$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Niwa Tokyo

4 stars
1-1-16 Misaki-cho,Chiyoda-ku, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, 101-0061
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
112 reviews
Well located zen

Love this hotel. Beautifully decorated, with all amenities. The hotel even has massage chairs and a... See full review

  • Mampusti Clan
  • Jun 15, 2014
The best

The attention, the place, the buffett, the pyjamas and all the service is really exceptional.... See full review

  • Copelia San
  • Jun 13, 2014
Michelin-rated stylish hotel in central Iidabashi

Hotel Niwa offers convenient access to Tokyo's major sites while serving as a tranquil retreat in the city. The hotel hosts a garden courtyard as well as a rooftop garden adjacent to the relaxation room. The Michelin Guide to Tokyo 2010 awarded Niwa two stars. Comfortable rooms range from standard to chic premium, offering modern tranquility. Elegant Japanese and French restaurants are available for those with discerning tastes. The Hotel Niwa Tokyo has two banquet rooms with the small, yet stylish Sui room overlooking the garden courtyard.

Highlights
  • Michelin-rated hotel
  • On-site Japanese garden offers guests a place to relax
  • Relaxation room adjacent to rooftop garden, complete with massage chairs
  • Workout room open into the night with treadmills and bikes
  • French and Japanese dining in exquisite settings

 

Rooms

All rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet access and LCD TV. The décor is stylishly modern, yet minimalist, fitting Japanese design tastes. Comfort rooms add a touch of tradition with Japanese sliding paper screens. Whirlpool baths in premium rooms give guests a relaxing evening option.

 

Features

The Hotel Niwa Tokyo plays up the urban retreat concept with an onsite garden courtyard, whirlpool bath option in some rooms and a top-floor relaxation room. The hotel's stunning restaurants serve fine-dining Japanese and French cuisine. Western buffet and Japanese style breakfasts are available, plus lunch and dinner options in each restaurant with extensive wine and sake selections. For guests who wish to venture into bustling Tokyo, the Suidobashi Station is a short walk away. 

 

Transportation
  • Suidobashi Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Haneda Airport  (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Narita Airport (40.8 mi/65.7km)

 

Attractions
  • Tokyo Dome City (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ginza (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Shinjuku (3.4 mi/5.5 km)

 

Business
  • Two meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment and whiteboards
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy and printing services (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet access

 

Policies and fees
Baby cot is available for an additional payment of 3,465JPY per night (service charge and tax included).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.7006 139.7569
Area served
Most locations in Tokyo are accessible within an hour.
Closes Train Lines: JR Sobu-Chuo Line,Toei Mita Line(Subway),Tokyo Metoro Hanzomon Line
Nearby airports
Narita International Airport-90 minutes JR lines
Haneda Airport-55 minutes by train or 50 minutes by taxi
Area description
3 minutes walk from Suidobashi station-JR lines which is only few stops from Akihabara station and Tokyo station.
90 minutes by JR lines from Narita Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Niwa Tokyo also booked these hotels.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
STANDARD - HOSTEL
Designed with privacy in mind, Standard rooms feature a wide, comfortable bed, a big bathtub, and all the amenities you need for a restful and relaxing stay.

32-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable programming

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W140cm/L195cm
SUPERIOR - HOSTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Our simply but oh-so-elegantly furnished Superior twin for couples, with ample space for two to relax and enjoy themselves in comfort.

37-inch wide-screen LCD TV Cable Iron

Complimentary High-speed LAN Internet and WiFi internet access, Refrigerator Private safe

Bed Size:W105cm/L205cm(2 Beds)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Kanda: 1 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • LaQua: 0.3 mi
  • Asagaya: 0.4 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 0.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 0.7 mi
  • Otemachi: 0.7 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 0.9 mi
  • Kanda: 1 mi
  • Akihabara: 1 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Ueno Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ameyoko: 1.2 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 1.3 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 1.3 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 1.5 mi
  • Hachiko Statue: 1.5 mi
  • Asakusabashi: 1.6 mi
  • Nihonbashi: 1.7 mi
  • Tokyo National Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marunouchi: 1.7 mi
  • Waseda: 2 mi
  • Kokugikan Sumo Museum: 2 mi
  • Ginza: 2.1 mi
  • Tokyo City Air Terminal: 2.1 mi
  • Myogonji Temple: 2.1 mi
  • Hakozaki Station: 2.1 mi
  • Edo Tokyo Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Kabukiza Theater: 2.2 mi
  • Hanayashiki Amusement Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sensoji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Tsukiji: 2.5 mi
  • Tsukiji Fish Market: 2.5 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 2.8 mi
  • Sunshine City: 2.9 mi
  • Tokyo Tower: 3 mi
  • Shinjuku Station: 3 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Hamamatsucho: 3.1 mi
  • Mejiro: 3.2 mi
  • Kinshicho: 3.2 mi
  • Shiba Park: 3.3 mi
  • Azabu: 3.3 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 3.4 mi
  • Kobayashi Doll Museum: 3.4 mi

Dining

Grill & Bar Lieu
The Grill & Bar Lieu takes its name from the French word for "place", which - in a linguistic coincidence that resonates with the sound of the stream in the hotel's inner courtyard - is phonetically identical to the Japanese word for "flow". With an impressive wine cellar and a wide selection light, healthful, Provenal-style dishes made from seasonal vegetables, prime-cut meats and poultry, and fresh-caught seafood, it offers a dining experience that is sure to delight.
Japanese Restaurant Yukuri
Located across the garden courtyard from the hotel's main building, Yukuri takes its name from an ancient Japanese word that means "to achieve rapport." Here you can experience authentic kaiseki cuisine in a setting that is at once modern and traditionally Japanese. Whether you enjoy your meal with a sweeping view of the garden courtyard, or in the intimacy of Yukuri's private dining room, it will be a culinary experience you are sure to treasure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JRBLKB
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 5, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel

Enjoyed our stay very much. Wonderful, friendly staff. Felt like home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ycbc27
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jul 29, 2014

good location, good price, good stuff

This was a great place to stay for a vacation. I was here for about ten days and there was coin laundry which was perfect because it was HOT during my stay in Tokyo and being able to wash my clothes was a great amenity. They also had massage chairs, tables & chairs, and vending machines in the laundry area so I could relax while I waited for my clothes, if I didn't want to relax in my room. I also made use of the computer room to check for maps and routes for whatever I had planned for sightseeing. The hotel also had a work out room. One thing to expect from Tokyo, as it is a big city, there is noise and small rooms.... That being said, the rooms were clean and cozy. We stayed in a superior double room so it wasn't their smallest. However, the bathroom was pretty big (and there is a bidet type toilet). The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were nice and bowed as they passed by. The reception staff almost all spoke english and they were friendly and helpful. They also did money exchange in the lobby, but you're limited to $200 USD per person per day. The only thing I didn't like about this place was that the entrance was in a dark area that looks like a back alley. I know this is because space is limited in Tokyo and not everyone can have a huge, grand entrance. My flight arrived at night and we had a harder time finding this hotel's entrance in the dark (about midnight). This was not a huge issue or anything, but perhaps its recommended that people don't go out alone at nights because its pretty dark around the area. Overall, this was a great place to stay at for a week and a half. It was close to a train station AND a subway station AND a bus stop. There was a convenience store next door that was open 24/7. There was also a small fast food "gyudon" type restaurant down the street that was open 24/7. I enjoyed my stay with Hotel Niwa Tokyo and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. It was a great value and I would stay there again for the location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charliepl
Bangkok Thailand
Jun 22, 2014

Good Value

Room is new and very clean especially my room 32 sq.m. with Big Toilette. Amenities are complete. Free daily small drinking water and Coffee / tea drip (grounded coffee in small plastic) Special dripped machine provided. We really love this coffee machine. It is very good quality coffee. Five minutes walking from JR and Metro. Many cheap local restaurants nearby. Good Valued

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mampusti Clan
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 15, 2014

Well located zen

Love this hotel. Beautifully decorated, with all amenities. The hotel even has massage chairs and a laundry...in addition to daily bottled water, fresh pyjamas, slippers and toothbrushes/paste. Just a short walk from the Spa LaQua onsen. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Spa LaQua

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Copelia San
México, Distrito Federal
Jun 13, 2014

The best

The attention, the place, the buffett, the pyjamas and all the service is really exceptional. Congratulations. If we returned to Tokyo, we will host in this hotel. The rail station is near and easy to use to go to all city and all country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Father and Teenage Son
San Francisco, CA
Jun 12, 2014

3 Nights in Tokyo

Niwa Tokyo is a small but very nice hotel. The room is small but very clean and functional. We have a comfortable stay. The location is good. It is not in the city center, but close to the train and subway stations. It is also close to Tokyo Dome and the Yasukuni Shrine. The immediate neighborhood is pleasant though not glamorous. My only complain is when I checked in, the staff told me they have to charge me for extra person (almost $30 per night). I got the same room, all they did was to give me an extra set of towel! Also, the check out time is normally 11:00 am. I asked if I can check out by noon, they said there will be a late check out fee (of approx. $20). I think these are just excuses to squeeze more money from their guests. Also, it will be nice if the hotel provides a simple continental breakfast (even for extra cost), like many motels in US do. I found that most Japanese eat noodle for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPH Sensei
Business
Ueda, Japan
Jun 11, 2014

Great location Great value

Good hotel near Tokyodome.. great value and great location near train stations and many restaurants and stores

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NZYun
Wellington, New Zealand
Jun 5, 2014

A real bargain for modern and comfort

This is the real gem - it's in Chiyoda, a couple of train stops from Tokyo Station, and there are 2 different Subway lines near it as well, in addition to JR Yamanote train line. Very nice hotel room - even just a standard room it is good! You would likely have to go a bit further for dinners, but plenty of nice lunch places around as well. Would be very happy to come back next time in Tokyo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocketscientistDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 3, 2014

Nice surprise

We were nicely surprised by this excellent hotel right in the center of Tokyo for a reasonable price. The room was a little bit small but that is what you would expect in Tokyo. Good JR and subway connections. We wish we had tried the hotel restaurant but had other commitments. All in all a very good experience. Will use it again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great bakery right next to the JR station.

Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Heart Japan
California
May 12, 2014

Great hotel in Japan if you don't mind smaller space

Great location and great staff. Amenities are replaced every day, and cleaning service resets room every day so it appears like you just checked in (asides from your baggage of course). My wife and I are 5'9 and 5'4 respectively so we don't mind the smaller space. Bigger people might find the room and bed cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laudanbur
San Diego, California
Apr 29, 2014

Amazing sprain break in Japan!

I must say that Niwa Hotel is one of the best places I've ever stayed at! The staff is great and helpful, the room was so clean and the amenities were great! We had clean pajamas and slippers every day, as well as tea and water. The bathroom was also really clean. The hotel is located near a JR and subway station which was really convenient! it was a little hard to find since its not a main street but its not far at all from the stations or Tokyo dome. Not to mention that the hotel is really pretty overall! Will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As a foreigner in Japan I would get a JR pass.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search