$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel Niwa Tokyo

4 stars
View map of 1-1-16 Misaki-cho,Chiyoda-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, 101-0061

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
79 reviews
Loved It

Great location! I really enjoyed my time there and was treated well by the staff. Very cleaned area... See full review

  • Apee
  • Jun 2, 2015
Best trip of my life

The Hotel Niwa in Tokyo was amazing. A great value, was cheaper to stay there than at some low... See full review

  • David B.
  • Feb 11, 2015

Hotel Niwa offers convenient access to Tokyo's major sites while serving as a tranquil retreat in the city. The hotel hosts a garden courtyard as well as a rooftop garden adjacent to the relaxation room. The Michelin Guide to Tokyo 2010 awarded Niwa two stars. Comfortable rooms range from standard to chic premium, offering modern tranquility. Elegant Japanese and French restaurants are available for those with discerning tastes. The Hotel Niwa Tokyo has two banquet rooms with the small, yet stylish Sui room overlooking the garden courtyard.

Rooms

All rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet access and LCD TV. The décor is stylishly modern, yet minimalist, fitting Japanese design tastes. Comfort rooms add a touch of tradition with Japanese sliding paper screens. Whirlpool baths in premium rooms give guests a relaxing evening option.

 

Property features

The Hotel Niwa Tokyo plays up the urban retreat concept with an onsite garden courtyard, whirlpool bath option in some rooms and a top-floor relaxation room. The hotel's stunning restaurants serve fine-dining Japanese and French cuisine. Western buffet and Japanese style breakfasts are available, plus lunch and dinner options in each restaurant with extensive wine and sake selections. For guests who wish to venture into bustling Tokyo, the Suidobashi Station is a short walk away. 

 

Highlights
  • Michelin-rated hotel
  • On-site Japanese garden offers guests a place to relax
  • Relaxation room adjacent to rooftop garden, complete with massage chairs
  • Workout room open into the night with treadmills and bikes
  • French and Japanese dining in exquisite settings

 

Nearby attractions
  • Tokyo Dome City (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ginza (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Shinjuku (3.4 mi/5.5 km)

 

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment and whiteboards
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy and printing services (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet access

 

Transportation
  • Suidobashi Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Haneda Airport  (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Narita Airport (40.8 mi/65.7km)

 

Policies
Baby cot is available for an additional payment of 3,465JPY per night (service charge and tax included).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Niwa Tokyo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Niwa Tokyo Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
STANDARD - HOSTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
SUPERIOR - HOSTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 1.5 mi
  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 1.5 mi
  • Hachiko Statue: 1.5 mi
  • Asakusabashi: 1.6 mi
  • Nihonbashi: 1.7 mi
  • Tokyo National Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marunouchi: 1.7 mi
  • Waseda: 2 mi
  • Kokugikan Sumo Museum: 2 mi
  • Tokyo City Air Terminal: 2.1 mi
  • Myogonji Temple: 2.1 mi
  • Hakozaki Station: 2.1 mi
  • Edo Tokyo Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kabukiza Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Hanayashiki Amusement Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sensoji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Tsukiji: 2.5 mi
  • Tsukiji Fish Market: 2.5 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 2.8 mi
  • Sunshine City: 2.9 mi
  • Tokyo Tower: 3 mi
  • Shinjuku Station: 3 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Hamamatsucho: 3.1 mi
  • Mejiro: 3.2 mi
  • Kinshicho: 3.2 mi
  • Shiba Park: 3.3 mi
  • Azabu: 3.3 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 3.4 mi
  • Kobayashi Doll Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Meiji Jingu: 3.6 mi
  • Sumo Museum: 3.7 mi

Dining

Grill & Bar Lieu
The Grill & Bar Lieu takes its name from the French word for "place", which - in a linguistic coincidence that resonates with the sound of the stream in the hotel's inner courtyard - is phonetically identical to the Japanese word for "flow". With an impressive wine cellar and a wide selection light, healthful, Provenal-style dishes made from seasonal vegetables, prime-cut meats and poultry, and fresh-caught seafood, it offers a dining experience that is sure to delight.
Japanese Restaurant Yukuri
Located across the garden courtyard from the hotel's main building, Yukuri takes its name from an ancient Japanese word that means "to achieve rapport." Here you can experience authentic kaiseki cuisine in a setting that is at once modern and traditionally Japanese. Whether you enjoy your meal with a sweeping view of the garden courtyard, or in the intimacy of Yukuri's private dining room, it will be a culinary experience you are sure to treasure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashlyn Holiday
Business
Ventura County, CA
Feb 23, 2014

Loved Hotel Niwa!

From Haneda Airport, I was able to take the limousine bus to Tokyo Dome Hotel, where i walked about 5-10 minutes to Hotel Niwa. Although you have to go down an alleyway, it is overall a safe environment. Once arriving, the hotel looks exactly like the photos on the website! As a solo traveler, the room was a bit snug but perfect for one person. I'm not sure if other rooms are larger if you specify for two or more people. The amenities were great to have and were replenished daily. They also provide a pajama set with top and bottom as well as slippers. The lounge area is located on the 3rd floor and contained free massage chairs, vending machines, and washer and dryer. This was a nice plus, as I was able to spend time in the massage chair after long walks in Tokyo and wait for my laundry to be washed and dried. Suidobashi Station is less than five minutes walk from the hotel, which was extremely convenient. I was able to navigate to many tourist areas and the farther areas like Kamakura and Yokohama pretty easily. The price was great and I would stay here again on my next trip to Tokyo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cherry Blossom Traveller
Business
UK
Apr 15, 2014

Second stay

Excellent value. Stylish room with Japanese screens over window. The subway stops make it a good location. My second visit - says it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily L
Business
London
Apr 16, 2014

Lovely hotel

More expensive than we were aiming for but little was available in Tokyo at short notice. Got a promotional discount which made it very good value considering the style and comfort of the rooms. Good location - a short walk from Suidobashi metro and overland stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

An overview map of the transport system with station names in English was invaluable - we were given one free at the airport when we got our first train ticket into the city.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laudanbur
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 29, 2014

Amazing sprain break in Japan!

I must say that Niwa Hotel is one of the best places I've ever stayed at! The staff is great and helpful, the room was so clean and the amenities were great! We had clean pajamas and slippers every day, as well as tea and water. The bathroom was also really clean. The hotel is located near a JR and subway station which was really convenient! it was a little hard to find since its not a main street but its not far at all from the stations or Tokyo dome. Not to mention that the hotel is really pretty overall! Will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As a foreigner in Japan I would get a JR pass.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
May 27, 2010

AWESOME!

This hotel is only a 5 min. walk away from the train station. It is a gem in the midst of the city. The staff was friendly. The atmosphere was nice. The rooms were small, but compared to the rest of the rooms we stayed in while in Japan, they were comparable. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cross the street, next to the Tokyo Dome hotel on the second floor was an AWESOME restaurant. The staff did not speak English, but it didn't hinder us from ordering what we wanted. The food was excellent. We stayed in Japan for 7 days and this was THE best food we had the entire trip!

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tokyo Hoe
Business
London
Jun 28, 2010

A very enjoyable stay!

A delightful hotel, with good facilities and the rooms were fairly spacious and pleasantly decorated. We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and obliging. Most staff spoke English and although their individual ability did vary, we soon identified which staff could help us best. The hotel is in a good location and the local station offers easy access for many of the main tourist attractions in Tokyo. A very enjoyable stay in Tokyo and great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Despite being advised by my local bank that Sterling Travellers Cheques were acceptable for Japan, I had real difficulty finding any where that was willing to cash them. Sterling Traveller Cheques could not be exchanged in the hotel, bank or post offices. They were however willing to cash Travellers Cheques in US Dollars or Euros.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harvey
Business
London
Aug 23, 2010

Wonderful

The room was spotless and very comfortable. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The location is excellent for travelling around Tokyo, it is a short walk to a central metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Batman of RS
Business
Dongducheon, Korea
Dec 29, 2010

"Vacation to Japan"

Wonderful! The hotel workers spoke English well, and I was even lent an umbrella for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to spend wisely, as one can easily go broke in the sea of stores.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
twcl
Business
Berkeley, California, USA
Oct 24, 2011

A great choice

Just what I expected. Not a super bargain, but not out of line either. Very convenient to a JR subway line (which means your JR railpass covers it), although if coming in from Tokyo station, you do have to transfer at the second stop to catch a local train (to take you the one more stop). The Japanese breakfast is expensive, but no more so than at all similar hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zedear
Business
Chicago
May 9, 2012

Great Choice for exploring Tokyo

We spent 9 nights here and it was fantastic. The location is great (very close to the Suidobashi Stop, perfect for exploring Tokyo) and Quiet (relaxing after a long day of walking and site seeing). If you are going to the Tokyo Dome for a game it is just around the corner and usually cheaper than the Tokyo Dome Hotel. The rooms are small yes, but there is everything you need and a modern western style bathroom. The staff vas very helpful and friendly and although we did not eat there, the hotel resturants looked like a great place to have dinner/brunch. Overall the Hotel was perfect for our trip of exploring all of tokyo in just 10 days,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top