$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Hotel Niwa Tokyo

4 stars
View map of 1-1-16 Misaki-cho,Chiyoda-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, 101-0061

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Best trip of my life

The Hotel Niwa in Tokyo was amazing. A great value, was cheaper to stay there than at some low... See full review

  • David B.
  • Feb 11, 2015
Memorable trip to Tokyo

Initially the hotel was a little difficult to find as it is in a back ally and not on the main... See full review

  • YazB
  • Nov 24, 2014
Michelin-rated stylish hotel in central Iidabashi

Hotel Niwa offers convenient access to Tokyo's major sites while serving as a tranquil retreat in the city. The hotel hosts a garden courtyard as well as a rooftop garden adjacent to the relaxation room. The Michelin Guide to Tokyo 2010 awarded Niwa two stars. Comfortable rooms range from standard to chic premium, offering modern tranquility. Elegant Japanese and French restaurants are available for those with discerning tastes. The Hotel Niwa Tokyo has two banquet rooms with the small, yet stylish Sui room overlooking the garden courtyard.

Highlights
  • Michelin-rated hotel
  • On-site Japanese garden offers guests a place to relax
  • Relaxation room adjacent to rooftop garden, complete with massage chairs
  • Workout room open into the night with treadmills and bikes
  • French and Japanese dining in exquisite settings

 

Rooms

All rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet access and LCD TV. The décor is stylishly modern, yet minimalist, fitting Japanese design tastes. Comfort rooms add a touch of tradition with Japanese sliding paper screens. Whirlpool baths in premium rooms give guests a relaxing evening option.

 

Features

The Hotel Niwa Tokyo plays up the urban retreat concept with an onsite garden courtyard, whirlpool bath option in some rooms and a top-floor relaxation room. The hotel's stunning restaurants serve fine-dining Japanese and French cuisine. Western buffet and Japanese style breakfasts are available, plus lunch and dinner options in each restaurant with extensive wine and sake selections. For guests who wish to venture into bustling Tokyo, the Suidobashi Station is a short walk away. 

 

Transportation
  • Suidobashi Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Haneda Airport  (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Narita Airport (40.8 mi/65.7km)

 

Attractions
  • Tokyo Dome City (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ginza (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Shinjuku (3.4 mi/5.5 km)

 

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment and whiteboards
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy and printing services (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet access

 

Policies and fees
Baby cot is available for an additional payment of 3,465JPY per night (service charge and tax included).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Niwa Tokyo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Hotel Niwa Tokyo Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
STANDARD - HOSTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
SUPERIOR - HOSTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 1.5 mi
  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 1.5 mi
  • Hachiko Statue: 1.5 mi
  • Asakusabashi: 1.6 mi
  • Nihonbashi: 1.7 mi
  • Tokyo National Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marunouchi: 1.7 mi
  • Waseda: 2 mi
  • Kokugikan Sumo Museum: 2 mi
  • Tokyo City Air Terminal: 2.1 mi
  • Myogonji Temple: 2.1 mi
  • Hakozaki Station: 2.1 mi
  • Edo Tokyo Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kabukiza Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Hanayashiki Amusement Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sensoji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Tsukiji: 2.5 mi
  • Tsukiji Fish Market: 2.5 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 2.8 mi
  • Sunshine City: 2.9 mi
  • Tokyo Tower: 3 mi
  • Shinjuku Station: 3 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Hamamatsucho: 3.1 mi
  • Mejiro: 3.2 mi
  • Kinshicho: 3.2 mi
  • Shiba Park: 3.3 mi
  • Azabu: 3.3 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 3.4 mi
  • Kobayashi Doll Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Meiji Jingu: 3.6 mi
  • Sumo Museum: 3.7 mi

Dining

Grill & Bar Lieu
The Grill & Bar Lieu takes its name from the French word for "place", which - in a linguistic coincidence that resonates with the sound of the stream in the hotel's inner courtyard - is phonetically identical to the Japanese word for "flow". With an impressive wine cellar and a wide selection light, healthful, Provenal-style dishes made from seasonal vegetables, prime-cut meats and poultry, and fresh-caught seafood, it offers a dining experience that is sure to delight.
Japanese Restaurant Yukuri
Located across the garden courtyard from the hotel's main building, Yukuri takes its name from an ancient Japanese word that means "to achieve rapport." Here you can experience authentic kaiseki cuisine in a setting that is at once modern and traditionally Japanese. Whether you enjoy your meal with a sweeping view of the garden courtyard, or in the intimacy of Yukuri's private dining room, it will be a culinary experience you are sure to treasure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 73
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David B.
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Best trip of my life

The Hotel Niwa in Tokyo was amazing. A great value, was cheaper to stay there than at some low grade hotels in the states. Room was small but had everything we needed. Staff were great and the location is very close to a train station and the Tokyo Dome. Be sure to venture out to some of the local eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sonicc
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2014

Convenient and Quiet Location

The hotel is located in central Tokyo. The closest station, Suidobashi, is around a 3-5 minute walk away. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day. If you need recommendations on where to eat and what to do during your stay, don't hesitate to ask the staff. They try their best to provide you with everything. Overall, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YazB
Business
Abu Dhabi
Nov 24, 2014

Memorable trip to Tokyo

Initially the hotel was a little difficult to find as it is in a back ally and not on the main street. The first night we went exploring and referenced a 7/11 to find our way back. This was a big mistake as there was one on almost every corner in that area! Hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and always willing to help. The rooms were clean and well looked after throughout the day. The rooms are a little on the smaller side but that seems to be the case with everything in Japan. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Niwa and would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenny5
Business
Newport Rhode Island
Nov 24, 2014

Great boutique hotel

Had a little difficulty first finding the hotel, but once we did everything was very easy. The Hotel Niwa is located in a central spot so transportation was very easy. There were a few little and good restaurants around it so that was handy. The hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful. They answered all of our questions and went out of their way to help us. The little touches in the hotel were the best (most luxurious) of the four hotels we stayed in (Kyoto, Nara, and another in Tokyo). The room was spacious, and was the only hotel of the four with a gym. We were very happy, and we absolutely have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We have heard of the high Tokyo prices. We were concerned but not worried. The trick is to be willing to explore, do your research (not too much), know your limits, and just ask questions. We have lived in New York City and have spent some time in Paris, and know that you do not have to break the bank to have a nice and enjoyable meal in a fine restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kand T
Business
MA, USA
Oct 7, 2014

Exceptional stay

Very helpful staff for our first visit in Tokyo. The hotel is very close to subway stations and therefore very convenient. The amenities are exceptional - including fresh pajamas every day. Many restaurants and convenience stores around. We already plan to stay there during our next visit to an amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dome City very close for casual dining and bakery goods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daylightbright
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Sep 14, 2014

Satisfactory

The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff was amiable and helpful, and the location was great for the price. Once you get there from Suidobashi station, you won't forget where it is. Suidobashi is right next to Shinjuku, Shiyuba, and Ueno, so you can't ask for better at this price. I'll never forget my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be go cheap and easy with food in Japan! In my opinion, you're right next to some of the best food in the world. Trek over to 511 Kaiseki (very expensive, but lifetime experience) and just skip fast food. Pack up some ramen from a Family mart on your way out, not on your way in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Copelia San
Business
México, Distrito Federal
Jun 13, 2014

The best

The attention, the place, the buffett, the pyjamas and all the service is really exceptional. Congratulations. If we returned to Tokyo, we will host in this hotel. The rail station is near and easy to use to go to all city and all country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Heart Japan
Business
California
May 12, 2014

Great hotel in Japan if you don't mind smaller space

Great location and great staff. Amenities are replaced every day, and cleaning service resets room every day so it appears like you just checked in (asides from your baggage of course). My wife and I are 5'9 and 5'4 respectively so we don't mind the smaller space. Bigger people might find the room and bed cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily L
Business
London
Apr 16, 2014

Lovely hotel

More expensive than we were aiming for but little was available in Tokyo at short notice. Got a promotional discount which made it very good value considering the style and comfort of the rooms. Good location - a short walk from Suidobashi metro and overland stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

An overview map of the transport system with station names in English was invaluable - we were given one free at the airport when we got our first train ticket into the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Island
Business
Hawaii
Jul 11, 2013

Amazing trip to Japan

The hotel was what I had expected based on the reviews. Our stay was fantastic. Even though small the room had enough space and very comfortable. It was the nicest of all the hotels we stayed at in Japan. It was nice to have the exercise gym and laundry room. The staff was very helpful. It was easy to get around Tokyo because train and subway stations close by. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top