$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Swissotel Nankai Osaka

5 stars
5-1-60 Namba Chuo ku, Chuo-ku, Osaka, 542 0076
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
9 reviews
Excellent hotel!

Great location, excellent service, beautiful room. Walking distance from the train station, close... See full review

  • GusNJ
  • Dec 2, 2014
Excellent hotel and location

Located right above train / subway , including direct line to Kansai international airport. Service... See full review

  • Lenusik
  • Jun 18, 2014
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a deluxe hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka's most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district.

The hotel sits above Nankai Railway's Namba Station offering direct train access to Kansai International Airport and all major tourist attractions such as Kyoto, Nara and Kobe which are within easy reach.

The 36-storey tower has 548 well appointed guest rooms, including 42 Executive Rooms and 28 suites with upgraded amenities including Swiss Executive Club Lounge access, a choice of 7 restaurants and bars, spa, fitness centre, indoor swimming pool & sauna, 19 banquet/meeting rooms and 3 wedding chapels.

--Notice --
Purovel Spa & Sport (11th):
Usage fee of applies. Usage of gym for guests staying in Swiss Advantage Room category for no extra charge. Guests staying in Swiss Executive or Suite Room category, in addition have access to in-door swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and traditional Japanese baths for no extra charge.
* For safety reasons, children below 6 years are not permitted to use the facilities. Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult within the facility (usage fee will apply to both, child and adult).
** Guests with tattoos or under the influence of alcohol or under medical care are not permitted to use Provel Spa & Sport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Nankai Osaka also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Swissotel Nankai Osaka Rooms

Swiss Executive
The sophisticatedly designed room features a wide selection of in-room services and amenities. Enjoy access to the Club lounge where daily complimentary breakfast, afternoon refreshment, evening cocktails, nightcaps and drinks are served. Access to fitness facilities is also complimentary. Wireless and wired high-speed internet access is available in guest room complimentary.
Junior Suite
Located on 16th to 31st floors, Junior Suite Rooms are 40 square meters, with your choice of one King bed or two Double beds. The rooms are elegantly decorated with contemporary furnishings, and offer spectacular skyline views of the city. Guests will enjoy all the benefits of Swiss Executive Club, such as access to Club Lounge where breakfast, afternoon refreshment, evening cocktails and nightcaps are served, and free access to the fitness facilities. Wireless and wired high-speed internet access is available in guest room complimentary. All these suites enjoy skyline views of the city.
Swiss Advantage
Swiss Advantage Room offers the true relaxation & comfort. Newly renovated in 2011, Swiss Advantage Room features iPod docking station, full connectivity from PC to TV, Nespresso, and many more new added facilities will make your stay more comfortable regardless of purpose of your visit. Wireless and wired high-speed internet access in guest room as well as access to gym facilities is complimentary. (pool and spa is chargeable)

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Namba Grand Kagetsu: 0.1 mi
  • Namba: 0.3 mi
  • Hozenji Yokocho: 0.3 mi
  • Namba Yasaka Shrine: 0.3 mi
  • Dotonbori: 0.3 mi
  • Shinsekai: 0.8 mi
  • Shinsaibaishi: 0.8 mi
  • Shitennoji Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Grand Front Osaka: 2.7 mi
  • Kids Plaza Osaka: 2.9 mi
  • Umeda Sky Building: 2.9 mi
  • Sumiyoshi Taisha Shrine: 3.6 mi
  • Nagai Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan: 4.2 mi
  • Hanshin Koshien Stadium: 8.9 mi

Dining

Tavola 36, Italian Restaurant & Sky Bar
An elegant contemporary design that creates a "Dining in the Clouds" experience. Offering menus that creatively incorporate the five senses with a breath taking view of Osaka. Enjoy a relaxing time with an original cocktail menu in the Sky Bar where live jazz entertainment is performed nightly.
Hana-Goyomi, Japanese Restaurant
Anyone visiting Japan should not miss out on a kaiseki meal, height of Japanese cuisine combining an appreciation for the changing seasons with true artistry. Experience the culinary sensation of traditional Japanese fare, where the variety of seasonal ingredients are subtly enhanced by delicate seasonings and exquisite presentation. You may also explore the elegance of authentic sushi and tempura cuisines where the freshest of the season is served right before your eyes at the counters.
Minami, Teppanyaki Restaurant
The unique experience of inspiring Teppanyaki with the finest selection of Japanese Beef and many more delights; enjoy both the cuisine and watching the skilled maneuvers of the chefs preparing the food right in front of you.
Empress Room, Chinese Restaurant
This elegant restaurant serves a host of savoury Cantonese favorites and dim sums. Try our signature Double-Boiled Soups, creative seafood specialties and delicately prepared dishes using such noted Cantonese ingredients as shark's fin and abalone. Savour a rare selection of shao xin wines, and complete your meal with an exotic, mouth-watering dessert. And experience our Chinese Herbal Medicine Cuisine, that increase vital energy.
NAMBAR 10, Sports + Beers
NAMBAR 10 is the ideal Sports Bar to sit back, relax and catch the latest in sports action. It offers an assorted selection of international and local beers in addition to cool cocktails. To complement your favourite beverages, a menu of lip smacking munchies and crunchies are also offered. Daily music selection and a monthly sporting line up add to the FUN environment. Enjoy our game room by shooting pool and throwing darts to further unwind your evening.
Sh'un, Wine & Dine Restaurant
Skillfully prepared Tapas style dishes and wide variety of wines, Sh' un Wine & Dine invites you to the unique gastronomic experience at an affordable price. Together with the unique line-up of Tapas, Sh' un, the award wining restaurant by one of the world's leading wine appreciation publications, offers one of the biggest selections of glass wines amongst hotels in Osaka.
The Lounge
The lobby lounge provides a warm welcome to you with live music, light fare, afternoon tea, evening cocktails and late night desserts. The luxuriously cozy atmosphere of the lounge is perfect for meeting friends, for business talks or unwinding after a day of touring the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kuwait
Nov 26, 2011

A Beautiful Hotel

The staff at the Swissotel in Osaka couldn't have been more helpful. If we had wanted to change suites, that could have been arranged if we weren't completely satisfied with the one given. But we were totally satisfied. The location is so convenient as it is above a busy shopping area with a good quality department store. It is next to the subway entrance for ease of transport. Osaka is a very clean city as is the hotel. A great 5 star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Dec 2, 2012

Good locatn

For aiport to hotel is easy Room is big near all shopping center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YukaForever
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 2, 2011

Very convenient, but a little confusing

First of all, getting there from Kansai Airport is very easy. You take the Rapi:t train from the airport for around $13 US Dollars and its final destination after about 35 minutes is Namba Station. Once you exit the train you walk almost right to one of the entrances to the Swissotel Nankai Osaka. Purchase another ticket there on the time of your departure and you are back at the airport. No taxis, bus or subway required. Also, the subway station is right below you and also some train lines. Outside in front of the hotel are the arcades to eat and shop. First-timers will have to get used to the different levels you can exit the hotel. You can get lost quite easily. Housekeeping was good. No waiting for elevators. Courteous staff. Wi-fi in lobby. But overpriced restaurants. I finally tried Kobe beef in the Minami Restaurant on the 10th floor. I wasn't really impressed. I guess I expected more from what I heard of Kobe beef. Almost $300 US Dollars for that. Eat and drink and shop outside the hotel and it will be okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In front of the hotel where all the taxis are you will see two arcade entrances towards your right. The one more to the right has more places to eat. It has Starbucks at the entrance. And a few doors down on the Starbucks side is a restaurant called Jirohs, It specializes in chicken yakitori of all kinds. And it has the coldest beer around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Likes Good Deals
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Price is Right

Staff were very helpful and spoke English. You take the rapid train in from Kansai Airport and it drops you off right under the hotel. On the way back, the staff carried our luggage down to the train back to the airport...I thought this was a nice touch. The hotel is very convenient to all subways and trains. You would want to eat outside of the hotel (taoyaki, kushi-yaki, soba, udon) so I would not recommend eating in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nick_name_x
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
May 4, 2010

Fantastic

Beautiful room, great view, fantastic location, japanese toilet. I can't think of a better place for staying in Osaka!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to visit the Spa World if you want to relax for a while (http://www.spaworld.co.jp/english).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lenusik
Business
New York
Jun 18, 2014

Excellent hotel and location

Located right above train / subway , including direct line to Kansai international airport. Service and rooms are excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GusNJ
Business
new jersey
Dec 2, 2014

Excellent hotel!

Great location, excellent service, beautiful room. Walking distance from the train station, close to the river, modern accommodation, can't ask for anything more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marcrachy
Business
Ft. Lauderdale Florida
Aug 27, 2009

In my opinion...

We enjoyed the fact that we had a room on the 22nd floor with a great view, and that the hotel is right over the subway station. We eat at the Italian restaurant on the 36th floor--great view, lousy, expensive food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

In a short way of putting it--Dont. Its expensive and you can do better at local restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Professor of English
Business
Seoul, Korea
May 22, 2012

Overpriced and Rude

My room was a little small. The staff were very rude. First, I prepaid for my stay. So the staff took my credit card and pre-charged me over $100 USD more anyway as a "deposit," like some cheap hotel would do. If I have charges for using the bar or something, charge me as I leave, not some "deposit" fee, when I already paid for the hotel. The staff never even asked me could he charge my card, he just did it...so rude and insulting for an expensive hotel. Staff were rude and negligent, never explaining the system of getting in or out of the hotel to the ground floor. And when I did ask, the staff woman was very derisive and dismissive, as if I should have known how to navigate the complicated elevator system. Getting to and from the hotel by taxi is easy, and the hotel is very conveniently located. However, you should learn the bifurcated elevator system. There are two sets of elevators at different areas of the hotel. One leads from the Lobby to all the rest of the hotel. The other leads from the lobby to the ground floor. No staff ever helped me understand it and for a day it took me forever to find my way around the hotel to the outside world because the Swissotel is connected to the subway system and Namba Parks. After learning the two elevator systems (on my own), it made travel much easier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You should learn the bifurcated elevator system. There are two sets of elevators at different areas of the Hotel. One leads from the Lobby to all the rest of the hotel. The other leads from the lobby to the ground floors. No staff ever heleped me understand it and for a day it took me forever to find my way around the hotel to the outside world because the Swissotel is connected to the subway system and Namba Parks. After learning the two elevator systems (on my own), it made travel much easier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top