$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Niwa Tokyo

4 stars
View map of 1-1-16 Misaki-cho,Chiyoda-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, 101-0061

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ycbc27
Family
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jul 29, 2014

good location, good price, good stuff

This was a great place to stay for a vacation. I was here for about ten days and there was coin laundry which was perfect because it was HOT during my stay in Tokyo and being able to wash my clothes was a great amenity. They also had massage chairs, tables & chairs, and vending machines in the laundry area so I could relax while I waited for my clothes, if I didn't want to relax in my room. I also made use of the computer room to check for maps and routes for whatever I had planned for sightseeing. The hotel also had a work out room. One thing to expect from Tokyo, as it is a big city, there is noise and small rooms.... That being said, the rooms were clean and cozy. We stayed in a superior double room so it wasn't their smallest. However, the bathroom was pretty big (and there is a bidet type toilet). The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were nice and bowed as they passed by. The reception staff almost all spoke english and they were friendly and helpful. They also did money exchange in the lobby, but you're limited to $200 USD per person per day. The only thing I didn't like about this place was that the entrance was in a dark area that looks like a back alley. I know this is because space is limited in Tokyo and not everyone can have a huge, grand entrance. My flight arrived at night and we had a harder time finding this hotel's entrance in the dark (about midnight). This was not a huge issue or anything, but perhaps its recommended that people don't go out alone at nights because its pretty dark around the area. Overall, this was a great place to stay at for a week and a half. It was close to a train station AND a subway station AND a bus stop. There was a convenience store next door that was open 24/7. There was also a small fast food "gyudon" type restaurant down the street that was open 24/7. I enjoyed my stay with Hotel Niwa Tokyo and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. It was a great value and I would stay there again for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Copelia San
Couples
México, Distrito Federal
Jun 13, 2014

The best

The attention, the place, the buffett, the pyjamas and all the service is really exceptional. Congratulations. If we returned to Tokyo, we will host in this hotel. The rail station is near and easy to use to go to all city and all country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Father and Teenage Son
Family
San Francisco, CA
Jun 12, 2014

3 Nights in Tokyo

Niwa Tokyo is a small but very nice hotel. The room is small but very clean and functional. We have a comfortable stay. The location is good. It is not in the city center, but close to the train and subway stations. It is also close to Tokyo Dome and the Yasukuni Shrine. The immediate neighborhood is pleasant though not glamorous. My only complain is when I checked in, the staff told me they have to charge me for extra person (almost $30 per night). I got the same room, all they did was to give me an extra set of towel! Also, the check out time is normally 11:00 am. I asked if I can check out by noon, they said there will be a late check out fee (of approx. $20). I think these are just excuses to squeeze more money from their guests. Also, it will be nice if the hotel provides a simple continental breakfast (even for extra cost), like many motels in US do. I found that most Japanese eat noodle for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPH Sensei
Business
Ueda, Japan
Jun 11, 2014

Great location Great value

Good hotel near Tokyodome.. great value and great location near train stations and many restaurants and stores

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocketscientistDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 3, 2014

Nice surprise

We were nicely surprised by this excellent hotel right in the center of Tokyo for a reasonable price. The room was a little bit small but that is what you would expect in Tokyo. Good JR and subway connections. We wish we had tried the hotel restaurant but had other commitments. All in all a very good experience. Will use it again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great bakery right next to the JR station.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Heart Japan
Couples
California
May 12, 2014

Great hotel in Japan if you don't mind smaller space

Great location and great staff. Amenities are replaced every day, and cleaning service resets room every day so it appears like you just checked in (asides from your baggage of course). My wife and I are 5'9 and 5'4 respectively so we don't mind the smaller space. Bigger people might find the room and bed cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laudanbur
Friends
San Diego, California
Apr 29, 2014

Amazing sprain break in Japan!

I must say that Niwa Hotel is one of the best places I've ever stayed at! The staff is great and helpful, the room was so clean and the amenities were great! We had clean pajamas and slippers every day, as well as tea and water. The bathroom was also really clean. The hotel is located near a JR and subway station which was really convenient! it was a little hard to find since its not a main street but its not far at all from the stations or Tokyo dome. Not to mention that the hotel is really pretty overall! Will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As a foreigner in Japan I would get a JR pass.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily L
Couples
London
Apr 16, 2014

Lovely hotel

More expensive than we were aiming for but little was available in Tokyo at short notice. Got a promotional discount which made it very good value considering the style and comfort of the rooms. Good location - a short walk from Suidobashi metro and overland stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

An overview map of the transport system with station names in English was invaluable - we were given one free at the airport when we got our first train ticket into the city.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cherry Blossom Traveller
Single
UK
Apr 15, 2014

Second stay

Excellent value. Stylish room with Japanese screens over window. The subway stops make it a good location. My second visit - says it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashlyn Holiday
Single
Ventura County, CA
Feb 23, 2014

Loved Hotel Niwa!

From Haneda Airport, I was able to take the limousine bus to Tokyo Dome Hotel, where i walked about 5-10 minutes to Hotel Niwa. Although you have to go down an alleyway, it is overall a safe environment. Once arriving, the hotel looks exactly like the photos on the website! As a solo traveler, the room was a bit snug but perfect for one person. I'm not sure if other rooms are larger if you specify for two or more people. The amenities were great to have and were replenished daily. They also provide a pajama set with top and bottom as well as slippers. The lounge area is located on the 3rd floor and contained free massage chairs, vending machines, and washer and dryer. This was a nice plus, as I was able to spend time in the massage chair after long walks in Tokyo and wait for my laundry to be washed and dried. Suidobashi Station is less than five minutes walk from the hotel, which was extremely convenient. I was able to navigate to many tourist areas and the farther areas like Kamakura and Yokohama pretty easily. The price was great and I would stay here again on my next trip to Tokyo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top