$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 20, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Hotel Niwa Tokyo

4 stars
View map of 1-1-16 Misaki-cho,Chiyoda-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, 101-0061

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Best trip of my life

The Hotel Niwa in Tokyo was amazing. A great value, was cheaper to stay there than at some low... See full review

  • David B.
  • Feb 11, 2015
Memorable trip to Tokyo

Initially the hotel was a little difficult to find as it is in a back ally and not on the main... See full review

  • YazB
  • Nov 24, 2014
Michelin-rated stylish hotel in central Iidabashi

Hotel Niwa offers convenient access to Tokyo's major sites while serving as a tranquil retreat in the city. The hotel hosts a garden courtyard as well as a rooftop garden adjacent to the relaxation room. The Michelin Guide to Tokyo 2010 awarded Niwa two stars. Comfortable rooms range from standard to chic premium, offering modern tranquility. Elegant Japanese and French restaurants are available for those with discerning tastes. The Hotel Niwa Tokyo has two banquet rooms with the small, yet stylish Sui room overlooking the garden courtyard.

Highlights
  • Michelin-rated hotel
  • On-site Japanese garden offers guests a place to relax
  • Relaxation room adjacent to rooftop garden, complete with massage chairs
  • Workout room open into the night with treadmills and bikes
  • French and Japanese dining in exquisite settings

 

Rooms

All rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet access and LCD TV. The décor is stylishly modern, yet minimalist, fitting Japanese design tastes. Comfort rooms add a touch of tradition with Japanese sliding paper screens. Whirlpool baths in premium rooms give guests a relaxing evening option.

 

Features

The Hotel Niwa Tokyo plays up the urban retreat concept with an onsite garden courtyard, whirlpool bath option in some rooms and a top-floor relaxation room. The hotel's stunning restaurants serve fine-dining Japanese and French cuisine. Western buffet and Japanese style breakfasts are available, plus lunch and dinner options in each restaurant with extensive wine and sake selections. For guests who wish to venture into bustling Tokyo, the Suidobashi Station is a short walk away. 

 

Transportation
  • Suidobashi Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Haneda Airport  (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Narita Airport (40.8 mi/65.7km)

 

Attractions
  • Tokyo Dome City (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ginza (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Shinjuku (3.4 mi/5.5 km)

 

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment and whiteboards
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy and printing services (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet access

 

Policies and fees
Baby cot is available for an additional payment of 3,465JPY per night (service charge and tax included).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Niwa Tokyo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Hotel Niwa Tokyo Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
STANDARD - HOSTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
SUPERIOR - HOSTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 1.5 mi
  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 1.5 mi
  • Hachiko Statue: 1.5 mi
  • Asakusabashi: 1.6 mi
  • Nihonbashi: 1.7 mi
  • Tokyo National Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marunouchi: 1.7 mi
  • Waseda: 2 mi
  • Kokugikan Sumo Museum: 2 mi
  • Tokyo City Air Terminal: 2.1 mi
  • Myogonji Temple: 2.1 mi
  • Hakozaki Station: 2.1 mi
  • Edo Tokyo Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kabukiza Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Hanayashiki Amusement Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sensoji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Tsukiji: 2.5 mi
  • Tsukiji Fish Market: 2.5 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 2.8 mi
  • Sunshine City: 2.9 mi
  • Tokyo Tower: 3 mi
  • Shinjuku Station: 3 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Hamamatsucho: 3.1 mi
  • Mejiro: 3.2 mi
  • Kinshicho: 3.2 mi
  • Shiba Park: 3.3 mi
  • Azabu: 3.3 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 3.4 mi
  • Kobayashi Doll Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Meiji Jingu: 3.6 mi
  • Sumo Museum: 3.7 mi

Dining

Grill & Bar Lieu
The Grill & Bar Lieu takes its name from the French word for "place", which - in a linguistic coincidence that resonates with the sound of the stream in the hotel's inner courtyard - is phonetically identical to the Japanese word for "flow". With an impressive wine cellar and a wide selection light, healthful, Provenal-style dishes made from seasonal vegetables, prime-cut meats and poultry, and fresh-caught seafood, it offers a dining experience that is sure to delight.
Japanese Restaurant Yukuri
Located across the garden courtyard from the hotel's main building, Yukuri takes its name from an ancient Japanese word that means "to achieve rapport." Here you can experience authentic kaiseki cuisine in a setting that is at once modern and traditionally Japanese. Whether you enjoy your meal with a sweeping view of the garden courtyard, or in the intimacy of Yukuri's private dining room, it will be a culinary experience you are sure to treasure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David B.
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Best trip of my life

The Hotel Niwa in Tokyo was amazing. A great value, was cheaper to stay there than at some low grade hotels in the states. Room was small but had everything we needed. Staff were great and the location is very close to a train station and the Tokyo Dome. Be sure to venture out to some of the local eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YazB
Business
Abu Dhabi
Nov 24, 2014

Memorable trip to Tokyo

Initially the hotel was a little difficult to find as it is in a back ally and not on the main street. The first night we went exploring and referenced a 7/11 to find our way back. This was a big mistake as there was one on almost every corner in that area! Hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and always willing to help. The rooms were clean and well looked after throughout the day. The rooms are a little on the smaller side but that seems to be the case with everything in Japan. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Niwa and would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenny5
Business
Newport Rhode Island
Nov 24, 2014

Great boutique hotel

Had a little difficulty first finding the hotel, but once we did everything was very easy. The Hotel Niwa is located in a central spot so transportation was very easy. There were a few little and good restaurants around it so that was handy. The hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful. They answered all of our questions and went out of their way to help us. The little touches in the hotel were the best (most luxurious) of the four hotels we stayed in (Kyoto, Nara, and another in Tokyo). The room was spacious, and was the only hotel of the four with a gym. We were very happy, and we absolutely have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We have heard of the high Tokyo prices. We were concerned but not worried. The trick is to be willing to explore, do your research (not too much), know your limits, and just ask questions. We have lived in New York City and have spent some time in Paris, and know that you do not have to break the bank to have a nice and enjoyable meal in a fine restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kand T
Business
MA, USA
Oct 7, 2014

Exceptional stay

Very helpful staff for our first visit in Tokyo. The hotel is very close to subway stations and therefore very convenient. The amenities are exceptional - including fresh pajamas every day. Many restaurants and convenience stores around. We already plan to stay there during our next visit to an amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dome City very close for casual dining and bakery goods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Copelia San
Business
México, Distrito Federal
Jun 13, 2014

The best

The attention, the place, the buffett, the pyjamas and all the service is really exceptional. Congratulations. If we returned to Tokyo, we will host in this hotel. The rail station is near and easy to use to go to all city and all country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPH Sensei
Business
Ueda, Japan
Jun 11, 2014

Great location Great value

Good hotel near Tokyodome.. great value and great location near train stations and many restaurants and stores

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laudanbur
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 29, 2014

Amazing sprain break in Japan!

I must say that Niwa Hotel is one of the best places I've ever stayed at! The staff is great and helpful, the room was so clean and the amenities were great! We had clean pajamas and slippers every day, as well as tea and water. The bathroom was also really clean. The hotel is located near a JR and subway station which was really convenient! it was a little hard to find since its not a main street but its not far at all from the stations or Tokyo dome. Not to mention that the hotel is really pretty overall! Will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As a foreigner in Japan I would get a JR pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily L
Business
London
Apr 16, 2014

Lovely hotel

More expensive than we were aiming for but little was available in Tokyo at short notice. Got a promotional discount which made it very good value considering the style and comfort of the rooms. Good location - a short walk from Suidobashi metro and overland stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

An overview map of the transport system with station names in English was invaluable - we were given one free at the airport when we got our first train ticket into the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cherry Blossom Traveller
Business
UK
Apr 15, 2014

Second stay

Excellent value. Stylish room with Japanese screens over window. The subway stops make it a good location. My second visit - says it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashlyn Holiday
Business
Ventura County, CA
Feb 23, 2014

Loved Hotel Niwa!

From Haneda Airport, I was able to take the limousine bus to Tokyo Dome Hotel, where i walked about 5-10 minutes to Hotel Niwa. Although you have to go down an alleyway, it is overall a safe environment. Once arriving, the hotel looks exactly like the photos on the website! As a solo traveler, the room was a bit snug but perfect for one person. I'm not sure if other rooms are larger if you specify for two or more people. The amenities were great to have and were replenished daily. They also provide a pajama set with top and bottom as well as slippers. The lounge area is located on the 3rd floor and contained free massage chairs, vending machines, and washer and dryer. This was a nice plus, as I was able to spend time in the massage chair after long walks in Tokyo and wait for my laundry to be washed and dried. Suidobashi Station is less than five minutes walk from the hotel, which was extremely convenient. I was able to navigate to many tourist areas and the farther areas like Kamakura and Yokohama pretty easily. The price was great and I would stay here again on my next trip to Tokyo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top