$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Hotel Niwa Tokyo

4 stars
View map of 1-1-16 Misaki-cho,Chiyoda-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, 101-0061

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarun Boonchalakulkosol
Bangkok, Thailand
Dec 11, 2012

Fulfill my Tokyo vacation by staying here

Prior to my arrival I was written to the hotel asking for non-smoking floor and high floor. I was arrived on Wednesday 5 Dec 12 afternoon and found the check-in process was very efficient, they have provided what I have requested. Staffs are speaking good English.. Room was very comfortable and very decorated with care in every single detail. You will have a pyjamas that the hotel changes daily for you. Next to the hotel is the convenience store where you can get some good snacks, soft drinks, and ice creams whenever you want. After a short walk (turn your back on the hotel, walk left 50m, and turn left again then walk another 100m, then cross the road) you will reach JR Suidobashi station where you can easily reach Shinjuku, Akiba (Akihabara), or Tokyo station within 15 minutes including any transit if required. Just across the station located McDonald's (24/7) and Staarbucks (open until 10.30pm), Tokyo Dome, and Suidobashi subway station. This is an ideal place to stay for. I have been staying for five nights, and surely I will return to this hotel for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the hotel's gym room and utilize the massage chairs after your long walk during the day. It was very very relaxing. The gym room was closed at 10pm but actually you can stay a little longer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSES
Business
New York, New York
Jul 1, 2012

Great Value

This hotel is in a fairly central location, about 5 minutes from the Suidobashi subway station and ten minutes from the Jimbocho Subway station. It is a bit difficult to find at first unless you know exactly where you are going but if the location on google maps is accurate so if you follow that you'll find it. For what I paid, the value was extraordinary. The room was fairly small but it had numerous amenities, including excellent free wireless Internet access, free bottled water in the fridge, a nice bathroom with bathrobes, lots of lighting, lots of power outlets for cameras, iPads, phones, etc. It was clean, had modern furniture, etc. Most of the television stations were in Japanese but CNN and BBC World were available, and who travels halfway across the world (from New York in my case) to watch television? The service was friendly and I would definitely recommend this for a budget traveler. The restaurants seemed a bit expensive but there are so many restaurants near the hotel and throughout Tokyo that I had no interest in eating there anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kemapcp
Business
San Dimas, Ca
Jun 19, 2012

Convenient location

Very nice place in the cultural district - a lot of universities, very close to the Imperial palace, museum, shopping, train station, Tokyo Dome, restaurants, and even children's play ground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice French restaurant on the premises.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Apee
Business
South Korea
May 23, 2012

Good for the price

I really enjoyed the friendly staff. They where always greeting me with a smile all throughout my time there. I liked the atmosphere but didnt like the location it was at. All in all would recommend the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raymond Ng
Business
Shenzhen China
May 21, 2012

Value-for-Money Hotel

The Niwa is located at a very quiet location amidst schools and universities. It is about 5 minutes walk from the nearest Metro-station, convenenient once one knows the metro train and subway system. Otherwise it may be costly as the hotel is not served by anything other than taxi. The restaurant in the hotel is 4-star, and is good. However a large varieties of Japanese eating places are nearby hence there is no problem insofar as meals are concerned. The hotel is well maintained, very clean and the services without doubt very good. A value-for-money hotel in Tokyo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenience store outside hotel. All kinds of food including 24-hr Japanese fast food within 10 mins walking distance. Tokyo Dome City is 10 minutes walking distance away, the closest attraction. The Palace is 3 stations away, so very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
For Haruko
Business
San Diego, California
May 15, 2012

Great Hotel

Good location. Short walk to/from Suidobashi Station. It's ryokan and western style which is a great combination for me! Very friendly English speaking staff. Took an Ofuro bath in the high-backed bathtub. Water temp was hot, just the way I like it. Stayed 3 nights and loved every minute of it. Experienced both restaurants. A Japanese Kaiseki meal at Yukuri and breakfast and lunch at Grill&Bar LIEU. These meals were priced to what you'd expect from a four or five star restaurant. Brought my laptop so I was able to stay connected to folks back home. Loved the stay and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zedear
Business
Chicago
May 9, 2012

Great Choice for exploring Tokyo

We spent 9 nights here and it was fantastic. The location is great (very close to the Suidobashi Stop, perfect for exploring Tokyo) and Quiet (relaxing after a long day of walking and site seeing). If you are going to the Tokyo Dome for a game it is just around the corner and usually cheaper than the Tokyo Dome Hotel. The rooms are small yes, but there is everything you need and a modern western style bathroom. The staff vas very helpful and friendly and although we did not eat there, the hotel resturants looked like a great place to have dinner/brunch. Overall the Hotel was perfect for our trip of exploring all of tokyo in just 10 days,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stellarnode
Business
Moscow, Russia
May 7, 2012

clean but not in the center of universe

The hotel is nice. Rooms are not big but clean. TV channels are only in Japanese (this might be a problem for those who like to watch TV :). The staff is very welcoming and helpful. However, the level of their English could be better. Also, they will help you with basic stuff but when you start asking complicated questions (such as booking a ticket to a concert or helping set up a visit to a sumo training center...), you won't get much help and will have to do it yourself. The hotel's location is not the best for those who like to be in the center of things. For those who, on the contrary, like it calm and quiet, this will be one of the best options. Another thing is about the internet access. While the hotel has free WiFi, it seemed to work extremely slow which made this free internet virtually unusable. If free internet is your deal breaker, don't count on the hotel's free WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get Japan Rail Pass before you travel to Japan. It if only available for foreigners and could only be bought outside Japan. It will save you lots of money if you plan to actively travel by railways. It also works on some of the central lines in Tokyo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JerryM
Business
Seoul, South Korea
May 7, 2012

Great Staff, Great Place, Great Deal

The hotel was very pleasant, staffed with professional and warm personnel. The room was more than adequate, a little small, but a perfect place to stage your daily trips to anywhere in Tokyo. Train station is very close, and there are plenty of dining establishments nearby. Make sure you ask for a map at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tokyo Dome Amusement Park is nearby. It is a small venue but could be fun for the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derick
Business
Auckland, New Zealand
Apr 11, 2012

Near-perfect stay for a single traveler

The hotel clearly aims for the high-minded traveler, who does not mind trading off some space for refined comforts. Internet access is available as WiFi or wired (Ethernet). There are a number of eateries around, along with being within walking distance to the Tokyo Dome complex, which has plenty of restaurants and entertainment options, separate from other popular (Shinjuku, Shibuya, etc.) options. It is located in a relatively quiet part of Tokyo, but at least is nearby to the Suidobashi stop along the Sobu JR line train, along with a stop along the Toei Subway line. In fact, one can say it is in the middle of the city, as the Imperial Palace grounds are 15-20 minutes walking distance south of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Because the transit system runs according to the airline schedules, there is no reason to ever take a taxi from your hotel to either airport. Always make use of the transit system, as it is truly the way any (fiscally) sensible resident would get to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eternal Traveler
Business
Alberta, Canada
Apr 1, 2012

A Gem Of A Hotel

After reading all the glowing reviews about the hotel in your website, we decided to make our reservation. And we could not have been more pleased with the hotel. All the reviews were right on. Starting with the big smile that the front desk attendant was displaying, as soon as we entered the front door. The hotel is only three years old, and so beautifully decorated. Simple elegant japanese decor. Clean as can be, and the employees take pride in keeping it that way. The rooms, although not too large, are adequate. Service was efficient and friendly. The hotel is conveniently located about five minutes walk from the Suidobashi station, and we were able to find it with the help of the local people. Very quiet location, yet centrally located. Very nice restaurant in the premises, although a little expensive. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located 8 minutes away from the Tokyo Dome, a family entertainment complex.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top