$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

4 stars
1-6-1 Nishi-Ikebukuro, Toshima-ku, TOSHIMA-KU, Tokyo, 171-8505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Great Convenient Hotel

This hotel was conveniently located across the street from the Ikebukuro train station. It was very... See full review

  • Wandering Grad Student
  • May 6, 2014
Great Location, Great Staff, Good Value

Great location, less than 5 minute walk from Ikebukuro Station AND Airport Bus runs directly to... See full review

  • Lau Mike
  • Apr 25, 2014
Modern hotel in downtown Tokyo with an extensive array of facilities

The Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo is located downtown next to the Ikebukuro train and subway station, offering convenient transit options to major Tokyo attractions that will appeal to business and holiday travelers. The Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo's many restaurants and bars serve an extensive selection of wines and cuisines, including Japanese, Chinese and French. Visit the hotel's lounge, Ovest, for stunning views overlooking Tokyo.  

 

Highlights
  • Conveniently located next to the Ikebukuro train and subway station
  • Diverse range of dining options
  • Fifteen banquet rooms and a business center (fees apply)
  • Shopping center, salon, spa and exercise facilities (fees apply)

 

Rooms

The rooms at the Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo are outfitted with modern furnishings, many offering  fabulous views of the city. The rooms are designed to comfort both holiday and business travelers. Complimentary Wi-Fi internet access is now available in the hotel lobby as well as in all Superior Rooms and Executive Rooms.  For Standard Rooms, Wi-Fi access is available for 500 Japanese Yen per stay.

Features

The Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo has 24 floors of stylish rooms, a range of restaurants, 15 banquet rooms and an array of facilities, including a spa, salon, exercise room and indoor pool (fees apply), business center (fees apply) and boutique shops. The hotel's proximity to the Ikebukuro train and subway station gives holiday travelers easy access to points of interest and business travelers transit options to Tokyo's commercial centers. Diners are able to enjoy traditional Japanese cuisine, Chinese delicacies, Italian specialties and other treats at the hotel's many restaurants, some of which include a view Mt. Fuji on a clear day.

Transportation
  • Narita Airport (two hours by bus)
  • Ikebukuro Station (adjacent to the hotel)

 

Attractions
  • Tokyo Metropolitan Art Space (.1 mi/.17 km)
  • Sunshine City (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sunshine Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3km)

 

Business
  • Internet access (fees apply in standard rooms)
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • Fifteen banquet rooms
Policies and fees
  • From July 22 to September 18, there will be construction on the 4th floor (banquet rooms) and the 5th floor (guest rooms, chapel and Japanese garden). There may be construction noise between 10 AM and 6 PM.
  • Check-in time is 3 PM and check-out time is 12 PM.
  • The hotel collects a surcharge for indoor swimming pool and fitness facility usage, which is for minimum age of 16 years old. Both facilities are closed every 5th and 20th of the month.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Rooms

SUPERIOR SINGLE
17sq.m(183sq.f) room with one Semi-Double bed(width 140cm=4.6feet), located on 16th to 23rd floor
Equipped with tea making facilities, hairdryer, refrigerator, satellite and pay TV, nightwear, slippers, washing toilet seat.
WiFi internet connection is available at free of charge.
Complimentary daily newspaper provided.
STANDARD DOUBLE
20sq.m(215sq.f)room with one double bed (width 160cm=5.3feet), located on 5th to 15th floor
Equipped with tea making facilities, hairdryer, refrigerator, satellite and pay TV, nightwear, slippers, washing toilet seat.
High-speed Internet access by LAN is available.
Complimentary daily newspaper provided.
EXECUTIVE DELUXE KING
35sq.meter(376sq.feet) with a king bed(width 180cm=5.9feet), located on the 24th floor
Equipped with tea making facilities, hairdryer, refrigerator, satellite and pay TV, nightwear, slippers, washing toilet seat.
High-speed Internet access by LAN is available.
Complimentary daily newspaper provided.
SUPERIOR TWIN
23sq.m(247sq.f) room with two single beds(width 110cm=3.6feet), located on 16th to 23rd floor
Equipped with tea making facilities, hairdryer, refrigerator, satellite and pay TV, nightwear, slippers, washing toilet seat.
WiFi internet connection is available at free of charge.
Complimentary daily newspaper provided.
SUPERIOR QUEEN
20sq.m(215sq.f)room with one queen size bed (width 160cm=5.25feet), located on 16th to 23rd floor
Equipped with tea making facilities, hairdryer, refrigerator, satellite and pay TV, nightwear, slippers, washing toilet seat.
WiFi internet connection is available at free of charge.
Complimentary daily newspaper provided.
STANDARD SINGLE
17sq.m(183sq.f) room with one Semi-Double bed (width 140cm=4.6feet), located on 5th to 15th floor
Equipped with tea making facilities, hairdryer, refrigerator, satellite and pay TV, nightwear, slippers, washing toilet seat.
High-speed Internet access by LAN is available.
Complimentary daily newspaper provided.
STANDARD TWIN
23sq.m(247sq.f) room with two single beds(width 110cm=3.6feet wide), located on 5th to 15th floor
Equipped with tea making facilities, hairdryer, refrigerator, satellite and pay TV, nightwear, slippers, washing toilet seat.
High-speed Internet access by LAN is available.
Complimentary daily newspaper provided.
Extra bed or Sofa bed will be provided for Triple use.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.7285 139.7082
Area served
There are 4 department stores, many shops, restaurants and bars located nearby. It fits leisure and business travelers.
Nearby airports
Narita is 64km away to
northwest. There are JR NEX(90 min.) to JR Ikebukuro Station and Airport Limousine Bus(120min.)directly to our hotel available.
Area description
One of biggest hub in Tokyo "Ikebukuro Station" where many JR, Subway and Private Tobu and Seibu Lines depart.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mejiro: 0.5 mi
  • Sunshine City: 0.6 mi
  • Waseda: 1.8 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 2.1 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 2.4 mi
  • Shinjuku Station: 2.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 2.8 mi
  • Sumo Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 2.9 mi
  • LaQua: 3 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 3.2 mi
  • Asagaya: 3.4 mi
  • Japan Sword Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 3.5 mi
  • Mejiro: 0.5 mi
  • Sunshine City: 0.6 mi
  • Waseda: 1.8 mi
  • Higashi-Shinjuku: 2.1 mi
  • Kaisei University Living History Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Nishi-Shinjuku: 2.4 mi
  • Shinjuku Station: 2.4 mi
  • Iidabashi: 2.8 mi
  • Sumo Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Tokyo Dome City: 2.9 mi
  • LaQua: 3 mi
  • University of Tokyo: 3.2 mi
  • Asagaya: 3.4 mi
  • Japan Sword Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Hanzomon Station: 3.5 mi
  • Ueno Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Meiji Jingu: 3.6 mi
  • Toshogu Shrine: 3.7 mi
  • Ueno Park: 3.7 mi
  • Shitamachi Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Myogonji Temple: 3.8 mi
  • Tokyo National Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Hachiko Statue: 3.9 mi
  • National Museum of Western Art: 3.9 mi
  • Yoyogi Park: 4 mi
  • Ameyoko: 4 mi
  • Otemachi: 4 mi
  • Akihabara: 4.2 mi
  • Kanda: 4.3 mi
  • Tokyo Metropolitan Children's Hall: 4.6 mi
  • Tokyo Station: 4.7 mi
  • Marunouchi: 4.8 mi
  • Asakusabashi: 4.9 mi
  • Nihonbashi: 4.9 mi
  • Hanayashiki Amusement Park: 5 mi
  • Sensoji Temple: 5.1 mi
  • Ginza: 5.1 mi
  • Kokugikan Sumo Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Tokyo Tower: 5.3 mi
  • Kabukiza Theater: 5.3 mi
  • Azabu: 5.3 mi
  • Edo Tokyo Museum: 5.4 mi
  • Tokyo City Air Terminal: 5.5 mi
  • Tsukiji: 5.5 mi
  • Hakozaki Station: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Total of 15 meeting rooms with 2458sqm. Largest function room is good for 800 reception.

Dining

Cuisine EST
Enjoy our trendsetting authentic Italian cuisine tingedwith a touch of French flair. Open:11:30a.m.-3:00p.m.,5:30p.m.-9:30p.m.
Bar ORIENT EXPRESS
Our cocktail lounge offers a wide variety of drinks and light snacks in a dignified atmosphere.11:30a.m.-11:30p.m.
All Day Dining CROSS DINE
Our buffet restaurant has the perfect selections to satisfy your hunger. Open:6:00a.m.-10:45p.m.
Japanese Restaurant HANAMUSASHI SHUNKA
Treat yourself to a variety of Japanese dishes from our traditional Kaiseki. You can also enjoy a teppanyaki steak and Japanese specialities in variety of culinary at SHUNKA. Open 7:00a.m.-10:00a.m.,11:30a.am.-3:00p.m.,5:30p.m.-11:30p.m.
Chinese Restaurant KEI-LIN
Savor the authentic culinary specialties of Sichuanese cuisine. Open:11:30a.m.-3:00p.m.,3:00p.m.-5:00p.m.Serving Tea),5:30p.m.-9:30p.m.
Dining & Bar OVEST
Dine and drink at our sophisticated lounge, while rejuvenating your senses by the unparalleled view. Open:11:30a.m.-11:30p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'chele
Dulles, VA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Tokyo getaway

The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The room was clean. Free internet via cable, but no wireless. Had currency exchange in basement and bus to airport right at the hotel. Subway was across the street. Many shops and restaurants close by. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at restaurants outside of hotel. Much cheaper. Food is great everywhere!

Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antonio Amber
Hong Kong
May 29, 2014

Family shopping

The place is really nice that close to JR train station, TOBU and SEBU department store. Room size is enough and relatively traditional hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy San
Business
USA
Dec 25, 2012

Staff is paramount

The staff at Metropolitan Tokyo is first class. Very polite and always there to assist you in your needs. It comes highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance from Hotel.

Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Aug 31, 2009

Not all is free, but what is, is great

Service at the hotel was great. The shower was large and accommodating with good water pressure and individual flow controls for the shower head and the bath. Bed was very comfortable and a good quality TV was provided. Internet was complimentary, and a long ethernet cable was provided as there was no wifi. Upper floors provided an excellent view of the city. However, pool/fitness center use cost around $25 per day, there were extra charges for local calls from the hotel room with no indication of the charge, and the floors appeared to never be vacuumed and quickly accumulated dust and lint. Light yukatas were provided as sleepwear, although they are meant for smaller body types and did not fit me. I did not look into getting a larger size, but it may be a possible option. The location was directly next to the main Ikebukuro station and there was a great deal of shopping in the neighboring area. In hotel restaurants were greatly overpriced and did not provide particularly exceptional food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to check how late the subways run as they are not 24 hours and typically stop running around 1 in the morning.

Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach, Ca
Dec 5, 2010

Fine Hotel

Every thing you would expect from an upscale hotel. Clean, good service, quiet. The air conditioning/heater was quiet and worked well. Very convent across the street from a JR train station. JR is the line you will probably use if you buy rail pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurants are expensive. There are a lot of options across the street in the train station complex.

Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beardwalker
Fairview, NJ
Apr 21, 2014

The best you can get for the price if you want to enjoy Tokyo

I love the location of this hotel, it is a minute walk from the Ikebukuro station which can take you nearly anywhere in tokyo. The staff all spoke very good english and were incredibly helpful. There were only two issues I had at this hotel, it was a bit cramped. We constantly had issues walking around the room, it was just me and my wife and our luggage/shoes were always in the way due to a lack of space in the room. Secondly the shower head, which constantly pointed off to the wall, the only way I could get it to point straight was to wedge a towel in it. But back to the positive, the view from our room was marvelous. The hotel itself is very snazzy and feels a bit more upscale than the room itself did. But at the end of the day for the price this hotel cannot be beat, it is well worth every penny. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Metropolitan Exit from Ikebukuro Station which is a minute walk from the hotel and is the easiest/least crowded way between the station and hotel.

Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu HI
Jun 6, 2011

Unbeatable location and service for the

I was impressed! The staff was extremely professional, courteous, friendly and helpful (noted that most of the bell staff are now women and they are excellent...very polite). I should mention that the "Bellman" who checked me in at about 2:00a.m. was very gracious and efficient... he even politely refused my tip. This facility has kept up with the times, is clean and efficiently run. The service this time seemed better than the last. The Metro is the place for me whenever I visit Tokyo...(by the way I am a retired Hotelier)...my American relatives feel the same way. FYI, my nephew who lives in Tokyo was also impressed with the graciousness of the staff...and he is very familiar with a lot of the hotels in Tokyo. The convenience of this hotel to the various transportation modes, dining facilities and shopping make it an excellent choice for any visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Porterville, Ca
Jul 21, 2010

Good location

Very nice location. close to the train station & a lot of little restaurants.You shld try the Mos Burger. It's a bomb!The bad part was we were given a smoking room.So be careful, they have smoking rooms though their add says all non-smoking rooms.Our room was 834.But overall,our stay was nice. By the way, they deodorized our room the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of nice cafes, short walk to train station & shopping.

Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Admiralasian
Newton, NJ
Jul 26, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Although we spent most of our days out and about visiting all that we could in Japan, when we came back to the hotel we found it to be a home away from home. There were complimentary robes and slippers, very comfortable beds, and a sufficient bathroom (there was a bidet for those that were daring enough). Crowne Plaza Hotel METROPOLITAN - TOKYO is located in Tokyo, in the Ikebukuro district. Ikebukuro is by far the best district that you could stay in. It was a little bit of everything to do, there are a lot of restaurants (both cheap and expensive), some of the best arcades we found, a movie theater, places to exchange money, shops, and street performers. Every night we went out in Ikebukuro we found something new to do. And the location of the hotel itself could not be any better. It is one block away from the station (not the main station, but a side entrance that is never crowded) and one block away from another hotel that has a bank that had the best exchange rate we could find. It is also surrounded by a family mart, Lawson, 711 and a sukia. It truly was the best area to stay in and no one could believe the location and quality of the hotel for the price! it truly was the best offer around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aiea steve
hawaii
Mar 26, 2013

excellent hotel and perfect location

Hotel was neat, clean, and sophisticated. Staff was excellent. Room is small by American standards, but I'd bet not by Tokyo standards. My wife and I were comfortable, and only bumped into each other occasionally. Didn't eat at the hotel, because Tokyo has SO many food options that begin right outside the door. Check out 7-11. (I'm not kidding!) Ikebukuro station is right out the door, and therefore so is all of Tokyo. Perfect locale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to ask anyone in Tokyo for help with directions or anything else. Nicest and most helpful people I've ever encountered. People go out of their way to help. One girl actually left her post at the store at which she worked to walk us down the block to show us where a tore we were looking for was.

Back to menu Return to top