$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Hotel Monterey Ginza

3 stars
View map of 2-10-2 Ginza, Chuo-Ku, Tokyo, 104-0061

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Monterey Ginza

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Grand Rapids MI
Jan 30, 2011

Very Nice Hotel

This was my first time to Japan and I was a little worried about not speaking any Japanese. It was not a problem. The hotel is in a very nice and safe location. If you like shopping Ginza area is for you. It reminded me of Michigan Ave in Chicago. Everyone at the hotel spoke some English and was very helpful. The subway is just a block away and getting around is very easy, just ask the hotel desk what line and stop you need. If you want night life take the subway to Rappongi. H line stop 4. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. There are two convenience stores across the street. The television only had one English station (BBC World News). There are Starbucks and McDonalds less than a block away. Rooms are small but that is common in Japan. I really liked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From the airport, take the bus. The cost is about $35 and takes about an hour to get into town. Do not take a taxi as it will cost about $300. Go to Tokyo Station. From there I walked to the hotel. It took about 10 minutes to walk.

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Edmond, Oklahoma
Jan 2, 2011

very good location

Very friendly hotel, very good location !will stay there next time in Tokyo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishingbuddhasr
Couples
richmond, british columbia
Oct 26, 2010

hotel monterey ginza

we took JR narita express to Tokyo station and then took taxi to our hotel. Cost 710 yen. Hotel is centrally located and tsujiki fish market is within walking distance. Also the Ginza main street and the Imperial Palace are within walking distance too. The hotel was adequate but not overly spacious. It was well maintained and clean. Recommend this hotel to others travelling to Tokyo and staying on the Ginza side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Found a small ramen shop around the corner about a block away. You had to put your money into a vending machine and then pass the coupon to the cook. Ramen was delicious.

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Sep 6, 2010

Great!

Great location and clearly labelled making it easy to find in Tokyo (an added bonus!). The staff was friendly and spoke sufficient English. The rooms were clean and comfortable although on the small side. We were 2 blocks from the main Ginza street and a few blocks from the train station. We easily walked to the Tsukiji fish market and the Imperial Palace Garden. Overall a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STEPHANIE-JAPAN TRAVELR
Friends
RENO, NV
Jul 2, 2010

STEPHANIE-JAPAN TRAVELER

SEVERAL BLOCKS FROM THE GINZA STRIP. AM/PM DIRECTLY ACROSS FROM HOTEL. GREAT PLACE TO GET BREAKFAST SUPPLIES (EGGS-USED TEA POT IN HOTEL ROOM TO MAKE HARD BOILED EGGS, BANANAS, YOGART & MUFFIN). COFFEE SHOP 1/2 BLOCK AWAY. SUBWAY WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. THEY SUPPLIED UMBRELLAS WHEN IT RAINED. HARD TO FIND HOTEL WHEN WE FIRST GOT THERE; HAD TO HAVE TAXI SHOW US THE LOCATION. LOTS OF VERY VERY EXPENSIVE SHOPPING IN THE GINZA MALL. THE FRONT DESK HAD SUBWAY & TRAIN MAPS ON HOW TO GET TO DIFFERENT LOCATIONS. VERY HELPFUL. THEY SPOKE LITTLE ENGLISH BUT ABLE TO POINT AND GET MOST OF THE INFORMATION WE NEEDED. ROOMS SMALL BUT HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED. GREAT HOTEL FOR A VERY REASONABLE PRICE. GREAT AIR CONDITIONER, NICE BED AND WONDERFUL PILLOWS (IF YOU LIKE THEM SOME-WHAT HARD). WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

SHORT WALK TO SUBWAYS, SHOPPING, RESTAURANTS.

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
svetlin
Couples
berkeley, california
Jun 17, 2010

great hotel at cheap price

Great hotel. The location, cleanliness, size of rooms, and friendliness of the stuff were way better than we expected and the hotel was cheap in comparison to the benefits we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, VA
Apr 26, 2010

Hidden treasure

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Monterey Ginza for two nights in Tokyo and the hotel exceeded our expectations - especially since we paid about $111/night. It is a very quiet and stylish hotel in a wonderful location - walking distance to so many attractions and next door to a subway station. For Japan Rail Pass holders - that is about 5-7 minutes walk from Yurakucho JR station, which is just one stop on Yamanote line from JR Tokyo station. The room was great - very clean with King size bed, tea-maker (with tea supply) and refrigerator; pajamas, slippers and all possible toiletries provided. There is free internet access in the room if you have a PC with you. The hotel has French theme including a restaurant (pretty expensive one - so we did not eat there, but there are so many places right next door to the hotel. And for the coffee lovers - "am/pm" store across a street from the hotel has wonderful coffee for 200 yen). The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a business hotel with a lot of Japanese business travelers staying there - so it was pretty interesting experience just to watch regular every day life of locals. I would stay there again and again and could recommend it to anyone. Just do not expect that you can waltz in the room - but it was not too small for two of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
dallas, tx
Apr 26, 2010

wonderful hotel

this is a wonderful hotel in a great location. room was small, but this is expected in tokyo. the room was spotless with comfortable beds. wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Apr 24, 2010

MONTEREY GINZA ON CHIO-KU, TOKYO, JAPAN

VISITED FISH MARKET. STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL AND NICE NICE AMENITIES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RECOMMENDED RESTAURANT NEARBY, TOFURO, WHICH WAS VERY REASONABLY PRICED WITH GOOD FOOD AND GREAT ATMOSPHERE.

Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super People
Family
Laie, Hawaii
Mar 29, 2010

Hotel Monterey Ginza

Walking the streets of Ginza was very entertaining. While most of the businesses were high end it was none the less exciting. The food establishments were on the pricy side, we chose the location because of the convenince to the subways. Unfortunately the days we were there were rainy and cold. It was a challenge getting around. The front desk staff gave all us umbrellas to keep dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the kiddy corner of the entrance to the hotel we found a restaurant (could not be seen from the street level)that served excellent food and great service. As it got later it got crowded an obvious favorite of the business community. It was priced relatively low but food excellent. We retuned twice more because we felt welcomed.

Back to menu Return to top