$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

4 stars
View map of 1-6-1 Nishi-Ikebukuro, Toshima-ku, TOSHIMA-KU, Tokyo, 171-8505

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Mar 4, 2010

Amazing location

Clean but small rooms.Bathroom though bigger than expected. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you miss your friends from home you can always walk to the nearby Irish pubs where you can find people from Europe, US or Australia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler trough japan
Business
Mexico
Aug 7, 2009

Hotel METROPOLITAN - TOKYO

Excelent location, near the Ikebukuro train station, good staff to help arround visiting tokyo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

JR day pass

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
omizumokudasai
Business
Shanghai, China
Sep 4, 2014

Pretty blissful experience

The staff was superb, the location...well, DRR!! speaks to my ulterior motives. Honestly, it's just a few steps away from the JR line station, perfect for getting around Tokyo, everything is conveniently within reach, so if you plan to see it all within a few days, it's perfectly doable. I recommend Shibuya as a convenient dinner stop on the way back to Ikebukuro in the evening, after the day's adventures. The hotel provides robes and slippers, which is quite nice. On arrival, I asked the manager to remove a table from my room, so I could have more space, and it was handled immediately, even though it was quite late, after midnight, I believe. I used the hotel's shuttle on the way back, really convenient. Caveat: it only runs until five or so. Be sure to inquire about the specific schedule if you plan to use it on arrival. I had to use subway. Also, it is not free, as Tokyo is not small, and the trip can take up to two hours. On another note, most of the staff speaks English, if they don't they will find someone who does. There are also many convenience stores, a large shopping center, restaurants etc. within walking distance. I enjoyed my stay very much. A fair warning: I am used to small spaces. Oh, and there is a lovely bakery in the hotel building. Also, the staff took time to help plan a day trip carefully, made calls to other hotels to inquire about arrangements. The hotel has a printout of directions using Tokyo railways to get to different locations within the city, be sure to ask for it, it is super helpful, although the station masters can also help, but they may not always speak English. To sum it up, I was very pleased with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worldwise Houston
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 1, 2014

Good Value

Location within couple of blocks from train/subway station, small but comfortable room, good size bathroom, good deal on room,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy day pass for metro or train, visit the National Museum and a Japanese Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2Good
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 20, 2014

Good Value

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo is a modern hotel with clean, quiet rooms. The room size was adequate but, to accommodate the king bed in my room, one side of the bed was placed against the wall, which limits access to the bed. The mattress was fine. The staff members were very helpful and, if they did not understand my question in English, they immediately got another staff person to help me. The hotel is located in the Ikebukuro area, which is not as well-known as other areas of Tokyo. However, the hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the train station that will quickly connect you to all parts of Tokyo and is a station for the Limited Express Train to Narita Airport. As an added bonus, the hotel is also serviced by the Narita Airport Limousine Bus – the bus requires less handling of luggage on your part but I still recommend the train to Narita Airport to avoid any traffic related delays. One last tip, ask for a map of the area around the hotel and have the hotel staff member point out the major street shopping and restaurant areas as they are a 10 minute walk from the hotel and may be difficult to find. I have stayed at this hotel several times as I feel that it is a good value in an expensive city such as Tokyo. Have a good trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Huey's
Business
san francisco
Feb 22, 2015

first time tokyo stay

hotel was centrally located for 3 day stay. close to transit and in expensive quick dining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Talin
Business
Taipei City
Mar 10, 2015

trip with friends

The hotel staff are excellent, with a very good location, room cleanness is also good, but the room is small if you just order semi double standard room, it enough for 2 persons stay inside, but seems not enough for the third person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
....
Aug 1, 2010

Hotel Metro Politan Tokyo

Excellent location, easy to reach the metro/train and all what a visitor needs. Use the back entrance of the hotel to reach to the metropolitan mall. The limousine service from and to Haneda airport was convenient. I greatly recommend for Tokyo visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WTP
Business
Waipahu, Hawaii
Jan 6, 2010

Where's the transportation!

[...] When I made my reservation, I was to told to call the hotel for transportation when I reach the airport. However, I had difficulty calling them. This was a scary situation. Thankfully, they had a good transportation service to the hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the largest shopping is near the Hotel. The bottom floor of the hotel is a food court, where you can buy inexpensive food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 19, 2009

Great option for the price

Hotel Metropolitan is a great choice for budget minded travelers. Located in Ikebukuro, it is very close to the Ikebukuro subway station and lots of dining and shopping options. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Ovest on the 25th floor is worth visiting for a drink and a sprawling Tokyo view. The guest room was very small and frills free, but it was clean and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top