is less than 10 mins from anywhere within the city area. Once there, you have 4 restaurants to choose from, all are similarly priced and of similar quality. Just pick the one you find most attractive. The word of the day here: "seafood". Enjoy!

Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harvey prince
Borneo
Jan 13, 2014

Very good

I was very happy with the hotel I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 8, 2011

Hyatt review

Location was within walking distance to most places in downtown. Only the pool was being renovated but that forced me to visit the nearby islands. Doormen were knowledgeable and helpful in directing me to local spots and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The seafood at Sedco square is much more reasonable than the bigger places for the same quality.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search