$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

3 stars
5-15-8 SHINJUKU, SHINJUKU-KU, TOKYO, 160-0022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
13 reviews
Great value

~15 min walk from Shinjuku station. Simple but very adequate accommodations, it was a fantastic value. See full review

  • zuligoo
  • Sep 23, 2013
Comfortable, affordable, convenient.

The Sunlite Shinjuku provided perfect accomodations with two rooms for the 4 of us for 4 nights... See full review

  • Good Knights
  • May 25, 2007
Offering a favourable location and relaxing atmosphere, Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo is the right choice of accommodation, while visiting Japan. Hamarikyu Gardens is a public park and a landscaped garden surrounded by Shioiri Pond, a sea water moat filled by Tokyo Bay. A not-to-be-missed attraction of the city is Inokashira Park. Jindai Botanical Garden is worth a visit. Famous attractions of the area are Meiji Shrine and Asakusa Temple. The Hakone National Park, known as the Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, is the most incredible outdoor-excursion in Japan. The hotel offers a restaurant. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. This hotel features business amenities including a business center and a meeting/conference room. The staff can provide tour assistance and computer rentals. Additional amenities include a concierge desk, laundry facilities, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Guest parking is available on a limited first-come, first-served basis (surcharge). Nearby parking is also available. The property has designated areas for smoking. The air-conditioned guest rooms at Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo include MP3 docking stations and CD players. Guests can use the in-room complimentary wired high-speed Internet access. 20-inch flat-panel televisions are equipped with digital channels and pay movies. All accommodations provide desks, safes, and phones. Bathrooms offer separate bathtubs and showers with deep soaking bathtubs, handheld shower heads, and rainfall shower heads. Bathrooms also include scales, bathrobes, and hair dryers. All units feature refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Additional amenities include washers/dryers and slippers. In addition, amenities available on request include in-room massages, irons/ironing boards, and wake-up calls. Turn-down service is offered nightly and housekeeping is available daily.

Hotel Map

35.6942 139.707
Area served
Tokyo, Japan.
Nearby airports
Haneda Airport, Narita Airport.
Area description
Located in Tokyo (Kabukicho), Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku is close to Hanazono Shrine, Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building, and Meiji Jingu Shrine. Also nearby are Yoyogi Park and Isetan Department Store Shinjuku.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo Rooms

Guest Room
Bath and shower, international direct dial, television, refrigerator, tea making facilities, towels, shampoo, conditioner, body liquid soap, toothbrush, razor, shower cap, hair dryer, shower toilet bidet, free Internet access

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Shinjuku Station: 0.2 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 0.3 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 0.5 mi
  • Sumo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Waseda: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Sword Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Meiji Jingu: 1.3 mi
  • Yoyogi Park: 1.6 mi
  • Mejiro: 1.9 mi
  • Myogonji Temple: 1.9 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 2 mi
  • Tokyo Metropolitan Children's Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Iidabashi: 2.2 mi
  • Sunshine City: 2.5 mi
  • Shinjuku Station: 0.2 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 0.3 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 0.5 mi
  • Sumo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Waseda: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Sword Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Meiji Jingu: 1.3 mi
  • Yoyogi Park: 1.6 mi
  • Mejiro: 1.9 mi
  • Myogonji Temple: 1.9 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 2 mi
  • Tokyo Metropolitan Children's Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Iidabashi: 2.2 mi
  • Sunshine City: 2.5 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 2.6 mi
  • LaQua: 2.7 mi
  • Asagaya: 3.1 mi
  • Azabu: 3.2 mi
  • Tokyo Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Otemachi: 3.3 mi
  • Yebisu Garden Place: 3.3 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 3.4 mi
  • Marunouchi: 3.5 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Museum Yebisu: 3.6 mi
  • Kanda: 3.6 mi
  • Ginza: 3.6 mi
  • Shiba Park: 3.7 mi
  • Ueno Park: 3.8 mi
  • Kabukiza Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Nihonbashi: 3.9 mi
  • Akihabara: 3.9 mi
  • Hamamatsucho: 3.9 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 3.9 mi
  • Tsukiji Fish Market: 3.9 mi
  • Ameyoko: 4 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 4 mi
  • Tsukiji: 4 mi
  • Sangenjaya: 4 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 4.1 mi
  • Hachiko Statue: 4.2 mi
  • Kobayashi Doll Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Tokyo National Museum: 4.3 mi

Dining

Floret
This restaurant opens through the day and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is located in the annex building. Guests can enjoy delicious Japanese or American breakfast there.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeattleLanna
Seattle, WA
Aug 6, 2012

A great price in a great location

I selected Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku after doing some research on hotels in the Shinjuku or Shibuya districts. I had a 24 hour layover en route to Mongolia and did not desire to spend it in the airport. I booked a single room here, and took the JR Express train from Narita (I highly recommend buying the combined Suica/N'ex card at the airport if you are a foreigner). The deal can't be beat, but be warned, the lines can take a long time. But, back to the hotel---a 10-20 minute walk from the Shinjuku JR Express station. The time varies based on how crowded it is, especially if you are pulling luggage with you. The directions provided by the hotel left something to be desired, but I was able to navigate my way there after locating some landmarks/large stores and using my middle school Japanese to ask for directions. The hotel staff was friendly and spoke English well. I felt the room was on the large side of Tokyo-sized and had the amenities needed for a comfortable night (or several). For the price, I cannot make any complaints on the hotel. The location was great at less than a 5 minute walk and you were in the thick of Shinjuku nightlife. I'm actually glad it wasn't closer otherwise it probably would have been too noisy to sleep. It was very close to restaurants, bars, shopping, many transportation options and much more. It is also one block away from the Hanazono Shinto Shrine. For a budget traveler looking for a hotel room in one of the liveliest districts inside Tokyo proper for under $100, I 100% recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shinjuku visitor
Honolulu, HI
Jul 24, 2014

Standard businessman hotel

Getting a hotel room for less than $100 per night is not easy in Tokyo, but this deal was too good to pass up. The staff was friendly and most of all the room was clean. It was tiny, but enough for one person to get by. Close enough to restaurants and the subway/train system to get where you need to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VoidReturner
Oakland, California
Apr 29, 2014

A paranoid hotel in Japan

The weird thing about this hotel is that they require you to return the key to the desk whenever you go out. Not being trusted by the staff was a weird feeling for Japan. They will also not allow any visitors to the rooms. The rooms themselves are cubicle style with a single faucet for both shower and sink. The hotel was clean but a little less so for a Japanese hotel. On golden week the price for the room was quite ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Kabukicho

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zuligoo
San Francisco, CA
Sep 23, 2013

Great value

~15 min walk from Shinjuku station. Simple but very adequate accommodations, it was a fantastic value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeattleLanna
Seattle, WA
Aug 6, 2012

A great price in a great location

I selected Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku after doing some research on hotels in the Shinjuku or Shibuya districts. I had a 24 hour layover en route to Mongolia and did not desire to spend it in the airport. I booked a single room here, and took the JR Express train from Narita (I highly recommend buying the combined Suica/N'ex card at the airport if you are a foreigner). The deal can't be beat, but be warned, the lines can take a long time. But, back to the hotel---a 10-20 minute walk from the Shinjuku JR Express station. The time varies based on how crowded it is, especially if you are pulling luggage with you. The directions provided by the hotel left something to be desired, but I was able to navigate my way there after locating some landmarks/large stores and using my middle school Japanese to ask for directions. The hotel staff was friendly and spoke English well. I felt the room was on the large side of Tokyo-sized and had the amenities needed for a comfortable night (or several). For the price, I cannot make any complaints on the hotel. The location was great at less than a 5 minute walk and you were in the thick of Shinjuku nightlife. I'm actually glad it wasn't closer otherwise it probably would have been too noisy to sleep. It was very close to restaurants, bars, shopping, many transportation options and much more. It is also one block away from the Hanazono Shinto Shrine. For a budget traveler looking for a hotel room in one of the liveliest districts inside Tokyo proper for under $100, I 100% recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Koala Bear
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 26, 2012

Good hotel for the price

A lot of hotels in Tokyo are very expensive so this hotel was good for our budget. The location was decent with the nearest subway station at about a 5 minute walk. However, the service was okay and the walls were very thin. We had the TV on at a normal volume and we got a phone call from the front saying that we are being too loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
notmyname
Texas, USA
Oct 1, 2011

very good location

Convenient location right next to Shinjuku-sanchome station, and not too far from Shinjuku station. Room was fine, kind of worn/dated, but ok. Good (wired) internet connection in room. Staff was friendly and spoke enough English to make for an easy check in and out. I was in the annex with a room facing the alley/street between the main hotel and the annex and street noise was not a problem. Good location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2010

long walk from Shinjuku station

We, three adults and one 7 years old traveled in Japan and decided to find a hotel that is easy for us to get to the airport the next morning from Shinjuku Station. We reserved two none-smoking rooms; they put us in different floors, also told us only one none-smoking available for us. They didn't even try AT ALL to re-arrange for us when we asked nicely . We thought this was the worst service we had ever encountered during our Japan stays. Japanese are usually friendly and helpful. Moreover, this hotel is way far from walking to the main Shinjuku station, about 20 to 30 mins walk. We will go back to Star Hotel next time, their staff and location are most ideal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is Ok in this area, but if you want to get to the Shinjuku main station, this hotel is not ideal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco, ca. usa
Nov 30, 2010

convenient

actually the hotel not in SHINJUKU but SHINJUKU Sanchome Station via metro line "Marunouchi" and out of the exit "E1", which differs from the Toei-Line Station "Oedo-E1". front staff can speak english and were helpful. both check in and out were smooth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Flyer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 3, 2010

Value in Shinjuku

I frequently travel to Japan and usually stay a night in Shinjuku on arrival and departure to give easy access to the NEX express to Narita. The prices of my usual hotels were high during my last visit so decided to try the Sunlite which was less than half the price of the alternatves. And it was perfectly adequate. The usual small room of course but then all hotels in Tokyo are the same unless you spend significantly more money. The staff were efficient and friendly, the the bed was comfortable and there as free internet in the room. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It can be a fairly long crowded walk from Shinjuku station if you have luggage. There is a metro exit close to the hotel with a tunnel taking all the way to the JR lines. Use it to avoid the crowds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 16, 2010

Sunlilte Shinjuku - Good Value

If you are looking for a hotel primarily as a place to sleep and in a convenient location, the Shinjuku Sunlite is a very good value. It is a short walk from Shinjuku station. The rooms are utilitarian with limited amenities, but they are clean and quiet. The front desk staff are very helpful. I plan to return to this hotel for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the excellent Tokyo subway and rail system for your transportation needs. Get a day or week pass which will save a good deal of money and fumbling for change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search