$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

4 stars
View map of 29 Bd. Roosevelt, Luxembourg City, 2450

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
6 reviews
Customer Service from a bygone age!

The location of this hotel could not be better. Having arrived by rail from Brussels we were able... See full review

  • Ageing Traveller Couple
  • Oct 12, 2014
Great location ... but its a bit tired

The rooms were adequate but the furniture is tired and the massive TV speaks volumes about the last... See full review

  • Eurotripper
  • Mar 22, 2012
The Grand Hotel Cravat, only real four star in the city center close to the pedestrian area, the old city, the major shopping streets and the European institutions. The Grand_Ducal Castle and the city tours are starting within 4 minutes walking distance. The hotel can welcome you in a typical Brasserie "La Taverne", in a gastronomical restaurant "Le Normandy" and a cocktail bar "Le Trianon".

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard single or twin bedded room, facing the city with all modern facilities like mini-bar, WIFI connections, hairdryer, radio, Tv with cable. Some rooms with balcony. Smoker or non-smoker rooms.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Nice large rooms facing the valley when twin rooms, single rooms have the same view. All modern facilities like in the standard rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Ducal Palace: 0.2 mi
  • The National Museum for History and Art: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Thungen: 0.6 mi

Dining

Brasserie
The place to have lunch or dine if you would like to be in contact with the locals. It has been the place to eat when it comes to local cuisine and this for the last 4 generations of the Cravat Family.
Restaurant
Located on the first floor, our gastronomical restaurant will guide you through an exclusive french and local cuisine. At lunch time or in the evening.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We offer our guests three meeting rooms from 6 to 40 persons. These rooms have daylight, are air-conditionned and have all electrical appliances that you must have for a good meeting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ageing Traveller Couple
Business
Suffolk, UK
Oct 12, 2014

Customer Service from a bygone age!

The location of this hotel could not be better. Having arrived by rail from Brussels we were able to enjoy our first visit to Luxembourg with a pleasant walk to the "Grand Hotel Cravat" the hotel built over a hundred years ago has hosted many famous people over this time but one thing that doesn't seem to have changed is the customer service. Yes some of the hotel is tired but it is evident that a major update is taking place though out. My personal opinion is that it all added to the charm. Yes I would recommend this hotel and yes I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take a tour bus from the constitution square just across the road from the Hotel.

Review of Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eurotripper
Business
London, UK
Mar 22, 2012

Great location ... but its a bit tired

The rooms were adequate but the furniture is tired and the massive TV speaks volumes about the last time the place was refurbished. The rooms were fairly clean but the bed spread was worn. There wasn't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room - which was surprising for a 4 start hotel (which this isn't btw!). The saving grace is the location. Really nice and central. The breakfast was also really really good + friendly waiting staff - so top marks here Cravat. If you're young (or young at heart) this isn't the hotel for you though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 21, 2010

Convenient location, but noisy

Travelled on business w/ colleague and then joined by my husband. The 2 rooms I had were vastly different in comfort levels and size, despite their being the same price category. My colleague and I were jammed into a very small room, with no coffee-maker and not even a fan could be found on the blazingly hot nights we spent there. Even ice was scarce, and had to be gotten in tiny amounts. The first room was lower down, and extremely noisy on the street side. Hard to sleep w/o ear plugs. Although, it was World Cup week, so not the hotel's fault for some of the noise, but because of NO air-conditioning, the windows had to be open. Second room had a coffee maker, and finally we got a fan. Also larger and more private on upper floor. Expensive restaurants in hotel were empty, while other local places were booked. I'd suggest finding a lower priced chef. Excellent breakfast and nice staff. Close to train station, and center of historic Luxembourg City. Staying there in cooler season might solve some of the above issues, but ice machine really necessary. Clean and well-maintained, but maybe a little below its 4-star ranking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a city tour, 8 Euros. Go to Echternach, a lovely medieval town.

Review of Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Co Dublin
Jun 22, 2010

Overrated Hotel

City centre location was great, easy access to public transport, bars, restaurants, etc. However, I arrived to find no room available until next day and was moved to another hotel for my first night(appears to be standard practice).No double glazing meant constant street noise - day and night. The TV reception was abysmal and internet connection in this day and age should be easy and free!Would I stay here again? Probably not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N. Virginia
Mar 30, 2010

[...]

The location is good except that there is no parking and you have to find a public parking. The bed was not as good as a motel 6. Everything was old. Maybe at one time it was a four star but not any more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Co Dublin
Jun 22, 2010

Overrated Hotel

City centre location was great, easy access to public transport, bars, restaurants, etc. However, I arrived to find no room available until next day and was moved to another hotel for my first night(appears to be standard practice).No double glazing meant constant street noise - day and night. The TV reception was abysmal and internet connection in this day and age should be easy and free!Would I stay here again? Probably not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top